Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
The Curse of Monkey Island (PC)

The Curse of Monkey Island review (PC)

Reviewed on February 04, 2004

A quick recap: (This paragraph contains MAJOR SPOILERS for the first 2 Monkey Island Games - you have been warned). The Monkey Island saga features Guybrush Threepwood, a young pirate, LeChuck, his undead nemesis, and Elaine, his true love. In the first game, Guybrush is a fairly young boy who wants to become a pirate. You take control as Guybrush arrives on MÍlŤe Island, hoping to achieve this lofty goal. While on the island he meets and falls in love with Elaine Marley, the governor of the isl...
tomclark's avatar
The Secret of Monkey Island (PC)

The Secret of Monkey Island review (PC)

Reviewed on February 04, 2004

It would be easy to simply fill this review up with pirate-y puns and lame pirate or monkey related jokes (after all, that's what the game did). I'll try my best not to though!
tomclark's avatar
Seasons of the Sakura (PC)

Seasons of the Sakura review (PC)

Reviewed on February 02, 2004

I look at Seasons of the Sakura and I think to myself, ''hey, this is bad! I'm doing more for these anime girls than I would probably do for real ones!''
dogma's avatar
19XX: The War Against Destiny (Arcade)

19XX: The War Against Destiny review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 30, 2004

Sometimes, itís amazing how one little section of a video game can completely alter oneís perspective of it. It can be amazing how a game that could be considered nothing more than decent can suddenly take on a whole new life because one sparkling effort by the programmers was pulled off so unbelievably well that the entire experience is enriched.
overdrive's avatar
1944: The Loop Master (Arcade)

1944: The Loop Master review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 29, 2004

When playing 1944: The Loopmaster, the fourth game in Capcomís World War II series of shoot-em-upís, one thought should be in the head of any American citizen...
overdrive's avatar
SimCity 4 (Mac)

SimCity 4 review (MAC)

Reviewed on January 28, 2004

Ah, another SimCity has been released. This is one of the few games that feature no ending, no real violence, and can keep yourself glued to the computer screen until you suffer severe eyestrain. Throughout the years, this franchise has made a phenomenal impact on the world of gaming. The original SimCity was an incredibly revolutionary game for its day. Compared to other games during this period, the original SimCity was vastly superior in many aspects, primarily its gameplay. The...
centurion's avatar
Call of Duty (PC)

Call of Duty review (PC)

Reviewed on January 25, 2004

Just over the horizon you can faintly make out the wreckage and ruins of Stalingrad. As the ferry transports you and two dozen nervous soldiers to the urban battlefield the commissar reads Comrade Stalinís latest decree; not a step backwards! The commissar assures you of Mother Russiaís courage, but just as he does, a German Stuka dive bombs on your boat and half of your fellow soldiers lie dead. As the plane turns around for another attack, some soldiers jump out of the ferry in panic. ďTr...
djskittles's avatar
Imogen (PC)

Imogen review (PC)

Reviewed on January 22, 2004

Freeware is the refuge of the broke of pocket. Or the tech-savvy brokenicks, at least. Oh, sure, there's ROMs and abandonware out there too, but I was over so budget enough this month that I got wary at the thought of handling anything that might have once cost money.
aschultz's avatar
Pole Position (Arcade)

Pole Position review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2004

I remember a few years ago when just about every arcade I would go to had a Pole Position cabinet backed against a corner somewhere inside. Many of the small arcades (here's to remembering Battles Skating Rink!) didn't have any racing games but Pole Position.
retro's avatar
Centipede (Arcade)

Centipede review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2004

Centipede. Now that was always a fun and original game. I had played and enjoyed it for years on the Atari 2600 before I ever saw it in the arcade. Once I finally got the chance to play the arcade version of it, I noticed that the graphics were a lot different from the 2600 version (well that's a gimme), and that the gameplay seemed a bit faster. But the biggest difference between the two is the way the game is controlled.
retro's avatar
Ms. Pac-Man (Arcade)

Ms. Pac-Man review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2004

There's no doubt about it, I've played Ms. Pac-Man more than I have any other arcade game by a huge margin. This compelling sequel throws in everything that was great about Pac-Man, along with new things that make it all the much better.
retro's avatar
Pac-Man (Arcade)

Pac-Man review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2004

I don't know for sure what the most popular arcade game of all time is, but I know that Pac-Man is definitely sitting pretty high on the list. The reason it was and still is so popular is because it's so simple to play. You won't have to use much of your brain at all to learn how to play Pac-Man, but if you want to learn strategy you might. Pac-Man was also a game that could easily become addicting after only one or two plays.
retro's avatar
Dino Crisis 2 (PC)

Dino Crisis 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on January 16, 2004

Few games make me actually interested in playing their sequel. The SimCity and Silent Hill series stand out in my mind as franchises that have always interested me, but recently after playing Dino Crisis, I found myself wanting more. While I was perusing the bargain bins at my local game store, I noticed that Dino Crisis 2 was a mere eight dollars, and I also figured that it would put my newly acquired gamepad to good use, so in a few minutes, the game was mine. I got...
asherdeus's avatar
Alone in the Dark 2 (PC)

Alone in the Dark 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

AITD2ís Carnby is the hardest individual youíll come across. Heíll fight off ghouls, ghosts, and pirates dressed as gangsters (stop hunting for a typo, itís true) with Tommy guns, a derringer, a sword stick, frying pan, battledore or his bare hands. Consider his attitude: he knows going in that there will be thugs everywhere on the property, to thwart his rescue attempt. But he still chooses to bring only his trusty six-shot revolver, and nothing else! No ammunition for it, save what is in the chamber. Yes indeed, Edward Carnby is as tough as they come, and that means you had better be as well.
Masters's avatar
Alone in the Dark (PC)

Alone in the Dark review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

AITD is far more fun to play than the flashy and fleshy games it has spawned over the years. The Resident Evils, the Silent Hills, and even the new incarnation of Carnby's adventures, all fall short of the fun and fear factors that the original manages to evoke.
Masters's avatar
System Shock 2 (PC)

System Shock 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

In System Shock 2, an alien intelligence-cum-virus known as Xerxes, begins to mutate your human comrades aboard the ship, the Von Braun, attempting to degrade them into pawns of the growing alien consciousness known as The Many. You will be met with force by aberrant versions of former friends (from shotgun wielding males to laser firing females), robots, giant spiders, and the truly gruesome organic abominations of The Many that appear at the game's awe-inspiring culmination.
Masters's avatar
Noctropolis (PC)

Noctropolis review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

Let me help you out. If you're checking this game out for the adult/sex factor, don't even bother. Succubus shows us nothing, and Stiletto shows us her breasts for like, two seconds. They're a rather nice set, granted, but you'd be better staying up and watching Porkys, or Fast Times at Ridgemont High for this kind of one-handed material. At least Fast Times had Phoebe Cates. And you can't beat Phoebe Cates for old time gratuitous nudity.
Masters's avatar
Rise of the Triad: Dark War (PC)

Rise of the Triad: Dark War review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

Much of RotT isn't very memorable or special, which is something a game like this needs to be distinctive in a crowded FPS market, both at the time of its release, AND now. Fat monks and good graphics from far and close up graphics that are far from good isn't quite enough. Thankfully, there are great moments that help raise this game above the level of mediocrity, if only slightly. Well, only one great moment, really.
Masters's avatar
Jill of the Jungle (PC)

Jill of the Jungle review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

Our protagonist, Jill, is an Amazon woman-type (girl power!), clad in a skimpy green outfit (guy power!). She's blonde (naturally) and brawny, and depending on what you choose to do with her, brainy as well. She can jump, climb ladders and vines, and can fling knives and spinning blades should she be so lucky to find them and so equip herself. But wait. Keep that quickening pulse in check!
Masters's avatar
Hocus Pocus Episode 1: Time Tripping (PC)

Hocus Pocus Episode 1: Time Tripping review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2004

The Land of Lattice is overseen by the Council of Wizards, a ruling body with great power and prestige, which you'd like to be part of one day. Fueling your resolve to this end is the matter of Popopa. That's your girlfriend (as if you didn't know!), and you'd like to marry her (Hocus! I implore you to reconsider! Why risk having your powers split down the middle when things inevitably go wrong!).
Masters's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.