Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Pinball (NES)

Pinball review (NES)

Reviewed on April 08, 2013

Some games are timeless. Others are NES Pinball.
Roto13's avatar
Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory (PlayStation 3)

Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory review (PS3)

Reviewed on April 03, 2013

In this form, stats are increased substantially and so is the character’s bust line. Seriously. The young girls are transformed into scantily clad women who wear battle gear that is intended more for fashion than function. I'm not sure why Compile Heart decided to go in this direction, but it’s a franchise staple and it contributes to far too many excessively sexual scenes (including a group bath).
TylerTreese's avatar
White Noise Online (Xbox 360)

White Noise Online review (X360)

Reviewed on March 30, 2013

White Noise Online has made the original title, which I really enjoyed for the three months of its applicable life span, completely obsolete.
EmP's avatar
Battle Arena Toshinden (PlayStation)

Battle Arena Toshinden review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 29, 2013

Battle Arena Toshinden is a forgettable fighting game overshadowed by its brothers.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
BioShock Infinite (PC)

BioShock Infinite review (PC)

Reviewed on March 29, 2013

I'm used to BioShock games tucking their most important characters away in other rooms, so seeing Irrational put so much effort into someone who's at the very forefront from the get-go works wonders to make me feel more connected to the story's happenings. Booker may be the hero, and he's no slacker in the character development field himself, but Infinite is Elizabeth's show.
Suskie's avatar
Bubble Bobble Part 2 (NES)

Bubble Bobble Part 2 review (NES)

Reviewed on March 26, 2013

2 is the loneliest number.
Roto13's avatar
Quackshot Starring Donald Duck (Genesis)

Quackshot Starring Donald Duck review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 23, 2013

Although the various equipment available had the potential to facilitate a rousing adventure that could have offered a true sense of exploration, most stages are instead hampered by extremely linear design with little or nothing worthwhile to see that’s off the beaten path. Item swapping mostly just amounts to busy work, necessary though it is, and that process becomes less tolerable each time you’re forced to take another run through an area because you lost your last life and were returned to the world map.
honestgamer's avatar
Gears of War: Judgment (Xbox 360)

Gears of War: Judgment review (X360)

Reviewed on March 22, 2013

Judgment is uneventful. It is a succession of disconnected rooms in which unremarkable firefights take place. We rarely even see our team moving from one area to the next; when a mission ends, we push a button, look over our scorecard, push another button, sit through a load screen, and find ourselves in the next area.
Suskie's avatar
Fortune Street (Wii)

Fortune Street review (WII)

Reviewed on March 18, 2013

Before you begin a game, you can choose to play using either “Easy” rules or the “Standard” set. The latter is definitely the way to go, even if it comes with a hefty learning curve, because it has the potential to dramatically alter the way everything flows. Players can invest in stocks in any region, whether they own property there or not.
honestgamer's avatar
God of War: Ascension (PlayStation 3)

God of War: Ascension review (PS3)

Reviewed on March 17, 2013

Because its predecessors have already offered so many epic moments, Ascension falls prey to the double-edged sword of comparison: yes, the game offers more of the sort of fun you’ve come to expect, but it also fails to live up to the reputation that previous installments earned.
tay823's avatar
Tomb Raider (Xbox 360)

Tomb Raider review (X360)

Reviewed on March 16, 2013

Tomb Raider takes everything you think you know about one of gaming’s best known franchises, and reinvents it from the ground up.
EmP's avatar
Bloody Warriors: Shango no Gyakushuu (NES)

Bloody Warriors: Shango no Gyakushuu review (NES)

Reviewed on March 16, 2013

Bloody Warriors is best described as an RPG for RPG junkies. It's not good enough to inspire players to delve into the genre, but diehard fans like me are able to gain some enjoyment from taking another trip down a well-worn path.
overdrive's avatar
Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk (PlayStation 3)

Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk review (PS3)

Reviewed on March 13, 2013

Atelier Ayesha is a shallow affair. I like its looks and the sweet music it plays, but it just doesn’t appeal to me intellectually.
Whelk's avatar
SimCity (PC)

SimCity review (PC)

Reviewed on March 12, 2013

Social features bring something different to the new SimCity formula, but you might wish Maxis had left things well enough alone.
honestgamer's avatar
Battletoads (NES)

Battletoads review (NES)

Reviewed on March 09, 2013

Most people have trouble enjoying this game nowadays. In related news, most people have trouble getting past the third level...
honestgamer's avatar
Popeye (NES)

Popeye review (NES)

Reviewed on March 08, 2013

"I yam what I yam and what I yam is a mediocre Donkey Kong clone."
Roto13's avatar
Romancing SaGa 3 (SNES)

Romancing SaGa 3 review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 07, 2013

Magic is generally bought in stores. At least I think it is… I never found much use for casting spells when I could use high-tier skills to erase thousands of hit points from enemies in a single attack. Since you regain all health after each battle, it's not like healing spells are all that useful, and characters tend to have 10 or more life points, which means they can fall that many times in battles before actually perishing. Thus, fights tend to be onslaughts of all-out offense until all the monsters are dead.
overdrive's avatar
A Boy and His Blob (NES)

A Boy and His Blob review (NES)

Reviewed on March 07, 2013

Half adventure game, half falling-to-your-death simulator.
Roto13's avatar
Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan (3DS)

Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan review (3DS)

Reviewed on March 06, 2013

Etrian Odyssey IV, the latest installment in the series and the first to appear on the 3DS, does an excellent job of adding convenience without sacrificing any of the franchise’s charms. And don’t worry: it’s still really difficult.
Whelk's avatar
Urban Champion (NES)

Urban Champion review (NES)

Reviewed on March 03, 2013

Basically the opposite of BlazBlue.
Roto13's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.