Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
From Dust (Xbox 360)

From Dust review (X360)

Reviewed on August 11, 2011

From Dust isn't like most strategy games. It doesn't focus more than it needs to on micromanagement. You don't have to develop a village's culture or provide the people with food or entertainment. There are no numbers to monitor and there aren’t many bothersome gauges to watch. Your main concern is keeping humanity alive while trying to establish a set number of villages, ranging from one to four, on each map.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team (Xbox 360)

Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team review (X360)

Reviewed on August 06, 2011

With all the stylish games that have come out this summer, it's good to have one like Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team to cleanse the old palate. It's not a perfect title, but it does what it should while providing a fun and short experience.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
R-Type II (Game Boy)

R-Type II review (GB)

Reviewed on August 06, 2011

The GameBoy iteration of R-Type II managed to take the already flawed and decidedly obnoxious arcade experience, and made it loathsome and near-unplayable.
Masters's avatar
Jeopardy! (Wii)

Jeopardy! review (WII)

Reviewed on August 06, 2011

Fortunately, you can avoid the issues with the various difficulty presets by choosing the hidden “Custom” difficulty option and tweaking each setting as you see fit. In that manner, it’s possible to introduce near-perfect balance to a game that very much needs it. The developers could have saved everyone a lot of grief if they had just put those options on a startup screen ahead of each competition, but apparently the sort of audience that enjoys answering obscure trivia questions isn’t ready for something so mentally taxing.
honestgamer's avatar
Power Strike (Sega Master System)

Power Strike review (SMS)

Reviewed on August 03, 2011

While going through its six levels, I grew tired of its repetitive nature, limited power-ups and slew of bosses that all were essentially bases with lots of guns. However, I was glued to my controller, my attention completely absorbed by its frenetic action while I constantly weaved and dodged between bullets while hoping my sub-weapons could hold out long enough to carry me just a little farther.
overdrive's avatar
Ace Gals Tennis (Xbox 360)

Ace Gals Tennis review (X360)

Reviewed on August 01, 2011

80 MSP may not be much to spend on a casual tennis game, but the fact still remains that there are much better indie titles out there for the same price.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Catherine (PlayStation 3)

Catherine review (PS3)

Reviewed on July 31, 2011

In the evenings, after spending entirely too much time drinking with his buddies at a bar called the Stray Sheep and talking about nightmares that leave his mind when he awakens in the morning, Vincent goes home and goes to bed and dreams that he is climbing a seemingly endless tower of blocks while many others around him—all of them appearing as sheep—do the same thing. If Vincent can only reach the cathedral on the eighth floor, a mysterious stranger in a confessional booth promises him, the recurring nightmares will cease.
honestgamer's avatar
Trapped Dead (PC)

Trapped Dead review (PC)

Reviewed on July 31, 2011

The errors, the bugs, the flaws, oh god, they're everywhere. In number and in menace, they drown out the game’s zombies. They’ll become your biggest fear. But instead of eating away at your brains, they’ll instead devour any interest you once had.
EmP's avatar
Silent Hill (PlayStation 3)

Silent Hill review (PS3)

Reviewed on July 29, 2011

The car won’t drive anymore -- you'll have to ditch it. You strain your eyes to seek her out, but the snow makes it hard to see. Cheryl is out there, somewhere in the whiteness. She’s a little girl lost, drowning in a sea of powder: The lonely resort town of Silent Hill has claimed her.
Masters's avatar
Dead Space 2 (Xbox 360)

Dead Space 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on July 28, 2011

There’s no sneaking terror. There’s no sneaking. There’s no calm before the storm. There’s just storm.
EmP's avatar
The Tiny Bang Story (PC)

The Tiny Bang Story review (PC)

Reviewed on July 28, 2011

The latest lovely hidden object/adventure hybrid is The Tiny Bang Story - and, frustratingly, it gets the mix half-right. It’s evocative, painting a world that seems to spring more and more to life the further you progress into the game. But it falls into some of the classic traps that both adventures and hidden object games have succumbed to over the years, and the result is a game I wish I could recommend more than I’m about to.
Lewis's avatar
Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth (Xbox)

Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth review (XBX)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

Lovecraft always waxed poetic about dangers “not to be met or dealt with, but only to be fled from as precipitately as possible.” None of his scholarly protagonists ever kicked Dagon's ass, or put buckshot into any of the Deep Ones. But that is what this game expects of us.
Masters's avatar
Bastion (Xbox 360)

Bastion review (X360)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

As you run around each gorgeous environment, admiring the dense foliage or the imposing brambles or the stone walls or whatever else, the path ahead of you fills in abruptly. Tiles fly up from beneath the screen, as if drawn to you like magnets. It’s an interesting dynamic to see in action, distracting at first before soon becoming intuitive. Pathways prevent you from wandering too far off the beaten path—because you really can’t—and they give the world its own identity. To an extent, it feels like you’re truly living through an apocalypse.
honestgamer's avatar
Neptune's Pride (PC)

Neptune's Pride review (PC)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

Perhaps I betrayed they who trusted me the most. Maybe I delighted in the slaughter of those who stood in my way and maybe, when my strategies hit a speed bump, I manipulated the field to my liking. Maybe I broke more hearts than defensive walls, but I crossed that finish line first.
EmP's avatar
Dungeon Siege III (PC)

Dungeon Siege III review (PC)

Reviewed on July 25, 2011

Weapon selection isn’t all there is to the combat, though. Each character can master specialized skills that you can then use profusely. A skill requires a bit of focus from your meter, but you can swiftly refill that meter simply by hitting your adversaries with a few standard shots or strikes. The result is that it’s entirely feasible to roll through the whole game using the “fun” moves almost exclusively. Yet you can also roll out of the way of incoming targets, block sword strokes and projectiles and even heal yourself.
honestgamer's avatar
Limbo (PlayStation 3)

Limbo review (PS3)

Reviewed on July 25, 2011

From malevolent children bearing bows and arrows and the inexorable presence of a giant spider early on, to crushing gears and high-voltage surfaces in later industrial-themed levels—everything is beset upon you to bring about your ruin. You will be skewered, bludgeoned, electrocuted, decapitated. And you’ll get used to it. It's a small price to pay to learn, to see what comes next.
Masters's avatar
Boulder Dash-XL (Xbox 360)

Boulder Dash-XL review (X360)

Reviewed on July 24, 2011

Some stages have a strict time limit, forcing you to sprint from gem to gem while hoping your speed can keep you out of the way of all those boulders you're dislodging as you wildly progress. Others are designed to make you think a little bit by giving you doors to unlock, one-way doors and warps; while placing you in a more maze-like environment. You might have a bit more time to reach the exit, but you'll have to make good use of it in order to figure out how to snare all the gems.
overdrive's avatar
Akane the Kunoichi (Xbox 360)

Akane the Kunoichi review (X360)

Reviewed on July 17, 2011

Akane is light, bite-sized and can be picked up and put down at will; this is appreciated. But that doesn’t mean to say it won’t claw your face off and have you thank it for the maiming by the end.
EmP's avatar
Ms. Splosion Man (Xbox 360)

Ms. Splosion Man review (X360)

Reviewed on July 13, 2011

Whenever I thought a particular ordeal wasn't too tough, it seemed like it wouldn't take long for me to have to face a tougher version of it...likely with some sort of instant-death trap added to the mix in order to provide a bit of extra pressure. I'd need split second timing to outrace a series of propelled spiked walls. Or bounce from one flying car to the next, occasionally 'sploding on a barrel so it could propel me to the next group of vehicles (as opposed to meeting my demise courtesy of one obstacle or another). Or any number of other tasks.
overdrive's avatar
Cloud Master (Sega Master System)

Cloud Master review (SMS)

Reviewed on July 12, 2011

Cloud Master has tepid and disposable written all over it, but its accessibility is its saving grace.
Masters's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.