Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for PC & Miscellaneous games. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Myst (PC)

Myst review (PC)

Reviewed on March 17, 2010

Today I found an old shoebox in my closet. When I opened it, it revealed a stack of papers, all of them littered with scribbled notes in pencil and quick sketches of strange artifacts, maps, and charts. I began to leaf through, intrigued by the unfamiliar handwriting, until I came to a drawing of an island. Underneath it was scrawled a single word: Myst.
zippdementia's avatar
The Legend of Vraz (PC)

The Legend of Vraz review (PC)

Reviewed on March 15, 2010

In its present form, the game merely comes across as an unnecessary mess of well-intentioned ideas made only slightly more amusing by the vague cultural undertones from India.
Calvin's avatar
Ultima (Apple II)

Ultima review (APP2)

Reviewed on March 15, 2010

Origin did the right thing releasing an improved version of Ultima I. The original, with less entertaining graphics and horrid controls, is tougher to find on the net. It's best to enjoy the chubby townsmen bouncing around bushes bigger than they are and ignore the silly plot: build a time machine to knock off the wizard Mondain before he can craft a powerful evil gem. Then, U1 is straightforward kill-the-big-wizard fun.
aschultz's avatar
Kingdom of Loathing (PC)

Kingdom of Loathing review (PC)

Reviewed on March 14, 2010

I'm a bit jealous it wasn't me who didn't listen, but hey, it's a great free game. Well, not quite. I've enjoyed donating to it for a while.
aschultz's avatar
Ninja Blade (PC)

Ninja Blade review (PC)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

darketernal's avatar
Plants vs. Zombies (PC)

Plants vs. Zombies review (PC)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

The basics are fairly straightforward. Given a scant number of slots with which to load as many fruits and vegetables as you’ve collected to that point, you must strategically select which plants will counter the various kinds of zombies invading your lawn. However, sowing seeds requires sunlight, which can only be obtained periodically during daytime stages or through sun-producing plants.
wolfqueen001's avatar
Dark Heart of Uukrul (PC)

Dark Heart of Uukrul review (PC)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

The title villain in Dark Heart of Uukrul, doesn't just dabble in near-immortality and nasty magic. He's crushed the underground city of Eriosthe beneath his will, eradicating hackneyed old hinty taverns so you must rely on his oblique concern-trolling hints. He's scattered eight stone pieces of his heart through the city to gain immortailty. The good news? You only need to find six, and a hammer, to challenge and defeat him. The bad? There's a reason you're given two passes. That, plus s...
aschultz's avatar
Savage 2: A Tortured Soul (PC)

Savage 2: A Tortured Soul review (PC)

Reviewed on February 28, 2010

Savage 2: A Tortured Soul is a game that defies, complicates, and undermines the process of game categorization altogether. It belongs to a hybrid genre that can tentatively be called Competitive Real-Time Strategy Role-Playing Action, a genre with only three games, one of which is its ultimately superior predecessor.
radicaldreamer's avatar
Xenophobe (Arcade)

Xenophobe review (ARC)

Reviewed on February 25, 2010

In 1987 Bally Midway engineered Xenophobe, a one-to-three person alien extermination effort with a twist.  While simultaneous cooperative play has roots far deeper in gaming history, perhaps never before had a developer so intuitively envisioned the future of multiplayer.   Xenophobe divides a single arcade monitor into three strips of screen, each player entitled his own.  Each strip initially displays a chamber of an extraterrestrially overrun environment, all of the settings sli...
LowerStreetBlues's avatar
Syberia II (PC)

Syberia II review (PC)

Reviewed on February 24, 2010

The game, as a whole, stutters and limps along, seemingly existing only to tie up to loose ends of the first game. When an impossible chasm separates Kate from her clockwork train, a character from the last game literally drops out of the sky and offers her a steaming hot cup of deus ex machina. Though it’s prettied up with the stellar graphics and adequate writing, Syberia II is a game lacking in total ambition.
EmP's avatar
Moero!! Downhill Night (PC)

Moero!! Downhill Night review (PC)

Reviewed on February 07, 2010

Here you're not racing against testosterone-fueled gearheads; you're going against girls whose only thrill in life is speed. There's just one catch. You don't get to drive.
woodhouse's avatar
Nancy Drew: Warnings at Waverly Academy (PC)

Nancy Drew: Warnings at Waverly Academy review (PC)

Reviewed on February 06, 2010

Perhaps the biggest problem isn't the limited nature of the building, though; it's the backtracking. When you first arrive, you'll make the rounds as you get acquainted with your new classmates. That takes a lot of time, since at first it can be easy to head down the wrong hallway and find yourself at a dead end. Once you know your way around, which may not happen until you've played for a few hours, you'll still find yourself wearing holes in the hallway carpet because you're covering the same ground so frequently. Instead of a resourceful sleuth, you'll feel like an errand girl.
honestgamer's avatar
Torchlight (PC)

Torchlight review (PC)

Reviewed on January 27, 2010

To its credit, Torchlight is much more than just a cash-in on our nostalgia. As much as it is an homage to its diabolic predecessor, Torchlight easily stands on its own as a game. Rather than using those familiar Diablo elements as a crutch, it takes those elements and gives them just enough of a twist to make them fresh again.
WilltheGreat's avatar
Lady Tut (Apple II)

Lady Tut review (APP2)

Reviewed on January 24, 2010

I believe Lady Tut is the first game I ever solved, and it was worth it. Three-level deals that wiped me out with a roided-up version of the first level after one loop don't count. Neither do games that repeat at the highest difficulty. LT is a series of nine mazes with exotic monsters and turnstile doors that flip ninety degrees so you can alter the maze. Pick up one key and open a lock to the next level--or, later, go get another key way on the other side of the maze, to open the SECOND...
aschultz's avatar
Snack Attack (Apple II)

Snack Attack review (APP2)

Reviewed on January 24, 2010

Too many dot-maze games risked little in aping Pac-Man. Snack Attack commendably bent dots-in-maze conventions to bizarre and individual effect. Its three-level loop featured garish orange walls, gumdrops worth one (green) or two (red) points, a wind-up noise to start things, and a stupidly smiling pumpkin that appeared at random intervals in the center. The screen top flashed WRONG at those who dared breach the EDL; axis of moving. So wonderfully childish, and my first concern troll, too...
aschultz's avatar
Type Attack (Apple II)

Type Attack review (APP2)

Reviewed on January 24, 2010

Space Invaders was the first game I got tired of on my 2600. Even zapping the lowest enemies got easy. I learned the 112 different games were just a few options. Type Attack replaces zapping aliens with letters, then words, as they invade. A curtain comes down if too many escape. I learned to touch type quickly to break the high score list.
aschultz's avatar
The Treasures of Montezuma 2 (PC)

The Treasures of Montezuma 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on January 21, 2010

You'll likely spend most of your time in said Adventure mode, both because you're initially compelled to do so and because the developers were wise enough to include rewards for working your way through its individual stages. Each success in that mode results in some in-game currency that you can use to purchase upgrades as you progress through the subsequent stages, ensuring that you have reason to keep playing at least for the first 10 hours or so. Once purchased, the upgrades activate if you manage to clear certain icons from the board, or if you eliminate pieces from the same color twice in a row.
honestgamer's avatar
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed - Ultimate Sith Edition (PC)

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed - Ultimate Sith Edition review (PC)

Reviewed on January 18, 2010

It's hard enough dealing with an action game that switches into "surprise bullet time" at the drop of a hat, yet the game's shockingly sluggish performance is far from its only problem. Graphical glitches abound, ranging from the merely annoying to outright show-stoppers. Doors, computer consoles and other objects will occasionally flicker or disappear outright, although they remain solid enough to impede the player's movement. More seriously, in one instance a platform I was required to move with my Force powers also went missing, leaving me unable to progress through the game until, after several futile, frustrating minutes and a quick Google to make sure I wasn't completely off-base about what I was supposed to be doing, I exited and restarted the game.
Malygris's avatar
Syberia (PC)

Syberia review (PC)

Reviewed on January 17, 2010

Syberia tricks you with subtlety on a drip feed: the game’s focus, aim and characters all change so naturally over time that it’s not until you’ve worked your way to the end that you can look back over the whole picture and understand just how well realised the entire experience was.
EmP's avatar
OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast (PC)

OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast review (PC)

Reviewed on January 09, 2010

Realism is overrated. So many games strive to be realistic and claiming so is an exhausted marketing cliché. Arcades have decayed into an out of fashion commodity, where once an experience unseen in home consoles and arcade-quality graphics were a common marketing mantra. Since 3D graphics we’ve been able experience racing, flying, sports and battlefields almost for real almost leaving side-scrolling beat-em-ups and platformers passé.
bigcj34's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.