Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Staff Reviews)

You are currently looking through staff reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
DuckTales Remastered (Wii U)

DuckTales Remastered review (WIIU)

Reviewed on September 22, 2013

DuckTales Remastered is neither a complete failure nor the triumph it so easily could have been.
honestgamer's avatar
Sonic Mega Collection Plus (PlayStation 2)

Sonic Mega Collection Plus review (PS2)

Reviewed on September 20, 2013

I've not actually seen Ristar on this collection because of the painfully tedious process of unlocking games. From doing a good bit of reading, you apparently need a save for Sonic Heroes on your memory card to get a couple of the games, while the rest are unlocked by starting up various Genesis games a whole bunch of times; and game hints are unlocked by keeping games open for three hours. This is just so stupid…
overdrive's avatar
Uchuu Keibitai SDF (NES)

Uchuu Keibitai SDF review (NES)

Reviewed on September 19, 2013

Take out the enemy's space armada and you'll then find yourself in a claustrophobic base. The level is only one screen wide and you'll be maneuvering through narrow, cramped corridors that (of course) have enemies lurking just out of range. The only thing missing was the message, "And now for something completely different…" flashing on the screen between stages — a sentiment which only grows towards the end of the game when you suddenly find yourself outside flying over a desert.
overdrive's avatar
Silent Hill HD Collection (Xbox 360)

Silent Hill HD Collection review (X360)

Reviewed on August 30, 2013

Maybe it's watching James descend down one deep hole after another…only to wind up outside on ground level with no indication that he'd been following a steadily declining path; or perhaps it's Heather having to frantically check doors in a shopping mall while constantly being chased by durable monsters she has nowhere near enough ammo to put down — these are not emotionally relaxing games.
overdrive's avatar
Dragon's Crown (PlayStation 3)

Dragon's Crown review (PS3)

Reviewed on August 22, 2013

So, just what do you get as a reward for overlooking the boobs? The answer, it turns out, is an enjoyable romp through fantasy tropes that include nefarious wizards, mythical creatures on the rampage, heroic knights, and even damsels in distress. What makes it all so enjoyable isn’t the fact that we get to cover all of that familiar ground once more. Rather, it’s the commitment to that approach, along with those beautiful graphics I mentioned and a surprisingly addictive character development system.
honestgamer's avatar
Silent Hill 3 (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 19, 2013

Happy 10th Anniversary, Silent Hill 3!
EmP's avatar
Saints Row IV (PC)

Saints Row IV review (PC)

Reviewed on August 14, 2013

All they need to do now is throw in an orb-collecting mechanic, and– wait, they did do that? Oh. Well, I guess Saints Row IV is pretty brilliant, then.
Suskie's avatar
The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion review (X360)

Reviewed on August 05, 2013

It never leaves entirely, though. I mean, I've spent a total of 375 or so hours in the world of Oblivion and its DLC, and I have no regrets. I was glad when it was over and I doubt I'll ever play it again, but I had a great time until the end, when I was just trying to finish off the final few quests as quickly as possible.
overdrive's avatar
Bonk's Adventure (NES)

Bonk's Adventure review (NES)

Reviewed on August 05, 2013

There’s a level in which you bash a giant dinosaur on the head, then climb into its mouth and go spelunking inside its stomach. Bonk’s Adventure knows it’s a fairly straightforward game, so it goes out of its way to be adorable.
Whelk's avatar
Conquest of the Crystal Palace (NES)

Conquest of the Crystal Palace review (NES)

Reviewed on July 25, 2013

If you happen across Conquest of the Crystal Palace, you’re likely to get your money’s worth, but that’s mostly only because you’re probably not going to pay much to acquire it.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Shin Megami Tensei IV (3DS)

Shin Megami Tensei IV review (3DS)

Reviewed on July 20, 2013

Shin Megami Tensei IV is in many ways exactly the game I didn’t dare hope it would be, a genuine triumph that belongs in your library if you love the series or even if you just like a challenging and mostly unique JRPG, portable or otherwise. With all of that high praise appropriately heaped, though, I must add that the game is most certainly not without its flaws.
honestgamer's avatar
Metal Gear (NES)

Metal Gear review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

If you can go into this game with the knowledge that it’s a flawed version of the original game from the outset, it can be an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Flying Warriors (NES)

Flying Warriors review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

These warriors fly about as well as I do when I put on a cape and jump from the roof.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Kid Icarus (NES)

Kid Icarus review (NES)

Reviewed on July 15, 2013

I’m here to let you in on a little secret: Kid Icarus isn’t actually very good.
AlphaNerd's avatar
Tougi-Ou: King Colossus (Genesis)

Tougi-Ou: King Colossus review (GEN)

Reviewed on July 11, 2013

You start out as some anonymous kid living with an old guy who seems to hate you, and a younger woman who tries to work as a buffer. She also heals you whenever you visit, so I liked her almost as much as I hated how the game basically shrugs off the old dude's behavior as "tough love".
overdrive's avatar
Exed Exes (NES)

Exed Exes review (NES)

Reviewed on July 11, 2013

What's this? An unexpectedly kind but ultimately humdrum shooter entirely overpopulated by bees?!
EmP's avatar
Dig Dug (NES)

Dig Dug review (NES)

Reviewed on July 09, 2013

The player character of Dig Dug married (and later divorced) the player character of Baraduke/Alien Sector and their son is the main character of Mr. Driller. The Dig Dug mythos is rich enough without even looking at the UGSF craziness.
Roto13's avatar
Xexyz (NES)

Xexyz review (NES)

Reviewed on July 08, 2013

Other than them, Xexyz is a pretty manageable game with my main stalling point being one particular boss fought fairly late into the game. Horrza looks pretty awesome (the fact that he’s a jet-pack-wearing dragon wielding a pair of guns — one seemingly grafted into its tail — might be the coolest thing imaginable), but he'll utterly slaughter all but the most skilled players with nonstop fire aided by his erratic movements up and down the screen.
overdrive's avatar
Code Name: Viper (NES)

Code Name: Viper review (NES)

Reviewed on July 07, 2013

People use the word “clone” a lot these days as they talk about video games, sometimes unjustly. Some games really do deserve that unwanted label, though, and there are few titles with a more legitimate claim to it than Code Name: Viper for the NES. That isn't to say that it’s a poor product, however.
LBD_Nytetrayn's avatar
Mendel Palace (NES)

Mendel Palace review (NES)

Reviewed on July 07, 2013

Puppet Master + 8-bit + Japanese = Mendel Palace
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.