Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen (TurboGrafx-16)

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen review (TG16)

Reviewed on April 29, 2005

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen takes the world of horizontally-scrolling shooters and cracks it with a sledgehammer two or three times. Produced by I’Max for the PC Engine in 1992, it combines a few out-of-the-ordinary gameplay features with the sort of insane visuals I haven’t seen since the last time I dropped acid.
Wizards & Warriors (NES)

Wizards & Warriors review (NES)

Reviewed on April 22, 2005

One of the first NES games I ever played was Acclaim’s Wizards and Warriors. Back then, I thought this game was flat-out spectacular. Yeah, it was a bit on the easy side thanks to a system that gave you unlimited continues, but all that meant to me was that Wizards and Warriors was a game I could pick up and beat on those days where I just didn’t feel like enduring the heartbreak of losing my last life fighting the final boss (I’m looking at you, Blaster Master!).
Kirby Super Star (SNES)

Kirby Super Star review (SNES)

Reviewed on April 15, 2005

If the only part of Kirby Super Star that I’d played was the “Milky Way Wishes” adventure, I’d be slapping a “10” on this SNES compilation cart so fast it’d make your head spin!
Curse (Genesis)

Curse review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 08, 2005

If you take a very positive attitude into Micronet Megadrive shooter Curse, you just might find yourself in the midst of a pretty good experience. For being released by one of those unknown companies, Curse is a decent shooter with some fast action.
The Legend of Zelda (NES)

The Legend of Zelda review (NES)

Reviewed on March 31, 2005

You know me as Overdrive, but my name is Rob....and I'm a video game addict.
Fantasy Zone (Sega Master System)

Fantasy Zone review (SMS)

Reviewed on March 25, 2005

A couple of nights ago, I was playing Fantasy Zone on the Master System. I leaned back in my gaming chair while in the item shop and found myself tapping my feet and drumming my fingers to the catchy music. Observing my actions, my wife asked what I was doing. So, I let her have a listen, she agreed the music was catchy and we did a little dance. It was a great, whimsical moment that likely will bring a smile to my face for many days to come.
Soul Blazer (SNES)

Soul Blazer review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 24, 2005

Once upon a time in a land far away, there lived a king. Formerly a kind and generous man, the monarch made a fateful decision to summon a powerful demon. When the foul Deathtoll appeared, the king traded the souls of every living being under his jurisdiction for one gold coin each. That money would wind up unclaimed, though, as the king’s soul was lost, too (he should have read the fine print). Just like that, Deathtoll erased all life from the world and turned it into a ruined and desolate pla...
Rockman & Forte (SNES)

Rockman & Forte review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 19, 2005

RockMan and Forte is sort of an anomaly in the vast field of Mega Man games. Released in 1998 for the Super Famicom, this game really doesn’t fit cleanly into the Blue Bomber’s initial series.
Valkyrie no Bouken: Toki no Kagi Densetsu (NES)

Valkyrie no Bouken: Toki no Kagi Densetsu review (NES)

Reviewed on March 18, 2005

Maybe I should just cut my losses and surrender. After all, the only reason I’m continuing in my attempt to conquer Namco’s astoundingly bad Famicom title Legend of Valkyrie is because I simply cannot accept defeat. But I feel a little more of my sanity slip away every time I sit down and force myself to attempt making heads or tails out of this pathetic precursor to The Legend of Zelda.
Keith Courage In Alpha Zones (TurboGrafx-16)

Keith Courage In Alpha Zones review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 10, 2005

The Turbografx-16 deserved a better fate than to wind up a distant third to the Super Nintendo and Genesis in the console wars. With superb entries in the platforming and shooter genres, it’s hard to see where the system failed.
Rocky Rodent (SNES)

Rocky Rodent review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 04, 2005

In a couple of ways, Rocky Rodent isn’t that bad of a game. Your heroic vermin has some innovative methods of attack and many levels are loaded with obstacles that will at least take some skill to overcome.
El Viento (Genesis)

El Viento review (GEN)

Reviewed on February 24, 2005

It’s not like I was a complete stranger to El Viento. Even before I first played it, I felt like I knew just about everything about the game. A slew of vivid works describing wonderfully-drawn cinemas and creative levels chock full of innovative and bizarre monsters and obstacles are scattered over the net with one thing in common — they all rate this game a Bo Derek-like “10”.
Neutopia (TurboGrafx-16)

Neutopia review (TG16)

Reviewed on February 17, 2005

After I completed the Turbografx-16’s Neutopia, I half-expected to find that the roles of Jazeta, the princess he’s trying to rescue and the evil villain Dirth were played by Link, Zelda and Ganon, respectively. But maybe that was what Hudson was trying to accomplish. After all, Link and his Hyrulian exploits were the hottest thing this side of Mario in Nintendo-land — and success definitely breeds imitation in the world of gaming.
Fighter & Attacker (Arcade)

Fighter & Attacker review (ARC)

Reviewed on February 11, 2005

As I was playing 1992 Namco shooter Fighter & Attacker, one question kept popping into my mind. No, it didn’t involve me wondering how any self-respecting company could think “Fighter & Attacker” would be an attention-grabbing name — this was a far more important matter. As I blew stuff up through the game’s eight levels, I just wanted to know one thing.
Mega Man Battle Network (Game Boy Advance)

Mega Man Battle Network review (GBA)

Reviewed on February 10, 2005

To get employed at Capcom, apparently one thing you have to be able to do is reinvent the Mega Man franchise at a moment’s notice. While most of the different series in that robotic world were based around an action/platforming style of play, the Game Boy Advance got something a bit different.
Mega Man 7 (SNES)

Mega Man 7 review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 03, 2005

By the time Capcom was done running their Mega Man franchise into the ground on the NES, it seemed obvious something needed to change. As the sequels had poured in, it seemed each new game had fewer things to set it apart from its predecessors until the NES series culminated with Mega Man 6 — a completely unnecessary game that seemed content to merely rehash elements of the Blue Bomber’s past few outings.
Ristar (Genesis)

Ristar review (GEN)

Reviewed on February 02, 2005

It never fails. Look at each and every quality videogaming system that’s ever hit the market. They all have had their share of heavily-hyped flops — those games that were awesome to hear about, but nightmarish to play. But, to balance it all out, occasionally you find a surprise. Buried deep in that system’s library, you dig up a game you’ve never heard of before. A game that proves to be one hell of a playing experience. A game like Ristar.
Final Fantasy III (SNES)

Final Fantasy III review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 26, 2005

Three Imperial soldiers advance upon the mining town of Narshe in search of an ancient being of pure power — just the thing to help their liege, Emperor Gestahl, solidify his tyrannical hold on the world. Two are mere lackeys of the corrupt ruler, but the third, a young female named Terra, is different. Far greater than her companions, this lady possesses a beauty that far transcends mere appearances. She is destined to help save the world from its corrupting influences — and it will be beautif...
Ys (NES)

Ys review (NES)

Reviewed on January 20, 2005

Growing up, I never played Ys on my Nintendo Entertainment System.
Suikoden (PlayStation)

Suikoden review (PSX)

Reviewed on January 13, 2005

Once upon a time, when I first bought a Playstation, one of the initial games I purchased was a Konami role-playing game by the name of Suikoden. At first glance, spending money on this game seemed to be a bit of an error in judgement. The graphics looked more suited to a game on the Super Nintendo. More damning was that the plot seemed to be anything but original, as it revolved around a young man beginning his service under the local emperor....only to find out that corruption’s afoot! Yes, th...

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.