Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Devilish: The Next Possession (Genesis)

Devilish: The Next Possession review (GEN)

Reviewed on July 01, 2006

It's such a genuinely zany concept that one wonders going in just how such a thing couldn't provide a quick burst of amusement. And it does. I actually chuckled at the wonderfully contrived story describing a prince and a princess turned into paddles by evil magic. The problem is that if you've played Breakout, you've played this, and while such things as zombies and boss fights add a little to the gameplay value, Bad Omen runs on its novelty. Once you get past that, the experience quickly loses its lustre.
EmP's avatar
Arc the Lad: Twilight of Spirits (PlayStation 2)

Arc the Lad: Twilight of Spirits review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 01, 2006

Perhaps the best way to sum up Twilight is to share the impotency of its biggest sidequest. Each party has a dreaded arena they must face, each giving the parties severe limitations on what they can or cannot do. These arenas are maniacal at times, outnumbering you with competent foes that can easily beat you and your limited team down in a heartbeat. Struggling through these test -- each requiring 40-50 straight victories and a good few hours of constant work -- rewards each team with a secret character. These characters are either throwbacks from the original Arc the Lad series or quirky brand-new members for you to enjoy. They exist on a slightly higher level than your standard squad personnel and manage to avoid most of the stereotype pitfalls the others wallow in. They hit hard, amuse, and look the part. But they're only usable in random battles; they're disclosed from plot-driven affairs
EmP's avatar
Totally Rad (NES)

Totally Rad review (NES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2006

And so, young and awesome Jake sets off into the wild blue yonder, endeavoring to complete five whole stages of magic and mayhem, rescue Allison, rescue Allison’s father (no clue how he fits into things, other than to give Jake another reason to look like a big-shot in front of his girl) and spew out TOTALLY RAD dialogue, all of which I forced myself to forget as soon as the words left my screen.
overdrive's avatar
New Super Mario Bros. (DS)

New Super Mario Bros. review (DS)

Reviewed on June 29, 2006

There is one particular thought that you should dismiss from your mind before reading a review or perhaps even going out to purchase this game. And that is, do not expect this to be along the same monumental line as Super Mario 64, Super Mario World, or even the first game Mario appeared on for that matter. Think of Mario’s latest venture as more of an anthology of sorts; an assemblage of positive features from his best games, spanning over the last twenty years.
destinati0n's avatar
Martial Masters (Arcade)

Martial Masters review (ARC)

Reviewed on June 28, 2006

Martial Masters is, quite possibly, the greatest 2-D fighter you’ll never play.
lasthero's avatar
Feeding Frenzy (Xbox 360)

Feeding Frenzy review (X360)

Reviewed on June 24, 2006

Fish you couldn’t eat moments before suddenly become your victims, sort of like how the sticky ball you rolled around in Katamari Damacy couldn’t pick up a mouse one minute, but later rolled up an entire skyscraper on a single pass. Of course, there are a few key differences.
honestgamer's avatar
Plok (SNES)

Plok review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 23, 2006

The final area’s penchant for giving Plok strange tools and forcing him to use them to overcome obstacles reaches its peak at the very end of the game, as he must fight the final boss wearing a pair of spring shoes that force him to bound around the arena in a very hard-to-control fashion. Nothing like a climactic battle where I get killed solely because my hero is constantly bouncing into the path of what should be easily-dodged bullets!
overdrive's avatar
Suikoden V (PlayStation 2)

Suikoden V review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 23, 2006

Suikoden V takes place in the Queendom of Falena, a magical land where bunnies with knives attack innocent travelers and giant, marauding werewolves drop 200 skill points when they die. It’s called a Queendom because the Queen rules just like a king would, the king is just the commander of the army, and the Prince has no real power or anything because the king is always decided by a tournament he can’t even participate in. So, basically, Prince [Insert Your Name Here], is the equivalent of a Princess. Which explains why he looks like a girl. I guess.
lasthero's avatar
Sagaia (Genesis)

Sagaia review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 21, 2006

Due to the path I'm taking, my objective is the sea urchin-like monstrosity known as Leadain — a foul contraption with multiple deadly attacks and seemingly more lives than a cat. It kills me, forcing me to re-enter the fray with only a pair of pea-shooter weapons. Not even the luck of the gods will allow me to see the next level under these conditions.
overdrive's avatar
Hexic HD (Xbox 360)

Hexic HD review (X360)

Reviewed on June 19, 2006

In the end, despite the frustration and occasionally unfair situations that sometimes surface, Hexic HD is a great way to pass the day away with.
destinati0n's avatar
Hitman: Blood Money (PlayStation 2)

Hitman: Blood Money review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 16, 2006

Is it his style, his attitude, or the artistry in his skill? Maybe he is the manifestation of our own sadistic fantasies.
pup's avatar
Tao's Adventure: Curse of the Demon Seal (DS)

Tao's Adventure: Curse of the Demon Seal review (DS)

Reviewed on June 15, 2006

I envisaged an epic struggle through the colourful floors of Monster Tower, fighting ancient beasts with fearsome spells. In hindsight, my expectations were a little high.
janus's avatar
Motoroader MC (Turbografx-CD)

Motoroader MC review (TGCD)

Reviewed on June 13, 2006

In the tradition of the legendary Super Sprint, each Motoroader race is presented in a single-screen birds' eye view, so that you can see all the racers, all the obstacles, and all the action without any view-changing or mirror-flipping nonsense. There are a few hazards like ice patches or volcanic gorges, but for the most part you'll just hold down the "accelerate" button and speed as quickly as possible through eight laps on each track.
zigfried's avatar
Gradius Collection (PSP)

Gradius Collection review (PSP)

Reviewed on June 13, 2006

When the ship begins, it fires small pellets in a straight path. These are soon supplemented with peripheral shots, lasers and shields that give you a better chance against whatever the alien empire you’re battling happens to throw your way. Soon, your painfully slow ship will move more efficiently—this finally gives you a chance against all your adversaries as they dart so lithely about the screen—and you’ll wonder why you ever found the game so overwhelming.
honestgamer's avatar
The Da Vinci Code (Xbox)

The Da Vinci Code review (XBX)

Reviewed on June 11, 2006

On the one hand, this is a satisfying way to fight that emphasis mental power over the ability to simply button mash. On the other, it just doesn’t feel quite natural. Fights seem to happen in fits and spurts. Worse, fighting multiple enemies turns into a ridiculous scenario where even if you press the buttons in just the right order, one of the other goons might step in and knock you in the face because you’re in the middle of performing a combo and can’t stop to deal with the obvious threat.
honestgamer's avatar
Metal Saga (PlayStation 2)

Metal Saga review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 09, 2006

I had no reason to go anywhere other than to get in fights and earn money to buy better equipment for my characters and their tanks. With no motivation beyond personal gain, everything I accomplished in Metal Saga seemed hollow — a never-ending series of frivolous events only connected by their lack of connection.
overdrive's avatar
Shining Force (Genesis)

Shining Force review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 08, 2006

During the game’s final battles, I didn’t have the courage to send Max into the heart of conflict. Why? Because if he gets defeated, the game ends and I found out the hard way that one unlucky confrontation can accomplish that in the blink of an eye.
overdrive's avatar
Formula One: Built to Win (NES)

Formula One: Built to Win review (NES)

Reviewed on June 05, 2006

There wasn’t much of a difference between the first few Formula One races and the last few American ones, so I jumped out to a hefty lead in the points standings over real-life drivers of the time (with slightly altered names, such as “A. Frost” instead of Alain Prost or “A. Zenna” instead of Ayrton Senna). I was feeling fine. Only a few races from winning the F-1 championship, I felt not even the wrath of God himself could stop me!
overdrive's avatar
Fight Night Round 3 (PlayStation 2)

Fight Night Round 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 05, 2006

Fighting without the energy bar, with no concrete way to gauge my opponents health and stamina, has made this game one of the most intense experiences I’ve ever had on any console; it’s amazing on multiple levels. The opponent’s body becomes your gauge; you’re targeting him, picking out spots, centering, focusing your attacks, faking him, looking to make sure he hurts in one spot more than the others. You land a solid blow and it hits with all the subtlety of roaring thunder; the controller shakes, the screen shakes, blood spurts from his mouth, you can feel the ribs give way as your fist connects.
lasthero's avatar
Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow (PlayStation 2)

Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 02, 2006

Your parents were wrong. What you can’t see, certainly can hurt you.
pup's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.