Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Dark Souls (PlayStation 3)

Dark Souls review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 20, 2011

Dark Souls is one of the finest Zelda games you'll ever play that isn't actually a Zelda game. Don't miss it!
honestgamer's avatar
BlazBlue: Continuum Shift (Xbox 360)

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift review (X360)

Reviewed on October 20, 2011

I sank hours of my time into the game and nearly every precious moment was spent zoning out or wishing that I could play something else. I didn't care when the ninth consecutive opponent fell at my feet with barely a whimper. I didn't much care when the next one soundly thrashed me, either. Everything was pretty enough along the way to that thrashing that I very much wanted to care, to let myself fall in love with the whole experience, but somehow I couldn't because nothing had managed to hook me.
honestgamer's avatar
Frogger 3D (3DS)

Frogger 3D review (3DS)

Reviewed on October 19, 2011

There are situations where you’ll find yourself playing through something fiendishly clever and you’ll realize that it’s a perfect extension of the classic gameplay. Of particular note are the stages that finish up each of the worlds. To complete the first world, you’ll have to flatten the tires of a huge truck (the same one that elsewhere has been squishing frogs, I like to think) by pushing a spike strip into its path. The second world concludes with a harrowing ride atop several trucks as you avoid low-hanging signs, eagles and holes.
honestgamer's avatar
Civilization V (PC)

Civilization V review (PC)

Reviewed on October 18, 2011

And here’s a major place in which Civilization V seems to fall down. Maybe it’s just too long since I last tackled a Civ game, and I’ve simply lost my ability to play make believe within its boundaries. More likely, there’s a problem. Because for the life of me, I just could not even fool myself into being convinced by the diplomacy system.
Lewis's avatar
Bejeweled 2 (PC)

Bejeweled 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 14, 2011

Adding to the fun are the fruits of putting together four- and five-jewel combos. The former creates a magical sparkly jewel that, if placed into a line of three, will create an explosion to clear out ALL surrounding gems. The latter causes a weird amoeba-like shape to appear. If you find yourself stuck, you can click on it and any surrounding gem to make all of that color get eradicated.
overdrive's avatar
Gears of War 3 (Xbox 360)

Gears of War 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 09, 2011

We’ve cared so little for these characters, their conflict or the world they inhabit that years from now, when the next big shooter craze arrives and Gears finally becomes obsolete, I can’t help wondering if we’ll look back on this trilogy with a collective shrug. Gears 3 is simply a great shooter, and for now, that’s enough. I love great shooters almost as much as I hate missed opportunities.
Suskie's avatar
Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360)

Tales of Vesperia review (X360)

Reviewed on October 07, 2011

Overall, I found the battle system in Tales of Vesperia to do about as good of a job in taking a lot of different components and making them simple and user-friendly as any game I've played. When you get more powerful, you'll be able to obtain a number of more powerful attacks which culminate in the godly Mystic Artes, which spell bad news for anything in their path. Or you, as bosses also start gaining them after you've gotten a ways into the game.
overdrive's avatar
The Magic of Scheherazade (NES)

The Magic of Scheherazade review (NES)

Reviewed on September 30, 2011

I might not know everything about the gaming world, but I am pretty sure that an Arabian Nights tale concerning a time-traveling warrior collecting a wacky assortment of allies to save a bunch of princesses from evil sorcerers and misnamed demons (the Hindu Kali will never live down being mistaken for the Three Stooges' Curly) WHILE occasionally planting seeds to grow money trees in a world where solar eclipses happen every few minutes is RetroWeird.
overdrive's avatar
Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360)

Deus Ex: Human Revolution review (X360)

Reviewed on September 24, 2011

Deus Ex: Human Revolution so astutely recaptures the spirit of the 2000 original that I’m amazed an outside developer is responsible for it. Compare it to Invisible War, the slicked-up, dumbed-down sequel that still has fans reeling, and you could conclude that Eidos has a better understanding of what makes this series tick than the people who got it running in the first place.
Suskie's avatar
Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island (SNES)

Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island review (SNES)

Reviewed on September 23, 2011

And I do mean "tricky" — I found myself stumped for a good number of minutes in one boss level before figuring out I had to swallow a Koopa at the top left of one gigantic chamber, go to the bottom right of the room and spit it at a near-inaccessible power-up cloud in order to release a staircase leading to the door out of that place. Things can be a bit more cerebral than in past Mario games.
overdrive's avatar
Kirby Mass Attack (DS)

Kirby Mass Attack review (DS)

Reviewed on September 17, 2011

The inability to consistently fling puffballs is the biggest problem that you’ll likely have with Kirby Mass Attack, because at times that particular activity can be vitally important. For example, in one stage you must repeatedly ram a block to slide it along a platform before a timer counts down and it explodes. There’s specific placement you’ll have in mind, but getting the explosive charge positioned in time can be difficult when every second or third swipe on the screen doesn’t register.
honestgamer's avatar
Breath of Fire II (SNES)

Breath of Fire II review (SNES)

Reviewed on September 16, 2011

Perhaps the poor NoA censors just couldn't comprehend what they were playing, shrugged their shoulders and let it all go through without chopping out minor details like how the villain is a demon using a Christianity-like religion as a front to absorb peoples' souls to increase its power. Or how, in spectacular fashion, the final boss utilizes the game's "anyone can die" mantra to such effect that I still look at the entirety of that confrontation as one of the most epic in J-RPG history.
overdrive's avatar
StarFox 64 3D (3DS)

StarFox 64 3D review (3DS)

Reviewed on September 13, 2011

Unfortunately, Starfox 64 3D doesn’t benefit as much from that finally-genuine third dimension as you might suppose. Depth effects look terrific in the cutscenes that bookend the various stages, certainly, but the levels were never designed to actually utilize three dimensions in any meaningful way. This is essentially a cluttered rail shooter with vast expanses of empty space serving as the backdrop while in the foreground, floating debris from ruined space stations and asteroid fields serve as the points of interest.
honestgamer's avatar
Call of Duty 3 (PlayStation 2)

Call of Duty 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on September 09, 2011

Whether it be the Americans, Canadians, British or Polish, there will be arguments and in-fighting as the troops are faced with imminent death while pushing into occupied territory. Well, maybe not the Poles, as their main purpose seems to be to provide Treyarch an excuse to toss a touch of tank combat into the mix.
overdrive's avatar
Kyotokei (Wii)

Kyotokei review (WII)

Reviewed on September 09, 2011

Kyotokei tries to be the horizontal Ikaruga and it does what it sets out to do in a perfunctory fashion, lacking distinction or panache. That being said, if you loved Ikaruga, you’ll like Kyotokei, because how many other colour based shoot-em-ups are there really?
Masters's avatar
Driver: San Francisco (Xbox 360)

Driver: San Francisco review (X360)

Reviewed on September 06, 2011

Driver: San Francisco surprised me by showing how much life the series still has left. If it weren’t for Ubisoft's infuriating obsession with curbing piracy and secondhand sales by way of the terrible uPlay platform, I'd have given the game an even higher score than it already has.
TheMirai's avatar
Bonded Realities (Xbox 360)

Bonded Realities review (X360)

Reviewed on September 02, 2011

You control a quartet of preschool kids who, while playing in a sandbox, get warped to a mystical world and placed in bodies more capable of monster battling than the average tyke. Kind of like Avatar without the ungodly budget. Or the contrived "nature and conservation are good" plot. Instead, the contrived plot here revolves around the typical world-dominating dictator. Or it does eventually.
overdrive's avatar
Disney Guilty Party (Wii)

Disney Guilty Party review (WII)

Reviewed on September 01, 2011

There are three settings. As a rookie, you won’t have any trouble at all. Just mashing buttons or waving the Wii Remote around is enough to pass half of the challenges with flying colors. Before long, you’ll earn a promotion and the game offers more resistance. You should still do quite well, but then you’ll earn yet another promotion and suddenly all of the mini-games leave so little room for error that (until you’ve played them a number of times) you’ll fail them as often as not.
honestgamer's avatar
3D Pixel Racing (Wii)

3D Pixel Racing review (WII)

Reviewed on September 01, 2011

Unlike other gimmicky racing titles, there are no tricks, upgrades, weapons, or anything else to distinguish 3D Pixel Racing from your typical racing game apart from presentation. Even if you do master the controls, it's hardly worth the payoff.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Disgaea 4: A Promise Unforgotten (PlayStation 3)

Disgaea 4: A Promise Unforgotten review (PS3)

Reviewed on August 30, 2011

While the story is new and its high-quality presentation is a delight that long-time fans by now take for granted, you’ll likely be surprised by some of the other improvements. For instance, it’s now possible to assemble your own pirate ship so that you can raid the Item World. On trips to your own Item World, you’ll find parts that you can use to customize your ship, plus you’ll battle more pirates than ever before. You can even have your custom pirate crew head online and raid other folks’ worlds, or help them out if you prefer.
honestgamer's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.