Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by zanzard and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Der Langrisser (SNES)

Der Langrisser review (SNES)

Reviewed on September 21, 2009

I had quite a dream the other day. In it, I went to my local retailer and excitedly bought a copy of "Shining Force, Expanded Edition". However, after I arrived home and opened the box, I was quite disappointed to find out that what actually was inside the box was not the game I bought, but "Final Fantasy 3, Director's Cut: Play as Kefka" instead. I couldn't play the game I actually wanted to play, but still I had some fun after turning on the special "Castle Shikigami 2" mo...
Buck Rogers: Matrix Cubed (PC)

Buck Rogers: Matrix Cubed review (PC)

Reviewed on September 01, 2009

"Buck Rogers: Matrix Cubed" is the sequel to "Countdown to Doomsday", but it doesn't really feel that way: it feels a lot more like an expansion pack than as a new game. Admittedly, it's an expansion far bigger than the original game, but the point is simple: you pretty much need to have experienced the first game in order to savor all of the spicy old-school epicness oozing forth from this title.
Buck Rogers: Countdown to Doomsday (PC)

Buck Rogers: Countdown to Doomsday review (PC)

Reviewed on August 22, 2009

Buck Rogers: Countdown to doomsday was my favorite RPG in the age of the Mega Drive (AKA Sega Genesis), mostly because it was non-linear in a console where what few RPGs there were available followed the Japanese style of linear and character-centered gameplay. After more than 10 years, I discovered that the explanation behind this was that Buck Rogers first started as an American PC RPG that was pretty much like most American PC RPGs.
Phantasy Star Gaiden (Game Gear)

Phantasy Star Gaiden review (GG)

Reviewed on April 20, 2008

The name of this game promised so much...
My Hero (Sega Master System)

My Hero review (SMS)

Reviewed on April 12, 2008

Video-Games can provide us with many interesting experiences, even in the remote times of the SMS. If I wanted to feel like the ultimate scourge of nature, I could play “Safari Hunt” and shoot down hundreds of wild animals. If I wanted to feel like a true master of Karate, in Body and Spirit, I could play “Black Belt”.
Ultima Worlds of Adventure 2: Martian Dreams (PC)

Ultima Worlds of Adventure 2: Martian Dreams review (PC)

Reviewed on April 04, 2008

Ultima: Martian Dreams is a RPG game.
Warning Forever (PC)

Warning Forever review (PC)

Reviewed on March 29, 2008

Remember those fun days when you played 'Darius'?
Icewind Dale (PC)

Icewind Dale review (PC)

Reviewed on March 21, 2008

I loved the RPG games made by Black Isle.
Star Control 3 (PC)

Star Control 3 review (PC)

Reviewed on March 15, 2008

In a Bargain Bin somewhere I cannot remember, a copy of 'Star Control 3' was sitting idly. The box looked nice and the price was cheap, so I bought it even though I had never heard of it.
Growl (Genesis)

Growl review (GEN)

Reviewed on March 09, 2008

I'm sure it's not the case with everyone, but my experience with games made by Taito has not been very good. Well, at least my experience with their Genesis games.
Barkley, Shut Up and Jam: Gaiden, Chapter 1 of the Hoopz Barkley SaGa (PC)

Barkley, Shut Up and Jam: Gaiden, Chapter 1 of the Hoopz Barkley SaGa review (PC)

Reviewed on February 10, 2008

WARNING: This review is Canon.
X-COM: Apocalypse (PC)

X-COM: Apocalypse review (PC)

Reviewed on February 09, 2008

First, there was naught.
Third World War (Sega CD)

Third World War review (SCD)

Reviewed on January 31, 2008

Strategy game players love nothing more than CONQUERING THE WORLD. In games like “Warlords” or “Birthright”, you set about conquering a fictional world. This is fun, but not not so much as conquering EARTH itself.
Miracle Warriors: Seal of the Dark Lord (Sega Master System)

Miracle Warriors: Seal of the Dark Lord review (SMS)

Reviewed on January 12, 2008

I remember the first time I played Final Fantasy 2 (AKA FF4 in Japan) from start to finish. It was quite nice. One day I thought about playing the whole game again. But then, when I pressed 'Start', before I got control of Cecil & Kain (the heroes), I had to watch a several-minute-long intro. The Intro was interesting the first time, but not this time. I wanted to kill monsters ASAP, not see again the boring reasons that made Cecil start doubting his role as an army commander.
Birthright: The Gorgon's Alliance (PC)

Birthright: The Gorgon's Alliance review (PC)

Reviewed on January 05, 2008

When D&D (and later AD&D) was invented, in the 70's, it was a game made for and by wargame enthusiasts. The 'father' of RPGs placed much importance on numbers and tables. This is probably one of the reasons that the first D&D forays into the PC were made a wargame company, Strategy Simulations Inc. (SSI).
Herzog Zwei (Genesis)

Herzog Zwei review (GEN)

Reviewed on December 23, 2007

HERZOG ZWEI REVIEW PART 1: THE CONCEPT
Darklands (PC)

Darklands review (PC)

Reviewed on November 15, 2007

Dear reader, are you lonely? A bit sad? Not feeling very loved? Well, I have a solution for your woes! Play Darklands!

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2020 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.