Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Final Fantasy III (NES)

Final Fantasy III review (NES)

Reviewed on February 04, 2006

At times, it seems that regardless of how many characters you have casting healing spells, you wonít be able to keep up with the damage caused by these baddies, especially when theyíre whipping out powerhouse spells like Quake, Flare and Meteo on a turn-by-turn basis. If you DONíT kill them quickly, you can rest assured they'll be dining on the seared bones of your heroes that night.
GG Aleste (Game Gear)

GG Aleste review (GG)

Reviewed on January 26, 2006

There were a few areas that were genuinely fun, like a stage placing me above a railroad track complete with robots rocketing off a train to challenge my ship at its level, but much of this game was the sort of personality-free drek that has provided the backbone for mediocre shooters throughout time.
Karnov (NES)

Karnov review (NES)

Reviewed on January 13, 2006

Whether Iím smirking at the sight of a macho circus strongman clad with a mermaidís tail during the underwater portions of the fifth stage or wondering just how a common boomerang can INSTANTLY kill an enormous dinosaur, Iím typically having a blast when Memory Lane takes me past this game.
Riddle of The Sphinx (Atari 2600)

Riddle of The Sphinx review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 23, 2005

Your hero starts out moving at a semi-brisk pace, but will soon be ambling at a gait that makes me look nimble after finally stepping away from an all-you-can-eat buffet.
Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King (PlayStation 2)

Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 17, 2005

Since this is a Dragon Quest game, though, simply venturing to the cave would have been folly. My hero and his burly sidekick, Yangus, likely would have been dispatched by monsters before even making it halfway down the road to that tourist-unfriendly location. No, as in this gameís predecessors, the wise choice of action was to hang out around town, kill monsters, gain a couple of levels and buy some better equipment.
Dragon Warrior IV (NES)

Dragon Warrior IV review (NES)

Reviewed on December 02, 2005

Against the gameís final bosses, it didnít take long for me to realize that every move my hero made was crucial. Since my other characters tended not to cast healing spells until someone had one foot in the grave, it was up to me to keep everyone healthy. When a boss raised its defense to a level where even Ragnar and Alena could barely dent its hide, it was my job to magically remove that additional protection.
Dragon Warrior (NES)

Dragon Warrior review (NES)

Reviewed on November 23, 2005

Posing as the son of the great warrior Erdrick (who wasnít great enough to wipe out the resident Dragonlord threat threatening the land of Alefgard), he is not only handy with a sword, but also with magic. Or, I should say, he will be....eventually. Initially, he is only suited to clumsily bopping weak slimes with a club and then running back to town before those weaklings overwhelm him.
Kuusou Kagaku Sekai: Gulliver Boy (SNES)

Kuusou Kagaku Sekai: Gulliver Boy review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 18, 2005

It didnít take me long to figure out all this weirdness was because Gulliver Boy simply is one of the shortest action-RPGs Iíve ever played. The reason the plot feels so rushed and that characters are introduced, only to be immediately discarded, is because this game seemingly was designed to be beaten in one afternoon.
Marchen Adventure Cotton 100% (SNES)

Marchen Adventure Cotton 100% review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 17, 2005

Fortunately, Marchen Adventure has its atmosphere to fall back on when aspects of the gameplay felt a bit too simplistic. As mentioned before, this game is simply gorgeous, with beautifully-detailed backgrounds. However, some questionable music did break the mood in a number of stages.
Wolfenstein 3D (SNES)

Wolfenstein 3D review (SNES)

Reviewed on November 10, 2005

I didnít fight monstrous demons in Wolfenstein 3D. Instead, I was confronted by soldiers dressed in tan, blue and white. Scattered through the castles and fortresses also are a few hordes of mutated rats and zombified soldiers. With the exception of the bosses, every foe in this game is the equal of Doomís early-game cannon fodder.
Metroid (NES)

Metroid review (NES)

Reviewed on November 10, 2005

In Zelda, this was no big deal, as youíd simply stroll to the nearest fairy pond and get a free recharge. Here, you have to find a room with a plentiful number of weak foes and regain your strength in increments of five points (20, if youíre lucky). Once again, itís not a pretty scene.
Gradius Galaxies (Game Boy Advance)

Gradius Galaxies review (GBA)

Reviewed on November 04, 2005

So, what did Konami do to ramp up the difficulty? If you answered, ďThrow in a few obstacle course sections WHILE botching up your shipís hit detection ever-so-slightly!Ē you get full credit. I, on the other hand, received nothing but frustration from the mass number of cheap deaths inflicted on me.
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (Genesis)

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 review (GEN)

Reviewed on October 28, 2005

I was able to choose between jumping to ledges far above my hedgehog or descending to the depths of lakes. Going one way might lead to a long series of slides that send Sonic careening into a mammoth ocean of oil. However, a different path might keep him safely above that ecological disaster.
Zelda II: The Adventure of Link (NES)

Zelda II: The Adventure of Link review (NES)

Reviewed on October 21, 2005

While there are only a total of seven main dungeons to explore, there are a number of smaller caves to occupy your time, including the mammoth Death Mountain ó a maze-like assortment of caves covering nearly a third of the first continent. Much like many of the second-continent palaces, this region is designed to test a playerís endurance and skill, as the combination of tough foes, instant-death lava and a seemingly-limitless number of caverns to navigate ensures that only a proficient player will make it through without losing a life or two.
Mobile Suit Gundam SEED: Never Ending Tomorrow (PlayStation 2)

Mobile Suit Gundam SEED: Never Ending Tomorrow review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 20, 2005

Iím sure this is very accurate to the actual anime, as Iíd guess virtually every episode was highlighted by robot battles, but it just seemed tiresome to fight the same foes over and over again, especially in such a short period of time.
Divine Sealing (Genesis)

Divine Sealing review (GEN)

Reviewed on October 06, 2005

All I can tell you is that you shoot your way through five planets, kill a boss and then get a couple of delicious moments of cartoon girls stripping while expressions of what could either be ecstasy or anguish dance across their face.
Final Blaster (TurboGrafx-16)

Final Blaster review (TG16)

Reviewed on October 06, 2005

Sure, you could be satisfied in merely completing the game even though in the span of two late-game stages, you plummeted from the elite difficulty level to the lowest (as the Great and Mighty OD did....), but that sort of thing just leaves a bad taste in your mouth.
Zero Tolerance (Genesis)

Zero Tolerance review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 28, 2005

The new enemy introduced here, a bug-like humanoid, followed the same pattern as the skittering aliens and attack dogs (running straight at me), but seemed even more inept. Countless times, these critters would run right by me and freeze. Iíd turn around, see it suspended in place and get a quick and lethal shot off before it would start moving again. Now thatís some quality programming!
W Ring: The Double Rings (TurboGrafx-16)

W Ring: The Double Rings review (TG16)

Reviewed on September 23, 2005

One of the things Iíve always loved most about the PC Engine/Turbografx-16 is that so many of its games seem to revel in being quirky and off-beat. Just look at that systemís many shooters for all the proof you need. Thereís the psychotically trippy Paranoia, the whimsically bizarre Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen and the crass, juvenile humor of Toilet Kids, to name just a few.
Zero Wing (Genesis)

Zero Wing review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 17, 2005

If thereís ever been a reason to hate nerds, Zero Wing is it. I have nothing against the actual game, as itís a reasonably competent Genesis port of what Iíd guess was a reasonably decent arcade game. No, what I hate is the absurd amount of notoriety this game has received SOLELY due to a pre-game cutscene featuring inexplicably poor attempts at utilizing the English language.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.