Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Reader Reviews)

You are currently looking through reader reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Castlevania (NES)

Castlevania review (NES)

Reviewed on June 23, 2011

Zombies? Killer bats? Out-of-place panthers? Screw that, it's the candles Simon hated, and yet he eventually grew to love. Only by destroying them could he find random weapons and the sliced-out human hearts needed to give him the strength to throw said weapons. You see, Simon also hates close combat. He likes his space, and doesn't like murderous and nightmarish creatures penetrating his bubble. He'd rather throw a knife than stab a zombie, or toss an axe in an arc than chop down a harpy.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 (PlayStation 2)

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 23, 2011

If someone were to ask me what I thought the most fulfilling game I’ve ever played was, I would tell them that without a doubt it is Persona 4. Persona 4 is far and away the most fleshed out and satisfying RPG I have ever played in just about every single way. Categorically speaking this game is flawless.
venfayth's avatar
BlazBlue: Continuum Shift II (3DS)

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift II review (3DS)

Reviewed on June 20, 2011

While it might not be as good as the originals, Continuum Shift II is still a fight worth having.
disco's avatar
Zombie Shooter (PC)

Zombie Shooter review (PC)

Reviewed on June 20, 2011

Believe me, you will be tested. Many of the zombies do major damage, especially a certain pink type that shoots lasers. You won't, however, find the challenge ridiculous or completely unfair. The destructive power of your weaponry and plentiful ammo keep you in the game long enough to enjoy the destruction.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Red Faction: Armageddon (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Armageddon review (X360)

Reviewed on June 19, 2011

Of course, even though the Red Faction seems better suited to handle this Armageddon, Darius, being the main character, is able to single-handedly take out legions of these beings, by himself, throughout the game. So you're basically going to do the same thing over and over and... See where I'm heading?
pickhut's avatar
Red Faction: Armageddon (Xbox 360)

Red Faction: Armageddon review (X360)

Reviewed on June 18, 2011

Red Faction: Armageddon gives us the Magnet Gun, which may be the most fun I’ve had with any one weapon since I first took a tour of Ravenholm with the Zero Point Energy Field Manipulator in hand.
Suskie's avatar
White Knight Chronicles II (PlayStation 3)

White Knight Chronicles II review (PS3)

Reviewed on June 18, 2011

(...)Huge monsters and fire-breathing clowns trample the castle halls, events become far too epic for the Royal Castle Guard to handle. And finally the huge Armor chained to the wall in the Castle's treasure vault springs to life and saves the day thanks to a little upstart from the merchant's quarter. Cyrus the Knight does not feel good about this.
fleinn's avatar
Girls They Want to Have Fun (Commodore 64)

Girls They Want to Have Fun review (C64)

Reviewed on June 16, 2011

It's arguable as to whether or not Girls is even a game. You only perform one action, it lasts twenty seconds, and that's it. I'm not a fan of porno games, but I think any actual fan want much more than just a single screen and something they can see in any standard porno mag. Girls doesn't offer any real fun, and it's barely a game. It's just a masturbation simulator.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Sonic Colors (Wii)

Sonic Colors review (WII)

Reviewed on June 14, 2011

It's taken a decade, but it's worth it.
itsjoncharles's avatar
Ikari Warriors II: Victory Road (NES)

Ikari Warriors II: Victory Road review (NES)

Reviewed on June 13, 2011

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
L.A. Noire (Xbox 360)

L.A. Noire review (X360)

Reviewed on June 11, 2011

What a big, overlong miscalculation L.A. Noire is. It has the ingredients of an engaging detective game but then hastily shoves them aside in favor of drama, and it has a tight script and the best motion capture work in the business, all to present a story that’s meandering, unfocused, and anticlimactic. L.A. Noire’s plot and gameplay both seem to exist to service the other, and neither works.
Suskie's avatar
Gunblade NY & L.A. Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack (Wii)

Gunblade NY & L.A. Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack review (WII)

Reviewed on June 11, 2011

With Sega releasing a light-gun title on the Wii at nearly a yearly rate, you'd think a Virtua Cop collection would be inevitable. Instead, Wii owners get blindsided by one of the most unexpected releases ever: Gunblade NY and L.A. Machineguns on one disc.
pickhut's avatar
Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Mass Effect 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on June 10, 2011

Mass Effect 2 is remarkable for being perhaps the best existing example of How To Do A Videogame Sequel Correctly.
Fedule's avatar
Saints Row 2 (Xbox 360)

Saints Row 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on June 10, 2011

But then Volition did something that a lot of developers with flawed games fail to do: created a sequel that not only addressed the “if onlies”, but expanded on the game as a whole. Saints Row 2 brings the noise.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Legend of the Ghost Lion (NES)

Legend of the Ghost Lion review (NES)

Reviewed on June 07, 2011

Maria's parents never came home. Rather than crying about it, Maria grabbed an ancient spear containing the spirit of an African warrior and embarked on a mission to find them. Her odyssey nearly ended when she fell off a bridge into an icy river. Some might argue that she drowned and what she's seeing in Legend of the Ghost Lion is the afterlife. But is it heaven or hell? What kind of afterlife is packed with fairies, cuteness, goblins, werewolves, moderately useful spirits that inh...
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Iron Man (DS)

Iron Man review (DS)

Reviewed on June 04, 2011

SEGA built this game in a cave...with a box of scraps...
turducken's avatar
Final Fantasy IV: The After Years (Wii)

Final Fantasy IV: The After Years review (WII)

Reviewed on June 04, 2011

But the critical question: if you're going to fight the same battles, explore the same areas, use the same characters, and listen to the same music as Final Fantasy IV, then why play After Years at all? The only incentives are a few new dungeons and some new characters--none of which are worth writing home about--and the solid battle system.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Crackdown 2 (Xbox 360)

Crackdown 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on June 04, 2011

I reviewed the original a while back. I might as well direct you there; it’s not like Crackdown 2 is a new game or anything.
Suskie's avatar
Pokemon Pearl (DS)

Pokemon Pearl review (DS)

Reviewed on May 31, 2011

My greatest enjoyment from Pearl, as with all generations of Pokemon, has come from finding and capturing every species available, figuring out how the new ones evolve and deciding how best to maximize my Pokemon's move set to create the most effective strategy. But Pearl has added a lot more to this level of discovery.
wolfqueen001's avatar
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 (Xbox 360)

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 review (X360)

Reviewed on May 31, 2011

Essentially, if you're a fan of Naruto you'll probably love it. That's all I have to say, and I've probably wasted ten minutes writing this because almost NOBODY will look past the zany looking box art to the right. But if you do, I think you may find yourself enjoying this game a hullava lot more than you expected to.
Elephant_Joe's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.