Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Gradius IV (Arcade)

Gradius IV review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 20, 2009

I first picked up the Gradius III & IV compilation pack initially because I was into Gradius III at the time, since I was primarily playing it via MAME and the PSP Gradius Collections. When I received the PS2 ports, I played Gradius III with the slight hope of getting the 1 credit clear, but it's so cruel near the end of the game where you face the infamous cube rush that I just gave up, knowing that I would have to memorize an utterly frustrating point of an above average game. Eventually, I d...
Aquas's avatar
The 7th Guest (Mac)

The 7th Guest review (MAC)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

It was one of the first CD-ROM games ever released, one of the first games to use live action video placed over pre-rendered graphics, and one of the first games to have an adult theme (not counting Atariís vast library of lewd titles). Thatís a lot of impressive firsts, but it also places The 7th Guest as a pioneer trying a lot of new technology in the early 90ís.
zippdementia's avatar
EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey (PC)

EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey review (PC)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

EverQuest II has fought hard to redeem itself from the hollow shell it once was, and itís made this possible by dumping uncountable options right into the lap of the player. Returning players will find an extension of worth and new players have found a great tie to jump in.
EmP's avatar
The Office (PC)

The Office review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

You wanna know why I purchased The Office? I was blown away that a developer went out of their way to create a video game based on a comedy taking place in an office building. I just had to get it. So, coming into the game, I didn't have any high expectations, I just simply wanted to know how the hell it played.
pickhut's avatar
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl (PC)

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

Stalker is so far removed from the relentless fright-a-minute conventions of the genre that it somehow works on a much higher level than any of its competitors. A staggering majority of Stalker takes place in wide, open and relatively calm outdoor expanses. But the atmosphere never lets up; it only shifts from mood to mood. It's unsettling for different reasons, and on the occasions where it throws the real chills at you, the effect is mind-blowing.
Lewis's avatar
The Longest Journey (PC)

The Longest Journey review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

About a week ago, I got introduced to The Longest (-winded) Journey, which people told me was the best point-and-click adventure game ever made, and that I would instantly love it the second I began playing it. So I downloaded it, installed it, and played about halfway through. What I found is that The Longest Journey definitely lives up to its name, but that it definitely is NOT the god-adventure I was told it would be, and is DEFINITELY not the best adventure game of all time.
timrod's avatar
Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People Episode 4: Dangeresque 3 - The Criminal Projective (PC)

Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People Episode 4: Dangeresque 3 - The Criminal Projective review (PC)

Reviewed on December 26, 2008

dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Half-Life (PC)

Half-Life review (PC)

Reviewed on December 25, 2008

The RPG genre has generally been understood to be exclusive to games that are, in some form, driven up front by visible statistics. If there is a screen that displays HP, STR, MAG, or any other common abbreviations, the game in question is likely an RPG in the sense in which the term is most commonly applied. Half-life is obviously not an RPG in the numerical sense. It is instead, a great example (perhaps the best example) of the original sense of an RPG, a game in which narrative is v...
dagoss's avatar
Guardians/Denjin Makai II (Arcade)

Guardians/Denjin Makai II review (ARC)

Reviewed on December 25, 2008

Picture yourself as a buxom beauty, your long blonde hair flowing in a ponytail as you sprint across the scorched desert sands of an oil field, your thigh-high white heeled boots kicking up puffs of silt and debris. Generic, gray uniformed enforcers decorated in visors and body armors of red and blue confront with fists drawn. Youíre Kurokishi, trusted guardian of peace and love. Theyíre up to no good. In this genre, those circumstances suffice.
drella's avatar
The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (PC)

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion review (PC)

Reviewed on December 20, 2008

This is the thing with Oblivion. Just as you manage to suspend disbelief and let the high-fantasy tide wash over you, something completely moronic happens and you're thrown rather aggressively back to the dismal reality of sitting in front of a screen, playing an embarrassingly geeky computer game. I'm never usually one to moan about glitches all that much, but when they regularly remove you from the whole experience, it's difficult not to let it hamper your fun.
Lewis's avatar
Europa Universalis III Complete (PC)

Europa Universalis III Complete review (PC)

Reviewed on December 17, 2008

Approximately a year ago, Jason Venter reviewed the vanilla version of Europa Universalis III for this very site. Jason articulately chronicled his rise to power as Calais in the fifteenth century, writing of how rebels would easily seize territory and he would hastily be defeated. Mr.Venter discovered, very quickly, the importance of being a competent leader. The people do not respond well to being constantly drafted into the forces, nor do they appreciate needlessly high taxes. If you are a fair ruler and concentrate on appeasing the masses (along with your neighbours) then the game makes for a very pleasant experience.
Melaisis's avatar
March! Offworld Recon (PC)

March! Offworld Recon review (PC)

Reviewed on December 16, 2008

If March-exclamation-mark-Offworld Recon had simply flashed up a load of static images of killer robots and huge chain-guns, layered on top of its preposterous midi-techno soundtrack, I'd have had a hell of a lot more fun. This is a first-person shooter with about as much personality and intrigue as a beige wall. There's far less context to it all than the original Doom. It manages to spectacularly predate a fifteen-year-old game in every conceivable way apart from when it was released.
Lewis's avatar
Nancy Drew Dossier: Lights, Camera, Curses! (PC)

Nancy Drew Dossier: Lights, Camera, Curses! review (PC)

Reviewed on December 16, 2008

Despite my worst fears, Nancy Drew has not undergone a lobotomy. Lights, Camera, Curses! is the premier of the Nancy Drew Dossier series, designed specifically for detectives crunched for time. But even though it requires less brain power to solve, Curses still shows the super sleuth at her resourceful best.
woodhouse's avatar
Hot Pinball (Arcade)

Hot Pinball review (ARC)

Reviewed on December 15, 2008

The theme of each board? Health class diagrams of the female reproductive system!
drella's avatar
S4 League (PC)

S4 League review (PC)

Reviewed on December 15, 2008

S4 League (which stands for Stylish eSper Shooting Sports), while although hailing from Korea, is probably one of the easiest games to get into and has a surprising amount of depth compared to most other free MMO games. The game was recently released in Europe and is identical to the Korean version aside from a few features like the Fumbi Shop, the Cash Shop, and a couple of weapons, skills, and maps that have yet to be added but that are being included in periodic updates.
Lusio's avatar
A Vampyre Story (PC)

A Vampyre Story review (PC)

Reviewed on December 10, 2008

A Vampyre Story has the overflowing charm of the Lucas Arts classics, it's voiced properly and it's completely stable. It's fabulously drawn and suitably silly, with puzzles that follow at least the classic adventure school of logic. It has some of the best cinematic sequences I've seen in a long time. It has characters I actually wanted to speak to, instead of just stabbing them repeatedly in the face with a spork. But sometimes, just sometimes... it's a bit boring.
Lewis's avatar
Pet Pals: New Leash on Life (PC)

Pet Pals: New Leash on Life review (PC)

Reviewed on December 08, 2008

Pet Pals: New Leash on Life isn't all snuggles and kisses. Through 38 patient examinations, it illustrates realistic courses of medical treatment for animals in need. Given its subtitle, though, this game should've gone further in expounding the challenges in adoption.
woodhouse's avatar
Multiwinia: Survival of the Flattest (PC)

Multiwinia: Survival of the Flattest review (PC)

Reviewed on December 08, 2008

Rather than carefully constructing a balanced army, Multiwinia demands victory through superior manouvers, feinting and flanking, and knowing when to retreat and when to press the attack. Should you amass your Multis for a later assault, or have them charge out of the spawn points to bolster that choke point? All this planning might sound complicated, but Multiwinia's intuitive interface frees up enough brainpower to make tactical planning almost instinctual, as easy as 3.141592653589...
WilltheGreat's avatar
Half-Life: Opposing Force (PC)

Half-Life: Opposing Force review (PC)

Reviewed on December 06, 2008

1998ís Half-life was seen by many as revolutionary to the FPS genre from its atmospheric feel, the first person presentation of the story and itís astounding gameplay. Since then, dozens of mods spawned from its engine such as Counter-Strike, plus expansions like this and 2001ís Blue Shift. Half-Life: Opposing Force intervenes with the original HLís plot, playing the role of US Marine Corporal Adrian Shepherd. As part of the Black Mesa clean-up crew, you must s...
bigcj34's avatar
RollerCoaster Tycoon (PC)

RollerCoaster Tycoon review (PC)

Reviewed on December 06, 2008

Chris Sawyer has been no stranger to management games in the 90ís, single-handedly programming Transport Tycoon before his White Knuckle project, eventually renamed Rollercoaster Tycoon. Various expansions and sequels followed, the third seeing a shift to full-on 3D and ending Sawyerís exclusive development, but this original RCT remains as strong as ever. Youíre simply building theme parks with a large emphasis on constructing your own custom rollercoasters. Swanky c...
bigcj34's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.