Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by aschultz and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Make Trax (Arcade)

Make Trax review (ARC)

Reviewed on August 16, 2016

It's not fair, but somehow it's still fun
Pengo (Arcade)

Pengo review (ARC)

Reviewed on August 08, 2016

Squarish penguins are always cute, even in tough games!
Jones in the Fast Lane (PC)

Jones in the Fast Lane review (PC)

Reviewed on August 15, 2013

Jones isn't perfect but offers revealing rat-race insights beyond the densely-packed jokes that never get cynical or fluffy. I found myself calculating how to cram in quick cheap education before week's end, or even working way more than I needed to or putting off asking for a raise (yes, it's just a game. Yes, guilt from playing it at work may've factored.)
Bikkuriman World: Gekitou Sei Senshi (NES)

Bikkuriman World: Gekitou Sei Senshi review (NES)

Reviewed on July 30, 2013

It showed me that, yes, RPGs can transcend language. Maybe none can as well as your average puzzle game. But BW has lots more fun trying and getting far closer than expected.
Circus Caper (NES)

Circus Caper review (NES)

Reviewed on April 29, 2012

I felt little guilt replaying through it with cheats on, and I recommend anyone who wants to check it out do the same...But fortunately the cheap deaths will fade away much sooner than the bears on unicycles and such instead.
Journey (Arcade)

Journey review (ARC)

Reviewed on April 21, 2012

Your idle band members mug and smile cluelessly even when your current guy gets hit. Then he falls and pouts and bangs his fists on the ground to the chorus of "Who's Crying Now." This is my favorite musical gaming pun by a long shot.
Fortune Builder (Colecovision)

Fortune Builder review (CVN)

Reviewed on April 15, 2012

It's more fun to watch the little dot-cars that multiply and move between businesses and residences as your town grows--or even turn away from the long dead-end road you forgot to industrialize. Single pixels were never so cute.
Miner 2049er (Apple II)

Miner 2049er review (APP2)

Reviewed on April 08, 2012

I figured once I became a big college student or even an adult, I'd be able to breeze through a game like this with my life smarts. That'd I'd be stronger and quicker and more mature and--well, I did realize stuff. Like how grossly unfair early video games were.
Lode Runner (WonderSwan)

Lode Runner review (WDS)

Reviewed on March 26, 2012

That couldn't disguise the exact same levels made by kids pulled off the street long ago back in 1980...when so many Lode Runner games come with level editors (also part of the original) that the developers themselves never seem to use, it's hard to believe much care went into these products.
Q*bert (Arcade)

Q*bert review (ARC)

Reviewed on March 26, 2012

Q*Bert is one of the first arcade games I feel I really solved. I don't mean that I figured how to beat the hardest level until I got bored of it, like you would in Asteroids or something. I also don't mean reaching the end like when you flip the level bit in Pac-Man or even escape Dr. Boom in Cloak and Dagger.
Mole Mania (Game Boy)

Mole Mania review (GB)

Reviewed on March 11, 2012

After getting frustrated with one level where I made a dumb mistake, I walked around to take my mind off the game. I started whistling a tune, and I realized it was one from the game itself. I sat back down and got it right.
Banana (NES)

Banana review (NES)

Reviewed on March 03, 2012

Imagine Boulderdash, but instead of collecting goodies and shooting enemies, your character is hoarding for the winter and finding his wife and, occasionally, a new son.
Dragon Wars (Apple II)

Dragon Wars review (APP2)

Reviewed on February 07, 2012

Bard's Tale IV never came--in name, anyway. It took a couple times through Dragon Wars (DW) for me to see I'd found something as good.
Eternal Dagger (Apple II)

Eternal Dagger review (APP2)

Reviewed on January 22, 2012

The too-short Wizard's Crown series from Strategic Simulations, Inc. had a simple solution: quick combat where the computer ran everything and flashed text of your party's health every second. It left time for the actual story and exploration.
Othello (NES)

Othello review (NES)

Reviewed on January 10, 2012

I was able to game early chess computers pretty easily by locking up the pawns and then watching them flail. That made me feel smart. Othello was the computer's revenge.
Ultima V: Warriors of Destiny (Apple II)

Ultima V: Warriors of Destiny review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 15, 2010

Sequels usually promise a bigger world, more spells, more detailed combat, and so forth, but when it comes to the previous game's narrative faults, they don't say much. Ultima V (U5) isn't just shinier; it makes a complaint about its predecessor the focus of the plot. Many people thought U4 micromanaged how the player gained and kept virtue. So the villain in U5 is a quasi-theocratic dictator, Blackthorn, who has deposed Lord British since U4 with the help of nebulous spirits called the S...
Ultima IV: Quest of the Avatar (Apple II)

Ultima IV: Quest of the Avatar review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 15, 2010

Before Ultima IV (U4,) people took being the good guy on faith. Maybe you'd get your butt kicked if you robbed a shopkeeper or attacked a townsman, but generally it was you against skeletons and goblins and the like. It was great fun, but Ultima III took things too far. The best strategy was to kill druids in one town until you were strong enough to kill guards in another town with a huge treasure vault. Then you could go kill a computer. Technically, the game was a strong achievement, and it so...
Q*Bert's Qubes (Arcade)

Q*Bert's Qubes review (ARC)

Reviewed on November 14, 2010

Q*Bert's Qubes(QQ) certainly has a niche market--people who figured how to tread water in the toughest levels of Q*Bert. It's the arcade equivalent of a Rubik's Cube, and it's certainly one every action puzzler fan should see, even if it isn't much to look at.
Superstar Ice Hockey (Apple II)

Superstar Ice Hockey review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 05, 2010

For a month or two, Superstar Ice Hockey (SIH) pushed my buttons perfectly. I could win regularly--two seasons in an afternoon--but it'd never be too obvious I had it in the bag. Game time was a relative concept that went quicker when fewer players were in the puck's third of the rink. With three goals max per game and four-game seasons, playoff possibilities were on a knife-edge until the final game. In real life, my team would have been the most negative, boring, dislikable bunch you co...
GBA Basketball Two on Two (Apple II)

GBA Basketball Two on Two review (APP2)

Reviewed on November 02, 2010

Shortly after my friend Aric pasted me in GBA Basketball Two-on-Two on his Apple IIgs--retribution for all the RPGs I'd solved--I found the IIe version cheap at Babbage's. I felt frugal--it probably didn't have all the extras, like the crowd that disappeared as it became doubtful I would avoid getting doubled up. But it had two-on-two play, which had to be a step up from the wonderful One on One, and the back-of-box blurbs seemed comparable, if the in-game pictures didn't. Jealousy...

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2017 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.