Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | PC | PS4 | PS5 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | XSX | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by Suskie and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Prototype 2 (Xbox 360)

Prototype 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on April 29, 2012

While Prototype 2 is a definite improvement, it’s not like fixing the first game’s flaws unearths some hidden masterpiece here. It’s not a great sequel so much as the game we should’ve gotten in the first place, and now it arrives several years too late to the party.
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim review (X360)

Reviewed on March 18, 2012

It’s very cold – in the thematic sense, though the snow certainly helps. Skyrim is one of the increasingly few Western RPGs to understand that “dark” is not synonymous with “edgy,” and its sheer prettiness prevents it from being as oppressively bleak as post-apocalyptic DC was.
Mass Effect 3 (Xbox 360)

Mass Effect 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on March 14, 2012

Fans have been railing on BioWare for phasing out certain elements – the side quests are virtually nonexistent at this point, and dialog options are more limited as Shepard speaks quite a bit on his own – yet in my mind, Mass Effect 3 is where all of the things that I truly love about this series come together.
Resident Evil 4 HD (Xbox 360)

Resident Evil 4 HD review (X360)

Reviewed on March 03, 2012

I didn’t die all that much during my playthrough of RE4, yet I constantly – constantly – felt like I was within an inch of my death, scraping for ammo, thrust into overwhelming situations that I was ill-equipped to handle. RE4 is a game that unyieldingly makes you feel helpless when you never are.
Alan Wake's American Nightmare (Xbox 360)

Alan Wake's American Nightmare review (X360)

Reviewed on February 25, 2012

While there’s still undeniably appeal in the Alan Wake franchise – the story is interesting for those players willing to read between the lines, and the combat is still a blast in moderation – American Nightmare is an underwhelming follow-up that simultaneously feels abbreviated and spread too thin.
Final Fantasy XIII-2 (Xbox 360)

Final Fantasy XIII-2 review (X360)

Reviewed on February 12, 2012

I’ve now wasted 60 hours of my life on FFXIII-2. I’ve found all of the fragments, earned all of the achievements, and seen all of the endings. I know this game inside-out. I know it better than many of the people who like it. No one could accuse me of not giving it a fair chance. And yet every effort I made to find value in it was unceremoniously shot down.
Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary (Xbox 360)

Halo: Combat Evolved - Anniversary review (X360)

Reviewed on January 22, 2012

Anniversary is a remake in the visual department only, and the enhancements actually make Halo a worse overall game. You can avoid this by switching over to Classic Mode, but then you might as well just save yourself a healthy chunk of money and download the original game off XBLA, unless you think it’s worth paying nearly three times the price for widescreen support.
Rayman Origins (Xbox 360)

Rayman Origins review (X360)

Reviewed on January 17, 2012

Taken as a counterweight to the flood of steely grey shooters littering the market, Origins is weaponized bliss. It’s also freakishly difficult, and that’s where Ancel and I have our differences.
X-Men: Destiny (Xbox 360)

X-Men: Destiny review (X360)

Reviewed on January 08, 2012

A month after X-Men: Destiny was released, it was reported that developer Silicon Knights was forced to lay off 45 of its employees, at least half of its workforce. Now that I’ve actually played the game, I must ask: Only 45?
Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Xbox 360)

Assassin's Creed: Revelations review (X360)

Reviewed on December 03, 2011

When the game ends, we’re right where we started, only now we have a general idea of where the writers will take us in the next entry. Christ, it’s like Dragon Age II all over again.
Batman: Arkham City (Xbox 360)

Batman: Arkham City review (X360)

Reviewed on October 29, 2011

It reminded me of the first time I played Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, not just because it’s awesome – though it certainly is – but for how thoroughly it explores the potential of its fictional, decades-old universe in the context of interactive entertainment. This is the definitive Batman game; if you were to take out the franchise-specific characters and settings and leave the design itself intact, it would still feel distinctly like a Batman game.
Gears of War 3 (Xbox 360)

Gears of War 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 08, 2011

We’ve cared so little for these characters, their conflict or the world they inhabit that years from now, when the next big shooter craze arrives and Gears finally becomes obsolete, I can’t help wondering if we’ll look back on this trilogy with a collective shrug. Gears 3 is simply a great shooter, and for now, that’s enough. I love great shooters almost as much as I hate missed opportunities.
Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360)

Deus Ex: Human Revolution review (X360)

Reviewed on September 24, 2011

Deus Ex: Human Revolution so astutely recaptures the spirit of the 2000 original that I’m amazed an outside developer is responsible for it. Compare it to Invisible War, the slicked-up, dumbed-down sequel that still has fans reeling, and you could conclude that Eidos has a better understanding of what makes this series tick than the people who got it running in the first place.
Metro 2033 (Xbox 360)

Metro 2033 review (X360)

Reviewed on August 20, 2011

We see human communities in which everyone contributes, everyone does their part and everyone looks out for one another. We see people sitting around fires, sharing drinks, and playing music. We see soldiers risking their lives for their comrades. Not all good things have been lost, and these frequent reminders are what keeps Metro 2033 from becoming as oppressively bleak as its spiritual brethren.
Duke Nukem Forever (Xbox 360)

Duke Nukem Forever review (X360)

Reviewed on June 25, 2011

The game’s steadily ramping barrage of obnoxious design choices almost feels like an endurance test as you inch closer to finishing the game. “Oh yeah?” the developers seem to say. “Well, how would you like a platforming sequence with an electrified floor? What about a boss that spawns smaller enemies indefinitely? How about an underwater level with clumsy controls and distorted vision, in which you have to keep constant tabs on your oxygen supply? How about an underwater boss?"
Red Faction: Armageddon (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Armageddon review (X360)

Reviewed on June 18, 2011

Red Faction: Armageddon gives us the Magnet Gun, which may be the most fun I’ve had with any one weapon since I first took a tour of Ravenholm with the Zero Point Energy Field Manipulator in hand.
L.A. Noire (Xbox 360)

L.A. Noire review (X360)

Reviewed on June 11, 2011

What a big, overlong miscalculation L.A. Noire is. It has the ingredients of an engaging detective game but then hastily shoves them aside in favor of drama, and it has a tight script and the best motion capture work in the business, all to present a story that’s meandering, unfocused, and anticlimactic. L.A. Noire’s plot and gameplay both seem to exist to service the other, and neither works.
Crackdown 2 (Xbox 360)

Crackdown 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on June 03, 2011

I reviewed the original a while back. I might as well direct you there; it’s not like Crackdown 2 is a new game or anything.
Dead Space 2 (Xbox 360)

Dead Space 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on May 01, 2011

In the very first scene – before we even take control – Isaac is talking to a guy who’s trying to get him out of his straitjacket, and then the guy gets stabbed in the face by an infector, and then scythes sprout out of his back, and then his face peels off, and then he goes “BLEEEAAAAAAARRRRRRKLLKEJBGFMVRSKGUSBOVMOCDGJEBSHRV!” And then the game gets loud.
Portal 2 (Xbox 360)

Portal 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on April 25, 2011

Breaking free of the chains and finally seeing what lies beyond Aperture’s white test chamber walls was one of Portal’s greatest pleasures, and the sequel mimics that sense of discovery beautifully. The key difference is that when Portal 2 reaches this point, the game has only just begun.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998 - 2022 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.