Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Star Ocean: Till the End of Time (PlayStation 2)

Star Ocean: Till the End of Time review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 08, 2010

In Till the End of Time, you don't exist in some primitive medieval world dominated by swords and sorcery. Nope, you're in a massive galaxy with all sorts of planets — many of which are quite advanced technologically. You get teased by this in the early going as protagonist Fayt (pronounced "fate") and family are chilling out in some futuristic resort. Then all hell breaks loose, Fayt gets separated from everyone and winds up in an escape pod that crashes...on a primitive medieval world.
Project: Snowblind (PlayStation 2)

Project: Snowblind review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 10, 2010

While there's never really a place in Project: Snowblind where stealth is a necessity, it's always an option. And I have to admit, I do feel a certain sense of satisfaction when my creeping through ducts grants me the opportunity to gun down a couple of unsuspecting soldiers who were lying in wait for me to come nonchalantly strolling down that wide-open corridor.
Darwinia+ (Xbox 360)

Darwinia+ review (X360)

Reviewed on March 26, 2010

With the introduction of spiders, things rapidly became more difficult. I had to rely on grenades to damage them, as they seemed immune to laser fire. Making that difficult was their habit of suddenly pouncing at my unit when within range. Until I'd really enhanced my grenade-throwing range and could blast them before they noticed my squad's presence, they were able to decimate squads with ease.
Fire Emblem: Monshou no Nazo (SNES)

Fire Emblem: Monshou no Nazo review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 26, 2010

Other than that, in Monshou no Nazo, there's a certain generic feel to characters. Some guys are faster and get critical hits more often. Others ride horses (which they must dismount to participate in castle levels), so they can cover terrain more quickly. A few more either use bows, can unlock doors and chests or have superior defense at the cost of inferior speed. Overall, most of them tend to mesh together into a big glob of the mundane.
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PlayStation 3)

Batman: Arkham Asylum review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 17, 2010

t's safe to say that Arkham Asylum is carried by the Joker. He isn't just your main adversary — his presence is EVERYWHERE. Due to all the monitors and stuff that's part of Arkham's security system, you'll see his face and listen to his taunts everywhere you visit. If he's not verbally ripping common thugs a new one for their inability to take you out, he'll be cackling over the next deathtrap that's been placed between you and him.
Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment (Xbox 360)

Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment review (X360)

Reviewed on January 30, 2010

On one level, Flames of Judgment proudly lives up to the original's standard. This Live Arcade release did bring me back down memory lane a few times. The problem is that it didn't do so for very long. The average turn-based strategy game I've played seems to have about 25-35 main quest battles. Here, there's about 15 or so.
Wacky Races (NES)

Wacky Races review (NES)

Reviewed on January 13, 2010

Each of the 10 levels looks different and is divided into multiple parts. Muttley's opposition varies from level to level, as well, which at least gives the illusion you're doing something different in each stage. Sure, for the most part, you're running and jumping from left to right on the screen while avoiding or disposing of foes, but when the monsters and locales are constantly changing, it at least tricks me into not realizing that most of the game's "variety" is superficial.
Ys III: Wanderers From Ys (SNES)

Ys III: Wanderers From Ys review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 04, 2010

Adding to Adol's problems is the sad truth that everyone in Redmont (including Dogi) is completely worthless, so he'll have to bail everyone out with little help beyond getting pointed in a given direction and sent off with a hearty, "You can do it, dude!" And then there's Chester. The brother of potential romance option Ellena falls into the category of erstwhile hero/tragic villain/unbelievably idiotic dumbass, as he combines arrogant blustering with possibly the least intelligent plan for revenge imaginable.
James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (Xbox 360)

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game review (X360)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

While I've seen terms like "revolutionary" and "breathtaking" tossed at the movie with regularity, the game is more worthy of commentary such as "another movie license game". It's pretty and I had a decent time with it, but I can't say that it's anything more than a decent action title riding the coattails of a major cinematic release.
Revelations: The Demon Slayer (Game Boy Color)

Revelations: The Demon Slayer review (GBC)

Reviewed on November 13, 2009

Take SMT: Nocturne for example: in this game, you're alone. Without your monstrous allies, you'll be quickly overwhelmed. Here, it doesn't take long to gain one HUMAN ally and a second joins shortly after that. The monsters are more of a novelty than a necessity, as I never really needed their help to do anything in this game. And with many of them being more along the lines of "typical RPG beastie" than "SUPER-AWESOME GOD OF THUNDER", I didn't miss their presence.
The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles review (X360)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

The paranoid Duchess is convinced someone's out to get her, so you get to escort her inquisitor around town to solve this mystery. Whenever a citizen isn't being forthcoming enough for your tastes, just give the order and (to the townsperson's horror) he'll torture them with a good old-fashioned shock spell to loosen their lips.
Ion Assault (Xbox 360)

Ion Assault review (X360)

Reviewed on October 16, 2009

It's a good thing Ion Assault gives players unlimited continues, as a good deal of the difficulty in this game comes from simply learning when and where enemies will warp into the screen. During my first trip through the first zone, I died a few times on every level, but the first. During the second trip, the boss was the only thing I found challenging.
Final Doom (Mac)

Final Doom review (MAC)

Reviewed on October 09, 2009

Hell, in just one courtyard, you'll first have to deal with a legion of Mancubi while a few Revenants are aiming their missiles at you from higher ground. Finish them off and hit a couple of switches and a bunch of Arachnotrons make their presence felt. Dispose of them and flip a couple more switches to trigger a massive Cacodemon invasion. All in all, this is a very exhilarating series of battles and it's only one tiny part of this massive, combat-heavy level.
Streets of Fury (Xbox 360)

Streets of Fury review (X360)

Reviewed on October 08, 2009

They're designed and animated using digitalized actors (kind of like Mortal Kombat), which was an interesting choice to say the least. And occasionally comical, as when certain foes go down, they tend to fall as gingerly as possible, as if the actor was thinking, "Gotta be careful! Don't want to bruise my hip or anything making this look good!"
Final Fantasy Adventure (Game Boy)

Final Fantasy Adventure review (GB)

Reviewed on September 30, 2009

You control a gladiator enslaved by Dark Lord, but within moments, you escape.....and have the bad luck to immediately run into Dark Lord and his pal Julius while they're plotting nefarious deeds. They notice you and decide that tossing you off a cliff is a fitting punishment for eavesdropping. Fortunately, since you are the game's hero, you survive and embark on all sorts of heroic tasks — in particular, attempting to protect a young woman from the dastardly forces of evil, as she seems to be essential to their plans.
Wild Arms (PlayStation)

Wild Arms review (PSX)

Reviewed on September 17, 2009

You'll be expected to use those tools (and your wits) to make it through the many obstacles these ruins hold. Shortly after Cecilia gets a wand allowing her to converse with animals, you'll be locked in a dungeon room with the only way out being to talk to the scary looking wolf that's materialized next to you and follow it along a convoluted path. Distant switches can be manipulated by Jack's pet rodent, Hanpan, while Rudy's bombs come in useful from the moment you're introduced to him until you've reached the final bosses.
Mazes of Fate (Game Boy Advance)

Mazes of Fate review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 21, 2009

Despite not being overly enthralled with this place, it was paradise compared to the Underground Temple, which started with a lengthy fetch quest. In this sort of game, I might be told to obtain one item or another, but I won't feel like I'm doing some sort of mundane busywork in the process. If some guy says,
Splosion Man (Xbox 360)

Splosion Man review (X360)

Reviewed on August 09, 2009

In possibly the most massive scientific lab ever imagined, the scientist you control made an awesome discovery allowing him to detonate his own body regularly with no physical harm. Unfortunately, there was a minor side effect, as the chap is now pretty frickin' insane; causing the other scientists to lock him away in solitary confinement.
Icarus: Alien Vanguard (PC)

Icarus: Alien Vanguard review (PC)

Reviewed on August 06, 2009

Shuttlecraft, the first level, is arguably the best introduction to a Doom game I've experienced. It's longer than most and there are a few sneaky little tricks to ensure it's a good bit tougher than expected for the first map. It has this tiny chapel that seems non-threatening and actually is uninhabited when you enter, but things go Silent Hill and it transforms into the sort of nightmarish place you'd expect black mass sacrifices to be held. Not to mention all those imps that appear to ensure you're that sacrifice. Pure gold.
Vagrant Story (PlayStation)

Vagrant Story review (PSX)

Reviewed on July 30, 2009

Every combat action Ashley takes affects a risk meter. As it rises, both good and bad things happen. He can cause much more damage, but his accuracy and defense both suffer. If you gain high risk because you chained a 10-hit combo on some fool and immediately get assaulted by something else, you'll receive a severe dose of pain.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.