Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for Sega CD games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Lunar: Eternal Blue (Sega CD)

Lunar: Eternal Blue review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 29, 2009

I have many games from my past.
True's avatar
Annet Futatabi (Sega CD)

Annet Futatabi review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 09, 2009

zigfried's avatar
Fahrenheit (Sega CD)

Fahrenheit review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 23, 2009

I’ve been gaming long enough to know what I enjoy. It’s not like there are certain games I’m not into just because I’m unaware of them – the genres I don’t play, I don’t play for a reason.
Suskie's avatar
INXS: Make My Video (Sega CD)

INXS: Make My Video review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 10, 2008

Now, I’ve only played a handful of games that I’d describe as truly awful. These games were either unplayable due to horrible controls, an awful grasp of the subject matter or they were just plain boring. However, despite my exposure to these horrible titles, nothing in the world could prepare me for the sheer atrocity that is INXS: Make my Video. One of the three video-editing (and I use that term lightly) games (that one too) released on the Sega Mega CD, this title follows the fad of...
goldenvortex's avatar
Road Avenger (Sega CD)

Road Avenger review (SCD)

Reviewed on June 13, 2008

Road Avenger isn’t just Wolf Team’s finest laserdisc conversion, it’s clearly the greatest FMV game on Sega CD and the best damn thing Data East was ever responsible for in their long and largely mediocre history! Maybe those last two aren’t exactly what you’d call ringing endorsements, but rest assured that from the moment you boot up this bad boy you’re in for naught but burning hot AWESOME.
sho's avatar
Popful Mail (Sega CD)

Popful Mail review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 15, 2008

“Eat this, cookie face!”
Suskie's avatar
Third World War (Sega CD)

Third World War review (SCD)

Reviewed on January 31, 2008

Strategy game players love nothing more than CONQUERING THE WORLD. In games like “Warlords” or “Birthright”, you set about conquering a fictional world. This is fun, but not not so much as conquering EARTH itself.
zanzard's avatar
Vay (Sega CD)

Vay review (SCD)

Reviewed on December 21, 2007

Like many RPGs, Vay begins with an ancient legend, told in full voiceover, that is sure to become relevant to the main character’s goals as he struggles to overcome insurmountable evil.
Suskie's avatar
Sonic CD (Sega CD)

Sonic CD review (SCD)

Reviewed on August 20, 2007

I'm sure that many know of our friend Sonic the Hedgehog's forays into the world of 3D. Aside from the Sonic Adventure games, they haven't been all that good. All have been plagued with a wonky camera, fetch quests, and shooting levels. Though the recent next-gen bomb Sonic the Hedgehog for Xbox 360 and PS3 attempted to remedy these issues, it actually gave the entire gaming world suck pains. The game was that awful.
wayne_steed's avatar
Sonic CD (Sega CD)

Sonic CD review (SCD)

Reviewed on June 21, 2007

Today's platformers have lost their magic and zing, partly because developers add in gimmicky features that simply do not work. I'm talking about the talking water pumps, the vacuum cleaners, and the freaking pointless "teamwork style" (controlling three characters at once) gameplay that no one (at least not I) asked for. Just because a feature is new in a game series doesn't mean it's good or worthwhile, get that through your heads, game making people, Jesus Christ on a stick. Sonic CD is a shi...
KompressorFromGFAQs's avatar
Time Gal (Sega CD)

Time Gal review (SCD)

Reviewed on May 30, 2007

Time Gal is a frenetic romp that’s full of action rather than frustration as you hop back and forth along its chaotic sequence of time periods with our title character likewise bounding to and fro in her skimpy outfit – not that I have any problem with lithe adventuresses who meddle in the workings of time and space, no sir.
sho's avatar
Rise of the Dragon (Sega CD)

Rise of the Dragon review (SCD)

Reviewed on January 20, 2007

Don’t be fooled; the original disk-based release might be considerably harder to find, but it tears this CD “upgrade” into thousands of itty-bitty pieces.
sho's avatar
Teddy Boy Blues (Sega CD)

Teddy Boy Blues review (SCD)

Reviewed on December 25, 2006

Those crazy developers at Sega heard a catchy pop song by a cute Japanese idol singer... so they decided to make an arcade game based on it! Thus was born Teddy Boy Blues, a fun 50-level arcade game that probably inspired Bubble Bobble.
zigfried's avatar
Night Trap (Sega CD)

Night Trap review (SCD)

Reviewed on October 31, 2006

This game was once singled out as representing everything wrong with the entire industry. That’s hard to do!
sho's avatar
Arcus 1-2-3 (Sega CD)

Arcus 1-2-3 review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 21, 2006

Wolf Team often waxes philosophical in their games, and Arcus is no exception. This time around, they've crafted a story about the evils of war: Rig Veda doesn't like how humans indiscriminately slaughter their own kind, so he's going to kill EVERYONE. It's an unusually reflective journey that often seems more concerned with exploring the nature of humanity than with saving the world.
zigfried's avatar
Lords of Thunder (Sega CD)

Lords of Thunder review (SCD)

Reviewed on May 06, 2006

There are two reasons gamers play scrolling shooters. The first is intensity. Yes, intensity, that nebulous, ubiquitous descriptor which encompasses hurtling projectiles, swarms of enemies, huge bosses, and fancy-looking weapon effects. If a shooter has all of these things, it's basically a can't-miss proposition.
phediuk's avatar
Lunar: The Silver Star (Sega CD)

Lunar: The Silver Star review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 28, 2006

I remember the good old days. Days where arcades were more popular than home systems. Days where cartridges dominated most systems and days where Working Designs actually published good games. Hell, great games. And I remember every single one. Especially Lunar: The Silver Star. It was the first and perhaps even the best.
True's avatar
Robo Aleste (Sega CD)

Robo Aleste review (SCD)

Reviewed on October 08, 2005

With the line sharply drawn between Motonari's alliance of evil and Nobunaga's force of... good?... Compile has infused a driving theme into their 12-stage epic. Each episode, whether it's a rain-streaked flight above placid farmland or a harrowing weave through rocky canyons (as warships take aim from the river below), feels like it's important because each boss has his own unique face and historical personality.
zigfried's avatar
The Secret of Monkey Island (Sega CD)

The Secret of Monkey Island review (SCD)

Reviewed on June 29, 2005

Let me make this clear from the beginning: The Secret of Monkey Island is a classic point & click adventure chock full of oddball humor and zesty piratey goodness. The Sega CD translation, however, does a fine job of languishing on a dusty shelf. Preferably someone else’s.
sho's avatar
Eternal Champions: Challenge from the Dark Side (Sega CD)

Eternal Champions: Challenge from the Dark Side review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 14, 2005

Mortal Kombat made it big by overwhelming us with gratuitous gore and bloody fatalities. The concept of actually killing your opponent in the fight was a little more radical than just beating the snot out of them. Because of this irreverence, it became a controversial hit for all fighting game enthusiasts, playing the game just to see the blood and forgetting about the things that actually made a fighting game good. The sequel to Eternal Champions is an example of a game that follows a similar...
goldenvortex's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2019 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.