Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
EarthBound (SNES)

EarthBound review (SNES)

Reviewed on December 30, 2012

At seemingly random moments, a man will descend from the sky to take a photograph of your party before vanishing the way he came. One NPC's desire to create a memorable dungeon leads to him changing his body into one. This is one of those games that can be difficult to put down simply because you'll want to experience the next bizarre situation.
Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest (SNES)

Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest review (SNES)

Reviewed on December 09, 2012

First, a company comes out with a game that has potential and is terrific in some aspects, but it lacks a bit overall. In the case of Rare's Donkey Kong Country, the Super Nintendo played host to an absolutely gorgeous platformer that just didn't live up to the (admittedly very high) standard set for that system by Super Mario World. It was solid and it tended to be enjoyable, but no new ground was broken and things could get repetitive. It seemed to be the ultimate in playing it safe — a game that could have come with a disclaimer: "You've done all this before, but it's never looked this good… has it?!" With Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest, it's safe to say that Rare’s developers were through with the whole "testing the waters" phase, as they not only improved on the original, but managed to create one of the top platformers I've ever played.
The Battle of Olympus (NES)

The Battle of Olympus review (NES)

Reviewed on November 22, 2012

Pay a visit to the island maze-fortress of Crete and the minute you step in the door, you'll be cut to shreds by various Amazon warriors who are both durable and capable of moving their shields around to block attacks much like The Adventures of Link's Ironknuckles. And I haven't even mentioned Phrygia's MANY snake-dragons that take more damage than most bosses while blasting the crap out of you with fire. Brutal…
Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360)

Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition review (X360)

Reviewed on November 17, 2012

When my questing first took me here, I admit that it didn't take long for me to get lost, as I wasn't really paying that much attention to the in-game map. D.C. is essentially a world unto itself. A confusing, labyrinthine world with many twists, turns and dead ends. Words can't say how welcome this place was, especially when you consider the rest of the game's world takes place in a pretty unappealing place.
Zoda's Revenge: Star Tropics 2 (NES)

Zoda's Revenge: Star Tropics 2 review (NES)

Reviewed on October 29, 2012

The original StarTropics was mostly confined to a random series of tropical islands, and everything blended together after a while. In Zoda's Revenge, you control Mike Jones as he travels from a prehistoric land, to ancient Egypt, to other areas such as a Transylvanian castle and King Arthur's Britain. Each chapter contains a minimum of one dungeon to explore as you search for a collection of Tetris -style blocks known as Tetrads. You need to reach them before various incarnations of Zoda (the villain from the first StarTropics game) can harness their power for evil.
ActRaiser (SNES)

ActRaiser review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 26, 2012

While it doesn't take much reading between the lines for a person to at least grasp the fundamentals of this, Nintendo's censorship did take away some of the impact this sort of plot might have, leaving us with the sort of standard fantasy fare where you'd almost expect there to be a disclaimer in the credits stating that any resemblance to actual belief systems is purely coincidental.
Penny Arcade Adventures: On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness -- Episode 3 (Xbox 360)

Penny Arcade Adventures: On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness -- Episode 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 18, 2012

To keep battles from being stale, a decent number of them have special stipulations which can work in your favor, the monsters' favor or in an unexpected way — such as when you fight the alien leader in an outer space dimension and find that, in homage to the Alien movies, you've entered "Ripley mode" where the one female member of your party has her stats raised dramatically.
Illusion of Gaia (SNES)

Illusion of Gaia review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 05, 2012

In fact, the beginning of the game is pretty much one big cliche. Shortly after the game begins, Will unintentionally gets on the wrong side of the local king and queen and is forced to flee the area with the rulers' spoiled and naive daughter. Those two join up with a small group of Will's friends and explore the world to find mysterious artifacts and eventually save everything from a fate most dire. Pretty cut and dry on the surface, but as you dig deeper, you'll find that Illusion of Gaia wonderfully establishes a dark and melancholy mood that effortlessly moves this game far beyond being "just another adventure".
River City Ransom (NES)

River City Ransom review (NES)

Reviewed on September 21, 2012

The main challenge for me when playing River City Ransom was simply surviving the trek between the second and third malls, as you have to travel through many screens and the easier gangs are weeded out in favor of ones that cause a lot more damage when their attacks connect. Lose your rhythm against The Generic Dudes and your life meter will barely notice; do so against The Squids and you'll quickly find yourself sent back to the last mall you reached, but with only half your money (the penalty for falling in battle).
Crystalis (NES)

Crystalis review (NES)

Reviewed on September 11, 2012

It's almost like you're playing an arcade game rather than an action-RPG when you're going against a guy like Mado, who regularly transforms into a giant sphere that erratically pinballs around the tight confines of his room. That’s especially true the second time you confront him, by which point he's added "moves at the speed of light" to his repertoire.
S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team (NES)

S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team review (NES)

Reviewed on August 24, 2012

I also feel I must note that it takes a certain lack of imagination to put together a game this short and still waste one of the available boss encounters on a generic shooter snake. What makes it even worse is that this generic shooter snake is generic even by generic shooter snake standards, since all it does is meander on and off the screen while occasionally releasing a homing missile.
Ghosts 'N Goblins (NES)

Ghosts 'N Goblins review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

I also probably shouldn't forget how you need one particular weapon to simply damage the final boss. Or that if you do manage to kill it, you find out that you were the victim of a cruel hoax and have to do the six main levels over again (at a higher difficulty level, of course) and then fight that guy again in order to actually beat the game. Adding the fake difficulty of a mandatory second trip through an already brutal game is not my idea of fun.
Final Fantasy II (NES)

Final Fantasy II review (NES)

Reviewed on July 19, 2012

If one of them makes a habit of using swords in battle, that character will eventually be far more useful with that kind of weapon than any other. If another one specializes in casting spells, he'll wind up with tons of magic points. And if you regularly encounter weak enemies and ignore those hapless foes to have your party members beat up on each other, their hit points will go through the roof.
Pac-Man (Atari 2600)

Pac-Man review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 21, 2012

However, just because I had fun times with family while playing this game doesn't mean I can excuse its large list of faults. That period of time can best be described as good times with a bad game simply because we didn't know any better.
O.C.D. (Xbox 360)

O.C.D. review (X360)

Reviewed on June 15, 2012

With O.C.D., you grind so you can grind more; you gain skills so you can grind more quickly; you harvest goods to make items and equipment so you can grind even more quickly. The grinding isn't a means to an end, it's the beginning, middle and end!
Game of Thrones (Xbox 360)

Game of Thrones review (X360)

Reviewed on June 05, 2012

While there is magic in the world of Game of Thrones, the majority of it is in Mors' and Alester's respective dog and fire powers. Unlike Dragon Age Origins, there are no darkspawn, no dragons, no werewolves and no sentient trees. Hell, there aren't even any wolves, spiders or bears. You'll fight tons of barbarians, bandits, peasants and soldiers, though…and for all intents and purposes, they're all the same.
The Mist (PC)

The Mist review (PC)

Reviewed on May 25, 2012

You'll be screwing around, attempting to input any damn command the computer might actually recognize, outside the hardware store when suddenly you'll get a "The bug just appeared" message. Now, one of two things will happen. First, if you're lucky enough to have found a bug-killing item AND are lucky enough to figure out the specific way to phrase your command so that you actually use it, you can dispatch the mutated creature. Or, more likely, you'll be dead in a turn or two.
Trials Evolution (Xbox 360)

Trials Evolution review (X360)

Reviewed on May 02, 2012

Well, I'm going to have to find a way to perfectly run tracks that utterly brutalized my biker during my first stab at them. Hell, I'll be happy if I just FINISH the Gigatrack course. Just thinking about running it perfectly seems so unrealistic that I don't even know why I'm considering it a possibility.
Final Fantasy X (PlayStation 2)

Final Fantasy X review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 28, 2012

After that debacle, though, I noticed that Yuna had a particular piece of armor designed to block three particular negative statuses, so I decided to make sure she was always in the party when fighting them. Sure enough, she was able to avoid being confused or silenced by the beast and, as a result, cure my other members so they could finish it off. A tough monster made easier due to me using my brain — I was proud of myself!
Raiders of the Lost Ark (Atari 2600)

Raiders of the Lost Ark review (A2600)

Reviewed on April 21, 2012

Markets are kind of cool, as you collect money in the game and can use it in these places to buy bullets and other useful things. In this one, you also can try to interact with a giant head plastered on the left side of the screen. Which will then kill you. Ha-ha…you have to love trial-and-error puzzle solving! You're not supposed to interact with it…or walk above or below it. In fact, you should pretend its third of the room doesn't even exist.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.