Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Halo 4 (Xbox 360)

Halo 4 review (X360)

Reviewed on November 18, 2012

There was a time when every shooter on the market wanted to be Halo. Now they all want to be Call of Duty, and Halo is off in another room doing its own thing, and it's all the better for it.
Suskie's avatar
Call of Duty: Black Ops II (Xbox 360)

Call of Duty: Black Ops II review (X360)

Reviewed on November 17, 2012

I was curious to see how the sci-fi elements would play out. Now that Iíve seen them in action, theyíve left me wanting more of the same. One early mission has the heroes strap rocket gliders to their back and descend toward a jungle canopy, which is a cool introduction. Another mission finds your character working his way through waterlogged streets while avoiding automated drones that patrol the area (not to mention floating vehicles that have been swept up by the rushing liquid).
honestgamer's avatar
Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360)

Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition review (X360)

Reviewed on November 17, 2012

When my questing first took me here, I admit that it didn't take long for me to get lost, as I wasn't really paying that much attention to the in-game map. D.C. is essentially a world unto itself. A confusing, labyrinthine world with many twists, turns and dead ends. Words can't say how welcome this place was, especially when you consider the rest of the game's world takes place in a pretty unappealing place.
overdrive's avatar
Kid Klown in Night Mayor World (NES)

Kid Klown in Night Mayor World review (NES)

Reviewed on November 16, 2012

Kid Klown in Night Mayor World is a cute, forgettable, rudimentary platformer on NES. Itís one of a legion of mediocre sidescrollers that were released throughout the '80s and '90s that will likely be lost in the annals of gaming history, where they will be overshadowed by a handful of spectacular members from their genre. In other words, play those other titles instead.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Zone of the Enders HD Collection (PlayStation 3)

Zone of the Enders HD Collection review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 16, 2012

Can we all agree that all future HD compilations from every company should be handled by Bluepoint?
Roto13's avatar
Need for Speed: Most Wanted [Criterion] (PlayStation 3)

Need for Speed: Most Wanted [Criterion] review (PS3)

Reviewed on November 14, 2012

Criterion attempts to make the Most Wanted game of the holiday season
space_dust's avatar
Persona 4: Golden (Vita)

Persona 4: Golden review (VITA)

Reviewed on November 12, 2012

Rated M for Mara.
Roto13's avatar
Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (PC)

Painkiller: Hell & Damnation review (PC)

Reviewed on November 06, 2012

Painkiller: Hell and Damnation is about as barebones FPS as you can get. There are no frills, just design choices that reward skill and dedication. It's a splash of cold water to the sweaty face that has become the muddled world of the modern shooter, and pleasingly pedestrian in a way that brings out a sense of carnal rage while demanding one thing from the player: the desire to annihilate.
MolotovCupcake's avatar
Assassin's Creed III (Xbox 360)

Assassin's Creed III review (X360)

Reviewed on November 05, 2012

While it aggravated me in ways I'd anticipated, it captivated me in ways I hadn't. Ubisoft should be embarrassed that they haven't sorted out some of the series' biggest issues yet, but as long as they continue finding reasons for me to keep coming back, I will.
Suskie's avatar
Silent Hill 2: Restless Dreams (Xbox)

Silent Hill 2: Restless Dreams review (XBX)

Reviewed on October 30, 2012

It's a wonderful suffering, a beautiful nightmare worth every shudder and scream it can wring.
EmP's avatar
Medal of Honor: Warfighter (Xbox 360)

Medal of Honor: Warfighter review (X360)

Reviewed on October 30, 2012

The plot isnít the only thing that jumps around a lot, though. Gameplay style also varies to a surprising degree, and I was somewhat startled by the realization that many of my favorite scenes were those that feel the least like they belong in an FPS title.
honestgamer's avatar
Silent Hill (PlayStation)

Silent Hill review (PSX)

Reviewed on October 29, 2012

I feel for you, genuinely feel for you, if you've yet to play Silent Hill.
EmP's avatar
The Unfinished Swan (PlayStation 3)

The Unfinished Swan review (PS3)

Reviewed on October 29, 2012

I dunno, it seems pretty finished to me.
Roto13's avatar
Zoda's Revenge: Star Tropics 2 (NES)

Zoda's Revenge: Star Tropics 2 review (NES)

Reviewed on October 29, 2012

The original StarTropics was mostly confined to a random series of tropical islands, and everything blended together after a while. In Zoda's Revenge, you control Mike Jones as he travels from a prehistoric land, to ancient Egypt, to other areas such as a Transylvanian castle and King Arthur's Britain. Each chapter contains a minimum of one dungeon to explore as you search for a collection of Tetris -style blocks known as Tetrads. You need to reach them before various incarnations of Zoda (the villain from the first StarTropics game) can harness their power for evil.
overdrive's avatar
Skylanders Giants (Xbox 360)

Skylanders Giants review (X360)

Reviewed on October 28, 2012

Even when itís not adding new features, Skylanders Giants represents an improvement over its capable predecessor. Level design doesnít take you through quite the obvious variety of areas, but there are some truly ambitious areas that should definitely stand out in your mind. In one chapter, the characters visit a world with animatronic inhabitants and can activate a switch to animate them (or press it again to render them motionless once more).
honestgamer's avatar
ActRaiser (SNES)

ActRaiser review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 26, 2012

While it doesn't take much reading between the lines for a person to at least grasp the fundamentals of this, Nintendo's censorship did take away some of the impact this sort of plot might have, leaving us with the sort of standard fantasy fare where you'd almost expect there to be a disclaimer in the credits stating that any resemblance to actual belief systems is purely coincidental.
overdrive's avatar
Try Not to Fart (Xbox 360)

Try Not to Fart review (X360)

Reviewed on October 24, 2012

When button icons appear, you need to press and hold the button or buttons indicated until the icons start to flash, at which point you need to release them. If you press the wrong button, youíll sneak a fart that lasts until you release that button. If you fail to release a given button in time, thereís also a small penalty. The same is true if you donít swiftly enough press any button at all.
honestgamer's avatar
Mass Effect 3 (Xbox 360)

Mass Effect 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 20, 2012

So, yeah, bitching and moaning can easily apply, but then something fantastic comes together, and everything is blown out of the water.
EmP's avatar
Penny Arcade Adventures: On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness -- Episode 3 (Xbox 360)

Penny Arcade Adventures: On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness -- Episode 3 review (X360)

Reviewed on October 18, 2012

To keep battles from being stale, a decent number of them have special stipulations which can work in your favor, the monsters' favor or in an unexpected way ó such as when you fight the alien leader in an outer space dimension and find that, in homage to the Alien movies, you've entered "Ripley mode" where the one female member of your party has her stats raised dramatically.
overdrive's avatar
Retro City Rampage (Vita)

Retro City Rampage review (VITA)

Reviewed on October 17, 2012

Hey guys, remember Saved by the Bell? Isn't it hilarious that Saved by the Bell was a thing?
Roto13's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.