Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Reader Reviews)

You are currently looking through reader reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Deus Ex: Human Revolution (PC)

Deus Ex: Human Revolution review (PC)

Reviewed on October 04, 2011

Eidos Montreal deftly updated the game to give it more modern sensibilities while retaining the core of what captivated us with the original. I'd even go as far as arguing that this is the very best entry in the series and closest to the original vision of what the game could be, though some may disagree.
asherdeus's avatar
Castlevania II: Simon's Quest (NES)

Castlevania II: Simon's Quest review (NES)

Reviewed on October 04, 2011

It's almost beautiful how the old mechanics and concepts can be adapted into a different style of game, one that looks brilliant at first glance and feels adventurous and exciting. It all seems so picture perfect that when it finally goes wrong you can't help but shed a few bloody tears of your own.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Beat 'Em & Eat 'Em (Atari 2600)

Beat 'Em & Eat 'Em review (A2600)

Reviewed on September 30, 2011

On a platform where games were supposed to be simple and addictive, mucking up something like control response can make a huge difference. It's because of this that Beat 'Em & Eat 'Em isn't worth playing. Never mind the silly premise.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Chrono Trigger (SNES)

Chrono Trigger review (SNES)

Reviewed on September 25, 2011

There are many facets of this time traveling quest that make it one of Square's finest masterpieces, from lovable characters to an amazing soundtrack, but no one particular piece takes the center stage and begs for your attention above any other. Chrono Trigger is in a state of old school RPG equilibrium; it's balanced just right.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth (Wii)

Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 25, 2011

The developers simply could've done their routine of belching out a decent title that did all the basics correctly, while never attempting to be anything beyond that. And you know what? Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth probably would've been praised as being a good remake, which isn't hard considering the source material.
pickhut's avatar
Super Mario Bros. (NES)

Super Mario Bros. review (NES)

Reviewed on September 21, 2011

I found that even though the years have passed that I still hold a spot in my heart for the first Super Mario Bros. It showed me where games had come from and where they were going, and the vision it projected was enticing.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Contra ReBirth (Wii)

Contra ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 18, 2011

What I love about Contra ReBirth is, for being a manly, run 'n gun title, it doesn't take itself seriously. Case in point: the first stage begins on a spaceship orbiting Earth, where the only plausible way in is by bursting through a wall, Kool-Aid style. Neither of your two starting avatars are donning astronaut suits, instead having their six packs exposed for all to see! And the vehicle that brought them into space? A standard helicopter.
pickhut's avatar
Operation Secret Storm (NES)

Operation Secret Storm review (NES)

Reviewed on September 16, 2011

As if dodging throwing stars from several Jackie Chans isn't enough, realizing that about half of your punches aren't landing only boils your blood further. It might be a welcome boil if the payoff were worth the while. Unfortunately, once you remember that Operation Secret Storm is a Color Dreams title, you lose any hope that the payoff is of worth.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Bodycount (PlayStation 3)

Bodycount review (PS3)

Reviewed on September 15, 2011

Somewhere along the way, the vision for this game was lost and what remains is a jumbled, unsatisfying mess. There are good ideas here - the controls work very well and the core ideas the game calls on have potential. It's just very poorly conceived. Nothing really meshes together and I got the feeling that it was just put to market because they'd spent so much on it already and it was too expensive to try to salvage it. I can't really recommend Bodycount to anyone.
asherdeus's avatar
Gradius ReBirth (Wii)

Gradius ReBirth review (WII)

Reviewed on September 11, 2011

Gradius ReBirth, the first game in the ReBirth line that's currently exclusive as WiiWare downloads, also happens to be the console follow-up to Gradius V. However, if you're expecting 3D, flashy graphics like its 2004 predecessor, then you will be disappointed, as the title imposes a retro, 16-bit visual presentation.
pickhut's avatar
Mega Man (NES)

Mega Man review (NES)

Reviewed on September 10, 2011

I relish fighting off a legion of floating animate flames or blasting shark-faced missiles out of the sky. I still get a giant kick riding the annoying moving platforms in Gutsman's stage. No matter how many f-bombs left my mouth when said platforms dropped me at key points, I still played.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Rampage (NES)

Rampage review (NES)

Reviewed on September 07, 2011

It's understood that many arcade games are repetitive, but most of them packed on the challenge and changed up what variables they could to make each level at least feel different. Such tiny changes keep a game from going stale. Rampage does neither, and suffers for it.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (NES)

Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom review (NES)

Reviewed on September 05, 2011

All the time spent trying improve your Temple of Doom skills could be better spent mastering far more interesting games, ones that don't consist of banal collecting in a confusing mess of platforms.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Sexy Parodius (Saturn)

Sexy Parodius review (SAT)

Reviewed on September 04, 2011

Going into this installment for the first time, with experience of the previous three titles to aide me, Sexy Parodius still managed to surprise.
pickhut's avatar
El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron (PlayStation 3)

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron review (PS3)

Reviewed on September 04, 2011

El Shaddai has a lot of interesting ideas, but it fails to fully implement them.
disco's avatar
Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius: Forever with Me (Saturn)

Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius: Forever with Me review (SAT)

Reviewed on August 28, 2011

I feel like I'm telling a joke if I even mention those three bosses: a singing panda, a school girl with bunny ears, and a living spaceship with a giant bra walk into a bar.
pickhut's avatar
Dragon Quest VI: Realms of Revelation (DS)

Dragon Quest VI: Realms of Revelation review (DS)

Reviewed on August 27, 2011

Dragon Quest VI's main draw will always be its extraordinary plot and immense world. The plights of each world's citizens feel real, raw. They’re moving and inspire players to do all that they can. The enormous map will ensure that you're still discovering new places well into your fiftieth hour. But most of all, once you’ve uncovered that last inch of land, you'll be sad it's over. You'll look back on all that you've done and ask, “Why did it have to end?”
wolfqueen001's avatar
ActRaiser (SNES)

ActRaiser review (SNES)

Reviewed on August 27, 2011

ActRaiser blends hack-n-slash platforming with downscaled simulation to create a unique game. The stellar soundtrack and mad sick enemy design, particularly the parts that borrow from mythology, reinforce the gameplay to create an epic feel.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Parodius (Saturn)

Parodius review (SAT)

Reviewed on August 21, 2011

After the "thing" (Gradius III) was released in arcades, the main line of Gradius games went into hibernation for most of the 1990s; it was only at the tail end of the decade where two, big titles were released, Gradius Gaiden and Gradius IV. That still left a huge chunk of the 90s untouched, meaning gamers had to go elsewhere to get their Gradius fix with similar titles. The Parodius series answered the call, filling the void with a total of four shoot-em-up titles...
pickhut's avatar
Metro 2033 (Xbox 360)

Metro 2033 review (X360)

Reviewed on August 20, 2011

We see human communities in which everyone contributes, everyone does their part and everyone looks out for one another. We see people sitting around fires, sharing drinks, and playing music. We see soldiers risking their lives for their comrades. Not all good things have been lost, and these frequent reminders are what keeps Metro 2033 from becoming as oppressively bleak as its spiritual brethren.
Suskie's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.