Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Final Fantasy (NES)

Final Fantasy review (NES)

Reviewed on August 12, 2011

The toughest part of the final dungeon for me was the opening floors, simply because I frequently ran into encounters with multiple gas dragons and their brutal breath attack. They were great to gain levels against, but when I wanted to conserve healing spells because I was making a run for the final boss, they could wreck my day.
Power Strike (Sega Master System)

Power Strike review (SMS)

Reviewed on August 03, 2011

While going through its six levels, I grew tired of its repetitive nature, limited power-ups and slew of bosses that all were essentially bases with lots of guns. However, I was glued to my controller, my attention completely absorbed by its frenetic action while I constantly weaved and dodged between bullets while hoping my sub-weapons could hold out long enough to carry me just a little farther.
Boulder Dash-XL (Xbox 360)

Boulder Dash-XL review (X360)

Reviewed on July 24, 2011

Some stages have a strict time limit, forcing you to sprint from gem to gem while hoping your speed can keep you out of the way of all those boulders you're dislodging as you wildly progress. Others are designed to make you think a little bit by giving you doors to unlock, one-way doors and warps; while placing you in a more maze-like environment. You might have a bit more time to reach the exit, but you'll have to make good use of it in order to figure out how to snare all the gems.
Ms. Splosion Man (Xbox 360)

Ms. Splosion Man review (X360)

Reviewed on July 13, 2011

Whenever I thought a particular ordeal wasn't too tough, it seemed like it wouldn't take long for me to have to face a tougher version of it...likely with some sort of instant-death trap added to the mix in order to provide a bit of extra pressure. I'd need split second timing to outrace a series of propelled spiked walls. Or bounce from one flying car to the next, occasionally 'sploding on a barrel so it could propel me to the next group of vehicles (as opposed to meeting my demise courtesy of one obstacle or another). Or any number of other tasks.
Red Faction: Guerrilla (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Guerrilla review (X360)

Reviewed on July 06, 2011

You'll kill soldiers with one swing and take down buildings with just a bit of effort. It's hilariously overpowered, crumbling concrete walls like they were made of styrofoam. In third-person over-the-shoulder shooters, it's rare that a melee weapon is this indispensable. You won't mind that the game forces you to hold it at all times, as there's something indubitably MANLY about running up to things and effortlessly destroying them by swinging a mighty hammer of the gods.
Pitfall! (Atari 2600)

Pitfall! review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 30, 2011

Most screens have some combination of hazards for you to contend with: perhaps you'll have to swing across water on a vine while making sure you don't land on a barrel. Or that pond might contain a trio of alligators. You'll have to jump from one head to the next, making sure you're not on their mouth when it opens. Some ponds and quicksand pits are, I guess, magical and will appear and disappear. When they vanish, you can run across the screen safely, but if they return and you're in their part of the screen, you die.
Dodge 'Em (Atari 2600)

Dodge 'Em review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 28, 2011

The cover art was of a stylishly-dressed couple in an old-timey car swerving wildly in that final moment before their agonizing, fiery demise. If you didn't clench the controls intent on going balls to the wall the instant the game started, this would happen to you, but with far more primitive visuals.
Desert Falcon (Atari 7800)

Desert Falcon review (Atari 7800)

Reviewed on June 24, 2011

After playing this game for a few hours, I discovered that my favorite power-up was the one that warped me straight to the boss, so I could kill it and move to the next level in the hopes of finding the proper three glyphs to do it again. You get FAR more points for wasting them than for doing anything else and Desert Falcon is a rather repetitive game, where one level blends into the next with no real difference besides the density of enemy waves and the background color.
Bump 'N Jump (Atari 2600)

Bump 'N Jump review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 22, 2011

Maybe a particular body of water is too long to clear in just one jump, so you'll have to time things in order to hit an island in the middle of the lake and immediately jump again to clear the rest of it. Or maybe two small ponds will be close together. If you jump at full speed, you'll easily clear the first one...and then helplessly watch as you said over the strip of land between them, only to crash into the second inches from clearing it.
Castlevania: Lament of Innocence (PlayStation 2)

Castlevania: Lament of Innocence review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 08, 2011

Mr. Exposition gives you the details of the plot, which basically comes down to Walter being a bit bored with eternal life, so for amusement, he kidnaps the loved ones of potential worthy opponents in order to engage in combat with the vengeful fighters. The old man lost his daughter to the vampire, but not his life or humanity. No, he's kept around to serve as a general store, so desperate to avenge his loss that he'll charge an arm and a leg for life-restoring potions and armor. A true humanitarian, this guy.
Dragon Warrior II (NES)

Dragon Warrior II review (NES)

Reviewed on May 19, 2011

Without those rose-colored memories, what we're left with is a decent older RPG that was a marked improvement on the first Dragon Warrior, but more than merely a step behind the third and fourth NES installments. I've played through those two games multiple times. When I picked up Dragon Warrior II a year or two after initially beating it, I think I got about halfway through before losing interest.
Wings of Wor (Genesis)

Wings of Wor review (GEN)

Reviewed on May 07, 2011

This is a fantasy game and I don't mean a "control a cute witch as she blasts hordes of adorable critters who turn into lollypops and flowers" fantasy. I'm talking about a dark fantasy where you're in control of an angel descending into a macabre, hellish world to confront grotesque monstrosities seemingly conjured from the worst nightmares of the game's designers.
Lufia: The Legend Returns (Game Boy Color)

Lufia: The Legend Returns review (GBC)

Reviewed on March 24, 2011

Anyhow, not only is the Ancient Cave back in this game, but with twice the number of floors (because, you know, measly 100-floor dungeons are for wimps) AND every single dungeon in the game takes its cue from this place. Yes, they all are multi-floor extravaganzas where everything seems randomly created. This makes things boring. You have no puzzles (unless you consider "striking things on walls to see if that opens up a corridor" to be one) or anything to detract from the tedium. All you do is walk through each floor, avoiding traps, killing monsters and collecting treasures...and then do the same on the next floor and the next until you've completed the dungeon. Then you go to the next town, find out about the next dungeon and do the same there.
Thunder Force (Sharp X1)

Thunder Force review (SX1)

Reviewed on March 14, 2011

Your ship moves constantly — your input is simply to determine what direction it's moving in at any given time. Making all this movement a bit tricky are the enemies, who tend to constantly swarm your ship as you aimlessly work through each level attempting to figure out exactly what you have to do in order to make it to the next. Thunder Force was essentially a stripped-down version of my least favorite part of my least favorite Genesis game in this series.
Breath of Death VII: The Beginning (Xbox 360)

Breath of Death VII: The Beginning review (X360)

Reviewed on March 12, 2011

What would you prefer? Sizable boosts to your health and magic or smaller ones to agility, offense and defense? A powerful spell that assaults one monster or a weaker one that hits everything? A strong healing spell or a weaker one that also cures status ailments? From the beginning, you're involved in the evolution of your party and your decisions will wind up determining just how difficult the game's toughest challenges are.
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (Xbox 360)

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night review (X360)

Reviewed on February 10, 2011

On the other hand, the Reverse Castle possesses the Crissaegrim. This sword, only obtainable as a dropped item by a particular monster (one so weak, you'd never expect it to hold something so godly) is one of my all-time guilty pleasures in gaming. In an instant, Alucard goes from a mere overpowered protagonist to a deity of unholy destruction, flinging waves of agony in front of him with every tap of the attack button. Even the fearsome Guardian suits of armor will fall in no time, while many bosses can be obliterated before they even seem to be fully aware an intruder is in their lair. Few things in gaming can provide the sort of savage, sadistic joy this sword does.
Kirby's Adventure (NES)

Kirby's Adventure review (NES)

Reviewed on January 08, 2011

Kirby's Adventure is innocence; a reminder of a youth full of optimism and dreams where even the thought of pitfalls seemed incomprehensible. When life gets me down, it offers solace as its bright colors, wildly varying levels and unrelenting cuteness overwhelm me until I have no choice but to smile and lose myself in the game. Even after all these years, it still has that effect — something that makes me grateful.
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PlayStation 3)

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 13, 2010

Drake is a kick-ass sort of super-cool guy who seems completely in control whether he's gunning down hostiles, impersonating Spider-Man while exploring vast caverns for treasure or delivering devastating zingers with impeccable timing. Working as his support cast are TWO potential love interests, an equally sarcastic friend-turned foe, a gruff and shady mentor and, of course, a megalomaniac looking to take over the world. The script writes itself.
Comic Jumper (Xbox 360)

Comic Jumper review (X360)

Reviewed on October 07, 2010

Captain Smiley is a pretty lousy hero, as the first stage humorously illustrates. His sidekick (a star named "Star" that seems grafted to his chest) hates him, while idolizing arch-nemesis Brad, a "too cool for you" dude who's a good fist-pump away from being part of the Jersey Shore cast. Smiley, so named because his head freakishly resembles an emoticon, starts the game on an adventure that places him in opposition to Brad, his army of sexy female robots and a mad scientist who seems mentally handicapped. Not exactly a murderer's row of super-villains — a sentiment that Smiley seems to share, as the bad guys wind up getting away while "our hero" gets in a prolonged argument with Star over how horrible this particular adventure was.
Cocoron (NES)

Cocoron review (NES)

Reviewed on October 03, 2010

What shattered my illusion was that for a game set in the world of dreams, Cocoron comes off as simply another eight-bit platformer. A competent one that does possess a certain amount of inventiveness and charm, but nothing I'd deem as particularly special or noteworthy. It's fun to play, but easy to forget, as there's very little of the tripped-out unreality I associate with mystical worlds only existing in one's imagination. Inception, this isn't.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.