Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Prince of Persia: Revelations (PSP)

Prince of Persia: Revelations review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 13, 2007

Even though the game sometimes looks like a bad Kung Fu film (audio clips for scripted events aren't properly synched), out-of-control glitches are NOT what make Revelations an irritating experience. The atrocious framerate, inopportune loading, and horrible controls accomplish that on their own.
zigfried's avatar
Legend of the Dragon (PSP)

Legend of the Dragon review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 12, 2007

Legend of the Dragon is a forgettable fighting game based on a forgettable cartoon. I could tell you all about the first time I played Fatal Fury Special or my memories of Melty Blood, but in a few months all I'll remember about this one is that I hated it. That's what happens when a company cares more about graphics than about designing a good game.
zigfried's avatar
Taito Legends: Power-Up (PSP)

Taito Legends: Power-Up review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 10, 2007

Most arcade compilations from even the best of companies will include a few obvious misses. Taito was never the best of companies, but it was solid and enjoyed its fair share of classics. Taito Legends: Power-Ups combines games from two different classics compilations, leaves out quite a few good ones, and mostly makes it clear that someone figures there will be a sequel.
honestgamer's avatar
Simple 2000 vol. 101: The Oneechanpon (PlayStation 2)

Simple 2000 vol. 101: The Oneechanpon review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 10, 2007

In this sequel to the popular Oneechanpuruu, you assume the role of a hot Japanese babe in a bikini who carves up the walking dead with her bloodthirsty katana. Besides providing a little insight into the Oneechanbara series’ selling power, this may lead you to conclude that The Oneechanpon features more of the same. You’d be pretty much dead on, too – except that virtually every facet of the original has been improved upon.
sho's avatar
Clock Tower: The First Fear (PlayStation)

Clock Tower: The First Fear review (PSX)

Reviewed on August 05, 2007

As its title implies, The First Fear is an enhanced update of the original Clock Tower on Super Famicom. Unfortunately these enhancements are so meager that you’d have to be a really hardcore fan of the series to even bother with it.
sho's avatar
Mario Party 8 (Wii)

Mario Party 8 review (WII)

Reviewed on August 03, 2007

With Mario Party 3 on the N64 being my only experience with the franchise, I feared I was getting in over my head (tents?), but long and behold, nothing much has changed.
draqq_zyxx's avatar
Dragon Knight III (Turbografx-CD)

Dragon Knight III review (TGCD)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

As a professional video game expert, it’s my job – no, my duty – to tell you all about the awesome obscure imports that you’ll never get to play because you suck. But I’m also a lazy bastard, so I decided to pull this disc out of the mighty Turbo collection instead.
sho's avatar
Drakengard (PlayStation 2)

Drakengard review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

That's the real problem with Drakengard: it's annoying. Killing stuff just isn't fun. If it were, I'd be able to gloss over such faults and thrive in the moment. Alas, a poor camera (you cannot manually control the view) and a lack of impact (weapon blows feel like they're striking sacks of wheat, not people) further hamper the action.
zigfried's avatar
The Guardian Legend (NES)

The Guardian Legend review (NES)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

Optomon doesn’t initially seem so imposing. This circular, one-eyed mass of vegetation does little but float from one side of the screen to the other while emitting bullets and unpredictable, but slow-moving, lasers. But, while pummeling the monster with everything she has, the Guardian brushes one of those lasers and watches her life bar get decimated. Suddenly, this fight has become a lot more tense as she realizes even the smallest mistake could be her last. And take my word on it — it’s easy to get so focused on dodging lasers that this critter’s weak bullets are what deals the killing blow....
overdrive's avatar
Dungeon Maker: Hunting Ground (PSP)

Dungeon Maker: Hunting Ground review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 01, 2007

I was given free reign to make my dungeon look any way I wanted. Even when I had to put the game down, I was planning my next floor. “Do I want long corridors towards several rooms," I would find myself asking with every floor "or do I want curved, turning hallways to spiral out from the starting point?”
True's avatar
Final Fantasy Legend (Game Boy)

Final Fantasy Legend review (GB)

Reviewed on August 01, 2007

I’ll give it credit for one thing: this game’s release was a radical departure from all the other RPGs of its day.
sho's avatar
Clock Tower (SNES)

Clock Tower review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 31, 2007

Considerably more obscure than its PlayStation sequel, the original Clock Tower nevertheless enjoys a cult following today thanks to an unofficial English translation. And why shouldn’t it? You’ll explore a roomy old house, engage in a healthy bit of kleptomania, and struggle to escape the blades of a misshapen serial killer.
sho's avatar
Brave Story: New Traveler (PSP)

Brave Story: New Traveler review (PSP)

Reviewed on July 30, 2007

Brave Story is the type of game that takes the core things that make up its genre, and then does them very well without adding a lot of fluff. It has no qualms about telling you bluntly that it is a symbolic plunge into your own imagination.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Voyage: Inspired by Jules Verne (PC)

Voyage: Inspired by Jules Verne review (PC)

Reviewed on July 30, 2007

The game adaptation draws inspiration from the book, but, ultimately, gives you the adventure that Verne's three explorers could only dream about as their shell floated past their target.
EmP's avatar
Tombs & Treasure (NES)

Tombs & Treasure review (NES)

Reviewed on July 29, 2007

At first glance Tombs & Treasure might resemble a 1st person dungeon crawl, but it actually plays more like a dumbed-down Shadowgate with a helping of faux-RPG elements tossed in for good measure.
sho's avatar
Maniac Mansion (Famicom) (NES)

Maniac Mansion (Famicom) review (NES)

Reviewed on July 28, 2007

Every fan of awesome graphic adventures knows that Maniac Mansion is one of the all-time classics of the genre and that it can’t possibly get any weirder than it already is. However only one of these statements is actually true!
sho's avatar
The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (Wii)

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess review (WII)

Reviewed on July 27, 2007

I liked the game, darn it! It is majestic, captivating, engrossing, and above all, fun. So what's my problem?!
draqq_zyxx's avatar
Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones (PlayStation 2)

Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 26, 2007

Getting close to an unsuspecting enemy will cause things to slow down and go blurry, allowing the prince to initiate a very fast, and very stylish kill. His dagger will flash blue when the time is right to hit the attack button. If your timing is off, you'll bollocks up the sequence, and have to fight the enemy the old fashioned way, or else use a Sand Tank to rewind time and try it again.
Masters's avatar
Seirei Senshi Spriggan (Turbografx-CD)

Seirei Senshi Spriggan review (TGCD)

Reviewed on July 26, 2007

To truly succeed, to inspire awe and admiration, a shooter needs more than lots of things to shoot at. It needs depth, and it needs heart — fortunately, Spriggan delivers both.
zigfried's avatar
Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee (PlayStation)

Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee review (PSX)

Reviewed on July 25, 2007

With a forebodingly somber score and intricately detailed, pre-rendered backgrounds, Abe’s Oddysee is a sensual luxury, but the gameplay is straight from Out of This World, and just as hard.
pup's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.