Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Tropico 3 (PC)

Tropico 3 review (PC)

Reviewed on December 02, 2009

A city building game that adds enough new gameplay elements to make it stand out of the crowd.
blood-omen's avatar
The Bard's Tale III: Thief of Fate (Apple II)

The Bard's Tale III: Thief of Fate review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 23, 2009

I'm fortunate enough to have enjoyed Bard's Tale III (BT3) twice and in different ways. As a teen fanboy, I reaped the benefits of destroying far too many Dream Mages in BT2.
aschultz's avatar
Wizard's Crown (Apple II)

Wizard's Crown review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 22, 2009

Well before sports websites existed, I loved live box-scores. The top-down RPG Wizard's Crown used a feature called Quick Combat. Easy fights required no work. Tough battles could see-saw with each combatant knocked unconscious. I'd cheer as the chief enemy went down or groan as he killed my last three players. Sometimes my super fighter with the Frost Greatsword held off the last four enemies. Or I'd gain an important magic item and forget how morale loss affected my party, making for a ...
aschultz's avatar
Fallen Earth (PC)

Fallen Earth review (PC)

Reviewed on November 20, 2009

Easily dismissed at first glance as a Massively Multiplayer Fallout clone, no simple comparison can really do Fallen Earth justice.
frankaustin's avatar
Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood (PC)

Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood review (PC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

It’s rarely a chore to play through. The short length helps that, and the restrictive nature of the game world and its neatly intertwined objectives only contributes to the tightness. It raises plenty of smiles. But when it’s essentially becoming the same episode stuck on repeat ad nauseum, how much praise is it reasonable to lavish?
Lewis's avatar
Stratovox (Arcade)

Stratovox review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

Historians will note that Stratovox was the first game to use synthesized voice. Long forgotten behind this trivia is the unforgiving game time forgot. My initial impression of Stratovox, you ask?
LowerStreetBlues's avatar
Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim (PC)

Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim review (PC)

Reviewed on November 15, 2009

Earlier this year I previewed Majesty 2. Back then I praised its novelty and commented on how the revolutionary management system could signal a whole new type of simulation-strategy game. There were moments where I felt like a massively multiplayer community director – assigning quests and handing out rewards to heroes. This made the title drastically different to other titles in the same genre and a pleasure to play. The whole preview was based on the concept that you don't truly control your kingdom's inhabitants and instead you recruit them at specifically-designed guilds. Then you simply allow them to roam free around the land. I found this to be a fascinating element and was the key reason behind me enjoying the beta so much. This unique feel has thankfully been carried through to the full version.
Melaisis's avatar
The King of Chicago (Amiga)

The King of Chicago review (AMIGA)

Reviewed on November 09, 2009

Prohibition in the Windy City: the good old days of bootleg booze, blazing bullets, and beautiful bitches. Just the sort of place where even a simple "legitimate businessman" such as yourself could one day rise from its blood-soaked gutters and claim his rightful place as the King of Chicago.
sho's avatar
Restaurant Empire 2 (PC)

Restaurant Empire 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

What challenges await my Restaurant Empire next month? Liquor licenses and dumb waiters that cost an arm and a leg, but net long-term profits? Hiring additional staff and firing problem employees? Optimizing seating and serving paths for best results? From the looks of it, yes.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Hearts of Iron III (PC)

Hearts of Iron III review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

I like numbers, I really do. Numbers can do all sorts of interesting and wonderful things. Numbers tell architects how tall their skyscrapers can be before collapsing. Numbers let you find your friend's house with a GPS when normally you'd be lost. Numbers govern telephones, crosswalks, and of course the INTERNETS. Numbers, and here's my favorite part, form the basis of our understanding of the universe itself.
TheGrue's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 04, 2009

First off I should say that I find “Order of War” quite a versatile thing. I mean it will be ok for many types of gamers: newbie in RTS, hardened players and history buffs. I consider myself an ordinary gamer with interest in shooters, RTSs and WWII. Maybe this is the reason why I love this game: for me it’s a great mixture of tactical RTS peppered with some shooter features. The game is really addictive and fun to play, probably due to its dynamism and simplified controls. Still however, devel...
Woodybeaver's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 02, 2009

If you like your RTS games simple, then this game is for you.
blood-omen's avatar
Aion: The Tower of Eternity (PC)

Aion: The Tower of Eternity review (PC)

Reviewed on October 30, 2009

A persistent question throughout both Aion's beta and the early days of live was "Will this game kill WoW?" It popped up in the world chat channel more often than "Can I borrow 10 gold?" That by itself is pretty mind blowing, but really, it's a stupid question. No, Aion is not going to kill World of Warcraft. No game coming out in the foreseeable future is going to knock WoW from its throne, but that's the wrong question to ask anyway. Why should it need to?
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
The Colonel's Bequest (PC)

The Colonel's Bequest review (PC)

Reviewed on October 26, 2009

Greed. Sex. Murder. Yes, The Colonel's Bequest has all the good things in life. It's even set in the heart of the Roaring Twenties, but unfortunately for the lovely Laura Bow there won't be any time for bootleg hooch or the devil's jazz. Our spunky flame haired sleuth instead finds herself surrounded by an ever dwindling cast of shifty suspects on Colonel Henri Dijon's crumbling bayou plantation, because nothing livens up a creepy old house quite like death.
sho's avatar
Adam's Venture: The Search for the Lost Garden (PC)

Adam's Venture: The Search for the Lost Garden review (PC)

Reviewed on October 24, 2009

There’s not many locations you can squeeze into two hours, so they’ve all been gussied up accordingly. It’s only when the slightly subtle motifs of beating back darkness with your light are replaced by silver-tongued snakes and comments about how disaster befell the last woman to eat an apple in the Garden of Eden that you start forgetting it’s meant to be a game and start to wonder when you’re going to be told that when the Rapture comes, you’re going to be the first to die.
EmP's avatar
Gemini Lost (PC)

Gemini Lost review (PC)

Reviewed on October 21, 2009

With infinite resources you might think that this game is a builder’s paradise, but unfortunately it’s not. Surprisingly, while the game gives you the freedom to collect as many resources as you want, it does not give you the freedom to build as much as you want. Aside from multiple houses, the game only allows one building of each type in predetermined spaces on the map, which usually means that you will accumulate wood and stone in your stockpile by the hundreds with no use for them.
blood-omen's avatar
Madballs in... BABO: Invasion (PC)

Madballs in... BABO: Invasion review (PC)

Reviewed on October 21, 2009

Overall, Madballs is an enjoyable game for a while, especially at the $10 price point. However, it is not greater than the sum of its individual parts. If you want to play either a great shooter or a great platformer, there are other games that do it better at the same price range (have a look at Geometry Wars and Marble Blast Ultra). That being said, if you really want to do both at the same time, you could certainly be worse off, as the cartoony approach and style is charming enough to entertain, if only for a short while.
BardicKnowledge's avatar
Zeno Clash (PC)

Zeno Clash review (PC)

Reviewed on October 20, 2009

In a lot of ways, it feels like an evolved Double Dragon comfortably shoehorned into the first perspective then bottle fed LSD by the gallon.
EmP's avatar
CustomPlay Golf 2010  (PC)

CustomPlay Golf 2010 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 20, 2009

It’s by no means perfect, but by catering to the ground planners at home and making their efforts freely available, it offers something commendable and, perhaps more importantly, recommendable.
EmP's avatar
Final Doom (Mac)

Final Doom review (MAC)

Reviewed on October 09, 2009

Hell, in just one courtyard, you'll first have to deal with a legion of Mancubi while a few Revenants are aiming their missiles at you from higher ground. Finish them off and hit a couple of switches and a bunch of Arachnotrons make their presence felt. Dispose of them and flip a couple more switches to trigger a massive Cacodemon invasion. All in all, this is a very exhilarating series of battles and it's only one tiny part of this massive, combat-heavy level.
overdrive's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.