Google+   Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | DS | PS3 | PS4 | PSP | VITA | WII | WIIU | X360 | XB1 | All

Review Archives (Reader Reviews)

You are currently looking through reader reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews

Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon (Game Boy Advance)

Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon review (GBA)

Reviewed on May 09, 2005

There are few series I have enough faith in to make blind purchases towards. So when I heard the GBA was remaking Shining Force, I was at the store the next day putting down my reserve cash. Resurrection of Dark Dragon goes so much further then I would have ever imagined, and needless to say this is one retro recreation GBA got right.
True's avatar
MechAssault (Xbox)

MechAssault review (XBX)

Reviewed on May 08, 2005

50 feet tall and 100 tons of armor, hydraulics, and nearly every conceivable weapon known to man, the mech is the peak of human warfare. Whether it be rocket pods, pulse lasers, or gauss cannons bringing about the collapse of skyscrapers and even mountains, nothing can stand in a mech's way without being crushed into fine powder under its 20-ton foot... in the hands of a good pilot.
masterzero99's avatar
Donkey Kong Country (SNES)

Donkey Kong Country review (SNES)

Reviewed on May 07, 2005

Donkey Kong was a horny gorilla that shot to fame in the mid-eighties in his rusty arcade classic. It introduced us to the big ape, who had kidnapped Mario’s girlfriend, Pauline. Back in 1981, it was the hottest game in town. It was the title that refined arcade gaming and was so popular that Nintendo created two sequels, which did not get the fame they sought, mainly because they were both rather average titles. After this, Nintendo shut the lid on the primate and for eleven years and the gr...
goldenvortex's avatar
Shining Force III (Saturn)

Shining Force III review (SAT)

Reviewed on May 07, 2005

Shining Force has always been the pinnacle of Sega’s role playing games. It kept me loyal to the company long after I heard it was on its way out and forced me to buy every sequel made. I still have some of the games even though I don’t have the systems for them. Although Shining Force 3 is lacking one very crucial element it isn’t enough to dissuade this as the best one to date.
True's avatar
Gradius (NES)

Gradius review (NES)

Reviewed on May 06, 2005

If there is one fond memory I have of Gradius and its hordes of sequels and spin-offs, it is simply the way that all the levels meld together to form what appears to be a single, constantly-shifting juggernaut of a stage. That just gives Konami’s main contribution to the world of shooters a certain flow that’s lacking in many games of the genre, where you tend to be randomly teleported from one locale to another — leaving you to guess exactly how all those diverse regions are connected.
overdrive's avatar
The Guy Game (PlayStation 2)

The Guy Game review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 06, 2005

The idea behind “The Guy Game” is similar to playing Trivial Pursuit in a strip club. However, actually playing this horrendous mass of immorality could be compared to stapling your eyelids to a jet plane: there’s absolutely no reason you should want to do it. Nudity or not, this is one game that should keep its top on.
True's avatar
Ninja Gaiden (Xbox)

Ninja Gaiden review (XBX)

Reviewed on May 06, 2005

Ninja Gaiden certainly had its share of delays before being released; a lot people were eager to take a stab at this action-adventure game by Team Ninja, and they finally got a chance in March of 2004. Was it all it was cracked up to be? Well, it's definitely not one of the Xbox's greatest titles, but you'll still have fun with NG. Just don't expect anything revolutionary as you take control of Ryu Hayabusa in his conquest to decapitate everything that crosses his path.
pickhut's avatar
The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay (Xbox)

The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay review (XBX)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay is a chapter in the life of everyone’s favorite B-list sci-fi badass, Richard B. Riddick. He is a bruiser, plain and simple, and the antics continue in this videogame prequel to the films Pitch Black and The Chronicles of Riddick.
careless_whisper's avatar
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Xbox)

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic review (XBX)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

For the mountains of glowing praise that have met Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, it is a pretty crappy game. Not a crappy game sttraight-up, but I think it will go down in history as one of the more pathetic "Game of the Year" contenders.
careless_whisper's avatar
Bangai-O (Dreamcast)

Bangai-O review (DC)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

Welcome to BANG’AI-O!. Some would say they were playing Bakuretsu Muteki Bangaioh, but they would be playing a Japanese Nintendo 64 cartridge, while you are in fact experiencing the sumptuous thrills of a Sega Dreamcast GD-ROM disc. This is the game where you (yes, you) can pilot GIANT ROBOT BANG’AI-O! to victory over the forces of evil.
careless_whisper's avatar
American McGee's Alice (PC)

American McGee's Alice review (PC)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

Load, Save, Delete…woah, hidden messages.
careless_whisper's avatar
Gitaroo-Man (PlayStation 2)

Gitaroo-Man review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

At the garish title screen, a woman’s voice can be heard.
careless_whisper's avatar
WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW (PlayStation 2)

WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 05, 2005

My previously stated annoyances about this review aside, Smackdown Vs. Raw reminds us that every yearly franchise is under constant scrutiny. As Triple H told Goldberg “It’s easy to get to the top. It’s hard to stay there.” While producing likeable, fresh sequels annually may seem like a daunting task, THQ does it with the poise and confidence befitting a pro.
True's avatar
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (PlayStation 2)

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 04, 2005

How many of you out there enjoy a good kill’n? I know I do. In my spare time, I like to run people over, steal fighters from military bases to wreak havoc, and go hooker beat’n. Of course, if I really did this stuff I’d probably be strapped to a table getting a tube put in my arm. But, thankfully, that’s where Grand Theft Auto San Andreas comes in. Now you can enjoy all the fun of being a homicidal maniac without worrying about the long dirt nap.
heroofthewinds's avatar
Shadow of Rome (PlayStation 2)

Shadow of Rome review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 04, 2005

Perhaps the most violent time in existence has found a new home. Not in the history book but in a digitized, pixel form. Shadow of Rome has no qualms about throwing you to the lions and applauding as you’re devoured. If you strain your body to the utter limits, leave all others bleeding and scrounging for their body parts, the crowd could not be happier. And if you fall victim to one of the other combatants whose only goal is the same as yours—survival—the crowd… couldn’t be happier.
True's avatar
Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls (Game Boy Advance)

Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls review (GBA)

Reviewed on May 03, 2005

I’ve been writing reviews only for the games I like, but this is real life and if I really want to do this for a living then I am going to have to come to terms with the hard fact that I will end up doing reviews for games I hate as well. If you ever had any respect for me, you're going to lose it here. I guarantee I’m going to get at least one thread that says “How dare you call Dawn Of Souls something that should have stayed buried in the past.” Yes, I said Dawn Of Souls--the GBA’s remake of F...
True's avatar
Phantasy Star IV (Genesis)

Phantasy Star IV review (GEN)

Reviewed on May 03, 2005

I didn’t want to play Phantasy Star IV when it first came out. Rumors had spread that this was the end of the series, and I heard the same from my friends. “So who wants to watch the end of an epic?” I asked myself. But as soon as I dismissed the heavy feeling in my heart and mourned my loss I finally picked it up, ready to say goodbye the only way I knew how--play the hell out of it.
True's avatar
BloodRayne 2 (PlayStation 2)

BloodRayne 2 review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 02, 2005

Bloodrayne has a formula that works. Who is going to complain about a busty red head in tight leather chopping up nazi’s? Most of us will never admit it, but that’s why we played the game in the first place. It’s hard to deny, though, that a very decent game was buried underneath a superficial shell. Let’s admit it--Bloodrayne is attractive, even for pixels. She’s mouthy, she’s tough and she doesn’t have a problem using guns. I brought that up for one reason- I want to get past it and focus on t...
True's avatar
Lemmings (PC)

Lemmings review (PC)

Reviewed on May 02, 2005

Lemmings aren’t stupid. They don’t really commit mass suicides and jump off cliffs into the merciless sea. In fact, the poor souls usually bite off more than they can chew by swimming across water that is excessively deep for them. They migrate in large groups and march into the water, hoping to migrate to a new and better home. Unfortunately, all they get is death. Although, this is commonly seen as suicide it is actually just plain stupidity. Thanks goodness that Psygnosis and DMA decided ...
goldenvortex's avatar
Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube)

Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes review (GCN)

Reviewed on May 02, 2005

Realization of the importance of plot in games took another giant step when Konami released it’s best-selling Metal Gear Solid for the PlayStation. In the years before, storylines had been evolving slowly, getting it’s first big boost with the high sales of Final Fantasy VII, but Metal Gear Solid is what truly brought in-depth plots out of the ghetto to make a mark on the gaming world.
yamishuryou's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262]

Info | Help | Privacy Policy | Contact | Advertise | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2014 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party.Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors.