Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
X-Multiply (Arcade)

X-Multiply review (ARC)

Reviewed on May 04, 2006

One memorable section sends the player down a long corridor to a vast chamber while dodging deadly drops of fluid dripping from the ceiling, leading me to believe my travels had taken me into the depths of the digestive system, where mammoth drops of stomach acid posed a very real threat. Then again, that level’s boss was a snake-like creature that fired bullets suspiciously shaped like sperm, so I may not actually have been in the belly of the beast....
Medal of Honor (PlayStation)

Medal of Honor review (PSX)

Reviewed on April 27, 2006

In his briefing, Jimmy is given authorization papers to show guards. He’s told to AVOID combat, sneak around, do what he has to do and get out as quickly as possible. And when he does that, the one-star (maybe two) rating he’ll get upon achieving this hollow success will weigh upon his heart like a scarlet letter of shame.
Monster Party (NES)

Monster Party review (NES)

Reviewed on April 21, 2006

Most disturbing of all, the head of an Egyptian pharaoh greeted me with the gleeful exclamation, “OH BOY! MARK SOUP!” Trust me....when you knock on a stranger’s door, that is NOT what you want to hear.
Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PlayStation 2)

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 16, 2006

As a guy who broke his teeth on the old-school games of past generations, I was ecstatic to learn that Konami included two Metal Gear games originally released for the eight-bit MSX computer gaming system. The first game (featuring Snake's trip to a three-building compound enticingly named "Outer Heaven") was somewhat altered for release on the NES, while the second had never before been released in America.
Suikoden III (PlayStation 2)

Suikoden III review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 06, 2006

Minor battles are boring and tedious — winding up as nothing more than bland interludes between plot points. One minute, I’d be watching treaties get broken and villages get torched — the next, I’d be battling bunnies, spiders and beetles. And this goes on for the entire game. Suikoden III’s story was so vast and enthralling to me that the game’s random battles seemed more of a nuisance than a necessity.
Fire Emblem (Game Boy Advance)

Fire Emblem review (GBA)

Reviewed on March 30, 2006

Fights consist of more and more enemy troops, many of which can pop up anywhere at any time as reinforcements, while many factors make picking your group of heroes for each battle a decision to not be taken lightly. Units with heavy armor may not be mobile enough to be useful on the largest battlefields, while heroes that subscribe to the “brawn-before-brains” code likely will get beat down in encounters with multiple magic-wielders.
Final Soldier (TurboGrafx-16)

Final Soldier review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 20, 2006

I was disappointed to have to play through seven levels that didn't get challenging until the end neared. Enemies were only aggressive in a few parts of Final Soldier, while most bosses went down in flames before I got overwhelmed by their more proactive approach to solving the problem of “that gosh-durn little feller that keeps shooting me with the big green doohickeys”.
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (SNES)

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 17, 2006

It’s hard to imagine that great fights against Turtle Rock’s three-headed dragon, the near-invulnerable Moldorm or evil ol’ Ganon, himself, could be in the same game as a giant moth whose main threat is caused by its good fortune to reside in a spike-laden room with a floor composed of conveyor belts. A handful of other bosses seem a bit redundant, as one seems little more than an enhanced version of the Patra mini-bosses in the original Legend of Zelda’s final dungeon, while the fight with Blink the Thief could best be described as a confrontation with a mobile Gleeok.
Zunou Senkan Galg (NES)

Zunou Senkan Galg review (NES)

Reviewed on March 09, 2006

To be honest, I got my first hint that Galg might become a thorn in my side as soon as I started up the game. As the first level began, I was informed I must collect 100 parts to destroy someone or something known as Dragg. Not five parts, not 10....but 100! But that's only a harbinger of the true horrors that were yet to come....
Traysia (Genesis)

Traysia review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 06, 2006

I tried to pay attention to the game’s muddled plot and it seemed that much of it revolved around an evil group of wizards trying to take over the world. To back up that theory, as my characters explored different lands, they saw evidence of diabolical spells designed to sow the seeds of chaos. But in battle, these wizards do nothing more than walk towards the heroes and try to bop ‘em on the head with their staves. Brilliant!
Bonk's Adventure (TurboGrafx-16)

Bonk's Adventure review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 02, 2006

I don't often randomly boast about particularly sweet things I pull off in video games, but I have to say I had an ear-to-ear grin after utterly destroying one boss with a perfectly-executed chain of attacks. The poor guy never had a chance, as I hit him with a diving attack, bounced off and repeatedly walloped him until the dude was down for the count. Sorry, Punchy Pedro, I scarcely knew ye.....
Addams Family Values (SNES)

Addams Family Values review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 20, 2006

Or you'll become befuddled by your umpteenth encounter with one of Addams Family Values' favorite underworld "puzzles" — the games of "Guess Which Teleporter Won't Move You Back Eight Rooms" and "Randomly Push These Switches Until You Do It Right". This cartridge did a fantastic job of making me feel that it was either dumb luck or trial-and-error that got from one place to the next, as opposed to anything resembling skill or gaming knowledge.
Legend of Hero Tonma (TurboGrafx-16)

Legend of Hero Tonma review (TG16)

Reviewed on February 12, 2006

It seemed I was challenged virtually every step of the way in the fifth level's cavern and the sixth stage's castle exterior, assaulted by fireball-spewing statues and an infinite number of knights, bats and other baddies on a non-stop basis. For the earlier stages, it seemed like I'd cruise through a few easy waves of enemies, briefly struggle to get through one tricky part and then realize I already was at the boss fight.
Final Fantasy III (NES)

Final Fantasy III review (NES)

Reviewed on February 03, 2006

At times, it seems that regardless of how many characters you have casting healing spells, you won’t be able to keep up with the damage caused by these baddies, especially when they’re whipping out powerhouse spells like Quake, Flare and Meteo on a turn-by-turn basis. If you DON’T kill them quickly, you can rest assured they'll be dining on the seared bones of your heroes that night.
GG Aleste (Game Gear)

GG Aleste review (GG)

Reviewed on January 26, 2006

There were a few areas that were genuinely fun, like a stage placing me above a railroad track complete with robots rocketing off a train to challenge my ship at its level, but much of this game was the sort of personality-free drek that has provided the backbone for mediocre shooters throughout time.
Karnov (NES)

Karnov review (NES)

Reviewed on January 13, 2006

Whether I’m smirking at the sight of a macho circus strongman clad with a mermaid’s tail during the underwater portions of the fifth stage or wondering just how a common boomerang can INSTANTLY kill an enormous dinosaur, I’m typically having a blast when Memory Lane takes me past this game.
Riddle of The Sphinx (Atari 2600)

Riddle of The Sphinx review (A2600)

Reviewed on December 23, 2005

Your hero starts out moving at a semi-brisk pace, but will soon be ambling at a gait that makes me look nimble after finally stepping away from an all-you-can-eat buffet.
Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King (PlayStation 2)

Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 17, 2005

Since this is a Dragon Quest game, though, simply venturing to the cave would have been folly. My hero and his burly sidekick, Yangus, likely would have been dispatched by monsters before even making it halfway down the road to that tourist-unfriendly location. No, as in this game’s predecessors, the wise choice of action was to hang out around town, kill monsters, gain a couple of levels and buy some better equipment.
Dragon Warrior IV (NES)

Dragon Warrior IV review (NES)

Reviewed on December 02, 2005

Against the game’s final bosses, it didn’t take long for me to realize that every move my hero made was crucial. Since my other characters tended not to cast healing spells until someone had one foot in the grave, it was up to me to keep everyone healthy. When a boss raised its defense to a level where even Ragnar and Alena could barely dent its hide, it was my job to magically remove that additional protection.
Dragon Warrior (NES)

Dragon Warrior review (NES)

Reviewed on November 23, 2005

Posing as the son of the great warrior Erdrick (who wasn’t great enough to wipe out the resident Dragonlord threat threatening the land of Alefgard), he is not only handy with a sword, but also with magic. Or, I should say, he will be....eventually. Initially, he is only suited to clumsily bopping weak slimes with a club and then running back to town before those weaklings overwhelm him.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.