Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Illusion of Gaia (SNES)

Illusion of Gaia review (SNES)

Reviewed on October 05, 2012

In fact, the beginning of the game is pretty much one big cliche. Shortly after the game begins, Will unintentionally gets on the wrong side of the local king and queen and is forced to flee the area with the rulers' spoiled and naive daughter. Those two join up with a small group of Will's friends and explore the world to find mysterious artifacts and eventually save everything from a fate most dire. Pretty cut and dry on the surface, but as you dig deeper, you'll find that Illusion of Gaia wonderfully establishes a dark and melancholy mood that effortlessly moves this game far beyond being "just another adventure".
River City Ransom (NES)

River City Ransom review (NES)

Reviewed on September 21, 2012

The main challenge for me when playing River City Ransom was simply surviving the trek between the second and third malls, as you have to travel through many screens and the easier gangs are weeded out in favor of ones that cause a lot more damage when their attacks connect. Lose your rhythm against The Generic Dudes and your life meter will barely notice; do so against The Squids and you'll quickly find yourself sent back to the last mall you reached, but with only half your money (the penalty for falling in battle).
Crystalis (NES)

Crystalis review (NES)

Reviewed on September 11, 2012

It's almost like you're playing an arcade game rather than an action-RPG when you're going against a guy like Mado, who regularly transforms into a giant sphere that erratically pinballs around the tight confines of his room. That’s especially true the second time you confront him, by which point he's added "moves at the speed of light" to his repertoire.
S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team (NES)

S.C.A.T.: Special Cybernetic Attack Team review (NES)

Reviewed on August 24, 2012

I also feel I must note that it takes a certain lack of imagination to put together a game this short and still waste one of the available boss encounters on a generic shooter snake. What makes it even worse is that this generic shooter snake is generic even by generic shooter snake standards, since all it does is meander on and off the screen while occasionally releasing a homing missile.
Ghosts 'N Goblins (NES)

Ghosts 'N Goblins review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2012

I also probably shouldn't forget how you need one particular weapon to simply damage the final boss. Or that if you do manage to kill it, you find out that you were the victim of a cruel hoax and have to do the six main levels over again (at a higher difficulty level, of course) and then fight that guy again in order to actually beat the game. Adding the fake difficulty of a mandatory second trip through an already brutal game is not my idea of fun.
Final Fantasy II (NES)

Final Fantasy II review (NES)

Reviewed on July 19, 2012

If one of them makes a habit of using swords in battle, that character will eventually be far more useful with that kind of weapon than any other. If another one specializes in casting spells, he'll wind up with tons of magic points. And if you regularly encounter weak enemies and ignore those hapless foes to have your party members beat up on each other, their hit points will go through the roof.
Pac-Man (Atari 2600)

Pac-Man review (A2600)

Reviewed on June 21, 2012

However, just because I had fun times with family while playing this game doesn't mean I can excuse its large list of faults. That period of time can best be described as good times with a bad game simply because we didn't know any better.
O.C.D. (Xbox 360)

O.C.D. review (X360)

Reviewed on June 15, 2012

With O.C.D., you grind so you can grind more; you gain skills so you can grind more quickly; you harvest goods to make items and equipment so you can grind even more quickly. The grinding isn't a means to an end, it's the beginning, middle and end!
Game of Thrones (Xbox 360)

Game of Thrones review (X360)

Reviewed on June 05, 2012

While there is magic in the world of Game of Thrones, the majority of it is in Mors' and Alester's respective dog and fire powers. Unlike Dragon Age Origins, there are no darkspawn, no dragons, no werewolves and no sentient trees. Hell, there aren't even any wolves, spiders or bears. You'll fight tons of barbarians, bandits, peasants and soldiers, though…and for all intents and purposes, they're all the same.
The Mist (PC)

The Mist review (PC)

Reviewed on May 25, 2012

You'll be screwing around, attempting to input any damn command the computer might actually recognize, outside the hardware store when suddenly you'll get a "The bug just appeared" message. Now, one of two things will happen. First, if you're lucky enough to have found a bug-killing item AND are lucky enough to figure out the specific way to phrase your command so that you actually use it, you can dispatch the mutated creature. Or, more likely, you'll be dead in a turn or two.
Trials Evolution (Xbox 360)

Trials Evolution review (X360)

Reviewed on May 02, 2012

Well, I'm going to have to find a way to perfectly run tracks that utterly brutalized my biker during my first stab at them. Hell, I'll be happy if I just FINISH the Gigatrack course. Just thinking about running it perfectly seems so unrealistic that I don't even know why I'm considering it a possibility.
Final Fantasy X (PlayStation 2)

Final Fantasy X review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 28, 2012

After that debacle, though, I noticed that Yuna had a particular piece of armor designed to block three particular negative statuses, so I decided to make sure she was always in the party when fighting them. Sure enough, she was able to avoid being confused or silenced by the beast and, as a result, cure my other members so they could finish it off. A tough monster made easier due to me using my brain — I was proud of myself!
Raiders of the Lost Ark (Atari 2600)

Raiders of the Lost Ark review (A2600)

Reviewed on April 21, 2012

Markets are kind of cool, as you collect money in the game and can use it in these places to buy bullets and other useful things. In this one, you also can try to interact with a giant head plastered on the left side of the screen. Which will then kill you. Ha-ha…you have to love trial-and-error puzzle solving! You're not supposed to interact with it…or walk above or below it. In fact, you should pretend its third of the room doesn't even exist.
Jungle Hunt (Atari 2600)

Jungle Hunt review (A2600)

Reviewed on April 06, 2012

You'd start out swinging from vines like Tarzan. Interestingly enough, this game originally was called Jungle King where you controlled a guy who looked like Tarzan. And then the lawsuits came rolling in, so the name of the game and the appearance of the hero were changed, giving you a Dr. Livingston-like character instead.
Wild Arms 2 (PlayStation)

Wild Arms 2 review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 30, 2012

If nothing else, Wild Arms 2 entertains solely because of how comfortable it is seeking refuge in audacity. In the early going, Ashley Winchester, the lead player in an ensemble cast of protagonists, gets possessed by a demon that once threatened to destroy Filgaia, the world in this series. By the end of the game's second disc, a touch of demonic possession seems as normal as watching the sun rise.
Neugier: Umi to Kaze no Koudou (SNES)

Neugier: Umi to Kaze no Koudou review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 15, 2012

How did it get there? We'll never know. It could have dropped through an ceiling (unseen by the player) like a few do in Skyrim; it could have been the result of a Final Fantasy XIII-2 time paradox; hell, it could simply be explained by four simple words: A WIZARD DID IT — at least there's one of those causing trouble in this game!
Chrono Cross (PlayStation)

Chrono Cross review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 03, 2012

However, like I said, those incremental post-boss bonuses do add up over time. It benefits a player to pick a couple sidekicks they really like to keep with them as much as possible. Sorry, Kid, you might be a major player in the plot, but with all the story elements conspiring to keep you out of active duty for extended periods of time, I only used you if the game forced me to.
Final Fantasy XIII (Xbox 360)

Final Fantasy XIII review (X360)

Reviewed on February 24, 2012

At least the fighting was fun — after the game had decided I'd done well enough with the remedial classes and gave me access to everything. Each character can take on a number of roles. Ravagers blitz foes with attack magic, while Commandos deliver powerful melee attacks. Other roles are more specialized, doing things like buffing party members, debuffing foes, casting healing spells and serving as tanks to protect the more frail from powerful assaults. As the game progresses, each character learns new roles, making them more versatile. With a click of a button, you can switch from a set-up with two Ravagers and a Commando to one designed to quickly heal the wounded.
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim review (X360)

Reviewed on February 10, 2012

It's the sort of fantasy epic that perfectly matches the game's barbarian choir musical intro and the constant array of thick nordic voices exhorting you to fight for your country. Still, it was dozens upon dozens of hours before any of this main quest work was done for any reason other than me randomly wandering somewhere I was supposed to be.
Star Ocean: The Last Hope (Xbox 360)

Star Ocean: The Last Hope review (X360)

Reviewed on February 03, 2012

The Bonus Board isn't permanent, though, as if an enemy whacks the character you're controlling with a critical hit, you'll watch a number of your bonuses dissipate. I had a knack for killing stuff with critical hits, so at times, I'd be getting at least an additional 100 percent experience. One of those hard hits against me and it was down to 50 percent and I'd have to build my board back to its former glory (or take another couple critical hits and have to start from scratch).

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.