Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Tiny Toon Adventures (NES)

Tiny Toon Adventures review (NES)

Reviewed on December 22, 2006

For example, the fourth one consisted of little more than a brief series of jumps while dodging some sort of dog that occasionally sprinted at my character. After I got my timing down, so I’d avoid the dog’s charges, I realized it only took me about 10 seconds to do that entire part of the level. And, to be honest, it wasn’t much shorter than any of the other four areas.
Phelios (Genesis)

Phelios review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 16, 2006

Artemis looks and acts much like your standard damsel in distress with her long blond hair and scant clothing barely covering her SWEET rack as she begs for Apollo to remember their time together and come save her. Well, while that was all I needed to see before leaping into action, according to the actual legends, Artemis was more of a butt-kicking tomboy type who likely was a role model for young Greek lesbians.
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. the Soulless Army (PlayStation 2)

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. the Soulless Army review (PS2)

Reviewed on November 24, 2006

While the plot does have the standard SMT flair for the dramatic, with various factions vying for control of Japan by whatever means they feel to be necessary, Devil Summoner doesn’t take place in a world that’s already been purged of virtually all forms of civilized life.
Silent Hill (PlayStation)

Silent Hill review (PSX)

Reviewed on November 22, 2006

The fog-shrouded town is infested with all sorts of things that go bump in the night and Harry’s not exactly the ideal monster-slayer — being a bit clumsy and not a particularly sharp marksman. And whenever he starts to feel secure that he’s on top of things, his surroundings tend to get a bit askew. With loud clangings and bangings, the foggy surroundings melt away, leaving Harry in a dark, hellish world surrounded by rusty metallic walls.
God Medicine (Game Boy)

God Medicine review (GB)

Reviewed on November 10, 2006

In my mind, this scenario had all sorts of potential. You have three video game geeks transported into a video game world. And we all know how RPGs are chock-full of cliches — leading me to believe God Medicine would be loaded with all sorts of snarky inside jokes capable of eliciting gleeful guffaws from real-life video game geeks like me.
Silent Hill 2 (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill 2 review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 27, 2006

I remember feeling a sense of impending doom late in the game, as I controlled James as he descended through what seemed a nonstop series of holes in the ground. To me, this small section of the game seemed more of a metaphor for my character’s mental state as he came closer to discovering the truth. And who could blame him for being a little bit over the edge by this point?
Gokuraku! Chuka Taisen (TurboGrafx-16)

Gokuraku! Chuka Taisen review (TG16)

Reviewed on October 13, 2006

Yes, hero-boy’s steed of choice as he enters the fray is a cloud. Now, if I was a mythological Chinese hero, I’d prefer riding into battle on one of those cool-looking dragons those nutty folks are always worshipping or whatever, but to each his own, I guess.
Parasite Eve (PlayStation)

Parasite Eve review (PSX)

Reviewed on October 05, 2006

The main problem is that whenever Aya gets into a fight, the game has to load in the monsters, which takes a couple of seconds. During this time, the screen freezes and turns gray, essentially screaming, “Hey stupid! You are going to be in a fight. Gird those loins and start shooting!”
Streets of Rage 2 (Genesis)

Streets of Rage 2 review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 29, 2006

And make no mistake — losing the services of Adam was such a crushing blow to comrades Axel and Blaze that they needed to enlist TWO other vigilante crime fighters in an attempt to replace him. Skate is a skateboarder who I’ve never used or even considered using. Just look at the little pipsqueak and you’ll understand. Max is a big, powerful guy who suffers from being the slowest-moving human being in the world. Sure, he can wade through Mr. X’s foot soldiers with ease, littering the city streets with broken bodies and shattered dreams, but put him against nimble, agile foes and things get ugly.
Tecmo Super Bowl (NES)

Tecmo Super Bowl review (NES)

Reviewed on September 22, 2006

Under the computer’s control, Christian Okoye and Barry Word are near-impossible to tackle unless the player is able to guess which play will be called (which causes the entire defense to gang-rush the unlucky ball carrier). If I was lucky, the computer would try to have Steve DeBerg pass his team to victory. If not, I’d repeatedly watch Okoye and Word crush my defenders on one long touchdown run after another, while praying I’d be able to score last to win a 35-31 brawl.
Rule of Rose (PlayStation 2)

Rule of Rose review (PS2)

Reviewed on September 12, 2006

Jennifer's about as comfortable (and skilled) with deadly knifes and other weaponry as one would expect the average teenage girl to be. Put a powerful lead pipe in her hands and watch as she swings, misses and takes what seems like an eternity to regain her equilibrium. Using short-range weapons like the assorted knives found throughout the game might solve that problem, but getting close enough to foes to make contact isn't always a good idea.
Wild Arms 3 (PlayStation 2)

Wild Arms 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 28, 2006

After each defeat, they showed legitimate concerns their efforts might be destined to fail....but still pushed on, determined to succeed no matter what obstacles my characters threw in front of them. It was hard for me to not be impressed by their teamwork, diligence and utter dedication to accomplishing their tasks. The traits bestowed upon them by Sony almost made their villainy seem heroic.
Power Strike II (Game Gear)

Power Strike II review (GG)

Reviewed on August 20, 2006

For a hand-held game, it’s pretty top-of-the-line, but I’ve never felt that portable systems and shooters were the best match. There’s no way to even come close to duplicating that magical arcade feeling on a screen the size of a potato. Instead of being so enthralled by this very respectable title that I was able to instantly unleash the shooter review to end all shooter reviews....I found myself wishing I’d scrapped the whole idea and just played M.U.S.H.A. again. I liked the game, but by the time I was done, I merely felt I’d played a good hand-held shooter, as opposed to a good shooter, period.
Exile (Genesis)

Exile review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 04, 2006

However, I soon realized that virtually everything had suddenly been reduced to nothing more than speed bumps. If an enemy hit me, I didn’t even flinch. My preferred boss strategy was simply to stand in front of the villain and hit the “attack” button as rapidly as I could until it perished. At some point in the game, Sadler learned magic. I never cast a single spell. I also didn’t bother purchasing the stat-enhancing items and only used a total of four healing goods (two during the final boss fight).
The Suffering (PlayStation 2)

The Suffering review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 28, 2006

After a certain point in the game, most players will be used to that sort of chaotic action, as The Suffering revels in it. Torque spends much of the game trapped in a lunatic’s nightmare, surrounded by panicking guards and inmates fighting each other, as well as their otherworldly foes.
Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse (NES)

Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse review (NES)

Reviewed on July 21, 2006

In Castlevania III, Death still is a brutal opponent (and making it a two-part battle doesn’t help), but a number of blocks are strategically placed in his room, so a skilled player can chase the reaper from one corner to the next. Trevor might have no safe places to hide, but neither does his undead foe! It might not seem like a big deal, but trust me — the odds are a lot more even here than in Castlevania.
Super C (NES)

Super C review (NES)

Reviewed on July 12, 2006

Winged soldiers come out of holes in the wall and glide to their level while mounted cannons provide a lethal distraction. And being distracted WILL lead to being dead on this level, as missing a jump and falling off the screen is as fatal as taking a round in the throat. As Scorpion and Mad Dog get closer to the top, an elevator catches up to them, forcing them to advance past these (and more) foes at a steady pace.
Task Force Harrier EX (Genesis)

Task Force Harrier EX review (GEN)

Reviewed on July 07, 2006

After completing the bland, but inoffensive, first stage, I noticed the second looked exactly the same. As did the third. And the fourth. Yep, this game possesses 13 stages and the first four were near-identical, with my plane flying over the Siberian tundra or some similarly frozen wasteland.
The 7th Saga (SNES)

The 7th Saga review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 06, 2006

Enix went all-out to craft monsters that would test the mettle of even the most battle-tested adventurer. I faced instant-death attacks, brutal fireball and tornado spells and devastating melee attacks in fights with both bosses and run-of-the-mill overworld denizens. Just when I’d think a particularly tough battle was finally going in my favor, one foe would resurrect a fallen comrade or completely heal itself, forcing me to essentially start over.
Totally Rad (NES)

Totally Rad review (NES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2006

And so, young and awesome Jake sets off into the wild blue yonder, endeavoring to complete five whole stages of magic and mayhem, rescue Allison, rescue Allison’s father (no clue how he fits into things, other than to give Jake another reason to look like a big-shot in front of his girl) and spew out TOTALLY RAD dialogue, all of which I forced myself to forget as soon as the words left my screen.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.