Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
The Political Machine 2008 (PC)

The Political Machine 2008 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 13, 2008

The presidential race is split into forty one weeks. This gives you forty one turns to play out in the same time as your opponent to fly all over America and convince as many states as you can to vote for you. By any means necessary..
EmP's avatar
Dead or Alive 4 (Xbox 360)

Dead or Alive 4 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 12, 2008

Things haven’t changed a lot, so much as been refined, the fourth time ‘round. The usual suspects are on offer: Ninja Gaiden’s Ryu Hayabusa, the super ninja; Kasumi, the sexy ninja pacifist (I kid you not); Hitomi, the hot German kareteka; Hayate, the unbelievably powerful pretty boy ninja. In case you’re new to the DoA experience – yes, there are a lot of ninjas.
Masters's avatar
Ankh: Curse of the Scarab King (DS)

Ankh: Curse of the Scarab King review (DS)

Reviewed on October 12, 2008

Ankh remains a game worth playing. Just not in this form.
EmP's avatar
Shinrei Jusatsushi Taromaru (Saturn)

Shinrei Jusatsushi Taromaru review (SAT)

Reviewed on October 11, 2008

Once you get past the quirky control scheme, this game — the tale of a psychic monk gorily slaughtering feudal Japanese demons — really is pretty damn cool.
zigfried's avatar
Kolibri (Sega 32X)

Kolibri review (32X)

Reviewed on October 11, 2008

Arguably the best hummingbird/scrolling shooter hybrid on the SEGA 32X
EmP's avatar
Dragon Quest V: Tenkuu no Hanayome (SNES)

Dragon Quest V: Tenkuu no Hanayome review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 10, 2008

Your hero might be a standard silent protagonist and his supporting cast isn't really given any motivation for their actions other than utter devotion to your quest, but as I played Dragon Quest V, I felt more of a connection to them than I have for many characters in modern games. The concept of having the main character grow up during the course of the game, get married and have kids is a rare one in the world of console RPGs and Enix was able to make all of it feel fresh and memorable.
overdrive's avatar
Master of the Monster Lair (DS)

Master of the Monster Lair review (DS)

Reviewed on October 09, 2008

The thing that keeps a person digging is the sense of ownership. Once you've crafted a beautiful maze, it's fun to return because then you'll get to see what monsters have decided to inhabit your dungeon. If you just built a few bland hallways, perhaps there will be some bats and maybe a boar or two. If you spruced things up with a trash heap, you'll find a slimy little guy. The undesirable tenants you attract are a better reward than virtual piles of gold or sparkling digital badges ever could have been.
honestgamer's avatar
Coryoon (TurboGrafx-16)

Coryoon review (TG16)

Reviewed on October 09, 2008

As you progress through its eight stages, it seems near-impossible to stay alive as enemies dart onto the screen in erratic waves, spewing bullets here and there, while various indestructible obstacles such as moving statues and clapping hands also pose a serious threat to your dragon's health. And while you're trying to survive all of this, well, it's not too likely you'll be noticing how cute everything looks. You'll just be hoping you can power up your weapons enough to survive a little bit longer.
overdrive's avatar
Mega Man 9 (Xbox 360)

Mega Man 9 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 08, 2008

This is a game where your skills start out rusty, yet your experience as you improve goes from “pretty good but wow is this game hard” to “I can't believe I used to have trouble with that!” The sense of accomplishment as each stage is cleared hasn't been this significant in a Mega Man game in 20 years.
honestgamer's avatar
Rumble Roses XX (Xbox 360)

Rumble Roses XX review (X360)

Reviewed on October 07, 2008

The perv ideas begin with the outfits, which range from form-fitting hot pants to your basic wrestling thong. Once you’ve selected your hottie and dressed her as skimpily as you like, choose an arena and get to fighting. Even while duking out, there is sexiness on display, because the holds and throws are executed with a deliberate seductiveness, and the camera, when it doesn’t automatically give you the dirtiest view of the action, offers you manual control so you can do it yourself. Trust me – powerbombs never looked so hot as when you’re looking directly down between the legs of the upside-down victim.
Masters's avatar
Red Bull BC One (DS)

Red Bull BC One review (DS)

Reviewed on October 06, 2008

Even if the simple gameplay were tweaked to its maximum amount of enjoyment, no link is established to the main attraction: breakdancing. Sure, if I refrain from moving the stylus, my tiny dancer will passively bob to a generic beat. And when I complete a shape, his silhouette in the background pulls off some random move in sync with his full figure up on the top screen. But I don't see how my triangles, pentagons, and dodecahedrons specifically translate into coin drops, belly swims, or airchairs.
woodhouse's avatar
Galactic Civilizations II: Endless Universe (PC)

Galactic Civilizations II: Endless Universe review (PC)

Reviewed on October 06, 2008

his means that anyone who has touched anything resembling a turn-based strategy before will easily pick it up but the simple setting change doesn't make the game good. Its kind of like how many people say that Firefly was just a Western for Star Trek fans. Except Firefly had Nathan Fillion. And was entertaining.
Melaisis's avatar
Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC)

Thief: Deadly Shadows review (PC)

Reviewed on October 05, 2008

Does a game lose worth for providing too much of a challenge? Forcing the player into a routine of patience in order to beat its difficulty is the very crux of the Thief franchise, so it seems a little unfair to berate an admittedly well-crafted videogame for this reason.
Lewis's avatar
Doom 3 (Xbox)

Doom 3 review (XBX)

Reviewed on October 01, 2008

It's pointless cosmetics-first-gameplay-last software at its worst.
EmP's avatar
New International Track & Field (DS)

New International Track & Field review (DS)

Reviewed on September 30, 2008

Any year with the Olympic Games is a good year for Olympic games. At least, that seems to be the idea behind New International Track and Field, A DS facelift of Konami's old Track and Field franchise. After lying dormant for eight years, the game made a sudden reappearance now that there were coat tails to ride on, namely those of Beijing. But do they really need an excuse to make another minigame compilation for the DS?
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Mass Effect (PC)

Mass Effect review (PC)

Reviewed on September 29, 2008

I don't think I've played a game with this much all-round polish since Half-Life 2. Mass Effect simply sparkles, overflowing with cinematic sci-fi design, brimming with utter, undebatable confidence in its approach. It's about as close to an interactive movie as the medium has come, but it's absolutely a videogame, and makes no bones about it. It’s full of cut-scenes, boss battles and, at heart, complete linearity, but it's so much more than that. Mass Effect, despite on the surface being an impressive rehash of Star Wars, is one of the most atmospheric and involving games I've ever played...
Lewis's avatar
Mah Jong Quest Expeditions (DS)

Mah Jong Quest Expeditions review (DS)

Reviewed on September 28, 2008

I’ll be honest; I had it all planned out in my head before the cart was even in the DS. We all already know what Mahjong is, so I’d joke about having to met a word quota, throw in an obligatory and basic description on how the ancient Chinese tile-matching game worked then be all flippant while I padded the rest of the review out. Mah Jong Quest: Expeditions foils my plan by not being just another tile flipper aided by stylus prodding.
EmP's avatar
Jewel Quest Expeditions (DS)

Jewel Quest Expeditions review (DS)

Reviewed on September 28, 2008

Familiar because it’s been seen before. Familiar because there are fourteen puzzle games released on the DS for any other genre and familiar because Jewel Quest has already been seen on XBLA and won the internet over when initially released by IWin.com online. Familiar doesn’t always mean bad.
EmP's avatar
Nightmare Circus (Genesis)

Nightmare Circus review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 26, 2008

I spent half an hour wading through these identical zombies who attacked in never-ending pairs. I leaped into passing rollercoaster cars to try and bypass the fights, but they just teleported into the carriage with me. When they were forced outside, they shot me from afar, leaving my meagre collection of kicks and jabs ineffective. Raven’s block is about as sheilding as any of you hiding your face with your forearm and asking people to shoot you with handguns.
EmP's avatar
Double Dragon II (Game Boy)

Double Dragon II review (GB)

Reviewed on September 26, 2008

So each one of these guys requires the same strategy. Lure them up or down to your level, hit the uppercut, hit the knee drop, run away before they recover and do the same thing over and over until the chap's down for the count. That's it. There are no variations to this formula and no tricks to dissuade you from using it.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.