Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Suikoden V (PlayStation 2)

Suikoden V review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 23, 2006

Suikoden V takes place in the Queendom of Falena, a magical land where bunnies with knives attack innocent travelers and giant, marauding werewolves drop 200 skill points when they die. It’s called a Queendom because the Queen rules just like a king would, the king is just the commander of the army, and the Prince has no real power or anything because the king is always decided by a tournament he can’t even participate in. So, basically, Prince [Insert Your Name Here], is the equivalent of a Princess. Which explains why he looks like a girl. I guess.
lasthero's avatar
Sagaia (Genesis)

Sagaia review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 21, 2006

Due to the path I'm taking, my objective is the sea urchin-like monstrosity known as Leadain — a foul contraption with multiple deadly attacks and seemingly more lives than a cat. It kills me, forcing me to re-enter the fray with only a pair of pea-shooter weapons. Not even the luck of the gods will allow me to see the next level under these conditions.
overdrive's avatar
Hexic HD (Xbox 360)

Hexic HD review (X360)

Reviewed on June 19, 2006

In the end, despite the frustration and occasionally unfair situations that sometimes surface, Hexic HD is a great way to pass the day away with.
destinati0n's avatar
Hitman: Blood Money (PlayStation 2)

Hitman: Blood Money review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 16, 2006

Is it his style, his attitude, or the artistry in his skill? Maybe he is the manifestation of our own sadistic fantasies.
pup's avatar
Tao's Adventure: Curse of the Demon Seal (DS)

Tao's Adventure: Curse of the Demon Seal review (DS)

Reviewed on June 15, 2006

I envisaged an epic struggle through the colourful floors of Monster Tower, fighting ancient beasts with fearsome spells. In hindsight, my expectations were a little high.
janus's avatar
Motoroader MC (Turbografx-CD)

Motoroader MC review (TGCD)

Reviewed on June 13, 2006

In the tradition of the legendary Super Sprint, each Motoroader race is presented in a single-screen birds' eye view, so that you can see all the racers, all the obstacles, and all the action without any view-changing or mirror-flipping nonsense. There are a few hazards like ice patches or volcanic gorges, but for the most part you'll just hold down the "accelerate" button and speed as quickly as possible through eight laps on each track.
zigfried's avatar
Gradius Collection (PSP)

Gradius Collection review (PSP)

Reviewed on June 13, 2006

When the ship begins, it fires small pellets in a straight path. These are soon supplemented with peripheral shots, lasers and shields that give you a better chance against whatever the alien empire you’re battling happens to throw your way. Soon, your painfully slow ship will move more efficiently—this finally gives you a chance against all your adversaries as they dart so lithely about the screen—and you’ll wonder why you ever found the game so overwhelming.
honestgamer's avatar
The Da Vinci Code (Xbox)

The Da Vinci Code review (XBX)

Reviewed on June 11, 2006

On the one hand, this is a satisfying way to fight that emphasis mental power over the ability to simply button mash. On the other, it just doesn’t feel quite natural. Fights seem to happen in fits and spurts. Worse, fighting multiple enemies turns into a ridiculous scenario where even if you press the buttons in just the right order, one of the other goons might step in and knock you in the face because you’re in the middle of performing a combo and can’t stop to deal with the obvious threat.
honestgamer's avatar
Metal Saga (PlayStation 2)

Metal Saga review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 09, 2006

I had no reason to go anywhere other than to get in fights and earn money to buy better equipment for my characters and their tanks. With no motivation beyond personal gain, everything I accomplished in Metal Saga seemed hollow — a never-ending series of frivolous events only connected by their lack of connection.
overdrive's avatar
Shining Force (Genesis)

Shining Force review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 08, 2006

During the game’s final battles, I didn’t have the courage to send Max into the heart of conflict. Why? Because if he gets defeated, the game ends and I found out the hard way that one unlucky confrontation can accomplish that in the blink of an eye.
overdrive's avatar
Formula One: Built to Win (NES)

Formula One: Built to Win review (NES)

Reviewed on June 05, 2006

There wasn’t much of a difference between the first few Formula One races and the last few American ones, so I jumped out to a hefty lead in the points standings over real-life drivers of the time (with slightly altered names, such as “A. Frost” instead of Alain Prost or “A. Zenna” instead of Ayrton Senna). I was feeling fine. Only a few races from winning the F-1 championship, I felt not even the wrath of God himself could stop me!
overdrive's avatar
Fight Night Round 3 (PlayStation 2)

Fight Night Round 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 05, 2006

Fighting without the energy bar, with no concrete way to gauge my opponents health and stamina, has made this game one of the most intense experiences I’ve ever had on any console; it’s amazing on multiple levels. The opponent’s body becomes your gauge; you’re targeting him, picking out spots, centering, focusing your attacks, faking him, looking to make sure he hurts in one spot more than the others. You land a solid blow and it hits with all the subtlety of roaring thunder; the controller shakes, the screen shakes, blood spurts from his mouth, you can feel the ribs give way as your fist connects.
lasthero's avatar
Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow (PlayStation 2)

Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 02, 2006

Your parents were wrong. What you can’t see, certainly can hurt you.
pup's avatar
Mike Tyson's Punch-Out! (NES)

Mike Tyson's Punch-Out! review (NES)

Reviewed on June 01, 2006

France’s most stalwart athlete, Glass Joe, quickly finds out his career is heading for a humiliating end, as his punches are easily dodged by Mac, who then responds by sending jab after jab into Joe’s face. The fight is short and brutal — with Glass Joe spending more time face down than the average hentai game chick.
overdrive's avatar
Steambot Chronicles (PlayStation 2)

Steambot Chronicles review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 29, 2006

Steambot Chronicles is cool like that; there’s an overlying story, sure, but progressing it rarely requires you to do anything hard. Hell, it rarely requires you to do much at all.
lasthero's avatar
RapeLay (PC)

RapeLay review (PC)

Reviewed on May 27, 2006

To some extent, RapeLay represents a substantial evolution in hentai gaming: diverse, real-time, interactive sexual intercourse. But let's be honest. In RapeLay, you rape women in the most abusive manner possible and the women learn to like it. Well-programmed or not, I can't get behind that.
zigfried's avatar
Faxanadu (NES)

Faxanadu review (NES)

Reviewed on May 21, 2006

However, one cannot simply loiter near town enriching themselves through the lucrative practice of repeated suicide. The regions of Faxanadu are loaded with dungeons, as well as hostile, mutated dwarves that mean business! Considering the limitations of the NES, many of this game's assortment of baddies are simply incredible. Just look at the boss shaped like a monstrous torso as it bounces towards the hero, teeth gnashing in anticipation of their inevitable plunge through his armor into soft flesh.
overdrive's avatar
New Super Mario Bros. (DS)

New Super Mario Bros. review (DS)

Reviewed on May 20, 2006

I knew better than to hope for a DS game that could capture all of that for me again. Nostalgia sets unrealistic expectations. No, I’m not bitter because things weren’t exactly as I wished for them to be. In many ways, they came much closer than I ever expected. Instead, I’m upset because New Super Mario Bros. has too many issues that get in the way of a consistently good time.
honestgamer's avatar
Yu-Gi-Oh! Ultimate Masters: World Championship Tournament 2006 (Game Boy Advance)

Yu-Gi-Oh! Ultimate Masters: World Championship Tournament 2006 review (GBA)

Reviewed on May 19, 2006

World Championship 2006 is a great game that hints at a potentially excellent future. Unlike its drooling idiot siblings on the half-powered Yu-Gi-Oh! Double Pack, this final GBA edition combines all the card game's actual rules (including Fusion Monsters) with the thrill of purchasing and ripping open hundreds of virtual booster packs. The only things holding this particular Pak back are some audiovisual inadequacies and the sore lack of online play.
zigfried's avatar
Tomb Raider: Legend (PlayStation 2)

Tomb Raider: Legend review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 19, 2006

Fortunately, the boring fights only make up a small part of the game. You've got exploration. You've got puzzle solving. 1/3 suck, 2/3 good.
lasthero's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.