Ads are gone. We're using Patreon to raise funds so we can grow. Please pledge support today!
Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Reader Reviews)

You are currently looking through reader reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Rage (Xbox 360)

Rage review (X360)

Reviewed on September 03, 2012

When RAGE is in its comfort zone we're treated to a masterclass in brutal combat - a graduate from the Doom and Quake academy. Outside it we see a genuine attempt to step out of the shadow of those very classics, but without any meaningful success.
Ally_Doig's avatar
The Last Story (Wii)

The Last Story review (WII)

Reviewed on August 30, 2012

No phoenix downs here, sorry.
holdthephone's avatar
Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (Genesis)

Sonic the Hedgehog 3 review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 30, 2012

In a way, the game feels like a return to form, since it flows more like the first Sonic title than the second, and dare I say, acts almost like the real successor to Sonic 1.
pickhut's avatar
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (Genesis)

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 26, 2012

Level design.
pickhut's avatar
D (3DO)

D review (3DO)

Reviewed on August 21, 2012

Tonight I bring you a review I had hoped never to write. I like to play my games before I pen something about them, but D left me with no such option. I don’t mean to imply that I watched a trailer or read the blurb on the back of the box in lieu of getting my hands dirty with what D has to offer, but the truth in the matter is that no one has ever genuinely played this game. Not even Kenji Eno, whose name blankets the end credits as lead producer, writer, and music composer!
Fiddlesticks's avatar
Catherine (PlayStation 3)

Catherine review (PS3)

Reviewed on August 21, 2012

A piss the bed nightmare if there ever was one.
holdthephone's avatar
Mega Man 5 (NES)

Mega Man 5 review (NES)

Reviewed on August 21, 2012

You know what the majority of Mega Man 5 feels like? It feels like a chore to complete before being allowed to play the real game. That game is to be found in the walls of the castle stages, where the challenge finally picks up and presents us with some of the best-designed death traps in Mega Man history. It might fall apart a little bit with the final bosses, but by the time you get there you’ll be ready to see the credit screen anyway, so you might not mind.
zippdementia's avatar
Illbleed (Dreamcast)

Illbleed review (DC)

Reviewed on August 19, 2012

Illbleed drives me nuts. It offers 1000 ideas from 1000 different sources. Some of them are good. Most feel out of place. All of these ideas combine to give Illbleed a unique feel when compared to other games within the survival horror genre, as well as on the Dreamcast. It’s like the developers threw everything they could think of at a wall and hoped that only the best would stick. Problem is, everything stuck and nothing was cut out, causing Illbleed to become lumbering and illogical. I...
Fiddlesticks's avatar
Desert Demolition Starring Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote (Genesis)

Desert Demolition Starring Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 19, 2012

BlueSky Software, who later went on to create the Vectorman games, should be commended for doing their homework, from successfully recreating the atmosphere and sound effects, to the vivid animations that make you feel part of its world.
pickhut's avatar
Jeopardy! (NES)

Jeopardy! review (NES)

Reviewed on August 17, 2012

This isn't You Don't Know Jack for the NES; it's hang man with trivia questions.
dagoss's avatar
Starship Hector (NES)

Starship Hector review (NES)

Reviewed on August 17, 2012

It may seem like too much to take out a swarm of ships coming at you when you have to dodge four to eight bullets at the same time AND manage to take out the cannons to prevent further shots, but damn it, that first stage will teach you to do so, and you'll love it.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Blue Stinger (Dreamcast)

Blue Stinger review (DC)

Reviewed on August 12, 2012

"I swallowed monsters!!"
pickhut's avatar
Limbo (Xbox 360)

Limbo review (X360)

Reviewed on August 12, 2012

I get the familial element thanks to scouring over Limbo’s title screen, which shows two dead bodies cast amid fly-ridden wreckage. By bringing in closure through finding this girl, it makes a sorrowful game like this a little easier to swallow. However, it would have been so cool, so unbelievably legitimizing to all the games out there that employed the “looping concept” that it makes no sense to me why Limbo wouldn’t do it here. I mean, c'mon, the game is called Limbo! Name me another game...
Fiddlesticks's avatar
Millipede (NES)

Millipede review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

This is an arcade port done right, adapted to the target platform's strength and limitations rather than simply making the assembly code run.
dagoss's avatar
Mystery Quest (NES)

Mystery Quest review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

The thing is there's very little I can do to make this game sound interesting. It's so incredibly simplistic that it's boring. Having to guess your way through half of it doesn't improve the experience. In fact, between fighting off the torpor brought on by uninteresting gameplay and managing your frustration caused by irritating jumps, you'll more than likely find yourself in a rage quit situation before too long.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Swamp Thing (NES)

Swamp Thing review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

Swamp Thing is too damn hard!
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Bad Dudes (NES)

Bad Dudes review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

The true heart of the problem with Bad Dudes is that it's incredibly boring. I don't know how, but Data East managed to take something that looks awesome and turn it into a burly snoozefest.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Peter Pan and the Pirates (NES)

Peter Pan and the Pirates review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

It's like Equilibrium slapped together a basic platformer, crudely inserted characters from the television series, then tacked on the ability to fly and called it a day. Even if you are a fan of the show, you deserve way better than this. You're much better off browsing old episodes on YouTube and forgetting this awkward license title exists.
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Resident Evil 4 HD (Xbox 360)

Resident Evil 4 HD review (X360)

Reviewed on August 05, 2012

Not sure why anyone would ask the question “should I?” when the answer is so blatantly obvious. If you played Resident 4 for the Gamecube or PS2, you know it’s worth picking up now remixed in HD because out of all the thousands of games that have been released since then and now, scarcely has a re-released been so warranted. Don’t believe me? I think the evidence below speaks for itself:
Fiddlesticks's avatar
Resident Evil 4 (GameCube)

Resident Evil 4 review (GCN)

Reviewed on August 05, 2012

OK, so maybe Leon Scott didn’t get the warmest of welcomes when he uninvitingly waltzed into some cantankerous Spaniard’s house. You’d shoot any guy angry enough to charge at you with an axe, too. After all, Leon had only asked the man a seemingly innocent question on whether or not he had seen the President’s daughter, Ashley Graham. No matter. Clearly desperate times call for desperate measures.
Fiddlesticks's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263]

Site Policies & Ethics | Contact | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.