Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | PC | PS4 | PS5 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | XSX | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by dementedhut and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth (Wii)

Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 25, 2011

The developers simply could've done their routine of belching out a decent title that did all the basics correctly, while never attempting to be anything beyond that. And you know what? Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth probably would've been praised as being a good remake, which isn't hard considering the source material.
Contra ReBirth (Wii)

Contra ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 18, 2011

What I love about Contra ReBirth is, for being a manly, run 'n gun title, it doesn't take itself seriously. Case in point: the first stage begins on a spaceship orbiting Earth, where the only plausible way in is by bursting through a wall, Kool-Aid style. Neither of your two starting avatars are donning astronaut suits, instead having their six packs exposed for all to see! And the vehicle that brought them into space? A standard helicopter.
Gradius ReBirth (Wii)

Gradius ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 11, 2011

Gradius ReBirth, the first game in the ReBirth line that's currently exclusive as WiiWare downloads, also happens to be the console follow-up to Gradius V. However, if you're expecting 3D, flashy graphics like its 2004 predecessor, then you will be disappointed, as the title imposes a retro, 16-bit visual presentation.
Sexy Parodius (Saturn)

Sexy Parodius review (SAT)

Reviewed on September 04, 2011

Going into this installment for the first time, with experience of the previous three titles to aide me, Sexy Parodius still managed to surprise.
Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius: Forever with Me (Saturn)

Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius: Forever with Me review (SAT)

Reviewed on August 28, 2011

I feel like I'm telling a joke if I even mention those three bosses: a singing panda, a school girl with bunny ears, and a living spaceship with a giant bra walk into a bar.
Parodius (Saturn)

Parodius review (SAT)

Reviewed on August 21, 2011

After the "thing" (Gradius III) was released in arcades, the main line of Gradius games went into hibernation for most of the 1990s; it was only at the tail end of the decade where two, big titles were released, Gradius Gaiden and Gradius IV. That still left a huge chunk of the 90s untouched, meaning gamers had to go elsewhere to get their Gradius fix with similar titles. The Parodius series answered the call, filling the void with a total of four shoot-em-up titles...
Salamander Deluxe Pack Plus (Saturn)

Salamander Deluxe Pack Plus review (SAT)

Reviewed on August 14, 2011

1986's Salamander, the first title in the 1997 release of Salamander Deluxe Pack Plus, acts as an ungrounded version of Gradius, which came out a year prior. Whereas Gradius required a near-methodical mindset, thanks to its checkpoint system, Salamander is more high-octane and in your face, adjusting the gameplay accordingly.
Gradius V (PlayStation 2)

Gradius V review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 01, 2011

I've stated that I like playing the first Gradius because of its fine balance, but Gradius V is the first time in the main series where I've genuinely enjoyed playing the whole thing, from start to finish.
Gradius III & IV (PlayStation 2)

Gradius III & IV review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 24, 2011

You poor bastards.
Gradius Deluxe Pack (Saturn)

Gradius Deluxe Pack review (SAT)

Reviewed on July 17, 2011

If there's one thing I can take away from Gradius Deluxe Pack, it's that there's a right way and a wrong way to make a challenging game.
Wing Arms (Saturn)

Wing Arms review (SAT)

Reviewed on July 10, 2011

When I play an aerial combat game, I expect a whole lot of Pew! action. You know, here a Pew! There a Pew! Everywhere a Pew! Pew! We all do.
Courier Crisis (Saturn)

Courier Crisis review (SAT)

Reviewed on June 26, 2011

Bluberry, The Legendary Reviewer, responsible for penning masterpiece reviews for such games as Ninety-Nine Nights, once joked that some development team should make a game about bicycle couriers. Imagine the shock when I told him a game like that has been in existence for well over a decade.
Red Faction: Armageddon (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Armageddon review (X360)

Reviewed on June 19, 2011

Of course, even though the Red Faction seems better suited to handle this Armageddon, Darius, being the main character, is able to single-handedly take out legions of these beings, by himself, throughout the game. So you're basically going to do the same thing over and over and... See where I'm heading?
Gunblade NY & L.A. Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack (Wii)

Gunblade NY & L.A. Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack review (WII)

Reviewed on June 11, 2011

With Sega releasing a light-gun title on the Wii at nearly a yearly rate, you'd think a Virtua Cop collection would be inevitable. Instead, Wii owners get blindsided by one of the most unexpected releases ever: Gunblade NY and L.A. Machineguns on one disc.
Matt Hazard: Blood Bath and Beyond (Xbox 360)

Matt Hazard: Blood Bath and Beyond review (X360)

Reviewed on May 29, 2011

After the disappointment that was Eat Lead, a mundane attempt at video game satire, I really, truly wasn't expecting its sequel to be hot stuff. I started playing it, realized it was a run 'n gun title in the tradition of Contra... and waited. For what? For Matt Hazard: Blood Bath and Beyond to suck.
Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard (Xbox 360)

Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard review (X360)

Reviewed on May 23, 2011

You often find yourself thinking, "Is this a nod to another game, or is Eat Lead unintentionally doing something cliche?"
Dune: The Battle for Arrakis (Genesis)

Dune: The Battle for Arrakis review (GEN)

Reviewed on May 07, 2011

Dune: The Battle for Arrakis doesn't need extras to know how to rock.
Portal 2 (Xbox 360)

Portal 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on April 24, 2011

So, if Portal is the equivalent to a Pixar short that pops up before a lame Disney movie, then Portal 2 is the full-length Pixar follow-up.
Rush'N Attack Ex-Patriot (Xbox 360)

Rush'N Attack Ex-Patriot review (X360)

Reviewed on April 13, 2011

26 years later...
Assault Suit Leynos 2 (Saturn)

Assault Suit Leynos 2 review (SAT)

Reviewed on April 03, 2011

Assault Suit Leynos 2 is still a good purchase for your Sega Saturn, but don't try paying an arm and a leg for a copy expecting some sort of heavenly masterpiece.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998 - 2022 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.