Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for Sega CD games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Lunar: The Silver Star (Sega CD)

Lunar: The Silver Star review (SCD)

Reviewed on October 07, 2016

A classic RPG that's still pretty good after over two decades.
overdrive's avatar
Kids On Site (Sega CD)

Kids On Site review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 14, 2015

Digital Pictures produced a lot of not very good games, here is an FMV game that it seems has not gotten a lot of scrutiny. Is it a hidden gem? or is it more of the same? please read on to find out.
maboroshi's avatar
Sol-Feace (Sega CD)

Sol-Feace review (SCD)

Reviewed on November 27, 2014

Finally! A "generic shooter snake" encounter that doesn't feel, well, generic!
overdrive's avatar
Robo Aleste (Sega CD)

Robo Aleste review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 16, 2014

I think a lot of shooters I play in the future are going to seem sort of mundane after this game.
overdrive's avatar
WWF Rage in the Cage (Sega CD)

WWF Rage in the Cage review (SCD)

Reviewed on February 09, 2014

'Despite all my rage, I am still just a dated wrestling title in a cage.'
JoeTheDestroyer's avatar
Mansion of Hidden Souls (Sega CD)

Mansion of Hidden Souls review (SCD)

Reviewed on October 02, 2013

For an adventure-style title, there's not very much adventuring to do, because the building is so small that the mansion from Resident Evil 1 seems like a castle in comparison.
pickhut's avatar
Vay (Sega CD)

Vay review (SCD)

Reviewed on May 11, 2013

And then, right in the middle of all of that are light-hearted elements such as a horribly flatulent fairy who propels you across an ocean with her gas, a random encounter bull-man called "Retardotaur" and random townspeople who break the fourth wall to remind you that you're playing a video game. Wacky stuff like this works in a game like EarthBound, because most of that game has a somewhat whimsical outlook on things. With Vay, it's just distracting nonsense, like if Hamlet took a pie to the face while staring at Ophelia's body.
overdrive's avatar
Panic! (Sega CD)

Panic! review (SCD)

Reviewed on December 31, 2012

Panic! Is…a difficult game to explain, or even to understand. I have a feeling that it is a game that is very much like marmite, either you love it or you absolutely hate it. I happen to like it but there are a lot of things in it that I can imagine many people hating.
maboroshi's avatar
The Terminator (Sega CD)

The Terminator review (SCD)

Reviewed on September 27, 2012

We ended up with lame Terminator games for both the SNES and Genesis, perpetuating the belief that movie-based games always suck. But The Terminator for Sega CD is different. This isn't an enhanced port of the twenty-minute Genesis game -- it's a lengthy, redesigned adventure with plenty of action and hidden secrets throughout each stage, and it definitely does not suck.
Kenshiru's avatar
Seirei Shinseiki Fhey Area (Sega CD)

Seirei Shinseiki Fhey Area review (SCD)

Reviewed on September 03, 2012

Fhey Area was a tranquil land of warmth and peace, governed by a benevolent king and protected by a gentle goddess . . . until the demons came. A foul army of ghoulish creatures gathered beneath the blood-red sky, lighting the very ground ablaze as they ransacked village after village. This narrated introduction sets an unoriginal but appropriately dramatic stage for Wolf Team's very first Mega CD RPG.
Kenshiru's avatar
Sengoku Denshou (Sega CD)

Sengoku Denshou review (SCD)

Reviewed on August 21, 2012

Sengoku is a trippy brawler that inserts samurai and folklore demons into modern-day Japan, interrupted by a few interludes where the player leaps up into heaven to fight even more monsters. This bizarre series of events is explained as being due to Nobunaga Oda. That clears everything up.
Kenshiru's avatar
Lunar: The Silver Star (Sega CD)

Lunar: The Silver Star review (SCD)

Reviewed on January 04, 2010

Lunar is not an epic. There are no warring factions, political agendas, or corrupt religions. The game's not even long — it can be completed in a day. Lunar is a short story for children and children-at-heart, full of knights, dragons, damsels in distress, and brave damsels in dress.
zigfried's avatar
Vay (Sega CD)

Vay review (SCD)

Reviewed on December 28, 2009

While you can only venture as far as the plot will allow, you never really feel restricted because of the ramped up difficulty in each new area. For example, you can’t pass through Danek-infested Fort Gilan without Pottle to reveal the secret passage. But once you enter it, the monsters within grow significantly in strength. You’ll likely die often just trying to raise levels, but, like any RPG, the path becomes manageable once your skills have improved.
wolfqueen001's avatar
Lunar: Eternal Blue (Sega CD)

Lunar: Eternal Blue review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 30, 2009

I have many games from my past.
True's avatar
Annet Futatabi (Sega CD)

Annet Futatabi review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 09, 2009

zigfried's avatar
Fahrenheit (Sega CD)

Fahrenheit review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 24, 2009

I’ve been gaming long enough to know what I enjoy. It’s not like there are certain games I’m not into just because I’m unaware of them – the genres I don’t play, I don’t play for a reason.
Suskie's avatar
INXS: Make My Video (Sega CD)

INXS: Make My Video review (SCD)

Reviewed on July 10, 2008

Now, I’ve only played a handful of games that I’d describe as truly awful. These games were either unplayable due to horrible controls, an awful grasp of the subject matter or they were just plain boring. However, despite my exposure to these horrible titles, nothing in the world could prepare me for the sheer atrocity that is INXS: Make my Video. One of the three video-editing (and I use that term lightly) games (that one too) released on the Sega Mega CD, this title follows the fad of...
goldenvortex's avatar
Road Avenger (Sega CD)

Road Avenger review (SCD)

Reviewed on June 14, 2008

Road Avenger isn’t just Wolf Team’s finest laserdisc conversion, it’s clearly the greatest FMV game on Sega CD and the best damn thing Data East was ever responsible for in their long and largely mediocre history! Maybe those last two aren’t exactly what you’d call ringing endorsements, but rest assured that from the moment you boot up this bad boy you’re in for naught but burning hot AWESOME.
sho's avatar
Popful Mail (Sega CD)

Popful Mail review (SCD)

Reviewed on March 16, 2008

“Eat this, cookie face!”
Suskie's avatar
Third World War (Sega CD)

Third World War review (SCD)

Reviewed on February 01, 2008

Strategy game players love nothing more than CONQUERING THE WORLD. In games like “Warlords” or “Birthright”, you set about conquering a fictional world. This is fun, but not not so much as conquering EARTH itself.
zanzard's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.