Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Discord button  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Image Fight (NES)

Image Fight review (NES)

Reviewed on November 26, 2003

Image Fight is a vertical arcade shooter that saw life on the P.C. Engine as well. Common to both installments is the title's obscurity, but only the PC Engine version is actually fun to play. It's hard enough, looks and sounds good enough, and plays tight enough to merit a recommendation. By no means is the Nintendo Image Fight a horrible game - it simply lacks the glorious shooter pain and panache to be worth your time.
Masters's avatar
Baseball Mogul 2003 (PC)

Baseball Mogul 2003 review (PC)

Reviewed on November 26, 2003

Let me start off by saying that if you are looking for great graphics and being able to control all the on-field action, this game is not for you. This game may seem simple, especially with there being next to no pictures.
thesingingbard's avatar
Mario Kart: Double Dash!! (GameCube)

Mario Kart: Double Dash!! review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 20, 2003

There's never a moment while playing Mario Kart: Double Dash where you'll pause the game to catch your breath and question how you can be experiencing such a masterpiece. However, early reports of the game being a major disappointment are greatly exaggerated. The truth is that Mario's latest outing may not be racing perfection, but it's certainly worth your time. I can't think of a better purchase for the holidays.
honestgamer's avatar
Vigilante (TurboGrafx-16)

Vigilante review (TG16)

Reviewed on November 16, 2003

While it's often compared to Double Dragon, Vigilante is really more of an update to the kitsch classic, Kung Fu, for the NES. It's similar in that some of the burly toughs are limited to holding you in some kind of vitality-draining bear hug to hurt you - they can't punch or kick, like video game versions of Royce Gracie.
Masters's avatar
World Class Baseball (TurboGrafx-16)

World Class Baseball review (TG16)

Reviewed on November 16, 2003

Orange Juice Style: Sweet gameplay keeps squeezing out OR Beats the competition to a pulp
Masters's avatar
Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi (Sega Master System)

Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi review (SMS)

Reviewed on November 15, 2003

Dance Gandolf, dance! Dance for me in the shadows!
Masters's avatar
The Cyber Shinobi (Sega Master System)

The Cyber Shinobi review (SMS)

Reviewed on November 15, 2003

If you listen carefully, you can almost hear old man Musashi rolling in his grave.
Masters's avatar
Strider (Sega Master System)

Strider review (SMS)

Reviewed on November 15, 2003

When you do a number 2, do you ever look down?
Masters's avatar
Street Fighter Alpha 3 (PlayStation)

Street Fighter Alpha 3 review (PSX)

Reviewed on November 09, 2003

Street Fighter is really the only fighting series I like. The whole genre just seems boring and stale to me, but somehow this series defies that. As much as I enjoy my SNES cart, I was still only cautiously optimistic about this game. Yet it was still one of the major factors in my breaking down and buying a PSX. Fortunately, my optimism was justified. Why? Probably because this title is much more worthy of the name Street Fighter Collection than Alpha 3. After all, this game perfectly blends to...
mariner's avatar
Final Fantasy IX (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy IX review (PSX)

Reviewed on November 09, 2003

Every review should be able to answer one simple and obvious question. Is the game fun? And yet, when I look at this game, the ninth in a highly acclaimed series (and a series I enjoy), I find it hard to answer that question. On the one hand, I did play through the game in its entirety, and I did like some of it. Yet, on the other hand, I can't pinpoint much about this game that I can point to and say ''this is good, this is right.'' The game itself is an enigma, pretending to get back to its ro...
mariner's avatar
Final Fantasy VII (PlayStation)

Final Fantasy VII review (PSX)

Reviewed on November 09, 2003

When it comes to hyped up games, you will often get a polarizing effect amongst the people who play it. Most will call it the most perfect game ever, while a select few will claim the game is absolute rubbish and not worth touching. And these people have every right to believe so, of course. But why is it that there are so few people, or at least so few reviews from people, who enjoyed the game, thought it was cool and fun and all that, but didn’t really see it as excellent? To me, FFVII is a gr...
mariner's avatar
Billy Hatcher and the Giant Egg (GameCube)

Billy Hatcher and the Giant Egg review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 08, 2003

This game has to be the biggest disappointment I've had in a long while. When I heard about Billy Hatcher, I was immediately convinced it was going to be a great game and I waited for it to come out, expecting a great hit from the makers of Sonic. What I thought to be a hit, was finally nothing more than a mediocre and linear platform game.
wishingtikal's avatar
Super Monkey Ball 2 (GameCube)

Super Monkey Ball 2 review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 08, 2003

One of Gamecube's launch titles, Super Monkey Ball, was a surprising success and Gamecube owners were pleased to learn that a new Monkey Ball game was on its way to the Cube, supposedly featuring more challenging levels, better multiplayer and rehashed graphics and gameplay. It sadly doesn't exactly stand up all of those expectations.
wishingtikal's avatar
Jak II (PlayStation 2)

Jak II review (PS2)

Reviewed on November 05, 2003

You remember Jak & Daxter, don't you? Of course you do. In case you don't, let's recap.
kieran's avatar
Pac-Man (Tengen) (NES)

Pac-Man (Tengen) review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

If the preceding statement is true, there's only one thing more I need to tell you about, the game's conversion. This is because while the NES saw its fare share of ports, most of them sucked, or at the very least paled in comparison to their arcade counterparts. Not so here. Pac-Man from the arcades makes the trip to the home console quite nicely. All that's missing is the joystick, and if you have the NES Advantage, even that's in place.
honestgamer's avatar
Karate Champ (NES)

Karate Champ review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

When you see the title screen, you might have reason to be optimistic. It shows that two people can play (though I later learned that even a single person wasting time with the game is a small miracle), and the letters that make up the logo don't look half bad. Not only that, but the background music is some of the best I've heard from the system. It really is. Unfortunately, I've just described almost everything positive there is to say about the game.
honestgamer's avatar
Muppet Adventure: Chaos at the Carnival (NES)

Muppet Adventure: Chaos at the Carnival review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

Each level is distinctly different from the next, meaning there are basically four little mini-games you must pass on your way to the grand finale. The first of these is a kayaking trip down a little river. Kermit is the guy in charge, and he must steer his little vessel around rocks, floating logs, whirlpools, and the dangerous riverbanks.
honestgamer's avatar
Ninja Gaiden III: The Ancient Ship of Doom (NES)

Ninja Gaiden III: The Ancient Ship of Doom review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

Ever why the Ninja Gaiden series died? There's probably a few reasons for it, mainly company related, but Ninja Gaiden 3 certainly did not help the cause. It's the worst of the 3 Ninja Gaidens by far, as Tecmo tried out these new ideas that just were not suitable for Ninja Gaiden games, as therefore the series bombed. It's still not a horrible game, however, and I enjoyed it for the most part. Just don't expect a high-quality Ninja Gaiden game.
psychopenguin's avatar
Captain Skyhawk (NES)

Captain Skyhawk review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

The NES had a wide variety of games released over the years. It is my opinion that no system out there could ever match the wide variety of games released for it. Captain Skyhawk is one example of this. It may seem like an ordinary vertical scrolling shooter, but once you sit down and actually play it and get deeper and deeper into the game, you will discover that looks can indeed be quite deceiving. This is totally unlike mostly any shooter released during the timeframe. Each mission is differe...
psychopenguin's avatar
Battletoads (NES)

Battletoads review (NES)

Reviewed on November 02, 2003

I am sure there are a few readers out there reading this that glared over the other Battletoads reviews and found them to be informative but focused too much on one thing: challenge. So, I figure I'll just get it out of my system early and move on with what makes this game so good. Yes, Battletoads is hard. Really freaking hard. There you go, you now know what you are getting yourself into when you play this game.
psychopenguin's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482] [483] [484] [485] [486] [487] [488] [489] [490] [491] [492] [493] [494] [495] [496] [497] [498] [499] [500] [501] [502] [503] [504] [505] [506] [507] [508] [509] [510] [511] [512] [513]

User Help | Contact | Ethics | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2019 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.