Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews

Flower (PlayStation 3)

Flower review (PS3)

Reviewed on March 01, 2009

The whole thing comes off as an interactive Fantasia: a beautiful and poignant blend of sound and movement that tells an active story.
zippdementia's avatar
Street Fighter IV (PlayStation 3)

Street Fighter IV review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 27, 2009

Though I didn't find a convenient way to determine a competitor's skill level until after he beats me—or loses—that didn't actually work out too badly. I'm someone who likes to get right into another round of fighting, anyway, and the current system makes that easy to do. Besides that, lag is minimal. I've played quite a few matches and only once did I find things lagging. Really, the only complaint I have with online is the obvious one: scrubs. I don't mind that people almost always fight using Ryu, Ken or Sagat (I like some of those guys myself), but some players try to play mind games.
honestgamer's avatar
Deadly Creatures (Wii)

Deadly Creatures review (WII)

Reviewed on February 27, 2009

Similar to Super Mario Galaxy, Deadly Creatures will take you through each desert environment in ways you never imagined. Walls are so easily traversed that you may begin to lose track of your surroundings. This illusion is broken – beautifully and sometimes hauntingly – when fighting an opponent that suddenly loses his grip and falls off what appeared to be solid ground.
louis_bedigian's avatar
X-Blades (PlayStation 3)

X-Blades review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 27, 2009

Ayumi has to be somebody's wet dream. The press releases talk-up the sexy art style, and emphasize how both action and anime fans will slobber over her figure and fighting moves. And no doubt, some people will be drawn to her brash attitude. But the girl can only take the game so far, and she's been outfitted in a stagnant ensemble.
woodhouse's avatar
Leather Goddesses of Phobos (Apple II)

Leather Goddesses of Phobos review (APP2)

Reviewed on February 25, 2009

While "Tame" doesn't allow even remotely suggestive language, in "Lewd", anything goes. Sexual encounters are spelled out and dirty language is recognized by the computer. Obviously, that was the only mode I ever played, although, upon further review, the sex scenes aren't any more titillating than those in the average romance novel read by bored housewives looking for any sort of release from day-to-day life with their unemployed husband who just drank himself to sleep in front of the television yet again.
overdrive's avatar
The King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga (Wii)

The King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga review (WII)

Reviewed on February 23, 2009

...all of the games are emulated wonderfully - without any sound problems that sometimes plague compilation discs.
jpeeples's avatar
Spelunky [Freeware] (PC)

Spelunky [Freeware] review (PC)

Reviewed on February 22, 2009

Challenging, addictive, thoughtful and beautiful, Spelunky is a stream of constant delight. The icing on the cake is that it's free, and a mere 8mb download from the link over on the right. There are no excuses not to play this. You have been warned.
Lewis's avatar
Nancy Drew: The White Wolf of Icicle Creek (Wii)

Nancy Drew: The White Wolf of Icicle Creek review (WII)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

Nancy Drew has too much time on her hands; she's ready to take on any mystery at a moment's notice. Thanks to extra duties in this investigation, though, time isn't on her side. She has to collect laundry by noon and produce three square meals a day. If she neglects these deadlines in favor of solving puzzles, Nancy gets the boot.
woodhouse's avatar
Ar Tonelico II: Melody of Metafalica (PlayStation 2)

Ar Tonelico II: Melody of Metafalica review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

Ar Tonelico 2 took me by surprise. It feels weird to say that given that I played the first one, and I can't really say that the two are all that different. Gust is infamous for making the same game repeatedly but somehow, it just gets better every time. What I expected was a quick cash in, a little game that was thrown out there to make a buck and then fade away. I was right in some ways, but the word 'little' doesn't belong anywhere near a description of this game.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Penumbra: Overture (PC)

Penumbra: Overture review (PC)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

Overture is a slightly uncomfortable amalgamation of half-finished ideas, but, when it's at its best, it's surprisingly brilliant. If it were a little more inventive beyond its physics engine, and a little less clunky in its mechanics, we could be dealing with an indie classic. As it stands, it's merely an engaging and impressively frightening way to pass an uneventful afternoon.
Lewis's avatar
Afro Samurai (PlayStation 3)

Afro Samurai review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 20, 2009

It [Afro Samurai] may not be the masterpiece it could or even should be, but it's still one of the better games of its kind to come along in awhile.
MrDurandPierre's avatar
X-Com: UFO Defense (PlayStation)

X-Com: UFO Defense review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 19, 2009

X-Com gives you quite the daunting task to undertake in saving the entire world from invasion. But despite the many challenges it presents, playing it is an enormously rewarding experience that, even in this day and age, has yet to be truly replicated.
EmP's avatar
LocoRoco 2 (PSP)

LocoRoco 2 review (PSP)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

As you work through each stage, you'll find that you don't actually control the slime. Instead, you can slightly tilt the perspective to the right or left using the PSP's shoulder buttons. This simple mechanic works very well, mostly because fleet-footed hazards are non-existent in the world of LocoRoco 2. Sliding about like an egg yolk in a frying pan wouldn't work if Mario-style jumps were required, but that's seldom the case here. Instead, the focus is on general movements.
honestgamer's avatar
ShellShock 2: Blood Trails (Xbox 360)

ShellShock 2: Blood Trails review (X360)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

Here's the set-up. You're an American soldier in Vietnam. You ain't never been so scared in your life, the title screen informs you. And then, suddenly, you're in a building filled with smoke, and some dispicable army veteran starts being racist about the Vietnamese, mumbles something about a chemical called Whiteknight turning everyone into zombies, and then your infected friend grabs you and pleads for his life. And then you flash back to another point in time, in a near-identical building filled with smoke, an arbitrary objective appears on-screen, and I wish it had stopped there because I might have looked upon ShellShock 2 more favourably if it had done.
Lewis's avatar
Syberia (DS)

Syberia review (DS)

Reviewed on February 16, 2009

Even for people like me, who never played the original, there was a sense that something was terribly wrong. The feeling was so strong that I did some research and discovered that not only had all of the voice overs been cut out, more than half of the dialogue had been removed from the port.
zippdementia's avatar
Retro Game Challenge (DS)

Retro Game Challenge review (DS)

Reviewed on February 16, 2009

Retro Game Challenge features eight games in all. That doesn't sound like much, and in some ways it isn't. After all, we've seen compilations of classic games that boasted three, four... even seven or eight times that number. Keep in mind, though, that these are original efforts. More importantly, they're original efforts that—for the most part—are fun to play today while still retaining that distinct retro flavor (including a score tally that mentions how many objects you shooted and an innkeeper that asks you if you feel asleep).
honestgamer's avatar
BlackSite: Area 51 (PlayStation 3)

BlackSite: Area 51 review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 14, 2009

Blacksite: Area 51 is just another shooter. You’ve played this game before; you’ve played it better and you‘ve played it worse, but this doesn’t change the fact that, as a title, it simply exists.
EmP's avatar
Castlequest (NES)

Castlequest review (NES)

Reviewed on February 13, 2009

My hero began the game with a whopping 50 lives and there are TONS of vials scattered through the castle worth one bonus life each. However, each life is naught but a fleeting moment in Castlequest's.....uhhh...castle. I found that out in the very first room. I grabbed the blue key right next to me, used it to open the nearby blue door (keys only open doors of their color) and jumped to a ledge right above me. There was an enemy here, so I prepared to stab him with my really tiny sword. Before I could get close enough to complete this task, he fired an arrow at me and I died.
overdrive's avatar
Penumbra Collection (PC)

Penumbra Collection review (PC)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

In many ways, Penumbra is exactly what horror games should be like. In many others, the inexperience of the developer cuts through the mix a little too clearly for comfort. This flitting between terrifying and tiring leaves a little to be desired, but Penumbra Collection has enough interesting ideas to sail on, if only for the first two segments of its sinister life.
Lewis's avatar
3 on 3 NHL Arcade (PlayStation 3)

3 on 3 NHL Arcade review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 10, 2009

This game nails the Arcade portion of its title. Shedding all cumbersome rules – offsides, icing, penalties, faceoffs – 3 on 3 NHL Arcade delivers nonstop shots, hard hitting-checks, and silly powerups. The NHL half, though, is not so exciting. No teams, no logos, and no familiar arenas or cities. It's a shallow battle of generic jerseys.
woodhouse's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Advertise | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.