Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Reader Reviews)

You are currently looking through reader reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia (DS)

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia review (DS)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

My appreciation for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia never really hit its peak until, after beating the game twice, I went back and tried to play a game in the series that I previously loved (Dawn of Sorrow) only to find the experience hollow, simplistic, and dull. The Castlevania series has survived up to this point by sticking to a pretty routine and unchanging formula, which is fine when the formula in question works. (See also: Zelda.) This newest DS entry is probab...
Suskie's avatar
Silent Hill Origins (PlayStation 2)

Silent Hill Origins review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 10, 2009

For a while now, I've felt that the Silent Hill series is dead. For me at least, the beginning of the end was in Silent Hill 3, a game that moved the horror away from psychological terror and put it squarely into the arena of teen flicks and B-movies. Still, while it may not have been the horror masterpiece the first two games were and eschewed much of the exploration structure of the first two titles, the gameplay structure was mostly still in tact and the game contained a lot of the genuinely ...
m0zart's avatar
Crackdown (Xbox 360)

Crackdown review (X360)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Grand Theft Auto 3 was nice to play... when you weren't doing the missions. You could go wander around the town, steal cars, mess with people, and blow stuff up. Though, if you really wanted to explore more of that game's world, you were forced to complete the missions to open up new sections of the city. Most of the missions consisted of going to Point A, then driving to Point B to pick someone or something up, heading to Point C, and when you're done, returning to Point A. There was a hard mis...
pickhut's avatar
Nuclear Strike (PlayStation)

Nuclear Strike review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Released for our beloved Playstation 1 console in 97. (10 years already?) This is the best chopper game I've played, but that's not saying much. Not to say the game is bad, but it depends on your taste.
G_Dub's avatar
The Fifth Element (PlayStation)

The Fifth Element review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 08, 2009

Unbelievable!! Kill cops and aliens (lots), fall off ledges (lots), hear opera music and see Zorg again (a tiny bit).
threetimes's avatar
Armored Core 4 (Xbox 360)

Armored Core 4 review (X360)

Reviewed on February 08, 2009

I have never played any other Armored Core game, including the Armored core 4 Playstation 3 version, so none of this review is biased whatsoever. To the review!
G_Dub's avatar
Top Gun: Combat Zones (GameCube)

Top Gun: Combat Zones review (GCN)

Reviewed on February 08, 2009

Top Gun: Combat Zones is the only flight sim I know of for the Gamecube, and maybe the only one, but I'm not sure. What I am sure of is my review of this game, and that it will help you decide whether or not you'd like to buy, rent, or just play the game. Read on.
G_Dub's avatar
SSX On Tour (GameCube)

SSX On Tour review (GCN)

Reviewed on February 08, 2009

This last last gen installment of EA’s popular snowboarding franchise, SSX, is without a doubt the least appreciated, and most underrated game in the series. It’s definitely not without its flaws, but it seems too choked out by its predecessors, and nobody seemed to pick up on its bold new style of snowboarding.
G_Dub's avatar
Freestyle Metal X (PlayStation 2)

Freestyle Metal X review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 07, 2009

Freestyle Metal X or (FMX) as I will be referring to it as later, was quite a pleasant surprise purchase for me. After picking it up in the local bargain bin, and not expecting much out of it, I can definitely say that FMX is a hidden gem of a dirtbiking game. Operating much like the Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater series in a dirt bike fashion, FMX brings the solid dirt bike gameplay of racing, jumping, tricking, and listening to rock soundtracks to all of last generation’s systems.
G_Dub's avatar
Ultimate Board Game Collection (PlayStation 2)

Ultimate Board Game Collection review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 07, 2009

Looking for a great collection of classic board games? Want a quick way to play your favorite classics, but don’t wanna spend money buying all the real sets? Want to play board games but without all the real mess? Well if you said yes to any of those questions, you’ll definitely want to check out this game, and continue reading my review.
G_Dub's avatar
Twisted Metal: Head On - Extra Twisted Edition (PlayStation 2)

Twisted Metal: Head On - Extra Twisted Edition review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 07, 2009

It sure is great to see a return to the Twisted Metal franchise on the PS2. Twisted Metal Black was the only other Twisted Metal game for the system, and as it did so well it was quite odd that we hadn’t seen another game sooner. But better late than never, and Twisted Metal Head On: Extra Twisted Edition goes that extra mile to make fans happy, and make that wait more than worthwhile.
G_Dub's avatar
Smuggler's Run (PlayStation 2)

Smuggler's Run review (PS2)

Reviewed on February 07, 2009

Wow, in writing this review, I feel a load coming off my chest. I’ve finally released the loathe and love I have built up for this game over the past few days by spreading the word on how I feel about it. In your time playing (hopefully this review convinces you otherwise though) Smuggler’s Run you will like the game, love it, loathe it, and want to throw the controller right through your TV screen. Yup, all of those emotions in just a few short hours. Let’s break the game apart shall we?
G_Dub's avatar
Shadow Madness (PlayStation)

Shadow Madness review (PSX)

Reviewed on February 02, 2009

Read this game now!
threetimes's avatar
Super Fantasy Zone (Genesis)

Super Fantasy Zone review (GEN)

Reviewed on February 01, 2009

Despite being average at its core, Super Fantasy Zone certainly possesses a unique charm and pleasant aesthetics. Taking a similar structure as its predecessor, Super Fantasy Zone combines the cartoonish buoyancy of any 16-bit platform game and the fast-paced action of any other 16-bit shooter to create a creative blend of style and substance.
goldenvortex's avatar
Relentless: Twinsen's Adventure (PC)

Relentless: Twinsen's Adventure review (PC)

Reviewed on February 01, 2009

The planet of Twinsun.
darketernal's avatar
Sonic Unleashed (Xbox 360)

Sonic Unleashed review (X360)

Reviewed on January 31, 2009

It's not really going to surprise anyone when I make the claim that Sonic Unleashed is a bipolar title. The entire gimmick the game is built around is that half of the levels feature Sonic being the fastest thing alive. The games have always been about breaking the sound-barrier as you scream through cities designed by engineers who think that metal rails should go everywhere, and loop-the-loops are perfectly safe highway features. Nothing has changed in that respect, and it's good.
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Space Quest I: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter (VGA Remake) (PC)

Space Quest I: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter (VGA Remake) review (PC)

Reviewed on January 31, 2009

The trick with reviewing a remake is that you often find yourself treading on the toes of the previous iteration, and if you don't do that you confuse the hell out of anybody not familiar with it. But I think I'm safe in assuming that most readers aren't familiar with Space Quest at all, let alone enough to know that Space Quest 1: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter is a remake of the original EGA Space Quest: The Sarien Encounter released by Sierra around the same time they were ...
WilltheGreat's avatar
Operation Darkness (Xbox 360)

Operation Darkness review (X360)

Reviewed on January 30, 2009

I’ve always wondered the historical accuracy of the many assassination attempts on Adolf Hitler’s life and his uncanny ability to dodge them. I mean, honestly, how could he survive so many virtually unscathed? How could he survive a point-blank rocket to the face from a werewolf?
turducken's avatar
LittleBigPlanet (PlayStation 3)

LittleBigPlanet review (PS3)

Reviewed on January 29, 2009

Very rarely am I ever “blown away” by a game. I play a fair amount of the “good, even the great. Games that are overwrought with airships or zombies; battles with a Colossus or battles with one's inner demons. Games that all claim to be Epic, yet harbor some resemblance to something I’ve already played.
True's avatar
Mass Effect (Xbox 360)

Mass Effect review (X360)

Reviewed on January 28, 2009

I’ve invested 33 hours and 42 minutes into Mass Effect.
JANUS2's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.