Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Parasite Eve (PlayStation)

Parasite Eve review (PSX)

Reviewed on October 05, 2006

The main problem is that whenever Aya gets into a fight, the game has to load in the monsters, which takes a couple of seconds. During this time, the screen freezes and turns gray, essentially screaming, “Hey stupid! You are going to be in a fight. Gird those loins and start shooting!”
Streets of Rage 2 (Genesis)

Streets of Rage 2 review (GEN)

Reviewed on September 29, 2006

And make no mistake — losing the services of Adam was such a crushing blow to comrades Axel and Blaze that they needed to enlist TWO other vigilante crime fighters in an attempt to replace him. Skate is a skateboarder who I’ve never used or even considered using. Just look at the little pipsqueak and you’ll understand. Max is a big, powerful guy who suffers from being the slowest-moving human being in the world. Sure, he can wade through Mr. X’s foot soldiers with ease, littering the city streets with broken bodies and shattered dreams, but put him against nimble, agile foes and things get ugly.
Tecmo Super Bowl (NES)

Tecmo Super Bowl review (NES)

Reviewed on September 22, 2006

Under the computer’s control, Christian Okoye and Barry Word are near-impossible to tackle unless the player is able to guess which play will be called (which causes the entire defense to gang-rush the unlucky ball carrier). If I was lucky, the computer would try to have Steve DeBerg pass his team to victory. If not, I’d repeatedly watch Okoye and Word crush my defenders on one long touchdown run after another, while praying I’d be able to score last to win a 35-31 brawl.
Rule of Rose (PlayStation 2)

Rule of Rose review (PS2)

Reviewed on September 12, 2006

Jennifer's about as comfortable (and skilled) with deadly knifes and other weaponry as one would expect the average teenage girl to be. Put a powerful lead pipe in her hands and watch as she swings, misses and takes what seems like an eternity to regain her equilibrium. Using short-range weapons like the assorted knives found throughout the game might solve that problem, but getting close enough to foes to make contact isn't always a good idea.
Wild Arms 3 (PlayStation 2)

Wild Arms 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 27, 2006

After each defeat, they showed legitimate concerns their efforts might be destined to fail....but still pushed on, determined to succeed no matter what obstacles my characters threw in front of them. It was hard for me to not be impressed by their teamwork, diligence and utter dedication to accomplishing their tasks. The traits bestowed upon them by Sony almost made their villainy seem heroic.
Power Strike II (Game Gear)

Power Strike II review (GG)

Reviewed on August 20, 2006

For a hand-held game, it’s pretty top-of-the-line, but I’ve never felt that portable systems and shooters were the best match. There’s no way to even come close to duplicating that magical arcade feeling on a screen the size of a potato. Instead of being so enthralled by this very respectable title that I was able to instantly unleash the shooter review to end all shooter reviews....I found myself wishing I’d scrapped the whole idea and just played M.U.S.H.A. again. I liked the game, but by the time I was done, I merely felt I’d played a good hand-held shooter, as opposed to a good shooter, period.
Exile (Genesis)

Exile review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 03, 2006

However, I soon realized that virtually everything had suddenly been reduced to nothing more than speed bumps. If an enemy hit me, I didn’t even flinch. My preferred boss strategy was simply to stand in front of the villain and hit the “attack” button as rapidly as I could until it perished. At some point in the game, Sadler learned magic. I never cast a single spell. I also didn’t bother purchasing the stat-enhancing items and only used a total of four healing goods (two during the final boss fight).
The Suffering (PlayStation 2)

The Suffering review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 28, 2006

After a certain point in the game, most players will be used to that sort of chaotic action, as The Suffering revels in it. Torque spends much of the game trapped in a lunatic’s nightmare, surrounded by panicking guards and inmates fighting each other, as well as their otherworldly foes.
Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse (NES)

Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse review (NES)

Reviewed on July 20, 2006

In Castlevania III, Death still is a brutal opponent (and making it a two-part battle doesn’t help), but a number of blocks are strategically placed in his room, so a skilled player can chase the reaper from one corner to the next. Trevor might have no safe places to hide, but neither does his undead foe! It might not seem like a big deal, but trust me — the odds are a lot more even here than in Castlevania.
Super C (NES)

Super C review (NES)

Reviewed on July 12, 2006

Winged soldiers come out of holes in the wall and glide to their level while mounted cannons provide a lethal distraction. And being distracted WILL lead to being dead on this level, as missing a jump and falling off the screen is as fatal as taking a round in the throat. As Scorpion and Mad Dog get closer to the top, an elevator catches up to them, forcing them to advance past these (and more) foes at a steady pace.
Task Force Harrier EX (Genesis)

Task Force Harrier EX review (GEN)

Reviewed on July 07, 2006

After completing the bland, but inoffensive, first stage, I noticed the second looked exactly the same. As did the third. And the fourth. Yep, this game possesses 13 stages and the first four were near-identical, with my plane flying over the Siberian tundra or some similarly frozen wasteland.
The 7th Saga (SNES)

The 7th Saga review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 06, 2006

Enix went all-out to craft monsters that would test the mettle of even the most battle-tested adventurer. I faced instant-death attacks, brutal fireball and tornado spells and devastating melee attacks in fights with both bosses and run-of-the-mill overworld denizens. Just when I’d think a particularly tough battle was finally going in my favor, one foe would resurrect a fallen comrade or completely heal itself, forcing me to essentially start over.
Totally Rad (NES)

Totally Rad review (NES)

Reviewed on June 30, 2006

And so, young and awesome Jake sets off into the wild blue yonder, endeavoring to complete five whole stages of magic and mayhem, rescue Allison, rescue Allison’s father (no clue how he fits into things, other than to give Jake another reason to look like a big-shot in front of his girl) and spew out TOTALLY RAD dialogue, all of which I forced myself to forget as soon as the words left my screen.
Plok (SNES)

Plok review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 23, 2006

The final area’s penchant for giving Plok strange tools and forcing him to use them to overcome obstacles reaches its peak at the very end of the game, as he must fight the final boss wearing a pair of spring shoes that force him to bound around the arena in a very hard-to-control fashion. Nothing like a climactic battle where I get killed solely because my hero is constantly bouncing into the path of what should be easily-dodged bullets!
Sagaia (Genesis)

Sagaia review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 21, 2006

Due to the path I'm taking, my objective is the sea urchin-like monstrosity known as Leadain — a foul contraption with multiple deadly attacks and seemingly more lives than a cat. It kills me, forcing me to re-enter the fray with only a pair of pea-shooter weapons. Not even the luck of the gods will allow me to see the next level under these conditions.
Metal Saga (PlayStation 2)

Metal Saga review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 09, 2006

I had no reason to go anywhere other than to get in fights and earn money to buy better equipment for my characters and their tanks. With no motivation beyond personal gain, everything I accomplished in Metal Saga seemed hollow — a never-ending series of frivolous events only connected by their lack of connection.
Shining Force (Genesis)

Shining Force review (GEN)

Reviewed on June 08, 2006

During the game’s final battles, I didn’t have the courage to send Max into the heart of conflict. Why? Because if he gets defeated, the game ends and I found out the hard way that one unlucky confrontation can accomplish that in the blink of an eye.
Formula One: Built to Win (NES)

Formula One: Built to Win review (NES)

Reviewed on June 05, 2006

There wasn’t much of a difference between the first few Formula One races and the last few American ones, so I jumped out to a hefty lead in the points standings over real-life drivers of the time (with slightly altered names, such as “A. Frost” instead of Alain Prost or “A. Zenna” instead of Ayrton Senna). I was feeling fine. Only a few races from winning the F-1 championship, I felt not even the wrath of God himself could stop me!
Mike Tyson's Punch-Out! (NES)

Mike Tyson's Punch-Out! review (NES)

Reviewed on June 01, 2006

France’s most stalwart athlete, Glass Joe, quickly finds out his career is heading for a humiliating end, as his punches are easily dodged by Mac, who then responds by sending jab after jab into Joe’s face. The fight is short and brutal — with Glass Joe spending more time face down than the average hentai game chick.
Faxanadu (NES)

Faxanadu review (NES)

Reviewed on May 21, 2006

However, one cannot simply loiter near town enriching themselves through the lucrative practice of repeated suicide. The regions of Faxanadu are loaded with dungeons, as well as hostile, mutated dwarves that mean business! Considering the limitations of the NES, many of this game's assortment of baddies are simply incredible. Just look at the boss shaped like a monstrous torso as it bounces towards the hero, teeth gnashing in anticipation of their inevitable plunge through his armor into soft flesh.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.