Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
RapeLay (PC)

RapeLay review (PC)

Reviewed on February 17, 2009

If you aren't a perv familiar with Illusion's games, you don't have any business reviewing their games. Seriously. It's like asking a male mysogynic gay chauvinist to write about fem lib: if you think you're going to get the objective truth, I have some beachfront property to sell you.
Trucidation's avatar
Penumbra Collection (PC)

Penumbra Collection review (PC)

Reviewed on February 11, 2009

In many ways, Penumbra is exactly what horror games should be like. In many others, the inexperience of the developer cuts through the mix a little too clearly for comfort. This flitting between terrifying and tiring leaves a little to be desired, but Penumbra Collection has enough interesting ideas to sail on, if only for the first two segments of its sinister life.
Lewis's avatar
Image Fight (Arcade)

Image Fight review (ARC)

Reviewed on February 09, 2009

Used to be a time when shooters graced the arcades, and companies like Irem sat at the top of their craft, producing one solid space-faring saga after another. You don’t have to look beyond their beloved R-Type series to see what I mean. That was a franchise built out of love, yet conveyed with loathing. Methodical, precise, difficult – the series still conjures memories of challenging episodes and unmitigated ardor. But perhaps you’d be surprised to learn that Irem didn’t limit itself to just one grueling shooter franchise. Turns out that there was another. And people have always hated it.
Felix_Arabia's avatar
Dear Esther (PC)

Dear Esther review (PC)

Reviewed on February 08, 2009

Dear Esther doesn't function like most of its peers, so applying the relatively rigid structure of traditional games criticism doesn't quite work. Attempting to do so would only lead to futile conclusions like 'too easy', 'too short' and 'too ugly', none of which are remotely relevant to the quality of this whimsical creation. Dear Esther feels more like an art-house film, or the mental picture conjured up by a good poem. And I want you to understand that this is something I'd love for everyone to try out.
Lewis's avatar
Hotel Giant 2 (PC)

Hotel Giant 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on February 06, 2009

If you can deal with the fact that every single one of your guests is going to be an utter ball-ache to deal with, Hotel Giant 2 becomes predictably addictive, and it's easy to lose hours on end fine-tuning all sorts of little details in order to watch your profit margin increase painfully slowly. But then, this is more praise of the genre as a whole than of this example of it. The length of time it takes to complete each of the campaign sections also totally destroys the sense of reward upon finishing one. You can skip weeks on end if you like, but it can still take hours upon hours of real time to make much progress - particularly early on, when the woefully inept tutorial fails to teach you even the basics of how the game actually works.
Lewis's avatar
Dragon Knight (X68000)

Dragon Knight review (X68K)

Reviewed on February 02, 2009

Dragon Knight's success propelled development house Elf to the heights of respect, insofar as a company that produces hentai video games could possibly be respected. Due in large part to the success of Dragon Knight, a significant portion of their catalog was ported to the PC Engine and Sega Saturn, able to be enjoyed by the impressionable children of unsuspecting parents.
zigfried's avatar
Relentless: Twinsen's Adventure (PC)

Relentless: Twinsen's Adventure review (PC)

Reviewed on February 01, 2009

The planet of Twinsun.
darketernal's avatar
Space Quest I: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter (VGA Remake) (PC)

Space Quest I: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter (VGA Remake) review (PC)

Reviewed on January 31, 2009

The trick with reviewing a remake is that you often find yourself treading on the toes of the previous iteration, and if you don't do that you confuse the hell out of anybody not familiar with it. But I think I'm safe in assuming that most readers aren't familiar with Space Quest at all, let alone enough to know that Space Quest 1: Roger Wilco in The Sarien Encounter is a remake of the original EGA Space Quest: The Sarien Encounter released by Sierra around the same time they were ...
WilltheGreat's avatar
American McGee's Alice (Mac)

American McGee's Alice review (MAC)

Reviewed on January 28, 2009

Forget Walt Disney's sanitised version of Alice in Wonderland, and return to the roots of the Alice mythos by entering the bizarre, insane and violent fantasy world, created by Lewis Carroll's febrile imagination, and recreated here, in American McGee's Alice. This is a third person platforming adventure at its very best, and for adults only.
threetimes's avatar
I-Fluid (PC)

I-Fluid review (PC)

Reviewed on January 24, 2009

timrod's avatar
Banana Nababa (PC)

Banana Nababa review (PC)

Reviewed on January 24, 2009

Gamers who have played Banana Nababa, an 8-bit boss rush game, will tell you it's a fun, yet difficult, title. Now, at this point, if you've never played Banana Nababa, you're probably pretty intrigued. I mean, a tough, boss battle game that's designed to look, play, and sound like an NES title? Wow, it feels like dreams are growing on trees, only falling to the ground and... I got nothing. I, too, was curious about this game when I saw it for the first time in a video, being playe...
pickhut's avatar
Gradius IV (Arcade)

Gradius IV review (ARC)

Reviewed on January 20, 2009

I first picked up the Gradius III & IV compilation pack initially because I was into Gradius III at the time, since I was primarily playing it via MAME and the PSP Gradius Collections. When I received the PS2 ports, I played Gradius III with the slight hope of getting the 1 credit clear, but it's so cruel near the end of the game where you face the infamous cube rush that I just gave up, knowing that I would have to memorize an utterly frustrating point of an above average game. Eventually, I d...
Aquas's avatar
The 7th Guest (Mac)

The 7th Guest review (MAC)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

It was one of the first CD-ROM games ever released, one of the first games to use live action video placed over pre-rendered graphics, and one of the first games to have an adult theme (not counting Atari’s vast library of lewd titles). That’s a lot of impressive firsts, but it also places The 7th Guest as a pioneer trying a lot of new technology in the early 90’s.
zippdementia's avatar
EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey (PC)

EverQuest II: The Shadow Odyssey review (PC)

Reviewed on January 15, 2009

EverQuest II has fought hard to redeem itself from the hollow shell it once was, and it’s made this possible by dumping uncountable options right into the lap of the player. Returning players will find an extension of worth and new players have found a great tie to jump in.
EmP's avatar
The Office (PC)

The Office review (PC)

Reviewed on January 14, 2009

You wanna know why I purchased The Office? I was blown away that a developer went out of their way to create a video game based on a comedy taking place in an office building. I just had to get it. So, coming into the game, I didn't have any high expectations, I just simply wanted to know how the hell it played.
pickhut's avatar
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl (PC)

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

Stalker is so far removed from the relentless fright-a-minute conventions of the genre that it somehow works on a much higher level than any of its competitors. A staggering majority of Stalker takes place in wide, open and relatively calm outdoor expanses. But the atmosphere never lets up; it only shifts from mood to mood. It's unsettling for different reasons, and on the occasions where it throws the real chills at you, the effect is mind-blowing.
Lewis's avatar
The Longest Journey (PC)

The Longest Journey review (PC)

Reviewed on December 31, 2008

About a week ago, I got introduced to The Longest (-winded) Journey, which people told me was the best point-and-click adventure game ever made, and that I would instantly love it the second I began playing it. So I downloaded it, installed it, and played about halfway through. What I found is that The Longest Journey definitely lives up to its name, but that it definitely is NOT the god-adventure I was told it would be, and is DEFINITELY not the best adventure game of all time.
timrod's avatar
Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People Episode 4: Dangeresque 3 - The Criminal Projective (PC)

Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People Episode 4: Dangeresque 3 - The Criminal Projective review (PC)

Reviewed on December 26, 2008

dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
Half-Life (PC)

Half-Life review (PC)

Reviewed on December 25, 2008

The RPG genre has generally been understood to be exclusive to games that are, in some form, driven up front by visible statistics. If there is a screen that displays HP, STR, MAG, or any other common abbreviations, the game in question is likely an RPG in the sense in which the term is most commonly applied. Half-life is obviously not an RPG in the numerical sense. It is instead, a great example (perhaps the best example) of the original sense of an RPG, a game in which narrative is v...
dagoss's avatar
Guardians/Denjin Makai II (Arcade)

Guardians/Denjin Makai II review (ARC)

Reviewed on December 25, 2008

Picture yourself as a buxom beauty, your long blonde hair flowing in a ponytail as you sprint across the scorched desert sands of an oil field, your thigh-high white heeled boots kicking up puffs of silt and debris. Generic, gray uniformed enforcers decorated in visors and body armors of red and blue confront with fists drawn. You’re Kurokishi, trusted guardian of peace and love. They’re up to no good. In this genre, those circumstances suffice.
drella's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.