Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Psychic Detective (PlayStation)

Psychic Detective review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 11, 2006

I had this plan for a review, and it was going to be great. See, what I was going to do was write an intro on how I've played an AWESOME point 'n' click game. One so spectacular that I had to write a review on it because not sharing this masterpiece WITH THE WORLD would have made me selfish and possessive. Then I was going to work in a direct link to my Broken Sword review using my limited knowledge of HTML coding. Hohoho.
EmP's avatar
Star Ocean: Till the End of Time (PlayStation 2)

Star Ocean: Till the End of Time review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 10, 2006

But, see, everything else about the game is sub-par at best. It’s a perfect example of what an RPG shouldn’t do.
lasthero's avatar
Zunou Senkan Galg (NES)

Zunou Senkan Galg review (NES)

Reviewed on March 09, 2006

To be honest, I got my first hint that Galg might become a thorn in my side as soon as I started up the game. As the first level began, I was informed I must collect 100 parts to destroy someone or something known as Dragg. Not five parts, not 10....but 100! But that's only a harbinger of the true horrors that were yet to come....
overdrive's avatar
Telenet Music Box (X68000)

Telenet Music Box review (X68K)

Reviewed on March 06, 2006

A young boy flees from a burning village. Behind him, grim armored invaders methodically purge hut after hut, torching the walls and turning every once-happy home into a sickening slaughterhouse.
zigfried's avatar
Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth (Xbox)

Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth review (XBX)

Reviewed on March 06, 2006

When protagonist Jack Walters enters the town of Innsmouth and starts poking around, you’re not constantly diving through sleek menus and you’re not looking at things from a distance. You see it all through his protagonist’s eyes, without the meters and numbers so often a hallmark of the genre. When the villagers grunt, growl and say to leave them alone, they’re staring you right in the face. You are Jack Walters.
honestgamer's avatar
Traysia (Genesis)

Traysia review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 06, 2006

I tried to pay attention to the game’s muddled plot and it seemed that much of it revolved around an evil group of wizards trying to take over the world. To back up that theory, as my characters explored different lands, they saw evidence of diabolical spells designed to sow the seeds of chaos. But in battle, these wizards do nothing more than walk towards the heroes and try to bop ‘em on the head with their staves. Brilliant!
overdrive's avatar
Guitar Hero (PlayStation 2)

Guitar Hero review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 05, 2006

Gene Simmons once sang "God gave rock 'n roll to you", and yay, unto his children the Almighty did deliver. From Jimi Hendrix, to Black Sabbath, and Mega Deth, we've gorged ourselves on the power chord, and snacked on sex and drugs like they were going out of fashion. Unfortunately however, some were more blessed than others, and those that couldn't tell the difference between a fret and a spider were left to admire the party from afar.
midwinter's avatar
Bonk's Adventure (TurboGrafx-16)

Bonk's Adventure review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 02, 2006

I don't often randomly boast about particularly sweet things I pull off in video games, but I have to say I had an ear-to-ear grin after utterly destroying one boss with a perfectly-executed chain of attacks. The poor guy never had a chance, as I hit him with a diving attack, bounced off and repeatedly walloped him until the dude was down for the count. Sorry, Punchy Pedro, I scarcely knew ye.....
overdrive's avatar
WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2006 (PlayStation 2)

WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2006 review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 02, 2006

Wrestling’s not so much a sport as it is a way of life. I respect that. And I respect Smackdown vs. Raw 2006 because it perfectly emulates.
lasthero's avatar
Drakengard (PlayStation 2)

Drakengard review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 27, 2006

But none of them stand a chance, and it's a given that a worse-for-wear Caim will limp into his own courtyard, blood flowing freely from his wounds and dripping onto the barren earth floor. A few more troops await their death here but once they're disposed of, you learn the full extent of their actions. In the middle of the courtyard, peppered with arrows, spears and swords, awaits an imposing sight. Before you lies a dying dragon.
EmP's avatar
Dungeon Lords: Collector’s Edition (PC)

Dungeon Lords: Collector’s Edition review (PC)

Reviewed on February 26, 2006

You’ll almost be glad when the chirping crickets and hooting owls fall silent, replaced by rustling of leaves or the scraping of claws on stone that pre-empt another battle. It’s fun to explore new portions of the map and watch the blank areas fill in as if by magic. There’s a definite sense that adventure could lie beyond each hilltop.
honestgamer's avatar
Do You Like Horny Bunnies? 2 (PC)

Do You Like Horny Bunnies? 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on February 26, 2006

I should also mention that because Do You Like Horny Bunnies? 2 is a sequel (the ‘2’ in its title should have tipped you off), there’s some fan service. If you played the original, you’ll recognize two of the characters from that game. They engage in a bit of unexpected sex, which you get to watch unfold if you play your cards right.
honestgamer's avatar
Onimusha: Dawn of Dreams (PlayStation 2)

Onimusha: Dawn of Dreams review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 24, 2006

It's a return to grace for a series in danger of losing itself, and in a way, reaffirms the belief that only Capcom know how to deliver a solid, third person slash'em up. You can have your 3D Castlevanias and your weak as piss American imitations, the real action however, once more belongs to Keiji Inafune and the Genma hordes.
midwinter's avatar
Shaq-Fu (SNES)

Shaq-Fu review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 22, 2006

If you’ve been playing games and surfing the internet for any considerable length of time, you’ve no doubt come across a review of Shaq Fu that was filled with witty remarks, jabs at Shaq’s bald head, and the unabashed bashing of voodoo (something that Shaq Fu proudly supports) No doubt, said review convinced you that Shaq Fu sucks, complaining about it’s bad storyline and its bad graphics and its bad controls.
lasthero's avatar
Drakengard 2 (PlayStation 2)

Drakengard 2 review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 20, 2006

If Dynasty Warriors wrote the book on manly brawling, then Drakengard 2 filled a library. By game's end, thousands of ogres, undead soldiers, and knights will fall with blood spraying from their broken heads. However! Fans of the first game be warned: you no longer play as an insatiable madman!
zigfried's avatar
Addams Family Values (SNES)

Addams Family Values review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 20, 2006

Or you'll become befuddled by your umpteenth encounter with one of Addams Family Values' favorite underworld "puzzles" — the games of "Guess Which Teleporter Won't Move You Back Eight Rooms" and "Randomly Push These Switches Until You Do It Right". This cartridge did a fantastic job of making me feel that it was either dumb luck or trial-and-error that got from one place to the next, as opposed to anything resembling skill or gaming knowledge.
overdrive's avatar
The Suffering (PlayStation 2)

The Suffering review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 19, 2006

In The Suffering, the abominations you encounter are not mazes to find your way past, but obstacles to be destroyed. Like a 1970s grindhouse flick, you’ll find yourself standing amid piles of bodies, blood drenching every scrap of skin and clothing left on your body.
pup's avatar
Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition (PlayStation 2)

Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 16, 2006

That’s why Special Edition succeeds as a game and as a re-release: It makes things simple without making them easy. Forget the smooth control system or the sweet level design; I’m talking about the accessibility. How the game offers difficulties for all skill levels, tailored for the weakest of the weak and the hardest of the hardcore.
lasthero's avatar
Monkey Puncher (Game Boy Color)

Monkey Puncher review (GBC)

Reviewed on February 16, 2006

Choosing either of the two siblings, Kenta or Sumire, make no difference to the overall aim of the game, which is to raise and train a monkey strong enough to topple the Saru group and freeing your imprisoned family. Handily, you happen to obtain a feisty little monkey by the name of Freddy who may very well be your token to glory, vengeance and the possible triggering of Armageddon.
EmP's avatar
Final Fantasy III (SNES)

Final Fantasy III review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 16, 2006

Certainly, you can take that route if you wish. Or… you can slow down and have a good time exploring each of the world’s nooks and crannies. There are even optional monster and towers you can defeat for seriously cool rewards. Much of the game’s second half is optional but cool. You can play however you like, with only a few exceptions. Some choices you make can even affect the game’s plot.
honestgamer's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.