Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

foe_en_s4_b22.jpg

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews

Ys: The Ark of Napishtim (PSP)

Ys: The Ark of Napishtim review (PSP)

Reviewed on April 01, 2006

The PSP port's issues begin and end with the frequent loading. Every time Adol moves from one screen to the next — even if he's just walking into a house — a loading screen will appear. Sometimes NOW LOADING is white. Sometimes NOW LOADING is light blue.
zigfried's avatar
The Godfather: The Game (Xbox)

The Godfather: The Game review (XBX)

Reviewed on April 01, 2006

Such moments keep things engaging long after you’ve finished the game’s plotted moments. There’s just something fun about walking into a bakery and telling a merchant that you have his best interests at heart. They aren’t generally inclined to believe you, which is when you have to talk some sense into them. Often, you do this with your fists. Maybe there’re some fragile items sitting on a nearby shelf. You can target them and smash them.
honestgamer's avatar
Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 (PC)

Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 review (PC)

Reviewed on March 30, 2006

What really makes Red Orchestra unique is the commitment to realism. Characters move at normal speeds, stamina limits your sprinting and jumping, bullets drop over distances, one hit is often enough to kill, bolt-action rifles must be manually reloaded, and cross-hairs are only seen through scopes.
pup's avatar
SSX 3 (GameCube)

SSX 3 review (GCN)

Reviewed on March 30, 2006

SSX 3 continues EA Sports’ excellent arcade oriented series, adding plenty of new features, all the while keeping the premise surprisingly simple.
destinati0n's avatar
Fire Emblem (Game Boy Advance)

Fire Emblem review (GBA)

Reviewed on March 30, 2006

Fights consist of more and more enemy troops, many of which can pop up anywhere at any time as reinforcements, while many factors make picking your group of heroes for each battle a decision to not be taken lightly. Units with heavy armor may not be mobile enough to be useful on the largest battlefields, while heroes that subscribe to the “brawn-before-brains” code likely will get beat down in encounters with multiple magic-wielders.
overdrive's avatar
Grandia III (PlayStation 2)

Grandia III review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 29, 2006

He's got this youth, this innocence that reminds me what it's like to have a dream and hold onto it. He's not perfect; he crashes, he fails, things don't go like he plans. Things look bleak, hopeless. But he just keeps going, and even though he's not the first hero with determination, he's one of the best portrayed and most easily identifiable. After all: Who hasn't dreamed of flying?
lasthero's avatar
Mega Man: Maverick Hunter X (PSP)

Mega Man: Maverick Hunter X review (PSP)

Reviewed on March 25, 2006

When I began playing, I started out by heading to Chill Penguin’s stage. Partway through, I reached a chamber where I anticipated an upgrade that would allow X to dash. The familiar capsule never appeared. I beat the level without any boost to my armor. The same proved true of other locations, and it became obvious that not all was the same. Armor tweaks are still available, but now you have to work harder to find them.
honestgamer's avatar
From Russia with Love (PlayStation 2)

From Russia with Love review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 24, 2006

Bad guys jump out from hidden spots, try to surprise you and suck at it. Mission objectives have you finding briefcases and other hidden objects, going on little fetch-quests. It's just really...really...average.
lasthero's avatar
Lumines (PSP)

Lumines review (PSP)

Reviewed on March 20, 2006

You’ll know when you’re there because your fingers will be moving as if they aren’t yours, and your score will be skyrocketing. You’ll be flicking tiles this way and that, dropping one in one place and hardly even noticing as it begins to flash because you’re already working with the next play.
honestgamer's avatar
Final Soldier (TurboGrafx-16)

Final Soldier review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 20, 2006

I was disappointed to have to play through seven levels that didn't get challenging until the end neared. Enemies were only aggressive in a few parts of Final Soldier, while most bosses went down in flames before I got overwhelmed by their more proactive approach to solving the problem of “that gosh-durn little feller that keeps shooting me with the big green doohickeys”.
overdrive's avatar
Lemmings (PSP)

Lemmings review (PSP)

Reviewed on March 19, 2006

Admittedly then, expectations for the PSP update were low. How were Team 17 going to overcome the interface problem on a system notorious for its poor controls? Long answer made short: they didn't. Instead, a series of workarounds have been implemented to increase user-friendliness, though in doing so, some basic design issues have gone unchecked.
midwinter's avatar
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (SNES)

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 17, 2006

It’s hard to imagine that great fights against Turtle Rock’s three-headed dragon, the near-invulnerable Moldorm or evil ol’ Ganon, himself, could be in the same game as a giant moth whose main threat is caused by its good fortune to reside in a spike-laden room with a floor composed of conveyor belts. A handful of other bosses seem a bit redundant, as one seems little more than an enhanced version of the Patra mini-bosses in the original Legend of Zelda’s final dungeon, while the fight with Blink the Thief could best be described as a confrontation with a mobile Gleeok.
overdrive's avatar
Xenosaga Episode I: Der Wille zur Macht (PlayStation 2)

Xenosaga Episode I: Der Wille zur Macht review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 16, 2006

What we have here is a rare case; the only game I know capable of standing on a character and a setting. If the universe wasn’t so detailed and complete, if it wasn’t designed with such obvious care and forethought, if its plot wasn’t more gripping than many books or movies, and if KOS-MOS didn’t kick such ungodly amounts of ass, Xenosaga Episode I: Dur Wille Zer Macht would suck. Beyond those elements, there’s little to like.
lasthero's avatar
HSX: HyperSonic.Xtreme (PlayStation 2)

HSX: HyperSonic.Xtreme review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 16, 2006

pup's avatar
MS Saga: A New Dawn (PlayStation 2)

MS Saga: A New Dawn review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 12, 2006

When it comes to anime, people have different ways of expressing their love. Some cosplay, some create fansites, and some draw parodies. SD Gundam was originally intended as an all-out parody of the super-serious Gundam series. SD Gundam was so popular that it eventually took on a life of its own and spawned an entire line of toys, television shows, and video games. MS Saga is one of those games.
zigfried's avatar
Shadow Hearts From the New World (PlayStation 2)

Shadow Hearts From the New World review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 12, 2006

There’s another change: From the New World is the first in the series to abandon plot-fertile Europe in favor of the Americas. Some people suppose that means “the United States,” but that’s not entirely true. While you will visit places like Chicago, Vegas and New York (and even the Grand Canyon), you’ll also witness destinations beyond US borders. One such place is the Caribbean, where you’ll encounter a band of pirates that hang out near a haunted ship.
honestgamer's avatar
Every Party (Xbox 360)

Every Party review (X360)

Reviewed on March 12, 2006

Okamoto's desire to broaden the market through accessibility was noble, it's just a shame he selected a console that's been solely embraced by a minor sub-culture of die-hard enthusiasts.
midwinter's avatar
Psychic Detective (PlayStation)

Psychic Detective review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 11, 2006

I had this plan for a review, and it was going to be great. See, what I was going to do was write an intro on how I've played an AWESOME point 'n' click game. One so spectacular that I had to write a review on it because not sharing this masterpiece WITH THE WORLD would have made me selfish and possessive. Then I was going to work in a direct link to my Broken Sword review using my limited knowledge of HTML coding. Hohoho.
EmP's avatar
Star Ocean: Till the End of Time (PlayStation 2)

Star Ocean: Till the End of Time review (PS2)

Reviewed on March 10, 2006

But, see, everything else about the game is sub-par at best. It’s a perfect example of what an RPG shouldn’t do.
lasthero's avatar
Zunou Senkan Galg (NES)

Zunou Senkan Galg review (NES)

Reviewed on March 09, 2006

To be honest, I got my first hint that Galg might become a thorn in my side as soon as I started up the game. As the first level began, I was informed I must collect 100 parts to destroy someone or something known as Dragg. Not five parts, not 10....but 100! But that's only a harbinger of the true horrors that were yet to come....
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Advertise | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.