Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Traysia (Genesis)

Traysia review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 06, 2006

I tried to pay attention to the game’s muddled plot and it seemed that much of it revolved around an evil group of wizards trying to take over the world. To back up that theory, as my characters explored different lands, they saw evidence of diabolical spells designed to sow the seeds of chaos. But in battle, these wizards do nothing more than walk towards the heroes and try to bop ‘em on the head with their staves. Brilliant!
Bonk's Adventure (TurboGrafx-16)

Bonk's Adventure review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 02, 2006

I don't often randomly boast about particularly sweet things I pull off in video games, but I have to say I had an ear-to-ear grin after utterly destroying one boss with a perfectly-executed chain of attacks. The poor guy never had a chance, as I hit him with a diving attack, bounced off and repeatedly walloped him until the dude was down for the count. Sorry, Punchy Pedro, I scarcely knew ye.....
Addams Family Values (SNES)

Addams Family Values review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 21, 2006

Or you'll become befuddled by your umpteenth encounter with one of Addams Family Values' favorite underworld "puzzles" — the games of "Guess Which Teleporter Won't Move You Back Eight Rooms" and "Randomly Push These Switches Until You Do It Right". This cartridge did a fantastic job of making me feel that it was either dumb luck or trial-and-error that got from one place to the next, as opposed to anything resembling skill or gaming knowledge.
Legend of Hero Tonma (TurboGrafx-16)

Legend of Hero Tonma review (TG16)

Reviewed on February 12, 2006

It seemed I was challenged virtually every step of the way in the fifth level's cavern and the sixth stage's castle exterior, assaulted by fireball-spewing statues and an infinite number of knights, bats and other baddies on a non-stop basis. For the earlier stages, it seemed like I'd cruise through a few easy waves of enemies, briefly struggle to get through one tricky part and then realize I already was at the boss fight.
Final Fantasy III (NES)

Final Fantasy III review (NES)

Reviewed on February 04, 2006

At times, it seems that regardless of how many characters you have casting healing spells, you won’t be able to keep up with the damage caused by these baddies, especially when they’re whipping out powerhouse spells like Quake, Flare and Meteo on a turn-by-turn basis. If you DON’T kill them quickly, you can rest assured they'll be dining on the seared bones of your heroes that night.
GG Aleste (Game Gear)

GG Aleste review (GG)

Reviewed on January 26, 2006

There were a few areas that were genuinely fun, like a stage placing me above a railroad track complete with robots rocketing off a train to challenge my ship at its level, but much of this game was the sort of personality-free drek that has provided the backbone for mediocre shooters throughout time.
Karnov (NES)

Karnov review (NES)

Reviewed on January 13, 2006

Whether I’m smirking at the sight of a macho circus strongman clad with a mermaid’s tail during the underwater portions of the fifth stage or wondering just how a common boomerang can INSTANTLY kill an enormous dinosaur, I’m typically having a blast when Memory Lane takes me past this game.
Riddle of The Sphinx (Atari 2600)

Riddle of The Sphinx review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 23, 2005

Your hero starts out moving at a semi-brisk pace, but will soon be ambling at a gait that makes me look nimble after finally stepping away from an all-you-can-eat buffet.
Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King (PlayStation 2)

Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 17, 2005

Since this is a Dragon Quest game, though, simply venturing to the cave would have been folly. My hero and his burly sidekick, Yangus, likely would have been dispatched by monsters before even making it halfway down the road to that tourist-unfriendly location. No, as in this game’s predecessors, the wise choice of action was to hang out around town, kill monsters, gain a couple of levels and buy some better equipment.
Dragon Warrior IV (NES)

Dragon Warrior IV review (NES)

Reviewed on December 02, 2005

Against the game’s final bosses, it didn’t take long for me to realize that every move my hero made was crucial. Since my other characters tended not to cast healing spells until someone had one foot in the grave, it was up to me to keep everyone healthy. When a boss raised its defense to a level where even Ragnar and Alena could barely dent its hide, it was my job to magically remove that additional protection.
Dragon Warrior (NES)

Dragon Warrior review (NES)

Reviewed on November 23, 2005

Posing as the son of the great warrior Erdrick (who wasn’t great enough to wipe out the resident Dragonlord threat threatening the land of Alefgard), he is not only handy with a sword, but also with magic. Or, I should say, he will be....eventually. Initially, he is only suited to clumsily bopping weak slimes with a club and then running back to town before those weaklings overwhelm him.
Kuusou Kagaku Sekai: Gulliver Boy (SNES)

Kuusou Kagaku Sekai: Gulliver Boy review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 18, 2005

It didn’t take me long to figure out all this weirdness was because Gulliver Boy simply is one of the shortest action-RPGs I’ve ever played. The reason the plot feels so rushed and that characters are introduced, only to be immediately discarded, is because this game seemingly was designed to be beaten in one afternoon.
Marchen Adventure Cotton 100% (SNES)

Marchen Adventure Cotton 100% review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 17, 2005

Fortunately, Marchen Adventure has its atmosphere to fall back on when aspects of the gameplay felt a bit too simplistic. As mentioned before, this game is simply gorgeous, with beautifully-detailed backgrounds. However, some questionable music did break the mood in a number of stages.
Wolfenstein 3D (SNES)

Wolfenstein 3D review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 10, 2005

I didn’t fight monstrous demons in Wolfenstein 3D. Instead, I was confronted by soldiers dressed in tan, blue and white. Scattered through the castles and fortresses also are a few hordes of mutated rats and zombified soldiers. With the exception of the bosses, every foe in this game is the equal of Doom’s early-game cannon fodder.
Metroid (NES)

Metroid review (NES)

Reviewed on November 10, 2005

In Zelda, this was no big deal, as you’d simply stroll to the nearest fairy pond and get a free recharge. Here, you have to find a room with a plentiful number of weak foes and regain your strength in increments of five points (20, if you’re lucky). Once again, it’s not a pretty scene.
Gradius Galaxies (Game Boy Advance)

Gradius Galaxies review (GBA)

Reviewed on November 04, 2005

So, what did Konami do to ramp up the difficulty? If you answered, “Throw in a few obstacle course sections WHILE botching up your ship’s hit detection ever-so-slightly!” you get full credit. I, on the other hand, received nothing but frustration from the mass number of cheap deaths inflicted on me.
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (Genesis)

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 review (GEN)

Reviewed on October 28, 2005

I was able to choose between jumping to ledges far above my hedgehog or descending to the depths of lakes. Going one way might lead to a long series of slides that send Sonic careening into a mammoth ocean of oil. However, a different path might keep him safely above that ecological disaster.
Zelda II: The Adventure of Link (NES)

Zelda II: The Adventure of Link review (NES)

Reviewed on October 21, 2005

While there are only a total of seven main dungeons to explore, there are a number of smaller caves to occupy your time, including the mammoth Death Mountain — a maze-like assortment of caves covering nearly a third of the first continent. Much like many of the second-continent palaces, this region is designed to test a player’s endurance and skill, as the combination of tough foes, instant-death lava and a seemingly-limitless number of caverns to navigate ensures that only a proficient player will make it through without losing a life or two.
Mobile Suit Gundam SEED: Never Ending Tomorrow (PlayStation 2)

Mobile Suit Gundam SEED: Never Ending Tomorrow review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 20, 2005

I’m sure this is very accurate to the actual anime, as I’d guess virtually every episode was highlighted by robot battles, but it just seemed tiresome to fight the same foes over and over again, especially in such a short period of time.
Divine Sealing (Genesis)

Divine Sealing review (GEN)

Reviewed on October 06, 2005

All I can tell you is that you shoot your way through five planets, kill a boss and then get a couple of delicious moments of cartoon girls stripping while expressions of what could either be ecstasy or anguish dance across their face.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.