Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Pirates of the Burning Sea (PC)

Pirates of the Burning Sea review (PC)

Reviewed on January 26, 2008

One of the biggest problems with MMOs is repetition, not specifically the grind of gaining levels or earning money. Actually, one of the most abrasive elements of repetition is addressed in the little snippet above. With all the World of Warcrafts and Everquests and Lineages and the legions of similar games who only mix up the gameplay slightly, it's nice to see a game where with only one screenshot, you can see a big difference. Nowhere will you see dwarves with huge glowing axes, or spell casters, or half naked elf women dancing for money in town square.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Super Swing Golf: Season 2 (Wii)

Super Swing Golf: Season 2 review (WII)

Reviewed on January 25, 2008

After earning your Pang, you can then then head to the clubhouse to spend them on things like cute bathing suits and alternate club sets, if they're available in the inventory. Most of these accessories affect not only how your chosen character looks, but also how he or she performs.
honestgamer's avatar
Sega Genesis Collection (PlayStation 2)

Sega Genesis Collection review (PS2)

Reviewed on January 25, 2008

I especially appreciated the wonderful Ristar, one of my favourite Genesis games, which I was unable to unlock in the Sonic Mega Collection, despite doing what was ostensibly necessary to unlock it. The little star-bodied mascot with the rubber arms is as entertaining as ever, clutching enemies and slam-dancing them to death amidst the most colourful of environs the Genesis ever saw.
Masters's avatar
Flying Hero: Bugyuru no Daibouken (SNES)

Flying Hero: Bugyuru no Daibouken review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 23, 2008

The graphics were bright and colorful and it was pretty entertaining to see Sofel’s take on certain staple elements of shooters — such as the 1943-ish gunship in the game’s third level which leads to a boss fight when the final two crew members leap off the crippled boat and merge into a gigantic pirate bird.
overdrive's avatar
Ark of Time (PlayStation)

Ark of Time review (PSX)

Reviewed on January 22, 2008

But, no, that would imply that a light-hearted slant had been taken on the game. Instead, Richard's position and news story are SERIOUS BUISNESS! This leads him to undertake serious issues like helping a local fisherman find his rare white crab who jumped ship while he wasn't looking. Said fisherman isn't the sharpest knife in the draw, so just painting any old crab will suffice -- teaching you that newspaper writers are rife with treachery.
EmP's avatar
Brian Lara International Cricket 2007 (Xbox 360)

Brian Lara International Cricket 2007 review (X360)

Reviewed on January 21, 2008

No matter the skill setting of the team you're playing, be it mighty Australia to pitiful America, there's about a 50% chance that they'll either be an LBW awarded or the ball will smash into the bails. Either way, look to bowl out entire teams for under 50 runs.
EmP's avatar
The Adventures of Bayou Billy (NES)

The Adventures of Bayou Billy review (NES)

Reviewed on January 19, 2008

Since it’s a widely accepted fact that when it comes to action games we American gamers are veritable supermen compared to our nerdy, Dragon Quest-loving Japanese brethren, Konami laid the foundations for such future translations as Castlevania III, Contra: Hard Corps and Devil May Cry 3 by reprogramming Mad City so that it would be impossible to play. I mean not even CAPTAIN N can beat this, and he’s a GAME MASTER.
sho's avatar
World Snooker Championship: Season 2007-08 (DS)

World Snooker Championship: Season 2007-08 review (DS)

Reviewed on January 19, 2008

I lost my game 15-80, owing my points to a few lucky “Smash & Hope” shots and a high break of eight when I managed to pot a red and then the black. The few shots I took only really existed to draw the ire of the commentator who had heaped nothing but praise on my opponent. This is because the control scheme can politely be described as ‘tricky’.
EmP's avatar
MX vs ATV Untamed (Xbox 360)

MX vs ATV Untamed review (X360)

Reviewed on January 16, 2008

Whereas I found that the motocross tracks were so tight and narrow that I spent too much time braking and turning to actually pick up the pace and have fun, the ATV courses really take the weight off and give me more time to appreciate some of the simpler pleasures of off road racing.
Suskie's avatar
MX vs ATV Untamed (DS)

MX vs ATV Untamed review (DS)

Reviewed on January 15, 2008

I wasn’t prepared for such a devastating trip through the portable chop-shop. I only managed to squeeze about four minutes of reckless fun before Untamed and its constricted tracks morphed into an exercise in repetition. There’s a fine line where a game stops being challenging and starts feeling like work.
pup's avatar
ATV Offroad Fury: Blazin' Trails (PSP)

ATV Offroad Fury: Blazin' Trails review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 15, 2008

Even on normal difficulty, on countless occasions I've had a race all but wrapped up, taking care to play it safe as the game allows in the home stretch, only to land a jump on a barricade and get tossed violently from my vehicle while the other riders whip by (they're probably smiling under their helmets, the bastards).
Masters's avatar
MX vs ATV Untamed (PSP)

MX vs ATV Untamed review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 15, 2008

Some of the events are minutely tuned to keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. Often, you finish the timed events with only seconds to spare, and the races are challenging, pushing you to the limit in order to beat the other riders. Luckily, the frustration is lessened somewhat by the game's free roaming aspect, which allows you to take a breather at any time, ride around, do some tricks, jump onto buildings, whatever you want. But it's really just kind of delaying the inevitable. Even with these little flickers of excitement, the objectives themselves are somewhat repetitive as well, and you just get to do them all again from zone to zone.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Everquest II: Rise of Kunark (PC)

Everquest II: Rise of Kunark review (PC)

Reviewed on January 12, 2008

Even when you leave the lush vegetation of Timorous Deep it becomes clear that the aspect of soloing is especially strong within the Everquest II universe, meaning you don’t need to scourge for a party before you try to take on even the simplest task. It’s an option that a lot more MMOs could do with including.
EmP's avatar
Silent Hill Origins (PSP)

Silent Hill Origins review (PSP)

Reviewed on January 10, 2008

The spectre of Dahlia—the cult’s resident fanatic, bent on raising a god borne of pain and suffering—still serves as thematic backdrop for a lonely trek guided toward fate by broken doors and crumbling streets which gape at oblivion.
Masters's avatar
MX vs ATV Untamed (PlayStation 3)

MX vs ATV Untamed review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 09, 2008

That means that if you hate the MX moments, you'll likely despise the frequent stretches where you're forced to drive a motorcycle. The worst news of all, though, is that you have to clear each track twice consecutively within a series of events. Once you finish a race the first time, regardless of your position, you have to turn around and immediately play through it again (or exit out and lose your progress).
honestgamer's avatar
NBA 08 (PlayStation 3)

NBA 08 review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 08, 2008

NBA 08 is a solid basketball game featuring attractive visuals, a great soundtrack and the very entertaining NBA Replay mode. Basketball fans will especially find many of the modes very appealing.
Dack's avatar
Code Lyoko: Quest for Infinity (Wii)

Code Lyoko: Quest for Infinity review (WII)

Reviewed on January 08, 2008

Aside from being counter-intuitive, these moves feel like a chore. In any other game, even some really bad games, the wave-your-hand-like-you-just-don’t-care attacks are active at all times. It might not make much sense to waste time attacking when there’s nothing to attack. But that’s what gamers are used to. We’ve become accustomed to certain elements, primarily those that allow us to do whatever we want, whenever we want.
louis_bedigian's avatar
Crazy Pig (DS)

Crazy Pig review (DS)

Reviewed on January 07, 2008

Crazy Pig is a bit of an enigma, and by an enigma I mean a flat-out lie. Billed as a dual game that allows you to raise a piglet from scratch and play a slew of mini-games, the title only really delivers on the latter promise. The raising of your porker is little more than throwing food and drink at it when the hunger and thirst levels are low, making a fuss of it when it's sad or cleaning the messy little bugger periodically.
EmP's avatar
Skate (Xbox 360)

Skate review (X360)

Reviewed on January 07, 2008

Like the hard pavement of reality, skate. can be mercilessly unforgiving. My first 30 minutes of bailed grinds incited a vocal rampage that would have made the halls of Def Jam blush. Where some might have seen all the joy of self-flagellation, I saw the second coming of skating games.
pup's avatar
NEOGEO Battle Coliseum (PlayStation 2)

NEOGEO Battle Coliseum review (PS2)

Reviewed on January 05, 2008

Whether you like Marvel vs. Capcom or dream of seeing all your favorite NeoGeo characters duke it out, there's something here for you.
Ness's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.