Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by overdrive and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Clash of the Titans (Xbox 360)

Clash of the Titans review (X360)

Reviewed on August 13, 2010

Early in the game, after Hades has threatened the royal family of Argos, Perseus has to prove he's worthy to champion their cause. No big deal...until you realize that the other royal soldiers have a seemingly endless list of tasks that get repetitive in a hurry. You'll be running around the city killing monsters, then you'll be trying to outperform a pair of guards at monster-slaying in a set amount of time, then you'll be fighting off five or six guards in the arena...and then you'll be doing it all again, but with different monsters and guards. After enough of this, being told to find a fish for a hungry comrade seems exciting.
Summoner (PlayStation 2)

Summoner review (PS2)

Reviewed on August 05, 2010

The dialogue gives the game an illusion of vastness. Take Murod, for example. The only time your party meets him is fairly late in the game when you fight him to the death. But it FEELS like he's a much more substantial character simply due to all the conversations you have that describe his character by detailing how he usurped his throne and plans to build an immense tower to the skies to conquer heaven. You may not know the dude, but by the time you meet him, you have more than enough reasons to send him to the afterlife.
Star Wars: Dark Forces (Mac)

Star Wars: Dark Forces review (MAC)

Reviewed on July 31, 2010

If Mohc's plans come to fruition, the rebels are screwed. Instead of facing unending hordes of bumbling white-armored goofs seemingly incapable of hitting ANYTHING with their lasers, they'll be butchered ruthlessly by unending hordes of lethal killing machines. As the game's title suggests, dark forces are indeed threatening those opposing the tyrannical empire.
Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360)

Enchanted Arms review (X360)

Reviewed on July 23, 2010

The emperor of one of the game's regions is a morbidly obese, incompetent, cowardly moron who spends his time sleeping, eating and cavorting with his personal harem of golem girls (who appear "Chris Hanson is watching" young) while delegating minor things like the enforcement of his rule to an unscrupulous ninja who only cares about the fate of his clan. It's obvious things probably won't end well for Tokimune, but it's still near-impossible to not laugh out loud during every one of his scenes.
Doom (SNES)

Doom review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 08, 2010

After mere moments of playing through the first level of the first (of three) episodes, I was wondering if my killing machine of a space marine had been replaced by Stephen Hawking. You will move really slowly and choppily through levels AND the controls aren't responsive. There's a brief delay between you using the control pad and your character actually moving, which isn't a very desirable thing in an action game.
TwinBee 3: Poko Poko Dai Maou (NES)

TwinBee 3: Poko Poko Dai Maou review (NES)

Reviewed on July 01, 2010

In Detana!! TwinBee (aka: Bells & Whistles), the entire game exhibited the same sort of imagination these bosses did. There were floating cities, waterfalls in outer space and other enchanting sights to fly over. Here...there's a quintet of generic-looking backgrounds ranging from the mundane beach-and-water combo of the second stage to the atrocious checkerboard design of the final level.
Tecmo Secret of the Stars: A Fantasy (SNES)

Tecmo Secret of the Stars: A Fantasy review (SNES)

Reviewed on June 14, 2010

The Aqutallion party was a group of five kids blended together into some personality-free amalgam of suck. With the Kustera, I was controlling a ninja, a samurai and a dude named "Shark". Sure, none of them were given any personality, either, but I had a great time imagining them on various quests of heroism while I was running them in circles around a town and fighting giant eyeballs, birds and lizards. And let me tell you — in my imagination, Shark is NOT someone you'd want to anger.
Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II (PlayStation 2)

Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II review (PS2)

Reviewed on June 12, 2010

Mordoc illustrates he's smarter than everyone, which proves to be a mistake, as that sort of tomfoolery will DEFINITELY turn your attention towards him. Also, there are a couple of optional areas you can raid for treasure and each character has his or her own specific side quest. All in all, you'll spend a good number of hours killing stuff and collecting treasure.
Modern Warfare 2 (PlayStation 3)

Modern Warfare 2 review (PS3)

Reviewed on May 23, 2010

The designers succeeded in creating a strong sense of chaos throughout the campaign where it seemed that calamity was waiting around every corner. Maybe I was skulking through the back alleys of a South American city to capture someone with information I needed while fighting off that guy's personal militia. Or storming a governmental building in order to retake it from enemy forces. Or defending my position inside a house from wave after wave of soldiers. It seemed like I was nearly always under siege from multiple angles.
Star Ocean: Till the End of Time (PlayStation 2)

Star Ocean: Till the End of Time review (PS2)

Reviewed on May 08, 2010

In Till the End of Time, you don't exist in some primitive medieval world dominated by swords and sorcery. Nope, you're in a massive galaxy with all sorts of planets — many of which are quite advanced technologically. You get teased by this in the early going as protagonist Fayt (pronounced "fate") and family are chilling out in some futuristic resort. Then all hell breaks loose, Fayt gets separated from everyone and winds up in an escape pod that crashes...on a primitive medieval world.
Project: Snowblind (PlayStation 2)

Project: Snowblind review (PS2)

Reviewed on April 10, 2010

While there's never really a place in Project: Snowblind where stealth is a necessity, it's always an option. And I have to admit, I do feel a certain sense of satisfaction when my creeping through ducts grants me the opportunity to gun down a couple of unsuspecting soldiers who were lying in wait for me to come nonchalantly strolling down that wide-open corridor.
Darwinia+ (Xbox 360)

Darwinia+ review (X360)

Reviewed on March 26, 2010

With the introduction of spiders, things rapidly became more difficult. I had to rely on grenades to damage them, as they seemed immune to laser fire. Making that difficult was their habit of suddenly pouncing at my unit when within range. Until I'd really enhanced my grenade-throwing range and could blast them before they noticed my squad's presence, they were able to decimate squads with ease.
Fire Emblem: Monshou no Nazo (SNES)

Fire Emblem: Monshou no Nazo review (SNES)

Reviewed on February 26, 2010

Other than that, in Monshou no Nazo, there's a certain generic feel to characters. Some guys are faster and get critical hits more often. Others ride horses (which they must dismount to participate in castle levels), so they can cover terrain more quickly. A few more either use bows, can unlock doors and chests or have superior defense at the cost of inferior speed. Overall, most of them tend to mesh together into a big glob of the mundane.
Batman: Arkham Asylum (PlayStation 3)

Batman: Arkham Asylum review (PS3)

Reviewed on February 17, 2010

t's safe to say that Arkham Asylum is carried by the Joker. He isn't just your main adversary — his presence is EVERYWHERE. Due to all the monitors and stuff that's part of Arkham's security system, you'll see his face and listen to his taunts everywhere you visit. If he's not verbally ripping common thugs a new one for their inability to take you out, he'll be cackling over the next deathtrap that's been placed between you and him.
Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment (Xbox 360)

Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment review (X360)

Reviewed on January 30, 2010

On one level, Flames of Judgment proudly lives up to the original's standard. This Live Arcade release did bring me back down memory lane a few times. The problem is that it didn't do so for very long. The average turn-based strategy game I've played seems to have about 25-35 main quest battles. Here, there's about 15 or so.
Wacky Races (NES)

Wacky Races review (NES)

Reviewed on January 13, 2010

Each of the 10 levels looks different and is divided into multiple parts. Muttley's opposition varies from level to level, as well, which at least gives the illusion you're doing something different in each stage. Sure, for the most part, you're running and jumping from left to right on the screen while avoiding or disposing of foes, but when the monsters and locales are constantly changing, it at least tricks me into not realizing that most of the game's "variety" is superficial.
Ys III: Wanderers From Ys (SNES)

Ys III: Wanderers From Ys review (SNES)

Reviewed on January 03, 2010

Adding to Adol's problems is the sad truth that everyone in Redmont (including Dogi) is completely worthless, so he'll have to bail everyone out with little help beyond getting pointed in a given direction and sent off with a hearty, "You can do it, dude!" And then there's Chester. The brother of potential romance option Ellena falls into the category of erstwhile hero/tragic villain/unbelievably idiotic dumbass, as he combines arrogant blustering with possibly the least intelligent plan for revenge imaginable.
James Cameron's Avatar: The Game (Xbox 360)

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game review (X360)

Reviewed on December 30, 2009

While I've seen terms like "revolutionary" and "breathtaking" tossed at the movie with regularity, the game is more worthy of commentary such as "another movie license game". It's pretty and I had a decent time with it, but I can't say that it's anything more than a decent action title riding the coattails of a major cinematic release.
Revelations: The Demon Slayer (Game Boy Color)

Revelations: The Demon Slayer review (GBC)

Reviewed on November 13, 2009

Take SMT: Nocturne for example: in this game, you're alone. Without your monstrous allies, you'll be quickly overwhelmed. Here, it doesn't take long to gain one HUMAN ally and a second joins shortly after that. The monsters are more of a novelty than a necessity, as I never really needed their help to do anything in this game. And with many of them being more along the lines of "typical RPG beastie" than "SUPER-AWESOME GOD OF THUNDER", I didn't miss their presence.
The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles (Xbox 360)

The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles review (X360)

Reviewed on November 05, 2009

The paranoid Duchess is convinced someone's out to get her, so you get to escort her inquisitor around town to solve this mystery. Whenever a citizen isn't being forthcoming enough for your tastes, just give the order and (to the townsperson's horror) he'll torture them with a good old-fashioned shock spell to loosen their lips.

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.