Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Atelier Iris 3: Grand Phantasm (PlayStation 2)

Atelier Iris 3: Grand Phantasm review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 28, 2007

If you spend too much time aimlessly running around an alterworld, you’ll get zapped back to town before accomplishing what you set out to do. Same thing if you get into too many fights against tough foes. If you’re able to beat them in the first two turns of battle, you won’t be penalized any time, but a lot of tougher enemies are capable of lasting longer than that.
The Suffering: Ties that Bind (PlayStation 2)

The Suffering: Ties that Bind review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 08, 2007

Hand-to-hand weapons like lead pipes never need reloaded and can cause a good chunk of damage, but, come on! Do you really want to go head-to-head with a gigantic spider-like demon wielding a slew of guns with nothing more than a lead pipe? Going head-to-head with these foes as an enraged monster makes a lot more sense and you will be doing that a lot. In Ties that Bind, it’s a lot more necessary to enter Torque’s rage mode. There are a lot of rooms where his monster form is necessary to smash through walls and a few monsters are invulnerable to everything except being torn limb from limb by a big, psychotic demon.
Silver Surfer (NES)

Silver Surfer review (NES)

Reviewed on May 30, 2007

I’m not sure who Emperor is or what his powers are, but if the best he can do is stand in back of a wall of guns and immediately give up the ghost after they are destroyed....well, he’s a pretty sorry excuse for a villain. Usually, boss fights are the awesome part of superhero games, as players are going against well-known bad guys with a slew of cool abilities and powers. Here, the Surfer is taking on a bunch of (for the most part) no-name chumps that really aren’t much more than regular foes that take more damage before falling.
Final Fantasy IX (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy IX review (PSX)

Reviewed on May 11, 2007

Eventually, my favorite “mini-game” simply involved me finding all the references to early Final Fantasy games in this one. Square went above and beyond the call of duty in making sure us players got enough nostalgic moments to last any number of lifetimes. Look! It’s the classic black mage design! Hey, that old geezer’s named Garland! He was the bad guy in the original Final Fantasy!
Chou-Mahou Tairiku WOZZ (SNES)

Chou-Mahou Tairiku WOZZ review (SNES)

Reviewed on May 04, 2007

The thing is, as I played through WOZZ, I found myself becoming more and more bored as time went on until I got to the point where I had to overcome a massive internal struggle just to play long enough to get through one of the game’s many dungeons. For me, the game just doesn’t have “it”.
Baseball Simulator 1.000 (NES)

Baseball Simulator 1.000 review (NES)

Reviewed on May 02, 2007

Even ancient games like Tecmo Super Bowl proved capable of doing entire weeks of games in mere seconds. So, why does it take a good five to 10 minutes to simulate ONE game here? If you want to play two or three games at a sitting, you better have a good book on hand or you’ll be spending as much time blankly staring at your TV screen as you will playing.
Star Ocean: The Second Story (PlayStation)

Star Ocean: The Second Story review (PSX)

Reviewed on April 18, 2007

I remember easily winning one of the final boss fights with ease solely because my constant attacking was preventing him from doing much of anything. On the other hand, an earlier battle seemed near-impossible because one of my two opponents had no problems with slipping away from me and leaping into the air, immolating himself (while screaming dementedly) and slamming into the middle of the fray, creating a fiery inferno worth several thousand hit points of damage to any of my characters unfortunate enough to be in the vicinity.
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time (SNES)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 30, 2007

Some members of the Foot simply use their fists — others use swords, throwing stars, whips and other weapons. They all look the same, they all seem very stupid and, by about midway through the first stage, they all have worn out their welcome. Every once in a while, a handful of other foes will pop up to add a bit of diversity, but they tend to be followed by another dozen or two Foot fodder.
Dark Cloud 2 (PlayStation 2)

Dark Cloud 2 review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 28, 2007

Even worse, many of these foes have holes in their AI large enough to drive the robotic Steve through. For example, those tiny dragons can be targeted from a distance and shot from long range AND unless their random flight pattern takes them a bit closer to Max or Monica, they won’t even notice they’re getting butchered.
Twinkle Tale (Genesis)

Twinkle Tale review (GEN)

Reviewed on February 23, 2007

As soon as the girl enters that mountainous area of the first level, rocks start plummeting from the top of the screen. While they are easy to dodge, smart players may choose to not have their favorite weapon equipped during this section, as it could be quite damaging to blunder into a boulder and wind up weakened after this brief section. Because, with magic-firing mages and gigantic golems providing a gauntlet to pass before engaging in battle with the chimera that serves as the stage’s boss, being at top offensive capacity is definitely desirable.
Life Force (NES)

Life Force review (NES)

Reviewed on January 31, 2007

But, like I said, there is one alteration to this formula in Lifeforce. Here, the second, fourth and sixth levels are vertical instead of the standard horizontal. And they don’t just look different, they play different, as well. Many of those fiendish traps I described aren’t present here — but there are a good number of indestructible asteroids and other, more organic, obstacles that plummet from the top of the screen, forcing the player to use twitch reflexes here and there. And even when series staples such as the rock-spewing volcanoes or Moai heads get dusted off, the change in viewpoint almost makes them seem like an original challenge.
Destiny of an Emperor (NES)

Destiny of an Emperor review (NES)

Reviewed on January 16, 2007

Capcom didn't want a player turning some minor figure like Yellow Turban lackey Cheng Yuan Zhi into one of the saviors of the Han Dynasty, so he'll be stuck with his piddling 195 soldiers the entire game. Meanwhile, major players like Zhang Fei and Guan Yu will find their soldier count get higher and higher. When I beat the game, my top generals all had well over 30,000 soldiers. Poor Cheng Yuan Zhi just didn't fit into that crowd.
Bionic Commando (NES)

Bionic Commando review (NES)

Reviewed on January 11, 2007

Level “6” proved to be arguably the game’s biggest challenge, as by this time, I was expected to have mastered the art of grappling. I had to hook myself from one tiny object to the next knowing that even the most miniscule of slip-ups would lead to my character taking a fatal fall.
Tiny Toon Adventures (NES)

Tiny Toon Adventures review (NES)

Reviewed on December 22, 2006

For example, the fourth one consisted of little more than a brief series of jumps while dodging some sort of dog that occasionally sprinted at my character. After I got my timing down, so I’d avoid the dog’s charges, I realized it only took me about 10 seconds to do that entire part of the level. And, to be honest, it wasn’t much shorter than any of the other four areas.
Phelios (Genesis)

Phelios review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 15, 2006

Artemis looks and acts much like your standard damsel in distress with her long blond hair and scant clothing barely covering her SWEET rack as she begs for Apollo to remember their time together and come save her. Well, while that was all I needed to see before leaping into action, according to the actual legends, Artemis was more of a butt-kicking tomboy type who likely was a role model for young Greek lesbians.
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. the Soulless Army (PlayStation 2)

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner - Raidou Kuzunoha vs. the Soulless Army review (PS2)

Reviewed on November 24, 2006

While the plot does have the standard SMT flair for the dramatic, with various factions vying for control of Japan by whatever means they feel to be necessary, Devil Summoner doesn’t take place in a world that’s already been purged of virtually all forms of civilized life.
Silent Hill (PlayStation)

Silent Hill review (PSX)

Reviewed on November 22, 2006

The fog-shrouded town is infested with all sorts of things that go bump in the night and Harry’s not exactly the ideal monster-slayer — being a bit clumsy and not a particularly sharp marksman. And whenever he starts to feel secure that he’s on top of things, his surroundings tend to get a bit askew. With loud clangings and bangings, the foggy surroundings melt away, leaving Harry in a dark, hellish world surrounded by rusty metallic walls.
God Medicine (Game Boy)

God Medicine review (GB)

Reviewed on November 10, 2006

In my mind, this scenario had all sorts of potential. You have three video game geeks transported into a video game world. And we all know how RPGs are chock-full of cliches — leading me to believe God Medicine would be loaded with all sorts of snarky inside jokes capable of eliciting gleeful guffaws from real-life video game geeks like me.
Silent Hill 2 (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill 2 review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 27, 2006

I remember feeling a sense of impending doom late in the game, as I controlled James as he descended through what seemed a nonstop series of holes in the ground. To me, this small section of the game seemed more of a metaphor for my character’s mental state as he came closer to discovering the truth. And who could blame him for being a little bit over the edge by this point?
Gokuraku! Chuka Taisen (TurboGrafx-16)

Gokuraku! Chuka Taisen review (TG16)

Reviewed on October 13, 2006

Yes, hero-boy’s steed of choice as he enters the fray is a cloud. Now, if I was a mythological Chinese hero, I’d prefer riding into battle on one of those cool-looking dragons those nutty folks are always worshipping or whatever, but to each his own, I guess.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.