Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Jungle Hunt (Atari 2600)

Jungle Hunt review (A2600)

Reviewed on April 06, 2012

You'd start out swinging from vines like Tarzan. Interestingly enough, this game originally was called Jungle King where you controlled a guy who looked like Tarzan. And then the lawsuits came rolling in, so the name of the game and the appearance of the hero were changed, giving you a Dr. Livingston-like character instead.
Wild Arms 2 (PlayStation)

Wild Arms 2 review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 30, 2012

If nothing else, Wild Arms 2 entertains solely because of how comfortable it is seeking refuge in audacity. In the early going, Ashley Winchester, the lead player in an ensemble cast of protagonists, gets possessed by a demon that once threatened to destroy Filgaia, the world in this series. By the end of the game's second disc, a touch of demonic possession seems as normal as watching the sun rise.
Neugier: Umi to Kaze no Koudou (SNES)

Neugier: Umi to Kaze no Koudou review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 15, 2012

How did it get there? We'll never know. It could have dropped through an ceiling (unseen by the player) like a few do in Skyrim; it could have been the result of a Final Fantasy XIII-2 time paradox; hell, it could simply be explained by four simple words: A WIZARD DID IT — at least there's one of those causing trouble in this game!
Chrono Cross (PlayStation)

Chrono Cross review (PSX)

Reviewed on March 03, 2012

However, like I said, those incremental post-boss bonuses do add up over time. It benefits a player to pick a couple sidekicks they really like to keep with them as much as possible. Sorry, Kid, you might be a major player in the plot, but with all the story elements conspiring to keep you out of active duty for extended periods of time, I only used you if the game forced me to.
Final Fantasy XIII (Xbox 360)

Final Fantasy XIII review (X360)

Reviewed on February 24, 2012

At least the fighting was fun — after the game had decided I'd done well enough with the remedial classes and gave me access to everything. Each character can take on a number of roles. Ravagers blitz foes with attack magic, while Commandos deliver powerful melee attacks. Other roles are more specialized, doing things like buffing party members, debuffing foes, casting healing spells and serving as tanks to protect the more frail from powerful assaults. As the game progresses, each character learns new roles, making them more versatile. With a click of a button, you can switch from a set-up with two Ravagers and a Commando to one designed to quickly heal the wounded.
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim review (X360)

Reviewed on February 10, 2012

It's the sort of fantasy epic that perfectly matches the game's barbarian choir musical intro and the constant array of thick nordic voices exhorting you to fight for your country. Still, it was dozens upon dozens of hours before any of this main quest work was done for any reason other than me randomly wandering somewhere I was supposed to be.
Star Ocean: The Last Hope (Xbox 360)

Star Ocean: The Last Hope review (X360)

Reviewed on February 03, 2012

The Bonus Board isn't permanent, though, as if an enemy whacks the character you're controlling with a critical hit, you'll watch a number of your bonuses dissipate. I had a knack for killing stuff with critical hits, so at times, I'd be getting at least an additional 100 percent experience. One of those hard hits against me and it was down to 50 percent and I'd have to build my board back to its former glory (or take another couple critical hits and have to start from scratch).
Scarygirl (Xbox 360)

Scarygirl review (X360)

Reviewed on January 28, 2012

Unfortunately, that joy was often marred by frustration. The controls seem a bit loose, which can make precise leaping more trouble that it's worth. Your character is pretty versatile, using her tentacle arm to whack enemies, briefly hover through the air and swing from objects, but it got tricky to consistently pull off some of those moves, especially since the girl struggles with fundamentals like stopping on a dime.
Faery: Legends of Avalon (Xbox 360)

Faery: Legends of Avalon review (X360)

Reviewed on January 17, 2012

The average enemy in this game seemed to come from generic lists of animals and undead. I found it somewhat annoying that the mythical Norse Yggdrasil's dungeons were loaded with hornets and termites instead of, you know, something suited for the game's theme.
Infinite Undiscovery (Xbox 360)

Infinite Undiscovery review (X360)

Reviewed on January 05, 2012

You collect well over a dozen party members, many of whom have little relevance beyond, "Hey, uh, you're out to save the world, so let me help!". Many villains pop up, deliver a couple lines of dialogue, fight you and are killed. It kind of reminded me of the RPGs I played on the NES and SNES where characters would pop up and randomly join or fight you for no reason other than "I'm good; I like you!" or "I'm evil; I hate you!".
Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening (Xbox 360)

Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening review (X360)

Reviewed on December 16, 2011

Meanwhile, you'll primarily be fighting the same stuff from Origins with a handful of new foes...and they just don't have the staying power to last through Awakening. In one dungeon, my guys were hacking down the formerly-feared Revenants like they were generic front-line infantry. Near the end of the game, a High Dragon attacks. The ensuing battle was a lot like when I fought a particular one back in Origins…except this time, I was the one kicking butt instead of the other way around.
Dragon Age: Origins (Xbox 360)

Dragon Age: Origins review (X360)

Reviewed on December 09, 2011

Don't get me wrong — I'm not saying the Darkspawn aren't a threat because they are (just saunter unprepared into an ambush of high-ranking ones for all the proof you need of that), but at least you know what you're getting with them — brutal, unreasoning aggression. That's a lot easier to deal with than the webs of half-truths and lies spun by the average member of Ferelden nobility.
Tales of the Abyss (PlayStation 2)

Tales of the Abyss review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 02, 2011

As you play, though, you'll notice a dark side to the powers that be relying on The Score as their be-all, end-all source of guidance; especially when it's made clear than a number of huge tragedies were caused by man solely to keep things in line with The Score.
Lost Odyssey (Xbox 360)

Lost Odyssey review (X360)

Reviewed on November 18, 2011

In over 1,000 years, he's seen people and kingdoms come and go and has had to find his own way to cope with being seemingly the only constant in a life where everything else is temporary. For much of his existence on this world, Kaim has alternated between traveling and serving as a mercenary — his life a nomadic existence where war is the only constant. No wonder he comes off as cold and antisocial.
The Cursed Crusade (Xbox 360)

The Cursed Crusade review (X360)

Reviewed on November 11, 2011

This game finds a way to turn exciting-sounding historical events, such as the siege of the Croatian city Zara, into linear marches through static environments cluttered with a bunch of melee battles that all play out the same. This might not be the appropriate game for the quote "WHAT A HORRIBLE NIGHT TO HAVE A CURSE", but it fits.
Front Mission Evolved (Xbox 360)

Front Mission Evolved review (X360)

Reviewed on November 04, 2011

With Front Mission Evolved, Square-Enix and Double Helix take virtually all of the strategy out of the title and leave us with a clunky third-person shooter with an uninspired terrorism plot featuring shallow, one-dimensional characters.
Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360)

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions review (X360)

Reviewed on October 28, 2011

Each level revolves around its boss, with some of them creating a memorable experience. Sandman's Amazing (and amazing) stage features the villain spending much of the time in the shape of a tornado. For Spider-Man to reach water towers to tip on him, disrupting his powers, you'll have to use your webbing to zip from one piece of flying debris to another.
Spider-Man: Edge of Time (Xbox 360)

Spider-Man: Edge of Time review (X360)

Reviewed on October 21, 2011

Edge of Time cuts down on the variety and makes the story more of a focus. The modern day's Amazing Spider-Man teams up with the 2099 version to stop a futuristic scientist from achieving his time travel dreams — namely going back in time to start up the Alchemax corporation, so that it (and he) would be an unstoppable force of world domination by the future.
Bejeweled 2 (PC)

Bejeweled 2 review (PC)

Reviewed on October 14, 2011

Adding to the fun are the fruits of putting together four- and five-jewel combos. The former creates a magical sparkly jewel that, if placed into a line of three, will create an explosion to clear out ALL surrounding gems. The latter causes a weird amoeba-like shape to appear. If you find yourself stuck, you can click on it and any surrounding gem to make all of that color get eradicated.
Tales of Vesperia (Xbox 360)

Tales of Vesperia review (X360)

Reviewed on October 07, 2011

Overall, I found the battle system in Tales of Vesperia to do about as good of a job in taking a lot of different components and making them simple and user-friendly as any game I've played. When you get more powerful, you'll be able to obtain a number of more powerful attacks which culminate in the godly Mystic Artes, which spell bad news for anything in their path. Or you, as bosses also start gaining them after you've gotten a ways into the game.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.