Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Blaster Master (NES)

Blaster Master review (NES)

Reviewed on July 08, 2005

Sometimes I think I’m too hard on storytelling in today’s video games. Yeah, sometimes plots get overly convoluted and sometimes you’re stuck in control of a “hero” who looks, sounds and acts like a reject from some ultra-lame boy band, but do I really have the right to complain? I’m from the old school, where stories were non-existent much of the time. And you know what? We often were grateful when those “plots” didn’t actually weave their way into the fabric of the actual game!
Bahamut Lagoon (SNES)

Bahamut Lagoon review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2005

A year or two ago, I finally got the opportunity to lay my hands on Square’s epic turn-based strategy game, Bahamut Lagoon. As a big fan of that company’s SNES stuff, I booted it up, KNOWING I was about to play a game I’d consider a classic for the rest of my life. After breezing through a couple of the introductory battles, I was pumped — prepared to play through the entire quest non-stop. It was perfect!
Final Fight 2 (SNES)

Final Fight 2 review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 23, 2005

Let’s face it, Capcom’s SNES port of masterful brawler Final Fight was a bit of a disappointment. Not only were fans of the original were “treated” to simpler fights, with no more than three foes on screen at once, but also to some surprising omissions. Gone were one complete level of the arcade game, two-player simultaneous play AND super-cool character Guy. Sure, the game still had the ultra-awesome Final Fight vibe, but a deaf, dumb and blind man could tell something important w...
Final Fight (Arcade)

Final Fight review (ARC)

Reviewed on June 22, 2005

Mike Haggar probably won’t remind you of your town’s mayor. The head of Metro City’s government is, to be frank, a steroid-enhanced freak of nature whose idea of bringing law to the masses involves taking to the streets, getting his hands on each individual hooligan and beating the everloving life out of him or her.
Streets of Rage (Genesis)

Streets of Rage review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 15, 2005

Back when I was a youngster, I looked forward to the one week of the year my rural community held its county fair for one reason and one reason only. For those seven or so days, I lived only a couple of miles from a working Final Fight arcade machine.
Thunder Force II (Genesis)

Thunder Force II review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 08, 2005

TechnoSoft’s Thunder Force series of shooters has gained much renown over the years as one of the shining stars of the genre. Combining fast-paced, twitchy action with a few diabolically difficult memorization sections, these games have proven capable of challenging virtually every skill a veteran player may have developed.
Final Fantasy VIII (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy VIII review (PSX)

Reviewed on June 07, 2005

Final Fantasy VIII is a gorgeous work of art. It has a damn good story, too. But, to my chagrin, I have to say that Final Fantasy VIII is a pretty shoddy game — one that betrayed the magnificence of the previous two games in the series and, in my eyes, brought Square’s monolithic series plummeting from its perch on top of the role-playing world.
Jackal (NES)

Jackal review (NES)

Reviewed on June 02, 2005

Back in 1988, Konami-designed Metal Gear hit America and earned release on the NES. Its combination of action and espionage was critically acclaimed and paved the way for one of the most successful franchises of recent memory.
Adventure Island II (NES)

Adventure Island II review (NES)

Reviewed on May 13, 2005

Hmmm, does a NES game where a short, chubby guy is off to save the local damsel in distress sounds a wee bit familiar? Nope, I’m not talking about one of the Super Mario Brothers games, although you could be forgiven for thinking so. Thanks to the overwhelming success of that series, it seemed like most third-party companies had a hankering to get a piece of the “short, fat hero” pie.
Gradius (NES)

Gradius review (NES)

Reviewed on May 06, 2005

If there is one fond memory I have of Gradius and its hordes of sequels and spin-offs, it is simply the way that all the levels meld together to form what appears to be a single, constantly-shifting juggernaut of a stage. That just gives Konami’s main contribution to the world of shooters a certain flow that’s lacking in many games of the genre, where you tend to be randomly teleported from one locale to another — leaving you to guess exactly how all those diverse regions are connected.
Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen (TurboGrafx-16)

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen review (TG16)

Reviewed on April 29, 2005

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen takes the world of horizontally-scrolling shooters and cracks it with a sledgehammer two or three times. Produced by I’Max for the PC Engine in 1992, it combines a few out-of-the-ordinary gameplay features with the sort of insane visuals I haven’t seen since the last time I dropped acid.
Wizards & Warriors (NES)

Wizards & Warriors review (NES)

Reviewed on April 22, 2005

One of the first NES games I ever played was Acclaim’s Wizards and Warriors. Back then, I thought this game was flat-out spectacular. Yeah, it was a bit on the easy side thanks to a system that gave you unlimited continues, but all that meant to me was that Wizards and Warriors was a game I could pick up and beat on those days where I just didn’t feel like enduring the heartbreak of losing my last life fighting the final boss (I’m looking at you, Blaster Master!).
Kirby Super Star (SNES)

Kirby Super Star review (SNES)

Reviewed on April 15, 2005

If the only part of Kirby Super Star that I’d played was the “Milky Way Wishes” adventure, I’d be slapping a “10” on this SNES compilation cart so fast it’d make your head spin!
Curse (Genesis)

Curse review (GEN)

Reviewed on April 08, 2005

If you take a very positive attitude into Micronet Megadrive shooter Curse, you just might find yourself in the midst of a pretty good experience. For being released by one of those unknown companies, Curse is a decent shooter with some fast action.
The Legend of Zelda (NES)

The Legend of Zelda review (NES)

Reviewed on March 31, 2005

You know me as Overdrive, but my name is Rob....and I'm a video game addict.
Fantasy Zone (Sega Master System)

Fantasy Zone review (SMS)

Reviewed on March 25, 2005

A couple of nights ago, I was playing Fantasy Zone on the Master System. I leaned back in my gaming chair while in the item shop and found myself tapping my feet and drumming my fingers to the catchy music. Observing my actions, my wife asked what I was doing. So, I let her have a listen, she agreed the music was catchy and we did a little dance. It was a great, whimsical moment that likely will bring a smile to my face for many days to come.
Soul Blazer (SNES)

Soul Blazer review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 24, 2005

Once upon a time in a land far away, there lived a king. Formerly a kind and generous man, the monarch made a fateful decision to summon a powerful demon. When the foul Deathtoll appeared, the king traded the souls of every living being under his jurisdiction for one gold coin each. That money would wind up unclaimed, though, as the king’s soul was lost, too (he should have read the fine print). Just like that, Deathtoll erased all life from the world and turned it into a ruined and desolate pla...
Rockman & Forte (SNES)

Rockman & Forte review (SNES)

Reviewed on March 19, 2005

RockMan and Forte is sort of an anomaly in the vast field of Mega Man games. Released in 1998 for the Super Famicom, this game really doesn’t fit cleanly into the Blue Bomber’s initial series.
Valkyrie no Bouken: Toki no Kagi Densetsu (NES)

Valkyrie no Bouken: Toki no Kagi Densetsu review (NES)

Reviewed on March 18, 2005

Maybe I should just cut my losses and surrender. After all, the only reason I’m continuing in my attempt to conquer Namco’s astoundingly bad Famicom title Legend of Valkyrie is because I simply cannot accept defeat. But I feel a little more of my sanity slip away every time I sit down and force myself to attempt making heads or tails out of this pathetic precursor to The Legend of Zelda.
Keith Courage In Alpha Zones (TurboGrafx-16)

Keith Courage In Alpha Zones review (TG16)

Reviewed on March 10, 2005

The Turbografx-16 deserved a better fate than to wind up a distant third to the Super Nintendo and Genesis in the console wars. With superb entries in the platforming and shooter genres, it’s hard to see where the system failed.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.