Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by zigfried and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Attack on Titan (PlayStation 4)

Attack on Titan review (PS4)

Reviewed on October 04, 2016

Koei's latest not-a-Musou lives up to the source material.
Deception IV: The Nightmare Princess (PlayStation 4)

Deception IV: The Nightmare Princess review (PS4)

Reviewed on September 22, 2015

Tecmo Koei continues to stake their claim on PS4 with quality software.
One Chance (PC)

One Chance review (PC)

Reviewed on February 26, 2011

One Chance is a bad game for obvious reasons. The graphics are poor, the music is repetitive, the guy walks slowly, the story is silly, player interaction is minimal, and victory is achieved through repetition instead of mastery. Its claim to fame is that you only have one chance unless you game the system.
Canabalt (PC)

Canabalt review (PC)

Reviewed on February 24, 2011

I view people who subscribe to the holy book of Canabalt the same way that Orson Scott Card intended readers to view Xenocide's Qing-Jao: as obsessive and deranged failures, compulsively tracing lines in wood until they realize they've accomplished nothing. Then they die.
Splatterhouse (PlayStation 3)

Splatterhouse review (PS3)

Reviewed on December 09, 2010

Once upon a time, all this blood and nudity would have been daring. I remember gasping in awe when playing the originals . . . of course, those were marketed towards pre-teens who couldn't even get into R-rated flicks. In today's world, hacking up misshapen beasts and grabbing softcore pics just isn't enough.
Rad Mobile (Arcade)

Rad Mobile review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 22, 2010

I remember drooling over magazine screenshots for Rad Mobile, known back in 1991 as "that 32-bit arcade game WHOA MOMMA". I remember actually playing Rad Mobile and being impressed by that first intersection where I had to pass through cross-traffic, as well as the police car barricade . . . in which cruisers actually passed me and spun horizontally to bring my runaway radmobile to a halt.
Super Sprint (Arcade)

Super Sprint review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 08, 2010

The top of an outdated genre isn't a bad place to be. Super Sprint will always have a place in any respectable classic arcade. Give it a shot to see what the cranky old-timers used to play; I bet you'll have trouble walking away.
Samurai Shodown Sen (Xbox 360)

Samurai Shodown Sen review (X360)

Reviewed on October 24, 2010

Samurai Shodown Sen is not an awful game. The only way it could be considered "awful" would be to ignore the barely playable fighters that have come out over the last twenty years. The characters perform expected actions whenever I press the buttons, and -- aside from plastic doll faces -- the graphics are well beyond "PlayStation 2 quality". I can say this with confidence because I've actually played PS2 games.
Utawarerumono: Chiriyukusha e no Komoriuta (PlayStation 2)

Utawarerumono: Chiriyukusha e no Komoriuta review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 04, 2010

Hentai games are big business over in Japan. They're such big business that companies will actually shoehorn sex scenes into otherwise innocent PC games just to meet market demand. Utawarerumono -- a competent combination of visual novel and turn-based strategy -- is one of those games, and a popular one at that, although the PS2 version has been tamed.
Super Darius II (Turbografx-CD)

Super Darius II review (TGCD)

Reviewed on September 21, 2010

Cho Aniki (Turbografx-CD)

Cho Aniki review (TGCD)

Reviewed on September 09, 2010

Ever since composer Koji Hayama played the drums for classmates at a school festival, his dream was to "be famous". Cho Aniki's serendipitous success made his dream come true. When the Japanese speak of culturally significant videogames, they speak of Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, and Cho Aniki.
Download 2 (Turbografx-CD)

Download 2 review (TGCD)

Reviewed on September 03, 2010

"Cyberpunk isnít just a genre -- itís a mindset. Itís a mindset that knows itís beneath the thumb of corporate greed, but tries to dig itself out anyway. Itís a mindset that sneers at the shallow mainstreamers who swallow the recycled maxims of pseudo-intellectualism."
Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage (PlayStation 3)

Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage review (PS3)

Reviewed on August 21, 2010

Hokuto Musou -- coming to the West as Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage -- is a proper sequel. Since this is a Musou game, I expected it to play like a Musou game. It often doesn't. Instead of presenting a series of sprawling warzones, the game gives us straightforward levels; simplistic obstacles must be passed, traps must be avoided, and switches must be flipped. Koei has built a world that's out to get noble Kenshiro -- they've built a world in the spirit of Hokuto.
Slime Master (X68000)

Slime Master review (X68K)

Reviewed on June 13, 2010

Slime Master stars a lovely blonde lass with perky breasts. Since the developers failed to give her a name, I'll call her Pamela. She's a shy one, requiring not one but two bedroom visits before getting naked.
Cotton: Fantastic Night Dreams (Turbografx-CD)

Cotton: Fantastic Night Dreams review (TGCD)

Reviewed on May 16, 2010

When I think of "terror", I don't think of dirty hallways in need of a janitor. I think of grim forests populated by child-eating trees. I think of dungeons adorned with living statues that exist solely to murder little girls. Cotton weaves through obstacles in all of these areas, accompanied only by the nearly-naked fairy Silk (don't call Silk an "option"; she hates that). Everything else is trying to kill Cotton.
Sylphia (Turbografx-CD)

Sylphia review (TGCD)

Reviewed on April 11, 2010

Sylphia throws so much at players early on, but somehow still keeps producing surprising new opponents for every level. This is not native Japanese mythology, but the designers immersed themselves in the spirit. Winged gargoyles carry crossbow-wielding Spartans. A skeleton charioteer -- one horn broken from his ram's head helmet -- whips at you from afar. The flying chariot is pulled by manticores instead of horses. It's as though the developers stole some child's sketchbook and made a game based off of it. It's as though they stole my sketchbook.
God of War III (PlayStation 3)

God of War III review (PS3)

Reviewed on March 19, 2010

With grandiose symphony and fiery passion, Sony's declaration is clear: this is an epic the likes of which the world may never see again. The game's opening moments plunge this brazen ambition into the hearts of those who've forgotten such fanciful dreams. A host of titans wage war against the gods of Olympus, and the chaotic path along which players guide Kratos is truly unnerving. The ground itself shakes, for that ground is the back of the titan Gaia. Parasitic serpents burst from Gaia's flesh to bar the Spartan's path; when the titan of Earth stumbles from the pain, Kratos hangs precariously with one hand but still must fight. His soul is only at peace during battle.
Metal Slug XX (PSP)

Metal Slug XX review (PSP)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

Metal Slug XX is a remake of the DS's Metal Slug 7. After playing the new version, I don't think I can go back. The cartoony visuals have been expanded to a proper resolution, showing off the same zany antics we've watched for 14 years. Two-player simultaneous action has been added, creating a cooperative experience we've enjoyed since 1996. And it's still impossible to aim diagonally.
Enemy Zero (Saturn)

Enemy Zero review (SAT)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

I'm going to tell you about an obscure survival horror game. The name of this obscure survival horror game is Enemy Zero and it stars Laura from D's Diner . . . but it doesn't star Laura the character, it stars Laura the actress, because game designer Kenji Eno was an avant-garde madman who wanted to turn CG models into small-screen starlets.
Shadow of the Beast (Turbografx-CD)

Shadow of the Beast review (TGCD)

Reviewed on February 06, 2010

When I borrowed a Turbo Duo back in 1993, I cycled through over a dozen games in the span of two days. While most of those 48 hours became a blur, a few moments stood out; Shadow of the Beast's conceptually simple title screen was one. Grass gorgeously scrolls underneath the beast's feet as clouds pass overhead, and the quiet soundtrack ó initially a simple series of bells ó gradually becomes an epic showcase of strong percussion, evocative wind pipes, and resounding chimes. It's simple but inspired.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.