Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Hydlide (NES)

Hydlide review (NES)

Reviewed on August 22, 2007

While this place is guarded by a seemingly immortal dragon, that’s of little concern to Jim, as all this beast does is go back and forth aimlessly. If Jim’s not directly in its never-changing path, it ignores him. Apparently Varalys doesn’t pay his employees enough for them to give a damn. I (typing this at work) can relate.
overdrive's avatar
Ecco the Dolphin (Xbox 360)

Ecco the Dolphin review (X360)

Reviewed on August 21, 2007

I glide through the sea with the grace of an Olympic swimmer. The sun's rays burst through the surface of the ocean's water, making everything sparkle beautifully. A friend nearby challenges me, dares me to see how high above the water's surface I can leap. I accept his challenge, pointing myself toward the sky and launching straight into the air. I break the water's surface, a gorgeous silhouette as I pose in midair...
espiga's avatar
Concentration (PC)

Concentration review (PC)

Reviewed on August 21, 2007

It's not that the artwork is bad—it's not—but it's obscure and could mean a few things. Half the time, you'll look at a picture and say to yourself “Hmm, that's either a stick, a log, a limb, a branch or a twig or something else I'm forgetting.” Solving the puzzles is tiresome instead of fun.
honestgamer's avatar
Kudos: Rock Legend (PC)

Kudos: Rock Legend review (PC)

Reviewed on August 20, 2007

If you can find satisfaction in high percentages, Rock Legend just might be your game, as It's basically clicking through menus until as many bars as possible say 100%, but with a theme. Because without the theme, it'd hardly even be a game. Almost nothing it impresses except ideas, but those are ruined. It isn't horrible execution that ruins them, however, but an utter lack of execution.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Indigo Prophecy (PlayStation 2)

Indigo Prophecy review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 20, 2007

The relentless gravity of Indigo Prophecy pulls you through a vivid storm.
draqq_zyxx's avatar
Gunple: Gunman's Proof (SNES)

Gunple: Gunman's Proof review (SNES)

Reviewed on August 15, 2007

Then, early in the seventh hideout, you can pick one of two sets of clothes. One greatly enhances Zero’s attack, while the other does the same to his defense. Take the first suit and no enemy, even the final boss, can stand up to his power. Grab the second and it’ll take even the toughest foes an eternity to whittle down his life meter. Considering you’ll probably have obtained a good number of extra lives by this point, it now is nearly impossible to actually die.
overdrive's avatar
Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology (PSP)

Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 13, 2007

Sometimes you're retrieving an item. Others you're rescuing someone who got lost, or delivering a goody he or she needs, or scavenging for materials at an item point. No matter how you look at it, though, you're no more than an errand boy (or girl) engaged in one long series of fetch quests.
honestgamer's avatar
Prince of Persia: Revelations (PSP)

Prince of Persia: Revelations review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 13, 2007

Even though the game sometimes looks like a bad Kung Fu film (audio clips for scripted events aren't properly synched), out-of-control glitches are NOT what make Revelations an irritating experience. The atrocious framerate, inopportune loading, and horrible controls accomplish that on their own.
zigfried's avatar
Legend of the Dragon (PSP)

Legend of the Dragon review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 12, 2007

Legend of the Dragon is a forgettable fighting game based on a forgettable cartoon. I could tell you all about the first time I played Fatal Fury Special or my memories of Melty Blood, but in a few months all I'll remember about this one is that I hated it. That's what happens when a company cares more about graphics than about designing a good game.
zigfried's avatar
Taito Legends: Power-Up (PSP)

Taito Legends: Power-Up review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 10, 2007

Most arcade compilations from even the best of companies will include a few obvious misses. Taito was never the best of companies, but it was solid and enjoyed its fair share of classics. Taito Legends: Power-Ups combines games from two different classics compilations, leaves out quite a few good ones, and mostly makes it clear that someone figures there will be a sequel.
honestgamer's avatar
Simple 2000 vol. 101: The Oneechanpon (PlayStation 2)

Simple 2000 vol. 101: The Oneechanpon review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 10, 2007

In this sequel to the popular Oneechanpuruu, you assume the role of a hot Japanese babe in a bikini who carves up the walking dead with her bloodthirsty katana. Besides providing a little insight into the Oneechanbara series’ selling power, this may lead you to conclude that The Oneechanpon features more of the same. You’d be pretty much dead on, too – except that virtually every facet of the original has been improved upon.
sho's avatar
Clock Tower: The First Fear (PlayStation)

Clock Tower: The First Fear review (PSX)

Reviewed on August 05, 2007

As its title implies, The First Fear is an enhanced update of the original Clock Tower on Super Famicom. Unfortunately these enhancements are so meager that you’d have to be a really hardcore fan of the series to even bother with it.
sho's avatar
Mario Party 8 (Wii)

Mario Party 8 review (WII)

Reviewed on August 03, 2007

With Mario Party 3 on the N64 being my only experience with the franchise, I feared I was getting in over my head (tents?), but long and behold, nothing much has changed.
draqq_zyxx's avatar
Dragon Knight III (Turbografx-CD)

Dragon Knight III review (TGCD)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

As a professional video game expert, it’s my job – no, my duty – to tell you all about the awesome obscure imports that you’ll never get to play because you suck. But I’m also a lazy bastard, so I decided to pull this disc out of the mighty Turbo collection instead.
sho's avatar
Drakengard (PlayStation 2)

Drakengard review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

That's the real problem with Drakengard: it's annoying. Killing stuff just isn't fun. If it were, I'd be able to gloss over such faults and thrive in the moment. Alas, a poor camera (you cannot manually control the view) and a lack of impact (weapon blows feel like they're striking sacks of wheat, not people) further hamper the action.
zigfried's avatar
The Guardian Legend (NES)

The Guardian Legend review (NES)

Reviewed on August 02, 2007

Optomon doesn’t initially seem so imposing. This circular, one-eyed mass of vegetation does little but float from one side of the screen to the other while emitting bullets and unpredictable, but slow-moving, lasers. But, while pummeling the monster with everything she has, the Guardian brushes one of those lasers and watches her life bar get decimated. Suddenly, this fight has become a lot more tense as she realizes even the smallest mistake could be her last. And take my word on it — it’s easy to get so focused on dodging lasers that this critter’s weak bullets are what deals the killing blow....
overdrive's avatar
Dungeon Maker: Hunting Ground (PSP)

Dungeon Maker: Hunting Ground review (PSP)

Reviewed on August 01, 2007

I was given free reign to make my dungeon look any way I wanted. Even when I had to put the game down, I was planning my next floor. “Do I want long corridors towards several rooms," I would find myself asking with every floor "or do I want curved, turning hallways to spiral out from the starting point?”
True's avatar
Final Fantasy Legend (Game Boy)

Final Fantasy Legend review (GB)

Reviewed on August 01, 2007

I’ll give it credit for one thing: this game’s release was a radical departure from all the other RPGs of its day.
sho's avatar
Clock Tower (SNES)

Clock Tower review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 31, 2007

Considerably more obscure than its PlayStation sequel, the original Clock Tower nevertheless enjoys a cult following today thanks to an unofficial English translation. And why shouldn’t it? You’ll explore a roomy old house, engage in a healthy bit of kleptomania, and struggle to escape the blades of a misshapen serial killer.
sho's avatar
Brave Story: New Traveler (PSP)

Brave Story: New Traveler review (PSP)

Reviewed on July 30, 2007

Brave Story is the type of game that takes the core things that make up its genre, and then does them very well without adding a lot of fluff. It has no qualms about telling you bluntly that it is a symbolic plunge into your own imagination.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.