Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by zigfried and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2 - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon (PlayStation 2)

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2 - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 01, 2009

In a sense, Devil Summoner 2 is one of the more accessible entries in Atlus's long-running Shin Megami Tensei franchise. The combat is straightforward and quick, the difficulty isn't too high, and the demon negotiations and fusion provide a bit of depth to grab players' interest. Unfortunately, with its lackluster characters, blunt storytelling, and fitting but simplistic visuals, this isn't a game that will sustain that interest.
Death Sword (PC)

Death Sword review (PC)

Reviewed on July 19, 2009

DEATH SWORD! That's the kind of name that would grab any 10-year-old's attention, and it sure grabbed mine. I saw this colorful game full of bloody decapitations and bikini babes running on an Apple at Electronics Boutique (R.I.P.), memorized the title that had been unceremoniously Scotch-taped to the monitor, and knew I desperately, desperately needed it.
Kimi ga Nozomu Eien: Special Fan Disk (PC)

Kimi ga Nozomu Eien: Special Fan Disk review (PC)

Reviewed on July 15, 2009

What Did I Do To Deserve This, My Lord!? (PSP)

What Did I Do To Deserve This, My Lord!? review (PSP)

Reviewed on July 15, 2009

The retro graphics, retro music, and crazy monster-breeding are as charming as any self-proclaimed "hardcore oldschool" gamer could hope. Unfortunately, none of the game modes really let those who persevere run wild with their hard-earned skills; the time limit is too restrictive and the story mode's soil simply isn't fertile enough to raise a massive army befitting the God of Destruction.
Annet Futatabi (Sega CD)

Annet Futatabi review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 09, 2009

The Warriors (PlayStation 2)

The Warriors review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 03, 2009

As in the movie, they're a fictional gang, hoodlumming it up and down 1979 Coney Isle. The Warriors and a hundred other gangs are invited to a "no guns" meeting held by a very charismatic cat named Cyrus, whose noble dream is to unite the gangs and violently take over every aspect of the New York City underworld. Unfortunately, a psychotic misfit from the Rogues takes advantage of this opportunity to plug Cyrus in the chest, making the peaceful meeting decidedly less peaceful. For shame!
Shooting Love, 200X (Xbox 360)

Shooting Love, 200X review (X360)

Reviewed on June 28, 2009

I love shooting, and I'm glad that the income Triangle Service earned by groveling and pleading with bleeding-heart gamers led to something so entertaining. Their online blog says their goal is to provide SERVICE to shooter fans. (They cheesily explain that's why they're called Triangle SERVICE.) Based on the company's progressively inventive releases throughout the new century's first decade, I'd say they've held true to their mission.
Mr. Nutz (SNES)

Mr. Nutz review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 24, 2009

It's clear that the adventure — which begins in "Woody Land" — was heavily influenced by Sonic the Hedgehog, as Mr. Nutz collects coins from nooks and crannies across numerous expansive levels. Unlike Sonic, there's no time limit; the squirrel with attitude can ride slow-floating sponges across acidic waters, swing around on vines, and clumsily bounce off of pinball blocks at his own leisurely pace without fear of Time Over. He definitely does dawdle; even holding the "run" button barely picks up the pace.
The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena (Xbox 360)

The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena review (X360)

Reviewed on June 20, 2009

Riddick is the bogeyman, a silent assassin who can see in the dark, and Vin Diesel exudes the perfect mix of menace and emotional detachment. The outrageous Chronicles of Riddick film tried its best to ideologically kill the character, but Riddick's two videogames bring the devil-may-care badass back. The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena actually includes both games, making it a tremendous purchase for anyone who missed out on 2004's Xbox classic.
Class of Heroes (PSP)

Class of Heroes review (PSP)

Reviewed on June 16, 2009

Class of Heroes is huge. I remember when my Celestian Valkyrie — I pervishly call her my angel — hit level seven. To advance to the next level, she needed 10,500 additional experience. Over ten thousand experience to reach level eight. That's a lot, especially considering I was already 15 hours into the adventure, but the game promised to continue for many, many hours.
Steal Princess (DS)

Steal Princess review (DS)

Reviewed on June 07, 2009

Even though it's an interesting game, Steal Princess's overly complex, touchy controls tarnish the experience, and map creation is a spectacular failure. On the other hand, the game does feature excruciatingly dull story scenes mixed among its 150 stages!
Bionic Commando (Xbox 360)

Bionic Commando review (X360)

Reviewed on May 26, 2009

Development team GRIN, also responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, have created an immensely playable game. Unfortunately, it's not the fount of creative goodness that its predecessor was. Although the game is speckled with phenomenal moments, too much of Bionic Commando is spent casually running through empty cities.
The Dark Spire (DS)

The Dark Spire review (DS)

Reviewed on May 23, 2009

Contrary to word-of-mouth, this isn't a Wizardry-style journey. It certainly pays homage to its legendary predecessor, but its wicked sense of humor and creepy atmosphere lend the adventure a personality all its own. The Dark Spire is an artistic, engrossing RPG that achieves immersion via intense exploration, puzzle-solving, and surprisingly addictive level-grinding. It's an experience, but more importantly, it is game.
Deathsmiles (Xbox 360)

Deathsmiles review (X360)

Reviewed on May 09, 2009

With so many entertaining scenes, it's clear that Cave put a lot of care and attention towards creating an appealing new world. They attempted something similar a while back with Mushihimesama, but this time the gameplay lives up to their previous best efforts.
Lux-Pain (DS)

Lux-Pain review (DS)

Reviewed on April 29, 2009

The game's primary failure is a very basic one: the story just isn't compelling. One important element for any visual novel is believable characters. Some of Atsuki's classmates manage to avoid standard stereotypes (the fortune-telling blonde is particularly refreshing) but several of the villains are simply outrageous. One early baddie — a bald man with evil pointy ears and creepy narrow stalker eyes — repeatedly professes his love for guns and hatred for schoolchildren.
The King of Fighters '98 Ultimate Match (PlayStation 2)

The King of Fighters '98 Ultimate Match review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 12, 2009

It'd be easy to declare Ultimate Match a success based on the slick control, absurdly huge roster, energetic visuals, and sweet dual soundtracks. But the thing that truly makes Ultimate Match stand out is SNK Playmore's understanding of fighting game players.
Hammerin' Hero (PSP)

Hammerin' Hero review (PSP)

Reviewed on April 07, 2009

As proven by their cult classic Gekisha Boy, Irem knows how to make an amusing action game. The artwork is presented in a cartoony, colorful style sure to attract the bright eyes of children and nostalgic adults. The wide PSP screen is put to excellent use, providing plenty of room to maneuver while admiring the elaborate boss's antics.
Legacy of Ys: Books I & II (DS)

Legacy of Ys: Books I & II review (DS)

Reviewed on March 23, 2009

The back of the box says "this ultimate translation delivers the most substantial version of the famous story to date". It also refers to "new enemies and equipment". For North America, this is true. However, in terms of content, Legacy of Ys is nothing more than a re-release of Ys Complete I&II with new graphics, new music, and a new control system.
Starflight (PC)

Starflight review (PC)

Reviewed on March 20, 2009

When Binary Systems' space exploration adventure Starflight hit store shelves in 1986, it boasted some impressive features. I could recruit and train my crew, selecting among five different species. I could explore planets and harvest minerals or capture wild beasts. I could communicate with alien races in friendly, hostile, or obsequious tones, or I could communicate with high-powered weaponry.
Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360)

Resident Evil 5 review (X360)

Reviewed on March 17, 2009

Throughout the first chapter — while trying to escape an entire city that hated me, while hiding in dark corners and climbing walls to escape the bloodthirsty masses — Resident Evil 5 provided a heart-pounding, frightening, and thoroughly playable adventure with some disturbing real-world implications. I knew these people weren't evil, just sick... but I killed them anyway. I had to kill them to survive — they were bursting through ceilings, climbing through windows, hiding behind fences. By the end, I was shooting everyone on sight, and feeling pleasure. Heaven help me if there was an actual innocent soul wandering the streets.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2020 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.