Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Nihilumbra (PC)

Nihilumbra review (PC)

Reviewed on October 29, 2013

Nihilumbra can surprise you if you let it.
EmP's avatar
Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness (PlayStation 3)

Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 24, 2013

If you’re a fan of the Disgaea series or of strategy RPGs in general, look no further than Disgaea D2: A Brighter Darkness. It’s the most refined and aesthetically pleasing Disgaea title to date.
elkayji's avatar
X-Men Legends II: Rise of Apocalypse (PlayStation 2)

X-Men Legends II: Rise of Apocalypse review (PS2)

Reviewed on October 10, 2013

So, how did this game insert the Age of Apocalypse into their actual continuity? Well, the first thing Apocalypse does here is take over Genosha, displacing Magneto and his Brotherhood of Evil and causing them and the X-Men to engage in some teeth-clinched teamwork. A number of the more notable villains were AoA baddies, such as Abyss, Holocaust and Sugar Man. Sugar Man even refers to being in the alternate universe, noting that Apocalypse is "as good as gold in any universe".
overdrive's avatar
Grand Theft Auto V (PlayStation 3)

Grand Theft Auto V review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 03, 2013

Grand Theft Auto V finally delivers the open world experience we've been promised for years now, but it tries a bit too hard to be offensive about it.
honestgamer's avatar
Disney Infinity (Wii U)

Disney Infinity review (WIIU)

Reviewed on September 22, 2013

Infinite possibilities on the drawing board suddenly feel quite limited once they've been torpedoed by disappointing execution.
honestgamer's avatar
DuckTales Remastered (Wii U)

DuckTales Remastered review (WIIU)

Reviewed on September 22, 2013

DuckTales Remastered is neither a complete failure nor the triumph it so easily could have been.
honestgamer's avatar
Sonic Mega Collection Plus (PlayStation 2)

Sonic Mega Collection Plus review (PS2)

Reviewed on September 20, 2013

I've not actually seen Ristar on this collection because of the painfully tedious process of unlocking games. From doing a good bit of reading, you apparently need a save for Sonic Heroes on your memory card to get a couple of the games, while the rest are unlocked by starting up various Genesis games a whole bunch of times; and game hints are unlocked by keeping games open for three hours. This is just so stupid…
overdrive's avatar
Uchuu Keibitai SDF (NES)

Uchuu Keibitai SDF review (NES)

Reviewed on September 19, 2013

Take out the enemy's space armada and you'll then find yourself in a claustrophobic base. The level is only one screen wide and you'll be maneuvering through narrow, cramped corridors that (of course) have enemies lurking just out of range. The only thing missing was the message, "And now for something completely different…" flashing on the screen between stages — a sentiment which only grows towards the end of the game when you suddenly find yourself outside flying over a desert.
overdrive's avatar
Silent Hill HD Collection (Xbox 360)

Silent Hill HD Collection review (X360)

Reviewed on August 30, 2013

Maybe it's watching James descend down one deep hole after another…only to wind up outside on ground level with no indication that he'd been following a steadily declining path; or perhaps it's Heather having to frantically check doors in a shopping mall while constantly being chased by durable monsters she has nowhere near enough ammo to put down — these are not emotionally relaxing games.
overdrive's avatar
Dragon's Crown (PlayStation 3)

Dragon's Crown review (PS3)

Reviewed on August 22, 2013

So, just what do you get as a reward for overlooking the boobs? The answer, it turns out, is an enjoyable romp through fantasy tropes that include nefarious wizards, mythical creatures on the rampage, heroic knights, and even damsels in distress. What makes it all so enjoyable isn’t the fact that we get to cover all of that familiar ground once more. Rather, it’s the commitment to that approach, along with those beautiful graphics I mentioned and a surprisingly addictive character development system.
honestgamer's avatar
Silent Hill 3 (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 19, 2013

Happy 10th Anniversary, Silent Hill 3!
EmP's avatar
Saints Row IV (PC)

Saints Row IV review (PC)

Reviewed on August 14, 2013

All they need to do now is throw in an orb-collecting mechanic, and– wait, they did do that? Oh. Well, I guess Saints Row IV is pretty brilliant, then.
Suskie's avatar
The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion review (X360)

Reviewed on August 05, 2013

It never leaves entirely, though. I mean, I've spent a total of 375 or so hours in the world of Oblivion and its DLC, and I have no regrets. I was glad when it was over and I doubt I'll ever play it again, but I had a great time until the end, when I was just trying to finish off the final few quests as quickly as possible.
overdrive's avatar
Bonk's Adventure (NES)

Bonk's Adventure review (NES)

Reviewed on August 05, 2013

There’s a level in which you bash a giant dinosaur on the head, then climb into its mouth and go spelunking inside its stomach. Bonk’s Adventure knows it’s a fairly straightforward game, so it goes out of its way to be adorable.
Whelk's avatar
Conquest of the Crystal Palace (NES)

Conquest of the Crystal Palace review (NES)

Reviewed on July 25, 2013

If you happen across Conquest of the Crystal Palace, you’re likely to get your money’s worth, but that’s mostly only because you’re probably not going to pay much to acquire it.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Shin Megami Tensei IV (3DS)

Shin Megami Tensei IV review (3DS)

Reviewed on July 20, 2013

Shin Megami Tensei IV is in many ways exactly the game I didn’t dare hope it would be, a genuine triumph that belongs in your library if you love the series or even if you just like a challenging and mostly unique JRPG, portable or otherwise. With all of that high praise appropriately heaped, though, I must add that the game is most certainly not without its flaws.
honestgamer's avatar
Metal Gear (NES)

Metal Gear review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

If you can go into this game with the knowledge that it’s a flawed version of the original game from the outset, it can be an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Flying Warriors (NES)

Flying Warriors review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

These warriors fly about as well as I do when I put on a cape and jump from the roof.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Kid Icarus (NES)

Kid Icarus review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

I’m here to let you in on a little secret: Kid Icarus isn’t actually very good.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Tougi-Ou: King Colossus (Genesis)

Tougi-Ou: King Colossus review (GEN)

Reviewed on July 11, 2013

You start out as some anonymous kid living with an old guy who seems to hate you, and a younger woman who tries to work as a buffer. She also heals you whenever you visit, so I liked her almost as much as I hated how the game basically shrugs off the old dude's behavior as "tough love".
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.