Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Dangerous Seed (Genesis)

Dangerous Seed review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 03, 2005

I’m not amused.
Whip Rush 2222 AD (Genesis)

Whip Rush 2222 AD review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 01, 2005

If you want to give Renovation credit for one thing when they released Whip Rush 2222 A.D. for the Genesis in 1990, praise them for knowing how to copy from good games.
Verytex (Genesis)

Verytex review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2005

For the most part, Verytex is an unremarkable game. The 1991 vertically-scrolling Asmik shooter for the Megadrive is unable to boast great graphics or innovative play. Its six levels are, for the most part, relatively easy, with only a couple of fun boss fights standing out in my head as noteworthy battles. In some areas, you’ll struggle to make out enemies or bullets against rapidly-scrolling backgrounds — a cardinal sin of the genre. All-in-all, this should have been an easy game for me...
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (Atari 2600)

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back review (A2600)

Reviewed on August 08, 2005

Over the past handful of years, I’ve had to repress a cynical chuckle more than once. With the birth of the most recent Star Wars trilogy came a slew of video games designed to capitalize on the popularity of the revered movie franchise. As can be expected whenever consoles and computers try to recapture cinematic magic, the results often were less than stellar.
Ultimate Doom (Mac)

Ultimate Doom review (MAC)

Reviewed on August 03, 2005

For someone like me, who likely is never going to leave the planet Earth, the thought of becoming a Space Marine is an attractive prospect. Being able to travel to distant planets and call the moons of Mars my home sounds like the adventure of a lifetime! Sadly, as classic first-person shooter Doom illustrates, there is a wee bit of a darkside to holding such an occupation. For mysterious reasons, the forces of Hell pay a little visit to Phobos and Deimos (those Martian moons, for those n...
Warlords (Mac)

Warlords review (MAC)

Reviewed on July 28, 2005

A lone hero stands in the city his people call home. He feels an immense amount of pressure weigh upon his broad shoulders, as his death would be a crippling blow to his people in their attempts to unite the 80 cities scattered throughout the land. Seven other heroes representing seven other factions all have their own dreams of conquest and glory. Letting any of them obtain a tactical advantage could easily become a fatal mistake. For no matter how adept with the blade his people become, there ...
Zed Blade (NeoGeo)

Zed Blade review (NEO)

Reviewed on July 22, 2005

When I think of the Neo-Geo’s small library of horizontal shooters, the first thing that comes to mind is R-Type. No, Irem never put any of their flagship franchise’s games on this system, but you don’t exactly have to be a genius to see that influence in games such as Pulstar, Last Resort and (to a lesser degree) Blazing Star. So, why would I expect anything drastically different from the obscure Zed Blade?
Blaster Master (NES)

Blaster Master review (NES)

Reviewed on July 08, 2005

Sometimes I think I’m too hard on storytelling in today’s video games. Yeah, sometimes plots get overly convoluted and sometimes you’re stuck in control of a “hero” who looks, sounds and acts like a reject from some ultra-lame boy band, but do I really have the right to complain? I’m from the old school, where stories were non-existent much of the time. And you know what? We often were grateful when those “plots” didn’t actually weave their way into the fabric of the actual game!
Bahamut Lagoon (SNES)

Bahamut Lagoon review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2005

A year or two ago, I finally got the opportunity to lay my hands on Square’s epic turn-based strategy game, Bahamut Lagoon. As a big fan of that company’s SNES stuff, I booted it up, KNOWING I was about to play a game I’d consider a classic for the rest of my life. After breezing through a couple of the introductory battles, I was pumped — prepared to play through the entire quest non-stop. It was perfect!
Final Fight 2 (SNES)

Final Fight 2 review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 23, 2005

Let’s face it, Capcom’s SNES port of masterful brawler Final Fight was a bit of a disappointment. Not only were fans of the original were “treated” to simpler fights, with no more than three foes on screen at once, but also to some surprising omissions. Gone were one complete level of the arcade game, two-player simultaneous play AND super-cool character Guy. Sure, the game still had the ultra-awesome Final Fight vibe, but a deaf, dumb and blind man could tell something important w...
Final Fight (Arcade)

Final Fight review (ARC)

Reviewed on June 22, 2005

Mike Haggar probably won’t remind you of your town’s mayor. The head of Metro City’s government is, to be frank, a steroid-enhanced freak of nature whose idea of bringing law to the masses involves taking to the streets, getting his hands on each individual hooligan and beating the everloving life out of him or her.
Streets of Rage (Genesis)

Streets of Rage review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 15, 2005

Back when I was a youngster, I looked forward to the one week of the year my rural community held its county fair for one reason and one reason only. For those seven or so days, I lived only a couple of miles from a working Final Fight arcade machine.
Thunder Force II (Genesis)

Thunder Force II review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 08, 2005

TechnoSoft’s Thunder Force series of shooters has gained much renown over the years as one of the shining stars of the genre. Combining fast-paced, twitchy action with a few diabolically difficult memorization sections, these games have proven capable of challenging virtually every skill a veteran player may have developed.
Final Fantasy VIII (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy VIII review (PSX)

Reviewed on June 07, 2005

Final Fantasy VIII is a gorgeous work of art. It has a damn good story, too. But, to my chagrin, I have to say that Final Fantasy VIII is a pretty shoddy game — one that betrayed the magnificence of the previous two games in the series and, in my eyes, brought Square’s monolithic series plummeting from its perch on top of the role-playing world.
Jackal (NES)

Jackal review (NES)

Reviewed on June 02, 2005

Back in 1988, Konami-designed Metal Gear hit America and earned release on the NES. Its combination of action and espionage was critically acclaimed and paved the way for one of the most successful franchises of recent memory.
Adventure Island II (NES)

Adventure Island II review (NES)

Reviewed on May 13, 2005

Hmmm, does a NES game where a short, chubby guy is off to save the local damsel in distress sounds a wee bit familiar? Nope, I’m not talking about one of the Super Mario Brothers games, although you could be forgiven for thinking so. Thanks to the overwhelming success of that series, it seemed like most third-party companies had a hankering to get a piece of the “short, fat hero” pie.
Gradius (NES)

Gradius review (NES)

Reviewed on May 06, 2005

If there is one fond memory I have of Gradius and its hordes of sequels and spin-offs, it is simply the way that all the levels meld together to form what appears to be a single, constantly-shifting juggernaut of a stage. That just gives Konami’s main contribution to the world of shooters a certain flow that’s lacking in many games of the genre, where you tend to be randomly teleported from one locale to another — leaving you to guess exactly how all those diverse regions are connected.
Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen (TurboGrafx-16)

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen review (TG16)

Reviewed on April 29, 2005

Bouken Danshaken Don San-Heart Hen takes the world of horizontally-scrolling shooters and cracks it with a sledgehammer two or three times. Produced by I’Max for the PC Engine in 1992, it combines a few out-of-the-ordinary gameplay features with the sort of insane visuals I haven’t seen since the last time I dropped acid.
Wizards & Warriors (NES)

Wizards & Warriors review (NES)

Reviewed on April 22, 2005

One of the first NES games I ever played was Acclaim’s Wizards and Warriors. Back then, I thought this game was flat-out spectacular. Yeah, it was a bit on the easy side thanks to a system that gave you unlimited continues, but all that meant to me was that Wizards and Warriors was a game I could pick up and beat on those days where I just didn’t feel like enduring the heartbreak of losing my last life fighting the final boss (I’m looking at you, Blaster Master!).
Kirby Super Star (SNES)

Kirby Super Star review (SNES)

Reviewed on April 15, 2005

If the only part of Kirby Super Star that I’d played was the “Milky Way Wishes” adventure, I’d be slapping a “10” on this SNES compilation cart so fast it’d make your head spin!

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.