Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Final Fantasy IX (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy IX review (PSX)

Reviewed on May 11, 2007

Eventually, my favorite “mini-game” simply involved me finding all the references to early Final Fantasy games in this one. Square went above and beyond the call of duty in making sure us players got enough nostalgic moments to last any number of lifetimes. Look! It’s the classic black mage design! Hey, that old geezer’s named Garland! He was the bad guy in the original Final Fantasy!
overdrive's avatar
Aedis Eclipse: Generation of Chaos (PSP)

Aedis Eclipse: Generation of Chaos review (PSP)

Reviewed on May 10, 2007

What all this amounts to is a game that’s akin to a great movie with a terrible ending. You plan out each move and become completely engaged in the experience. Then the battle (the ‘movie ending’) comes and you’re left wondering where the rest of the game went.
louis_bedigian's avatar
Spider-Man 3 (Xbox 360)

Spider-Man 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on May 10, 2007

Gang wars take over the streets. An alien symbiote pops out of nowhere and gives him a new suit with incredible strength - but makes him a complete asshole. Kraven the Hunter, Calypso, the Lizard, the Rhino, the Scorpion, the Kingpin, the Sandman, the New Goblin, Venom - New York City is a battleground, and there’s only thing standing in the way of complete chaos is one little spider.
lasthero's avatar
Sam & Max Episode 6 - Bright Side of the Moon (PC)

Sam & Max Episode 6 - Bright Side of the Moon review (PC)

Reviewed on May 09, 2007

The point being that Bright Side of the Moon is a fitting conclusion to the season and the exclamation mark at the end of the big red YES! offered by Telltale after being asked if their foray into episodic gaming was really going to cut it. However, it leans heavily on its player having invested in the previous adventures
EmP's avatar
Honeycomb Beat (DS)

Honeycomb Beat review (DS)

Reviewed on May 07, 2007

When you’re done in Honeycomb Beat’s Puzzle Mode, you’re done. This is fine, except the only rewards are unlockable backgrounds. No hotties in bikinis, colorful fireworks, or even an exciting song to dance around to. At this point, I would even settle for a measly “Congratulations” screen.
pup's avatar
Soccer '97 (PlayStation)

Soccer '97 review (PSX)

Reviewed on May 07, 2007

What do you give a game that’s great for all the wrong reasons? You give it a 5. And a hearty recommendation.
EmP's avatar
Genesis Rising: The Universal Crusade (PC)

Genesis Rising: The Universal Crusade review (PC)

Reviewed on May 06, 2007

It's fun watching organic starships explode in massive clouds of blood. It's fun sucking genes and fluids from the carcasses of defeated ships. It's fun throwing Drake shells from halfway across the map...Genesis Rising is too much fun for me to care about the crappy voice acting and crappier script.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Pirates: Battle for the Caribbean (PC)

Pirates: Battle for the Caribbean review (PC)

Reviewed on May 06, 2007

If you're expecting me to break into some tirade about how Pirates is much more intricate than it seems, well, I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed.
lasthero's avatar
Satan's Hollow (Arcade)

Satan's Hollow review (ARC)

Reviewed on May 05, 2007

To an impressionable six-year-old Christian schoolchild, this was an amazing find. After seeing Satan's full-body portrait on the side of the arcade cabinet, I couldn't help but leap into the lion's den; the prospect of defeating the devil and becoming a Bible Camp Hero was more temptation than I could resist!
zigfried's avatar
Dinohunter (PC)

Dinohunter review (PC)

Reviewed on May 05, 2007

We've all played a multiplayer FPS before, unlike games like Far Cry, Dinohunter's gimmick isn't readily visibile in screenshots. All those show is a generic husk, a gun barrel and that familiar point and click interface. Indeed, this game isn't going to win any awards for artistic merit or for its complex gameplay. Sometimes, however, polish can be made up for with sheer overwhelming creativity and enthusiasm.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Ys III: Wanderers From Ys (PlayStation 2)

Ys III: Wanderers From Ys review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 04, 2007

As a notoriously chicanerous gamer, I am here to spoil the experience for all of you envious Falcom fans. And let me assure you of one thing: there's not much to be envious about.
zigfried's avatar
Chou-Mahou Tairiku WOZZ (SNES)

Chou-Mahou Tairiku WOZZ review (SNES)

Reviewed on May 04, 2007

The thing is, as I played through WOZZ, I found myself becoming more and more bored as time went on until I got to the point where I had to overcome a massive internal struggle just to play long enough to get through one of the game’s many dungeons. For me, the game just doesn’t have “it”.
overdrive's avatar
Absolute Obedience (PC)

Absolute Obedience review (PC)

Reviewed on May 03, 2007

fancypants's avatar
Runaway: The Dream of the Turtle (PC)

Runaway: The Dream of the Turtle review (PC)

Reviewed on May 03, 2007

Everything’s wrapped up in a torrent of solid voice acting living within a cel-shaded, cartoon-tinted wonderland that thrives in a sea of bright shades and pseudo-realism, gifting the game with a unique look and feel. The backdrops depicting lazy beaches, busy military camps, frozen wastelands or crumbling ruins are stunning; the character models tight and the whole style distinct and striking.
EmP's avatar
Baseball Simulator 1.000 (NES)

Baseball Simulator 1.000 review (NES)

Reviewed on May 02, 2007

Even ancient games like Tecmo Super Bowl proved capable of doing entire weeks of games in mere seconds. So, why does it take a good five to 10 minutes to simulate ONE game here? If you want to play two or three games at a sitting, you better have a good book on hand or you’ll be spending as much time blankly staring at your TV screen as you will playing.
overdrive's avatar
Raiden III (PlayStation 2)

Raiden III review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 02, 2007

Imagine my surprise when I took Raiden III home, excitedly put it in my PS2, and found there were no surprises to be had. There is only one ship, and the weapon system is about as barebones as they come.
pup's avatar
Great Greed (Game Boy)

Great Greed review (GB)

Reviewed on April 30, 2007

Having been abruptly stolen away in the middle of an epic battle against acid rain by the fell sorcery of Microwave, the task now falls to you – Sierra Sam, Earth Guy! – to protect once-pristine Greene Kingdom from the horrifying machinations and discarded Styrofoam containers of dread lord BIO-HAZ.
sho's avatar
Biing!: Sex, Intrigen und Skalpelle (PC)

Biing!: Sex, Intrigen und Skalpelle review (PC)

Reviewed on April 29, 2007

Biing! (Sex, Intrigen und Skalpelle!) is more than just a hospital management sim; it’s a hospital management sim full of German – and naughty nurses! Yes, not only did proud pornographic developer ReLine go for a hearty helping of outrageous black humor à la Theme Hospital, but you’re constantly surrounded by cheeky cartoon women baring their big, bouncy pleasure globes for medicinal purposes. This is because all Deutschlanders are complete perverts, but surprisingly enough even without all the eurofilth this would still make for a pretty decent game.
sho's avatar
Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards (PC)

Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards review (PC)

Reviewed on April 26, 2007

Are you a hopeless dork? A real pathetic loser? Do your nights of great lays involve a bag of potato chips? Well take heart, for you’re not alone! Come along with Larry Laffer, socially inept computer programmer turned socially inept polyester paramour and the original 40-year old virgin, as he bumbles around the seedy city of Lost Wages looking to finally get laid!
sho's avatar
Daughter of Serpents (PC)

Daughter of Serpents review (PC)

Reviewed on April 25, 2007

Perhaps if someone had spent more time hammering out the adventure aspect of things instead of thinking up all sorts of illusionary role-playing options at the beginning the result wouldn’t be such a complete, not to mention completely obvious waste of potential.
sho's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.