Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Rygar: The Legendary Adventure (PlayStation 2)

Rygar: The Legendary Adventure review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 07, 2002

Without a doubt, Rygar: The Legendary Adventure is a perfectly acceptable follow-up to its excellent predecessor, and a good title in its own right (particularly if you liked Devil May Cry and the sequel's release in 2003 seems too far away). With generally impressive visuals and a terrific sense of atmosphere, it seldom goes wrong.
honestgamer's avatar
Star Fox Adventures (GameCube)

Star Fox Adventures review (GCN)

Reviewed on December 07, 2002

To understand my disapointment in StarFox Adventures, you first have to understand my anticipation. First of all, when Dinosaur Planet was coming out on the N64 without StarFox, I was planning on picking it up. It looked like a very good game. Then when Starfox was linked to the game, I put that on the top of my list; next to SSBM. I love everything Starfox has ever done, and Rare has been the creaters of many great games. As soon as a release date was set, I preordered it. I waited those months...
ratking's avatar
Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest (SNES)

Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest review (SNES)

Reviewed on December 06, 2002

Donkey Kong Country was a big hit, and a sequel was a definite money maker. Therefore Rare was on top of it, and soon enough we had another Donkey Kong Country game in the making, without the main hero. At first people were skeptical, but it still had Diddy and similiar gameplay. Donkey Kong Country 2 is a very good sequel that does the job well, and follows up a terrific game.
ratking's avatar
Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 (PlayStation 2)

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 review (PS2)

Reviewed on December 06, 2002

Someone should ban the use of the word 'extreme' when it comes to describing the sports chosen by people who wear baggy pants. Why is skateboarding more extreme than, say, darts? The risk of injury in darts is surely higher, considering it is played mostly in places that people congregate to drink vast quantites of alcohol. But, I digress.
cheekylee's avatar
International Superstar Soccer 64 (Nintendo 64)

International Superstar Soccer 64 review (N64)

Reviewed on December 04, 2002

Alot of soccer games have come and gone in America, and had only a passing interest. Of course, they weren't even sold at Japan cause they have even less support for soccer there. When the N64 first came out, this was one of the games to appear very early on the system. As a soccer game it was ok. It is basically Fifa with just cheaper controls.
ratking's avatar
TimeSplitters 2 (Xbox)

TimeSplitters 2 review (XBX)

Reviewed on December 03, 2002

A few Christmas’s ago (on the happiest Christmas of my life) I received a PS2 and the game Timesplitters. The game blew me away. The graphics were so much better than any other game I'd ever played at that time, the single player was cool, the multiplayer kicked complete ass, and there was hardly any work put into the story. Formula for a damn fine game, if you ask me. Thankfully, Timesplitters 2 for the Xbox is pretty much an exact copy of TS1 with graphical improvement, more characters, m...
goatx3's avatar
Breath of Fire (Game Boy Advance)

Breath of Fire review (GBA)

Reviewed on December 01, 2002

Breath of Fire is a classic RPG ported from the SNES to the newly made Gameboy Advance. They added a bit to the game, but kept the original entertainment that had always been there. I was one person who never got to experience any of the Breath of Fire series made by Capcom, before this game for GBA that I picked up, because it looked entertaining. At first this game bored me, and I put it away for multiple months, but then I went back to it, and I found myself playing it more than all of my oth...
ratking's avatar
Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast (Xbox)

Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast review (XBX)

Reviewed on November 29, 2002

goatx3's avatar
Metroid Prime (GameCube)

Metroid Prime review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 29, 2002

Metroid Prime is not a first-person shooter, however. Nintendo itself has hailed the title as a first-person “adventure,” and for good reason; throughout the game, the player must pay close attention to his or her surroundings, observing and thinking more than shooting.
Knux's avatar
Metroid Fusion (Game Boy Advance)

Metroid Fusion review (GBA)

Reviewed on November 29, 2002

The average player will tackle this game’s adventure in about 12 hours of total gameplay, while the hardcore Metroid player could beat it in half that time. And since Metroid Fusion does not benefit at all from the linkup with Metroid Prime, there are no real bonuses to keep you playing. However, speedy players will be rewarded with different endings, and finding every item in the game proves to be quite a time-consuming task.
Knux's avatar
Kakuto Chojin (Xbox)

Kakuto Chojin review (XBX)

Reviewed on November 29, 2002

As a fan of fighting games, I've been kind of disappointed with the lack of games the Xbox has in this genre. As of a couple weeks, all the Xbox had was Kabuki Warriors, UFC Tapout, and Dead or Alive 3. One good game and two crappers. This week sees the release of two promising looking fighters; Kakuto Chojin and Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance, so naturally I'm quivering with anticipation. I opted to pick up Kakuto Chojin over MK5, mostly based on the fact that I've already played quite a fe...
goatx3's avatar
Donkey Kong Land 2 (Game Boy)

Donkey Kong Land 2 review (GB)

Reviewed on November 28, 2002

Instead of making it an entirely new Donkey Kong game, like they did before, this time they just ported the game as accurately as they could from the SNES. That was really not a bad mood, for Donkey Kong Country 2 was a very good game, and Donkey Kong Land 2 lives up to it nicely.
ratking's avatar
Star Fox Adventures (GameCube)

Star Fox Adventures review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 27, 2002

Zelda light: This game, while technically excellent is far from being Rares best work.
bastaard's avatar
Capcom vs. SNK 2: Mark of the Millennium 2001 (PlayStation 2)

Capcom vs. SNK 2: Mark of the Millennium 2001 review (PS2)

Reviewed on November 27, 2002

Do we all remember Street Fighter from the good ol' days? I always will, as that is one series which shook the ground from under me. So when I saw that there was another fighter with the Street Fighter characters in it, I knew I had to pick it up. And yet after awhile I found myself using fighters that I have never seen before. That is the beauty of Capcom vs SNK. There are so many fighters to choose from, that there is a new one to learn each and every moment.
ratking's avatar
Metroid Prime (GameCube)

Metroid Prime review (GCN)

Reviewed on November 27, 2002

From the opening this game is a grabber and doesn't let go. This is, probably, the best crafted game that I have played since Perfect Dark.
bastaard's avatar
F-Zero: Maximum Velocity (Game Boy Advance)

F-Zero: Maximum Velocity review (GBA)

Reviewed on November 27, 2002

F-Zero X was a grand game for the N64, and showed that there were more than just kart racing and car racing in the racing industry. Now there was the master of hovercrafts, who had appeared in two different games on two different systems. So why not make another one on the GBA. The GBA was as powerful as a Super Nintendo and the original F-Zero was good, so this one could be just as good. And it was good, but not great as it had some weaknesses.
ratking's avatar
Ninja Assault (PlayStation 2)

Ninja Assault review (PS2)

Reviewed on November 26, 2002

Another thing they did which generally works is set it so that if you're hovering about and an enemy appears in the general vicinity of where you have the cursor positioned, your aim will snap to that foe. You can practically lock on as the enemy skitters about, reloading as necessary. Not always is this the blessing you may think.
honestgamer's avatar
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (Xbox)

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell review (XBX)

Reviewed on November 26, 2002

Splinter Cell is one of the more hyped and anticipated games I've seen lately. People said it was going to be better than Metal Gear. People said it was going to bring an entirely new gaming experience. People said it was going to be the best Xbox game to date. The front of the box even says ''stealth action redefined''. Were they right? Read on.
goatx3's avatar
Donkey Kong 3 (NES)

Donkey Kong 3 review (NES)

Reviewed on November 25, 2002

What this means is you can't leave a section of the screen unwatched. Do so and you're likely to lose a life. You have to guard the flowers but generally the path to success is avoiding bugs while you pelt the ape with spray until he is backed up against the top of the screen. When he reaches the top, the stage is over and you can advance to the next. The problem is that your spray is rather weak, as a general rule.
honestgamer's avatar
Donkey Kong (Game Boy)

Donkey Kong review (GB)

Reviewed on November 25, 2002

The original Donkey Kong from the Nintendo industry was a huge hit. That is one of the things that put them on the board, and why not give people the chance to play it around a decade later on the new handheld gameboy. But you can't just give them the old Donkey Kong game itself. You have to make it bigger, MUCH bigger. And that is what they did, and they created a very entertaining experience.
ratking's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482] [483] [484] [485] [486] [487] [488] [489] [490] [491] [492]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.