Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders (PC)

Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders review (PC)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

Before Sam, Max and Guybrush, Zak McKracken saved the world from stupidity in LucasArts's first PC/SCUMM engine point-and-click farce. The rough edges are evident, but so are the laughs, and Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders (ZM) even manages to poke fun at mistakes a lot of point-and-click games make today. I laughed at the jokes even though a walkthrough tipped them off--a credit to ZM's bizarre graphics and polished absurdism.
aschultz's avatar
Wrath of Denethenor (Apple II)

Wrath of Denethenor review (APP2)

Reviewed on December 29, 2009

Wrath of Denethenor seems to be Sierra's attempt to do Ultima II right the second time. Dying's tougher, and instead of time periods, your lone character moves from one world to the next. Unforunately, the formula's apparent: talk to king, beat up monsters, get better armor and weapons, steal a boat in plain view, and move to the next world. The outside's too black-and-white, and the inside's too orange. The keyboard controls are bizarre alphabet soup even by 80s standards, and sim...
aschultz's avatar
Xyphus (Commodore 64)

Xyphus review (C64)

Reviewed on December 27, 2009

In Xyphus--part hexagonal board game, part RPG--four character tokens move across six lands in succession. Finally, they kill the demon Xyphus with his own heart, behind an invisible maze. Strategy rules: forget towns, separate combat screens, tenuous or reheated riddles, or experience mills. Supplies are limited. So are enemies and magic. Death kills.
aschultz's avatar
221B Baker Street (PC)

221B Baker Street review (PC)

Reviewed on December 27, 2009

The problem with many text adventures is that you can only solve them once. Even the creative geniuses at Infocom could only fit in so many alternate solutions, in-jokes and Easter Eggs. 221B Baker Street offers thirty such adventures, each with fixed solutions. Memory constraints ensure they are neither worth remembering or replaying, or both. In this board game-slash-text adventure within a miniature London, even Inspector Lestrade could notice the too-evident formula, which culminates ...
aschultz's avatar
Return to Mysterious Island 2: Mina's Fate (PC)

Return to Mysterious Island 2: Mina's Fate review (PC)

Reviewed on December 13, 2009

Despite a couple of hiccups, Return to Mysterious Island 2 does enough of the important things right to deliver a unique and slightly nostalgic experience, and is sufficiently different from its older sibling to justify its place on the fence between Sequel and Expansion.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Might & Magic II (Apple II)

Might & Magic II review (APP2)

Reviewed on December 06, 2009

Might and Magic II overcompensates wildly for its predecessor's insane difficulty, and the poetry even scans and rhymes. With more organized and rewarding side quests, you won't notice how stupid the two new character classes are. The formula remains intact: FPRPG, five towns, several castles with quests, dungeons that may or may not be relevant, and all manner of weird nooks that give items or raise attributes--temporarily or permanently. While it's not appreciably bigger than the original, MM2...
aschultz's avatar
Tropico 3 (PC)

Tropico 3 review (PC)

Reviewed on December 02, 2009

A city building game that adds enough new gameplay elements to make it stand out of the crowd.
blood-omen's avatar
The Bard's Tale III: Thief of Fate (Apple II)

The Bard's Tale III: Thief of Fate review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 23, 2009

I'm fortunate enough to have enjoyed Bard's Tale III (BT3) twice and in different ways. As a teen fanboy, I reaped the benefits of destroying far too many Dream Mages in BT2.
aschultz's avatar
Wizard's Crown (Apple II)

Wizard's Crown review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 22, 2009

Well before sports websites existed, I loved live box-scores. The top-down RPG Wizard's Crown used a feature called Quick Combat. Easy fights required no work. Tough battles could see-saw with each combatant knocked unconscious. I'd cheer as the chief enemy went down or groan as he killed my last three players. Sometimes my super fighter with the Frost Greatsword held off the last four enemies. Or I'd gain an important magic item and forget how morale loss affected my party, making for a ...
aschultz's avatar
Fallen Earth (PC)

Fallen Earth review (PC)

Reviewed on November 20, 2009

Easily dismissed at first glance as a Massively Multiplayer Fallout clone, no simple comparison can really do Fallen Earth justice.
frankaustin's avatar
Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood (PC)

Tales of Monkey Island: Chapter 4 - The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood review (PC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

It’s rarely a chore to play through. The short length helps that, and the restrictive nature of the game world and its neatly intertwined objectives only contributes to the tightness. It raises plenty of smiles. But when it’s essentially becoming the same episode stuck on repeat ad nauseum, how much praise is it reasonable to lavish?
Lewis's avatar
Stratovox (Arcade)

Stratovox review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 17, 2009

Historians will note that Stratovox was the first game to use synthesized voice. Long forgotten behind this trivia is the unforgiving game time forgot. My initial impression of Stratovox, you ask?
LowerStreetBlues's avatar
Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim (PC)

Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim review (PC)

Reviewed on November 15, 2009

Earlier this year I previewed Majesty 2. Back then I praised its novelty and commented on how the revolutionary management system could signal a whole new type of simulation-strategy game. There were moments where I felt like a massively multiplayer community director – assigning quests and handing out rewards to heroes. This made the title drastically different to other titles in the same genre and a pleasure to play. The whole preview was based on the concept that you don't truly control your kingdom's inhabitants and instead you recruit them at specifically-designed guilds. Then you simply allow them to roam free around the land. I found this to be a fascinating element and was the key reason behind me enjoying the beta so much. This unique feel has thankfully been carried through to the full version.
Melaisis's avatar
The King of Chicago (Amiga)

The King of Chicago review (AMIGA)

Reviewed on November 09, 2009

Prohibition in the Windy City: the good old days of bootleg booze, blazing bullets, and beautiful bitches. Just the sort of place where even a simple "legitimate businessman" such as yourself could one day rise from its blood-soaked gutters and claim his rightful place as the King of Chicago.
sho's avatar
Restaurant Empire 2 (PC)

Restaurant Empire 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

What challenges await my Restaurant Empire next month? Liquor licenses and dumb waiters that cost an arm and a leg, but net long-term profits? Hiring additional staff and firing problem employees? Optimizing seating and serving paths for best results? From the looks of it, yes.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Hearts of Iron III (PC)

Hearts of Iron III review (PC)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

I like numbers, I really do. Numbers can do all sorts of interesting and wonderful things. Numbers tell architects how tall their skyscrapers can be before collapsing. Numbers let you find your friend's house with a GPS when normally you'd be lost. Numbers govern telephones, crosswalks, and of course the INTERNETS. Numbers, and here's my favorite part, form the basis of our understanding of the universe itself.
TheGrue's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 04, 2009

First off I should say that I find “Order of War” quite a versatile thing. I mean it will be ok for many types of gamers: newbie in RTS, hardened players and history buffs. I consider myself an ordinary gamer with interest in shooters, RTSs and WWII. Maybe this is the reason why I love this game: for me it’s a great mixture of tactical RTS peppered with some shooter features. The game is really addictive and fun to play, probably due to its dynamism and simplified controls. Still however, devel...
Woodybeaver's avatar
Order of War (PC)

Order of War review (PC)

Reviewed on November 02, 2009

If you like your RTS games simple, then this game is for you.
blood-omen's avatar
Aion: The Tower of Eternity (PC)

Aion: The Tower of Eternity review (PC)

Reviewed on October 30, 2009

A persistent question throughout both Aion's beta and the early days of live was "Will this game kill WoW?" It popped up in the world chat channel more often than "Can I borrow 10 gold?" That by itself is pretty mind blowing, but really, it's a stupid question. No, Aion is not going to kill World of Warcraft. No game coming out in the foreseeable future is going to knock WoW from its throne, but that's the wrong question to ask anyway. Why should it need to?
dragoon_of_infinity's avatar
The Colonel's Bequest (PC)

The Colonel's Bequest review (PC)

Reviewed on October 26, 2009

Greed. Sex. Murder. Yes, The Colonel's Bequest has all the good things in life. It's even set in the heart of the Roaring Twenties, but unfortunately for the lovely Laura Bow there won't be any time for bootleg hooch or the devil's jazz. Our spunky flame haired sleuth instead finds herself surrounded by an ever dwindling cast of shifty suspects on Colonel Henri Dijon's crumbling bayou plantation, because nothing livens up a creepy old house quite like death.
sho's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.