Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Silent Hill (PlayStation 3)

Silent Hill review (PS3)

Reviewed on July 29, 2011

The car won’t drive anymore -- you'll have to ditch it. You strain your eyes to seek her out, but the snow makes it hard to see. Cheryl is out there, somewhere in the whiteness. She’s a little girl lost, drowning in a sea of powder: The lonely resort town of Silent Hill has claimed her.
Masters's avatar
Dead Space 2 (Xbox 360)

Dead Space 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on July 28, 2011

There’s no sneaking terror. There’s no sneaking. There’s no calm before the storm. There’s just storm.
EmP's avatar
The Tiny Bang Story (PC)

The Tiny Bang Story review (PC)

Reviewed on July 28, 2011

The latest lovely hidden object/adventure hybrid is The Tiny Bang Story - and, frustratingly, it gets the mix half-right. It’s evocative, painting a world that seems to spring more and more to life the further you progress into the game. But it falls into some of the classic traps that both adventures and hidden object games have succumbed to over the years, and the result is a game I wish I could recommend more than I’m about to.
Lewis's avatar
Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth (Xbox)

Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth review (XBX)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

Lovecraft always waxed poetic about dangers “not to be met or dealt with, but only to be fled from as precipitately as possible.” None of his scholarly protagonists ever kicked Dagon's ass, or put buckshot into any of the Deep Ones. But that is what this game expects of us.
Masters's avatar
Bastion (Xbox 360)

Bastion review (X360)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

As you run around each gorgeous environment, admiring the dense foliage or the imposing brambles or the stone walls or whatever else, the path ahead of you fills in abruptly. Tiles fly up from beneath the screen, as if drawn to you like magnets. It’s an interesting dynamic to see in action, distracting at first before soon becoming intuitive. Pathways prevent you from wandering too far off the beaten path—because you really can’t—and they give the world its own identity. To an extent, it feels like you’re truly living through an apocalypse.
honestgamer's avatar
Neptune's Pride (PC)

Neptune's Pride review (PC)

Reviewed on July 26, 2011

Perhaps I betrayed they who trusted me the most. Maybe I delighted in the slaughter of those who stood in my way and maybe, when my strategies hit a speed bump, I manipulated the field to my liking. Maybe I broke more hearts than defensive walls, but I crossed that finish line first.
EmP's avatar
Dungeon Siege III (PC)

Dungeon Siege III review (PC)

Reviewed on July 25, 2011

Weapon selection isn’t all there is to the combat, though. Each character can master specialized skills that you can then use profusely. A skill requires a bit of focus from your meter, but you can swiftly refill that meter simply by hitting your adversaries with a few standard shots or strikes. The result is that it’s entirely feasible to roll through the whole game using the “fun” moves almost exclusively. Yet you can also roll out of the way of incoming targets, block sword strokes and projectiles and even heal yourself.
honestgamer's avatar
Limbo (PlayStation 3)

Limbo review (PS3)

Reviewed on July 25, 2011

From malevolent children bearing bows and arrows and the inexorable presence of a giant spider early on, to crushing gears and high-voltage surfaces in later industrial-themed levels—everything is beset upon you to bring about your ruin. You will be skewered, bludgeoned, electrocuted, decapitated. And you’ll get used to it. It's a small price to pay to learn, to see what comes next.
Masters's avatar
Boulder Dash-XL (Xbox 360)

Boulder Dash-XL review (X360)

Reviewed on July 24, 2011

Some stages have a strict time limit, forcing you to sprint from gem to gem while hoping your speed can keep you out of the way of all those boulders you're dislodging as you wildly progress. Others are designed to make you think a little bit by giving you doors to unlock, one-way doors and warps; while placing you in a more maze-like environment. You might have a bit more time to reach the exit, but you'll have to make good use of it in order to figure out how to snare all the gems.
overdrive's avatar
Akane the Kunoichi (Xbox 360)

Akane the Kunoichi review (X360)

Reviewed on July 17, 2011

Akane is light, bite-sized and can be picked up and put down at will; this is appreciated. But that doesn’t mean to say it won’t claw your face off and have you thank it for the maiming by the end.
EmP's avatar
Ms. Splosion Man (Xbox 360)

Ms. Splosion Man review (X360)

Reviewed on July 13, 2011

Whenever I thought a particular ordeal wasn't too tough, it seemed like it wouldn't take long for me to have to face a tougher version of it...likely with some sort of instant-death trap added to the mix in order to provide a bit of extra pressure. I'd need split second timing to outrace a series of propelled spiked walls. Or bounce from one flying car to the next, occasionally 'sploding on a barrel so it could propel me to the next group of vehicles (as opposed to meeting my demise courtesy of one obstacle or another). Or any number of other tasks.
overdrive's avatar
Cloud Master (Sega Master System)

Cloud Master review (SMS)

Reviewed on July 12, 2011

Cloud Master has tepid and disposable written all over it, but its accessibility is its saving grace.
Masters's avatar
The Magic Obelisk (Wii)

The Magic Obelisk review (WII)

Reviewed on July 11, 2011

Faulty cooperative AI is usually where I draw the line. If I can't work with a game without talking down to it, then it's just not worth my time. I learned that when I played Brute Force. Yet, I still wanted to give The Magic Obelisk the benefit of the doubt and try to make it all the way through.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Puzzle Agent 2 (PC)

Puzzle Agent 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on July 09, 2011

Following the closure of his last case, Nelson Tethers is racked with guilt over the string of unsolved disappearances in the eerie, insular community of Scoggins, Minnesota. And so, after taking vacation from his job as an FBI Puzzle Detective, our protagonist fires up his snowmobile and treks back to tie up any loose ends.
Calvin's avatar
Nancy Drew: The Captive Curse (PC)

Nancy Drew: The Captive Curse review (PC)

Reviewed on July 08, 2011

Young gamers, and perhaps those who are new to the point-and-click adventure genre, would find a lot to enjoy here – it is obviously marketed towards these audiences, and the developers succeeded in delivering a great product for them.
EJHart's avatar
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings (PC)

The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings review (PC)

Reviewed on July 07, 2011

The Witcher 2 doesn’t stop with waterfalls and ferns, though, or even with prostitutes and foul-mouthed dwarves and snide noblemen. It paints this fantastic world full of complicated people and it lets you interact with all of that in such a way that eventually, like Geralt himself, you are unable to continue as a passive observer. You have a stake in what happens to the people around you, a position in the middle of all of it that you chose for yourself through your prior actions.
honestgamer's avatar
Red Faction: Guerrilla (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Guerrilla review (X360)

Reviewed on July 06, 2011

You'll kill soldiers with one swing and take down buildings with just a bit of effort. It's hilariously overpowered, crumbling concrete walls like they were made of styrofoam. In third-person over-the-shoulder shooters, it's rare that a melee weapon is this indispensable. You won't mind that the game forces you to hold it at all times, as there's something indubitably MANLY about running up to things and effortlessly destroying them by swinging a mighty hammer of the gods.
overdrive's avatar
Pitfall! (Atari 2600)

Pitfall! review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 30, 2011

Most screens have some combination of hazards for you to contend with: perhaps you'll have to swing across water on a vine while making sure you don't land on a barrel. Or that pond might contain a trio of alligators. You'll have to jump from one head to the next, making sure you're not on their mouth when it opens. Some ponds and quicksand pits are, I guess, magical and will appear and disappear. When they vanish, you can run across the screen safely, but if they return and you're in their part of the screen, you die.
overdrive's avatar
Transformers: Dark of the Moon (PlayStation 3)

Transformers: Dark of the Moon review (PS3)

Reviewed on June 28, 2011

For a game that’s designed to promote a movie, Dark of the Moon will probably encourage you to skip it entirely.
disco's avatar
Dodge 'Em (Atari 2600)

Dodge 'Em review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 28, 2011

The cover art was of a stylishly-dressed couple in an old-timey car swerving wildly in that final moment before their agonizing, fiery demise. If you didn't clench the controls intent on going balls to the wall the instant the game started, this would happen to you, but with far more primitive visuals.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.