Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | SWITCH | VITA | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Breath of Fire (Game Boy Advance)

Breath of Fire review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 31, 2003

Breath of Fire was a game released by Squaresoft but produced by Capcom way back in 1992. I should have known something was up right off the bat. The official excuse I keep hearing is that Capcom was too weary of selling a RPG in America, so they licensed the king of all that is RPGing to publish the game. While this makes sense, I have also heard an interesting theory that said Capcom didn't think the game was all that great, and therefore let Square handle it in a last-ditch attempt to sell co...
psychopenguin's avatar
Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow (Game Boy Advance)

Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 31, 2003

  I remember when I wanted a sequel to Symphony of the Night. It seems like such a long time ago now, since there have now been THREE Castlevania games on Game Boy Advance, and they've been released in a span of about three years. You may think that the games suffered from a lack of quality due to the quick turnover rate of them, but nothing could be further from the truth.
psychopenguin's avatar
Vandal Hearts (PlayStation)

Vandal Hearts review (PSX)

Reviewed on August 30, 2003

While Ogre Battle now receives the credit it deserves, Vandal Hearts has gone ignored by the same audience. It may not offer the immense depth of these previous titles, but it does feature simplified gameplay and a good plot that should endear itself to the Final Fantasy Tactics crowd.
sgreenwell's avatar
Beyond the Beyond (PlayStation)

Beyond the Beyond review (PSX)

Reviewed on August 30, 2003

The cold truth is that Beyond the Beyond would suck regardless of when it was released.
sgreenwell's avatar
Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne (PC)

Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne review (PC)

Reviewed on August 30, 2003

It’s simple to recommend The Frozen Throne. It lengthens the experience of an already great game, while providing a new style of gameplay and balancing to top it all off. If you enjoyed Warcraft 3: Reign of Chaos, then there’s no question that you will also enjoy The Frozen Throne.
sgreenwell's avatar
Xenogears (PlayStation)

Xenogears review (PSX)

Reviewed on August 30, 2003

Being a roleplayer immediately signifies your intelligence over casual gamers, because the ability to read dense text and make simple statistical based decisions requires far more mind power than split second reactions and nerves of steel seen in nearly every other genre.
sgreenwell's avatar
Pipe Dream (PC)

Pipe Dream review (PC)

Reviewed on August 30, 2003

While it lacks the elaborate back story of a Mario game (omg savu tha princez??!??!), Pipe Dream provides a solid time wasting experience for those tired of Solitaire and Bejeweled.
sgreenwell's avatar
Baseball Mogul Online (PC)

Baseball Mogul Online review (PC)

Reviewed on August 25, 2003

Programmers of baseball management games must make a decision between two paths early in development. The first option is to faithfully reproduce all the nuances of real baseball management - hiring coaches, setting up minor league teams, drafting amateur players, etc. The second option focuses upon the “important” aspects, such as setting major league lineups and pitching rotations, letting a computer AI handle complex decisions.
sgreenwell's avatar
Immoral Study - Reiko Shirakawa (PC)

Immoral Study - Reiko Shirakawa review (PC)

Reviewed on August 23, 2003

It’s not easy being a professional pervert/rapist, and if anything Immoral Study #1 isn’t afraid to show us the ups and downs of this rewarding occupation. While not affording much room for advancement, the field attracts its fair share of egotistic weasels. Fortunately, Scoop Software has made a game that exposes the evils of rape and pedophilia and goes directly into the mind of a lecherous twit. Once we’re inside, there’s not much to do.
johnny_cairo's avatar
True Love (PC)

True Love review (PC)

Reviewed on August 23, 2003

Ah, high school! Four years of my life whittled away sleeping, snorting junk, and doing occasional paperwork. While such an environment might be stifling to your average teenage male’s sexual development, there is the exact opposite problem in Japan. Daisuke, our protagonist, attends an elitist private school, and he faces a rather unique crisis—all the girls he meets are young, foxy, and stacked, with very few exceptions. At the tender age of 18 he’s already been kicked out of his parents’ hous...
johnny_cairo's avatar
Legends of the Diamond (NES)

Legends of the Diamond review (NES)

Reviewed on August 19, 2003

Hearing old baseball players and analysts like Joe Morgan on television waxing poetically about the “good ole days” of professional baseball and players playing “for the love of the game” and not “multi-million dollar contracts” can warp the distinction between perception and reality. False beliefs, such as teams winning with “clutch” hitting, defense, and determination are held up and idolized by the paid professionals who play and cover the game of baseball. Despite recent hard work by stati...
sgreenwell's avatar
Gemfire (NES)

Gemfire review (NES)

Reviewed on August 17, 2003

In any other game, sitting around waiting for a chance to cultivate your fields might not seem all that interesting. But in Gemfire, it can quickly become an obsession. Then you realize you were a moron to plant so much corn because it really didn't do you all that much good after your neighbor stomped all over your farmers with his massive army.
honestgamer's avatar
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder (Xbox)

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder review (XBX)

Reviewed on August 13, 2003

The end result was that I was skirting this level or that for quite some time, trying to find the path the arrow thought was there, and I never really did. This is a problem that was present in the first game, too, but this time around it seems actually to have grown worse instead of improving as one might expect. Again, I blame this on the more intricate levels.
honestgamer's avatar
Goofy's Hysterical History Tour (Genesis)

Goofy's Hysterical History Tour review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 13, 2003

It's odd how there are sometimes games that were obviously designed for kids, yet they are so difficult it's hard to believe they really are for kids. That's how I felt while playing Goofy's Hysterical History Tour, a game so hard I spent days on the first level, so I don't see a kid playing that, but perhaps that in fact, it's a game for adults hiding behind the Disney facade.
wishingtikal's avatar
Rayman 3 (Game Boy Advance)

Rayman 3 review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 12, 2003

wishingtikal's avatar
Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow (Game Boy Advance)

Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I think of Aria as SotN-lite - a wonderful experience, one of the best Castlevanias of all time, yet it ends far too quickly. If you’re thinking about purchasing it, you’ll have to ask yourself whether or not you’re willing to shell out 30 hard earned dollars for 8 hours of fun.
goatx3's avatar
Shadow of the Beast (Genesis)

Shadow of the Beast review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

Shadow of the Beast is a game I'm not sure to like or dislike. It got great graphics, great music, a great story but the game is hard like hell so how to like it ? I played the game using an invincibility code or else I couldn't even have get past the first level, seriously.
wishingtikal's avatar
Disney's Ariel: The Little Mermaid (Genesis)

Disney's Ariel: The Little Mermaid review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I remember this game was one of my favorites on Genesis when I was young. There weren't a lot of games where you could spend the whole game underwater, except for Ecco, so it was a nice change of pace. I still think this game is one of Genesis' finest Disney-based games (the finest one being the superb Pocahontas game -- notice how both feature female protagonists). Try it for yourself and you'll see.
wishingtikal's avatar
Ghouls 'N Ghosts (Genesis)

Ghouls 'N Ghosts review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I had this game when I was young but I never really played it because it was too hard and I couldn't even get past the first level. My father did go further tough and I enjoyed looking at him playing the game. Now that I'm way older, I felt like replaying the game and found out the game was in fact pretty darn good ! Now I can't stop playing, not until I beat the game ! (Yes, I actually went further than level 1... on practice mode)
wishingtikal's avatar
Paper Mario (Nintendo 64)

Paper Mario review (N64)

Reviewed on August 10, 2003

If you want to own a good RPG on N64, you don't have other choices than this one. It's not the best RPG around but it's the best on N64, definitively.
wishingtikal's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482] [483] [484] [485] [486] [487] [488] [489] [490] [491] [492] [493] [494] [495] [496] [497] [498] [499] [500] [501]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Sponsor Site | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.