Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

foe_en_s4_b22.jpg

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews

Serious Sam: The Random Encounter (PC)

Serious Sam: The Random Encounter review (PC)

Reviewed on November 03, 2011

The Random Encounter ends almost as fast as it begins, but your five bucks get you a punchy, colorful, and vivid throwback to the heyday of the RPG, mashed up with all the violent insanity of Serious Sam. Fans who need their next fix would do well to check out the previous indie offering Double D in addition to this quickie, simply to serve as a great palate cleanser before jumping right back into the hotbed of ravenous monsters that is the Serious Sam universe. The Random Encounter is short, sweet, and certainly a breath of fresh air for what is quickly becoming a stagnant genre.
MolotovCupcake's avatar
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PlayStation 3)

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 02, 2011

Uncharted 3 is mostly filler without gameplay. It's the modern equivalent of those full motion video games folks made back in the 90s when new CD-ROMs afforded all that storage space. So developers shot video footage, grafted it onto various games (usually puzzle collections), and a genre was born. Who cares whether there was an actual game in there?
tomchick's avatar
Kirby's Return to Dream Land (Wii)

Kirby's Return to Dream Land review (WII)

Reviewed on November 01, 2011

Levels are built more like playgrounds than obstacles. Youíll hop along hills, dodge slow-moving arrow projectiles and knights who wield swords that could easily have been drawn with Crayons. Kirbyís Return to Dream Land is comfort food for gamers and you wonít want to stop eating anytime soon.
honestgamer's avatar
Dragon Age 2 (PC)

Dragon Age 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 31, 2011

There have been complaints, and will be many more, that Dragon Age II is appealing for a more mainstream audience by removing all the fiddling of its predecessor, but I donít think this is a fair accusation. There is very little that you could do before which is no longer possible. The difference is that the extraneous elements have been stripped away, giving the action space to breathe.
Lewis's avatar
Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360)

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions review (X360)

Reviewed on October 28, 2011

Each level revolves around its boss, with some of them creating a memorable experience. Sandman's Amazing (and amazing) stage features the villain spending much of the time in the shape of a tornado. For Spider-Man to reach water towers to tip on him, disrupting his powers, you'll have to use your webbing to zip from one piece of flying debris to another.
overdrive's avatar
Crazy Taxi (Xbox 360)

Crazy Taxi review (X360)

Reviewed on October 28, 2011

While details about the interface have changed, what you'll find once you download the game is that mostly SEGA left things alone. The result is a generally faithful port of the Dreamcast port, with one disappointing exception: the soundtrack is now free from the sounds of The Offspring. In place of that distinct soundtrack, players now are treated to some generic music that sounds sort of like the original tunes, only not quite. Whether you appreciated the music in the original game or not, it was part of the game's identity.
honestgamer's avatar
Deadly Premonition (Xbox 360)

Deadly Premonition review (X360)

Reviewed on October 27, 2011

Itís a game in which you want nothing more than to see whatís thrown at you next, just so you can eagerly ramble about the amazing things that have just happened, and share theories with friends who are also playing. Itís so effective in stirring discussion, in fact, that it took me a while to realise I was enjoying talking about the game a great deal more than I was playing it.
Lewis's avatar
Blood Stone: 007 (PlayStation 3)

Blood Stone: 007 review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 26, 2011

Bond has landed in a cover-based shooter and he's smart about it. If you put him behind a crate and an enemy is approaching his location, it's easy to creep to the edge, then duck around the side of the crate without standing up and exposing himself. Or if there's cover nearby, it's easy to roll to that cover and keep moving from there. The difference is in how long you hold down the appropriate button once you press it. The whole process quickly becomes second nature and feels a lot more natural than it did in similar titles.
honestgamer's avatar
Batman: Arkham City (Xbox 360)

Batman: Arkham City review (X360)

Reviewed on October 25, 2011

Has a virtual place ever been such a canny combination of story backdrop, richly atmospheric graphics, and thrilling playground as this walled off section of Gotham City converted into a prison? Arkham City is densely packed with things to see, things to hear, and things to do. Gliding over the rooftops can be as rewarding as strolling along the streets. Rocksteady's city is a spectacle through and through, even more beautiful than Ubisoft's Assassin's Creeds for how it's so true to its fanciful Gothic tone.
tomchick's avatar
Tricky Kick (TurboGrafx-16)

Tricky Kick review (TG16)

Reviewed on October 24, 2011

Attention puzzle game gurus! Tired of taking apart videogame conundrums like so much Lego? IGS has your game. You wonít beat it any time soon. In fact, Tricky Kickís box should wear a disclaimer: If you think youíre at all good at games, donít play this. Your ego and sense of self worth may be smashed irreparably.
Masters's avatar
Spider-Man: Edge of Time (Xbox 360)

Spider-Man: Edge of Time review (X360)

Reviewed on October 21, 2011

Edge of Time cuts down on the variety and makes the story more of a focus. The modern day's Amazing Spider-Man teams up with the 2099 version to stop a futuristic scientist from achieving his time travel dreams ó namely going back in time to start up the Alchemax corporation, so that it (and he) would be an unstoppable force of world domination by the future.
overdrive's avatar
DeathSpank (PlayStation 3)

DeathSpank review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 21, 2011

The sound of cold steel slicing through a demon's rough hide... The jangle of cash as it materializes in the vicinity of your enemy's corpse... The glory of a well-placed post-battle quip... and who can forget Justice! They're equal parts of what make DeathSpank an exhilarating action-RPG, one that boasts a generous amount of humor, action, and side quests.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Dark Souls (PlayStation 3)

Dark Souls review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 20, 2011

Dark Souls is one of the finest Zelda games you'll ever play that isn't actually a Zelda game. Don't miss it!
honestgamer's avatar
BlazBlue: Continuum Shift (Xbox 360)

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift review (X360)

Reviewed on October 20, 2011

I sank hours of my time into the game and nearly every precious moment was spent zoning out or wishing that I could play something else. I didn't care when the ninth consecutive opponent fell at my feet with barely a whimper. I didn't much care when the next one soundly thrashed me, either. Everything was pretty enough along the way to that thrashing that I very much wanted to care, to let myself fall in love with the whole experience, but somehow I couldn't because nothing had managed to hook me.
honestgamer's avatar
Frogger 3D (3DS)

Frogger 3D review (3DS)

Reviewed on October 19, 2011

There are situations where youíll find yourself playing through something fiendishly clever and youíll realize that itís a perfect extension of the classic gameplay. Of particular note are the stages that finish up each of the worlds. To complete the first world, youíll have to flatten the tires of a huge truck (the same one that elsewhere has been squishing frogs, I like to think) by pushing a spike strip into its path. The second world concludes with a harrowing ride atop several trucks as you avoid low-hanging signs, eagles and holes.
honestgamer's avatar
Civilization V (PC)

Civilization V review (PC)

Reviewed on October 18, 2011

And hereís a major place in which Civilization V seems to fall down. Maybe itís just too long since I last tackled a Civ game, and Iíve simply lost my ability to play make believe within its boundaries. More likely, thereís a problem. Because for the life of me, I just could not even fool myself into being convinced by the diplomacy system.
Lewis's avatar
Bejeweled 2 (PC)

Bejeweled 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 14, 2011

Adding to the fun are the fruits of putting together four- and five-jewel combos. The former creates a magical sparkly jewel that, if placed into a line of three, will create an explosion to clear out ALL surrounding gems. The latter causes a weird amoeba-like shape to appear. If you find yourself stuck, you can click on it and any surrounding gem to make all of that color get eradicated.
overdrive's avatar
Gears of War 3 (Xbox 360)

Gears of War 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 09, 2011

Weíve cared so little for these characters, their conflict or the world they inhabit that years from now, when the next big shooter craze arrives and Gears finally becomes obsolete, I canít help wondering if weíll look back on this trilogy with a collective shrug. Gears 3 is simply a great shooter, and for now, thatís enough. I love great shooters almost as much as I hate missed opportunities.
Suskie's avatar
Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360)

Tales of Vesperia review (X360)

Reviewed on October 07, 2011

Overall, I found the battle system in Tales of Vesperia to do about as good of a job in taking a lot of different components and making them simple and user-friendly as any game I've played. When you get more powerful, you'll be able to obtain a number of more powerful attacks which culminate in the godly Mystic Artes, which spell bad news for anything in their path. Or you, as bosses also start gaining them after you've gotten a ways into the game.
overdrive's avatar
The Magic of Scheherazade (NES)

The Magic of Scheherazade review (NES)

Reviewed on September 30, 2011

I might not know everything about the gaming world, but I am pretty sure that an Arabian Nights tale concerning a time-traveling warrior collecting a wacky assortment of allies to save a bunch of princesses from evil sorcerers and misnamed demons (the Hindu Kali will never live down being mistaken for the Three Stooges' Curly) WHILE occasionally planting seeds to grow money trees in a world where solar eclipses happen every few minutes is RetroWeird.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Advertise | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.