Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
The Treasures of Montezuma 2 (PC)

The Treasures of Montezuma 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on January 21, 2010

You'll likely spend most of your time in said Adventure mode, both because you're initially compelled to do so and because the developers were wise enough to include rewards for working your way through its individual stages. Each success in that mode results in some in-game currency that you can use to purchase upgrades as you progress through the subsequent stages, ensuring that you have reason to keep playing at least for the first 10 hours or so. Once purchased, the upgrades activate if you manage to clear certain icons from the board, or if you eliminate pieces from the same color twice in a row.
honestgamer's avatar
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed - Ultimate Sith Edition (PC)

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed - Ultimate Sith Edition review (PC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2010

It's hard enough dealing with an action game that switches into "surprise bullet time" at the drop of a hat, yet the game's shockingly sluggish performance is far from its only problem. Graphical glitches abound, ranging from the merely annoying to outright show-stoppers. Doors, computer consoles and other objects will occasionally flicker or disappear outright, although they remain solid enough to impede the player's movement. More seriously, in one instance a platform I was required to move with my Force powers also went missing, leaving me unable to progress through the game until, after several futile, frustrating minutes and a quick Google to make sure I wasn't completely off-base about what I was supposed to be doing, I exited and restarted the game.
Malygris's avatar
Syberia (PC)

Syberia review (PC)

Reviewed on January 16, 2010

Syberia tricks you with subtlety on a drip feed: the game’s focus, aim and characters all change so naturally over time that it’s not until you’ve worked your way to the end that you can look back over the whole picture and understand just how well realised the entire experience was.
EmP's avatar
OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast (PC)

OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast review (PC)

Reviewed on January 09, 2010

Realism is overrated. So many games strive to be realistic and claiming so is an exhausted marketing cliché. Arcades have decayed into an out of fashion commodity, where once an experience unseen in home consoles and arcade-quality graphics were a common marketing mantra. Since 3D graphics we’ve been able experience racing, flying, sports and battlefields almost for real almost leaving side-scrolling beat-em-ups and platformers passé.
bigcj34's avatar
Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers (PC)

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers review (PC)

Reviewed on January 03, 2010

Gabriel Knight knows mystery. After all, he's a writer who has tried his hand at the literature genre. Unfortunately for him, much like most aspiring authors, the glory he had hoped for never materialized. With no promising career as an author, he has instead become the owner and proprietor of St. George's Rare Books, located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Gabriel isn't a man to give up on his writing ambitions, however. When a rash of serial killings occurs in the city, Gabriel sets out ...
yamishuryou's avatar
Machinarium (PC)

Machinarium review (PC)

Reviewed on January 02, 2010

Adventure games suck. Let’s face it. They do. I’m not totally opposed to the idea of an adventure game being good, of course, but the inherent flaw of the genre is that they’re not about gameplay, and that undermines the very purpose of the medium, which is to be interactive entertainment. The few adventure games that have actually held my attention over the years, such as The Longest Journey or Grim Fandango, have done so because of an intriguing story, memorable characters, and c...
Suskie's avatar
The Orange Box (PC)

The Orange Box review (PC)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

A year or two ago, I wrote a review for the console version of The Orange Box. In it, I threw around a few colorful adjectives for the first four games in the package, before coming to a halt with Team Fortress 2. I didn’t have Xbox Live at the time (and still don’t), and as such, I could merely say, “I haven’t really played this one, but I’ve heard it’s awesome, so there you go.” I have since spent more time with the PC rendition of Team Fortress 2 than nearly any other gam...
Suskie's avatar
Ultima IV: Quest of the Avatar (PC)

Ultima IV: Quest of the Avatar review (PC)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

Man's quest for enlightenment and knowledge has lead him to explore the farthest reaches of the known universe. Now one man, and his companions, will venture forth to seek the knowledge that has eluded the people of Britania for so long: The Codex of Ultimate wisdom.
CoarseDragon's avatar
Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders (PC)

Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders review (PC)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

Before Sam, Max and Guybrush, Zak McKracken saved the world from stupidity in LucasArts's first PC/SCUMM engine point-and-click farce. The rough edges are evident, but so are the laughs, and Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders (ZM) even manages to poke fun at mistakes a lot of point-and-click games make today. I laughed at the jokes even though a walkthrough tipped them off--a credit to ZM's bizarre graphics and polished absurdism.
aschultz's avatar
221B Baker Street (PC)

221B Baker Street review (PC)

Reviewed on December 27, 2009

The problem with many text adventures is that you can only solve them once. Even the creative geniuses at Infocom could only fit in so many alternate solutions, in-jokes and Easter Eggs. 221B Baker Street offers thirty such adventures, each with fixed solutions. Memory constraints ensure they are neither worth remembering or replaying, or both. In this board game-slash-text adventure within a miniature London, even Inspector Lestrade could notice the too-evident formula, which culminates ...
aschultz's avatar
Return to Mysterious Island 2: Mina's Fate (PC)

Return to Mysterious Island 2: Mina's Fate review (PC)

Reviewed on December 12, 2009

Despite a couple of hiccups, Return to Mysterious Island 2 does enough of the important things right to deliver a unique and slightly nostalgic experience, and is sufficiently different from its older sibling to justify its place on the fence between Sequel and Expansion.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Tropico 3 (PC)

Tropico 3 review (PC)

Reviewed on December 02, 2009

A city building game that adds enough new gameplay elements to make it stand out of the crowd.
blood-omen's avatar
Fallen Earth (PC)

Fallen Earth review (PC)

Reviewed on November 20, 2009

Easily dismissed at first glance as a Massively Multiplayer Fallout clone, no simple comparison can really do Fallen Earth justice.
frankaustin's avatar
Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood (PC)

Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood review (PC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

It’s rarely a chore to play through. The short length helps that, and the restrictive nature of the game world and its neatly intertwined objectives only contributes to the tightness. It raises plenty of smiles. But when it’s essentially becoming the same episode stuck on repeat ad nauseum, how much praise is it reasonable to lavish?
Lewis's avatar
Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim (PC)

Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim review (PC)

Reviewed on November 15, 2009

Earlier this year I previewed Majesty 2. Back then I praised its novelty and commented on how the revolutionary management system could signal a whole new type of simulation-strategy game. There were moments where I felt like a massively multiplayer community director – assigning quests and handing out rewards to heroes. This made the title drastically different to other titles in the same genre and a pleasure to play. The whole preview was based on the concept that you don't truly control your kingdom's inhabitants and instead you recruit them at specifically-designed guilds. Then you simply allow them to roam free around the land. I found this to be a fascinating element and was the key reason behind me enjoying the beta so much. This unique feel has thankfully been carried through to the full version.
Melaisis's avatar
Restaurant Empire 2 (PC)

Restaurant Empire 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

What challenges await my Restaurant Empire next month? Liquor licenses and dumb waiters that cost an arm and a leg, but net long-term profits? Hiring additional staff and firing problem employees? Optimizing seating and serving paths for best results? From the looks of it, yes.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Hearts of Iron III (PC)

Hearts of Iron III review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

I like numbers, I really do. Numbers can do all sorts of interesting and wonderful things. Numbers tell architects how tall their skyscrapers can be before collapsing. Numbers let you find your friend's house with a GPS when normally you'd be lost. Numbers govern telephones, crosswalks, and of course the INTERNETS. Numbers, and here's my favorite part, form the basis of our understanding of the universe itself.
TheGrue's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 04, 2009

First off I should say that I find “Order of War” quite a versatile thing. I mean it will be ok for many types of gamers: newbie in RTS, hardened players and history buffs. I consider myself an ordinary gamer with interest in shooters, RTSs and WWII. Maybe this is the reason why I love this game: for me it’s a great mixture of tactical RTS peppered with some shooter features. The game is really addictive and fun to play, probably due to its dynamism and simplified controls. Still however, devel...
Woodybeaver's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 02, 2009

If you like your RTS games simple, then this game is for you.
blood-omen's avatar
Aion: The Tower of Eternity (PC)

Aion: The Tower of Eternity review (PC)

Reviewed on October 30, 2009

A persistent question throughout both Aion's beta and the early days of live was "Will this game kill WoW?" It popped up in the world chat channel more often than "Can I borrow 10 gold?" That by itself is pretty mind blowing, but really, it's a stupid question. No, Aion is not going to kill World of Warcraft. No game coming out in the foreseeable future is going to knock WoW from its throne, but that's the wrong question to ask anyway. Why should it need to?
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Site | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.