Patreon button  Steam curated reviews  Facebook button  Twitter button 
3DS | AND | IOS | PC | PS4 | NS | VITA | WIIU | XB1 | All

Review Archives (All Reviews)

You are currently looking through all reviews for games that are available on every platform the site currently covers. Below, you will find reviews written by all eligible authors and sorted according to date of submission, with the newest content displaying first. As many as 20 results will display per page. If you would like to try a search with different parameters, specify them below and submit a new search.

Available Reviews
Gemfire (NES)

Gemfire review (NES)

Reviewed on August 17, 2003

In any other game, sitting around waiting for a chance to cultivate your fields might not seem all that interesting. But in Gemfire, it can quickly become an obsession. Then you realize you were a moron to plant so much corn because it really didn't do you all that much good after your neighbor stomped all over your farmers with his massive army.
honestgamer's avatar
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder (Xbox)

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder review (XBX)

Reviewed on August 13, 2003

The end result was that I was skirting this level or that for quite some time, trying to find the path the arrow thought was there, and I never really did. This is a problem that was present in the first game, too, but this time around it seems actually to have grown worse instead of improving as one might expect. Again, I blame this on the more intricate levels.
honestgamer's avatar
Goofy's Hysterical History Tour (Genesis)

Goofy's Hysterical History Tour review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 13, 2003

It's odd how there are sometimes games that were obviously designed for kids, yet they are so difficult it's hard to believe they really are for kids. That's how I felt while playing Goofy's Hysterical History Tour, a game so hard I spent days on the first level, so I don't see a kid playing that, but perhaps that in fact, it's a game for adults hiding behind the Disney facade.
wishingtikal's avatar
Rayman 3 (Game Boy Advance)

Rayman 3 review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 12, 2003

wishingtikal's avatar
Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow (Game Boy Advance)

Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I think of Aria as SotN-lite - a wonderful experience, one of the best Castlevanias of all time, yet it ends far too quickly. If you’re thinking about purchasing it, you’ll have to ask yourself whether or not you’re willing to shell out 30 hard earned dollars for 8 hours of fun.
goatx3's avatar
Shadow of the Beast (Genesis)

Shadow of the Beast review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

Shadow of the Beast is a game I'm not sure to like or dislike. It got great graphics, great music, a great story but the game is hard like hell so how to like it ? I played the game using an invincibility code or else I couldn't even have get past the first level, seriously.
wishingtikal's avatar
Disney's Ariel: The Little Mermaid (Genesis)

Disney's Ariel: The Little Mermaid review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I remember this game was one of my favorites on Genesis when I was young. There weren't a lot of games where you could spend the whole game underwater, except for Ecco, so it was a nice change of pace. I still think this game is one of Genesis' finest Disney-based games (the finest one being the superb Pocahontas game -- notice how both feature female protagonists). Try it for yourself and you'll see.
wishingtikal's avatar
Ghouls 'N Ghosts (Genesis)

Ghouls 'N Ghosts review (GEN)

Reviewed on August 11, 2003

I had this game when I was young but I never really played it because it was too hard and I couldn't even get past the first level. My father did go further tough and I enjoyed looking at him playing the game. Now that I'm way older, I felt like replaying the game and found out the game was in fact pretty darn good ! Now I can't stop playing, not until I beat the game ! (Yes, I actually went further than level 1... on practice mode)
wishingtikal's avatar
Paper Mario (Nintendo 64)

Paper Mario review (N64)

Reviewed on August 10, 2003

If you want to own a good RPG on N64, you don't have other choices than this one. It's not the best RPG around but it's the best on N64, definitively.
wishingtikal's avatar
Quest 64 (Nintendo 64)

Quest 64 review (N64)

Reviewed on August 10, 2003

This is N64's only 'decent' RPG besides Paper Mario. Should you buy it ? Perhaps.
wishingtikal's avatar
Dokapon: Monster Hunter (Game Boy Advance)

Dokapon: Monster Hunter review (GBA)

Reviewed on August 10, 2003

I liked the title of the game so I got it. It turned out to be a mediocre RPG but still decent and I like it... after all.
wishingtikal's avatar
Evolution Worlds (GameCube)

Evolution Worlds review (GCN)

Reviewed on August 10, 2003

If you like dungeon crawlers, you'll like this one but if not, forget about it ! This game is supposed to be a compilation of both Dreamcast games, Evolution 1 & 2 but don't expect to play the two full games since more than half of Evolution 1 is missing from the game. However, Evolution 2 is complete. It's not a big deal since Evolution 2 is way better than Evolution 1 but still, it shortens a lot the game which is already pretty short for a RPG. So you get like 25% of Evolution 1 plus all Evol...
wishingtikal's avatar
Puss 'N Boots: Pero's Great Adventure (NES)

Puss 'N Boots: Pero's Great Adventure review (NES)

Reviewed on August 08, 2003

Just when you're starting to really enjoy yourself, you realize that you've reached its conclusion. Then you look back and realize with horror that it only took you perhaps 15 minutes to do so. From the first stage to the last, they are quick little jaunts almost without exception. The vehicle rides are all quite fun, but they end almost as soon as they begin, and there are arguably too many of them.
honestgamer's avatar
Faceball 2000 (SNES)

Faceball 2000 review (SNES)

Reviewed on August 06, 2003

The system simply wasn't made to handle three dimensions, and that's all there is to it. Really, Faceball 2000 is quite the impressive technical feat. Even though the floors are featureless, and the walls, and even though the balls look more like misshapen blobs, it's impossible to forget that what you're looking at shouldn't have been possible on Nintendo's gray and purple box of mystery.
honestgamer's avatar
Chip 'N Dale: Rescue Rangers 2 (NES)

Chip 'N Dale: Rescue Rangers 2 review (NES)

Reviewed on August 04, 2003

The first level is pretty good, a promising start for the game. The heroes run through a restaurant in an effort to diffuse a bomb someone has set in the building. It's not a match for the first stage in the first game, but it's good, a promising start. Unfortunately, things never really get any better.
honestgamer's avatar
Galerians: Ash (PlayStation 2)

Galerians: Ash review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 31, 2003

Overview:
jill's avatar
Galerians (PlayStation)

Galerians review (PSX)

Reviewed on July 31, 2003

Overview:
jill's avatar
Clock Tower 3 (PlayStation 2)

Clock Tower 3 review (PS2)

Reviewed on July 31, 2003

Overview:
jill's avatar
Mortal Kombat (SNES)

Mortal Kombat review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 30, 2003

Legend has it Super Nintendo and Genesis owners fought over which Mortal Kombat port was superior, but arguments with my Genesis owning friend involved us claiming our respective port was the worst. The truth is, of course, that neither version does the arcade game justice and Acclaim obviously relied on brand recognition alone to sell sloppy products. Unfortunately, they succeeded.
whelkman's avatar
Ys III: Wanderers From Ys (SNES)

Ys III: Wanderers From Ys review (SNES)

Reviewed on July 29, 2003

Every time you complete a dungeon, you can count on an interesting plot twist, some new items, and a sense of accomplishment that should be at odds with your realization that the dungeon you just conquered wouldn't have puzzled a two-year-old, but somehow isn't.
honestgamer's avatar

Additional Results (20 per page)

[001] [002] [003] [004] [005] [006] [007] [008] [009] [010] [011] [012] [013] [014] [015] [016] [017] [018] [019] [020] [021] [022] [023] [024] [025] [026] [027] [028] [029] [030] [031] [032] [033] [034] [035] [036] [037] [038] [039] [040] [041] [042] [043] [044] [045] [046] [047] [048] [049] [050] [051] [052] [053] [054] [055] [056] [057] [058] [059] [060] [061] [062] [063] [064] [065] [066] [067] [068] [069] [070] [071] [072] [073] [074] [075] [076] [077] [078] [079] [080] [081] [082] [083] [084] [085] [086] [087] [088] [089] [090] [091] [092] [093] [094] [095] [096] [097] [098] [099] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148] [149] [150] [151] [152] [153] [154] [155] [156] [157] [158] [159] [160] [161] [162] [163] [164] [165] [166] [167] [168] [169] [170] [171] [172] [173] [174] [175] [176] [177] [178] [179] [180] [181] [182] [183] [184] [185] [186] [187] [188] [189] [190] [191] [192] [193] [194] [195] [196] [197] [198] [199] [200] [201] [202] [203] [204] [205] [206] [207] [208] [209] [210] [211] [212] [213] [214] [215] [216] [217] [218] [219] [220] [221] [222] [223] [224] [225] [226] [227] [228] [229] [230] [231] [232] [233] [234] [235] [236] [237] [238] [239] [240] [241] [242] [243] [244] [245] [246] [247] [248] [249] [250] [251] [252] [253] [254] [255] [256] [257] [258] [259] [260] [261] [262] [263] [264] [265] [266] [267] [268] [269] [270] [271] [272] [273] [274] [275] [276] [277] [278] [279] [280] [281] [282] [283] [284] [285] [286] [287] [288] [289] [290] [291] [292] [293] [294] [295] [296] [297] [298] [299] [300] [301] [302] [303] [304] [305] [306] [307] [308] [309] [310] [311] [312] [313] [314] [315] [316] [317] [318] [319] [320] [321] [322] [323] [324] [325] [326] [327] [328] [329] [330] [331] [332] [333] [334] [335] [336] [337] [338] [339] [340] [341] [342] [343] [344] [345] [346] [347] [348] [349] [350] [351] [352] [353] [354] [355] [356] [357] [358] [359] [360] [361] [362] [363] [364] [365] [366] [367] [368] [369] [370] [371] [372] [373] [374] [375] [376] [377] [378] [379] [380] [381] [382] [383] [384] [385] [386] [387] [388] [389] [390] [391] [392] [393] [394] [395] [396] [397] [398] [399] [400] [401] [402] [403] [404] [405] [406] [407] [408] [409] [410] [411] [412] [413] [414] [415] [416] [417] [418] [419] [420] [421] [422] [423] [424] [425] [426] [427] [428] [429] [430] [431] [432] [433] [434] [435] [436] [437] [438] [439] [440] [441] [442] [443] [444] [445] [446] [447] [448] [449] [450] [451] [452] [453] [454] [455] [456] [457] [458] [459] [460] [461] [462] [463] [464] [465] [466] [467] [468] [469] [470] [471] [472] [473] [474] [475] [476] [477] [478] [479] [480] [481] [482] [483] [484] [485] [486] [487] [488] [489] [490] [491] [492]

Policies/Ethics | Contact | Advertise | Sponsor Guide | Links

eXTReMe Tracker
© 1998-2018 HonestGamers
None of the material contained within this site may be reproduced in any conceivable fashion without permission from the author(s) of said material. This site is not sponsored or endorsed by Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Microsoft, or any other such party. Opinions expressed on this site do not necessarily represent the opinion of site staff or sponsors. Staff and freelance reviews are typically written based on time spent with a retail review copy or review key for the game that is provided by its publisher.