Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | PC | PS4 | PS5 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | XSX | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for DS games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Lock's Quest (DS)

Lock's Quest review (DS)

Reviewed on September 13, 2008

THQ as a company can be summed up in one word: shovelware. All those bad movie tie-in games you see? That’s THQ. I don’t think THQ has ever published a worthwhile game in their entire history as a company. They’re attracted to bad games like flies to shit. Then I heard a select few morons saying that THQ had finally published a good game – Lock’s Quest. Naturally, I downloaded it to see what was up. What I expected was a bad Western shovelware title, and that’s pretty much exactly what I got.
timrod's avatar
Dream Pinball 3D (DS)

Dream Pinball 3D review (DS)

Reviewed on September 09, 2008

The table spans out on the bottom screen, the top sprawled with skulls, magic books and bumpers shaped like medieval castles. For some reason, a few of the bonuses unlock a tweeting bird song, but I’m willing to forgive it. Barely. It’s a very annoying side effect.
EmP's avatar
N+ (DS)

N+ review (DS)

Reviewed on September 02, 2008

There seems to be a big craze these days over difficult acrobatic-based platformers. Most of them were freeware to begin with – Jumper, I Wanna Be The Guy, etc. So far, only one game has made it to a commercial release, that game being Way of the N, ported as N+ to the DS and XBox Live Arcade. Since I could get the game as freeware anyway, I had no qualms about finding the newly-released rom and loading it onto my flashcart.
timrod's avatar
Izuna 2: The Unemployed Ninja Returns (DS)

Izuna 2: The Unemployed Ninja Returns review (DS)

Reviewed on August 21, 2008

Trudging through a dungeon each time you fight the boss monster might not sound so bad—after all, we did that same thing for years before developers started generously sprinkling save points throughout their labyrinths—but in Izuna 2 it can be decidedly demoralizing. On one run, you might fly through seven or eight floors with barely an issue. Then on the next, a lucky bunch of enemies might defeat you before you reach even the first staircase. It all comes down to trap placement and item allotment.
honestgamer's avatar
MYST (DS)

MYST review (DS)

Reviewed on August 15, 2008

Sensibilities and expectations have changed over the last 15 years, but not much else has. The game is still a collection of wondrous locales which we must navigate in the crudest of ways—through a poverty of frames such that turning around brings to mind a herky-jerky slide show. Impossibly, the game actually looks worse – far worse – than it did when it first reared its innovative head in 1993.
Masters's avatar
Windy x Windam (DS)

Windy x Windam review (DS)

Reviewed on August 14, 2008

Meet Izuna. Some of you might already know her from her starring role in The Legend of the Unemployed Ninja. As the title implies, she hasn’t been working for a while now. It’s understandable; regardless of how undeniably awesome ninjas are, there just isn’t a need for them anymore. The days of shuriken slinging and stealthy assassinations have long passed. Why pay some masked killer a small fortune to carry out a deed that could be solved with a well-placed grenade or a few dozen machin...
disco's avatar
Bangai-O Spirits (DS)

Bangai-O Spirits review (DS)

Reviewed on August 14, 2008

Do me a couple of favors, will you? I want you to stop playing all the popular games on the DS. Not permanently, of course. Put your ridiculously overpowered Final Fantasy IV party aside for a second. Give your Pokemon a rest. Take a break from defending Phoenix Wright’s clients. Whatever you’re playing, just take it out of the card slot and tuck it away somewhere safe. Don’t worry; this won’t take long. Just make sure you’re not distracted by the undeniable quality that those respective ...
disco's avatar
Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword (DS)

Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword review (DS)

Reviewed on August 12, 2008

If you hold any ideas about a DS version of Ninja Gaiden being easy then they will be dispelled after the first level.
JANUS2's avatar
Guitar Hero: On Tour (DS)

Guitar Hero: On Tour review (DS)

Reviewed on August 06, 2008

At its best moments, this mini edition will still fly you through hand-wrenching solos. For a franchise that pulls a lot of its thrills from shredding with a plastic axe, though, On Tour doesn't have the setup to be at its best enough.
woodhouse's avatar
Space Invaders Extreme (DS)

Space Invaders Extreme review (DS)

Reviewed on August 05, 2008

The old series are getting a comeback, Pac-Man, Mario, Galaga, etc. They are also getting remade for the current generation of consoles and handhelds. Taito is celebrating Space Invaders 30th anniversary with a BANG with the release of Space Invaders Extreme, same old game with a new twist.
deft's avatar
The World Ends with You (DS)

The World Ends with You review (DS)

Reviewed on August 02, 2008

The game kept going, for much longer than I had anticipated. Here, Neku finally met his arc and became a likeable character … and my adventure was far from over. It is here that you will actually start caring for Neku as a character, and it is here that The World Ends with You truly begins. How clever you are, Jupiter. You present us with an evolution in character most would save for the very end, and you just keep on going.
Suskie's avatar
Final Fantasy IV (DS)

Final Fantasy IV review (DS)

Reviewed on August 01, 2008

There are approximately three Final Fantasy games I can stand – those being Final Fantasy 4, Final Fantasy 5, and Final Fantasy 6. So naturally, when I heard about a remake of FFIV coming out for the DS with new graphics, I was almost ready to go out and buy it. Then I remembered all of Square-Enix’s recent failures (including the sub-par remake of FFIV on the GBA) and loaded it on my flashcart instead, and learned that Square-Enix had nothing to do with the remake, instead contracting it to a c...
timrod's avatar
Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard (DS)

Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard review (DS)

Reviewed on July 29, 2008

As you become proficient with the tools provided, the game and its challenges evolve. You'll rely on the bottom screen to let you know where you are in relation to horrific monsters called FOEs that have wandered down the tower from much later areas. There's only one term for any of these guys the first time you meet them: badass. Surviving one round of combat is often impossible. They'll mop the floor with you. However, they can—and generally should—be avoided.
honestgamer's avatar
Trauma Center: Under the Knife 2 (DS)

Trauma Center: Under the Knife 2 review (DS)

Reviewed on July 26, 2008

“House”, “Grey’s Anatomy”, and “Scrubs” – name any popular show that has to do with the medical field (ignoring Dr. Phil), and chances are it is made up of two-thirds drama and one-third actual medicalspeak . As such, with Atlus’ 2005 release of Trauma Center: Under the Knife for the Nintendo DS, it wasn’t surprising that the character interactions and story was every bit as important as the gameplay. Because of this, however, people complained as the storyline quickly absurd: Dr. ...
darkstarripclaw's avatar
The World Ends with You (DS)

The World Ends with You review (DS)

Reviewed on July 25, 2008

It's been a long time since I've had a good RPG to sit down with. Square Enix releasing an original game that doesn't have Final Fantasy in the title is a sight to behold. When I discovered that the team behind Kingdom Hearts was working on The World Ends With You, I was ecstatic! As I knew this would be something to keep me busy until the real Kingdom Hearts III comes out.
Ness's avatar
Final Fantasy Tactics A2: Grimoire of the Rift (DS)

Final Fantasy Tactics A2: Grimoire of the Rift review (DS)

Reviewed on July 23, 2008

Luso Clemens has a problem. Several, actually. Thanks to his inability to sit still, he’s earned the ire of every parent and teacher who’s ever had to deal with him. He’s been tardy and disruptive so many times that he’s gotten himself a detention on the last day of class. Given his insatiable curiosity and short attention span, it’s surprising that he can even make it to the library to serve his punishment. It’s not like he spends his detention sitting around in quiet remorse over his blunders,...
disco's avatar
Prism: Light the Way (DS)

Prism: Light the Way review (DS)

Reviewed on July 20, 2008

EmP's avatar
Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles - Ring of Fates (DS)

Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles - Ring of Fates review (DS)

Reviewed on July 15, 2008

One time, I had a girlfriend.
espiga's avatar
Guitar Hero: On Tour (DS)

Guitar Hero: On Tour review (DS)

Reviewed on July 11, 2008

Just when you thought Activision couldn’t milk the Guitar Hero franchise anymore, they go on and make a handheld version of the plastic guitar rhythm-based game. Aside from Harmonix’s Phase for the iPod, one would wonder how a handheld Guitar Hero would work. Well, you’d include a mini fret board, utilize some of the DS’s features, slap on a $50 price point and voila, Guitar Hero: On Tour is born.
Ness's avatar
Space Invaders Extreme (DS)

Space Invaders Extreme review (DS)

Reviewed on July 09, 2008

Each boss battle is pretty clever, but one in particular is especially so: the boss will actually move back and forth along the bottom of the lower screen, while you take up a new position, along the bottom of the top screen. There, you will stand off against reflector aliens, and attempt to time your shots so that they get reflected back your way, slipping past you, hitting the boss below. All this while he shoots up at you as well. Brilliant stuff.
Masters's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2021 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.